RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Daring Tales of Adventure #01 - To End All Wars & Chaos on Crete
by Steven s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2012 13:12:52

Love the idea of this product, but can't view it. Can you please give us a non JavaScript version that is viewable on mobile devices like an iPad?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Adventure #01 - To End All Wars & Chaos on Crete
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Leagues of Adventure - Core Rules
by Robert O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/08/2012 01:04:09

Leagues of Adventure takes players into world of amazing adventures in quasi historic world of XIX / XX century. It mixes themes of Verne and May, Indiana Jones and Sherlock Holmes, Haggard and Lovecraft, steampunk and western, horror and pulp...

This game has a very bog chance to become best new RPG of 2012.

Is a must!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leagues of Adventure - Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Leagues of Adventure - Core Rules
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/06/2012 12:17:00

I really do like the Ubiquity RPG system. I think it accomplishes much of what Savage Worlds can accomplish without a lot of the system weight that get's attached. Lets call Ubiquity my favorite system that I've yet to play.

Leagues of Adventure is the latest game to use the Ubiquity RPG Engine. Notice I said "game", not sourcebook. Unlike Savage Worlds, which has a core rules set and source books that feed off that, games that use the Ubiquity system are just that - stand alone games.

That can be both good and bad. It's great if you want to pick up a single set of rules and run with it all in one package. Not so great if you are getting the same core rules restated for each genre that you pick up. It is, admittedly, a small quibble, as the Ubiquity core rules are much lighter than those that constitute Savage Worlds.

Leagues of Adventures covers the late Victorian Age. It is not an era I have much experience with, either in fiction or gaming - Sherlock Holmes is about as close as I usually come. Thankfully, LoA comes with extensive write ups of time lines, important historical personalities and world leaders that enable even a Victorian Novice like myself enough pieces to drop in front of the players to make it sound legit. Very well done and extremely well researched. I enjoyed this section as both a gamer and a former history major ;)

Of course, as fun as the historical Victorian is, Leagues of Adventure takes things just a little bit further:

In Leagues of Adventure the boundaries of science are being pushed far beyond their historical limits. While hardly commonplace, mole machines, airships, and even time-traveling machines do exist. Some are already in the hands of governments and Leagues, while others remain the personal property of their slightly mad inventors.

Therein lies the hook of LoA - it's Jules Verne and than some. Our history and just a tad more. Victorian with pulp. I like it.

Would I run this before Hollow Earth Expedition? I don't know? I'm definitely more grounded personally in the Pulp Era of the 30's, but League of Adventures certainly gives the tools to allow one to bridge the gap.

Did I mention the extensive bookmarking of the PDF? Very well done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leagues of Adventure - Core Rules
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/21/2012 19:58:40

I've always held a lot of respect for Paul "Wiggy" Wade-Williams' work, and Leagues of Adventure is him at the top of his game. As far as core books go, this is one of the most complete in terms of usefulness and inspirations for a GM to run a game in this exciting era of gaming.

The Steampunk genre is hitting a high point in its popularity as of late, but while a lot of the stuff out there is content to handwave a lot of stuff in exchange for mere style over substance, Leagues of Adventure shows off what a healthy serving of research can do to make a game feel grounded and believable while still retaining the fancy aesthetic.

For fans of the Steampunk genre, or anyone with an interest in heroics, I definitely recommend Leagues of Adventure.

This is an excerpt from the full review on my blog. If you'd like to read the entire review, kindly visit:

http://philgamer.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/review-leagues-of-adventure-core-rules-by-triple-ace-games/

Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tabletop Heroes: Age of Piracy - Pirates
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2012 01:20:39

I was very pleased with this PDF. I bought it mostly for the figures but I was also hoping to get some use out of the Savage World stats. I got the figures for my Pirates on the Spanish Main game and was happy to find that was what the Savage World's stats were for. It might have been nice to mention that somewhere for the product, at least a "Can be used with PotSM" - though the PotSM license is probably lost in some legal no man's land.

The first five wild card NPCs are all male ship Captains. They are of different ranks of power and each has a different sized ship running from a 1 masted sloop up to a 5 masted man o' war. The different Captains seem to match their ships in power. In the character section Captain Edward Deepbeard and Captain Jan de Booth have the same image but the actual stand up minis are different.

The next five wild cards are female NPCs. Two of them have the command edges to be ship Captains, Mary Blood and Madeline Garnier, and also have ships. One of the others, Sally Blackheart, has a 1 masted ship and boating but not any command edges. Jane Read is meant to be a supporting character and is a lookout, though she has a lot of edges for a supporting character. The last female wild card is a rich rogue.

The next section has what they call crew members but they are very well developed to be just crew members. I'm planning on using them as henchman, extras with a wild die. There are ten of these extras.

The last section has 5 animal pets. They are all interesting from the GM point of view because you can get an encounter or two out of them. From the table top figure point of few a few more pirates would have been better but from the story point of few you will get some use out of them and they are likely to add something to the plot line.

The PDF has a cover page, a credit page, eight pages of NPC description, and three pages of figures to be printed out.. The art on the trifold figures is good and there is one figure for each NPC on two pages. On the Last page there are 18 figures that can be changed to any image so you can make up to 18 of the same figure or mix 'n and match different figures..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tabletop Heroes: Age of Piracy - Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost Region Guide #28: Blackstone Barony
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/08/2012 22:24:33

Details and history of a drab, dark barony ruled by an oppressive regent, with a possible change of leadership looming in the future. This supplement is for Savage Worlds, but is practically systemless, and could be used as inspiration for any fantasy RPG. The writing is excellent, but there is no art.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost Region Guide #28: Blackstone Barony
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost Region Guide #4: Orcmark
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2012 08:33:45

Pros -

Expanded information for the region of Orcmark. More personal info on the nasty Orc leader Nagrat More locations / story threads and ideas Army compositions of the four massive Orc armies and my personal favorite - is the why come here information. I think this addition to the entire Hellfrost setting is what is so appealing to these products. Not only do the region guides give additional info but they give you and your adventurers a legitimate reason to want to travel to these places.

Cons - only that I wish there was more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost Region Guide #4: Orcmark
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

All for One: Régime Diabolique
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/18/2011 19:36:43

WHAT WORKS: I dig the magick system, as I already have a fondness for that type of "construct your spell" system, and a very good amount of game information is provided. I had no prior experience with Ubiquity, but it feels familiar enough to systems I have had experience with that it doesn't seem like it would be hard to pick up at all. As with Hellfrost, Triple Ace Games has a TON of support for the setting in the form of adventures and microsupplements. The concept is just cool...I like fighting monsters in more than just a "kill 'em all and take their stuff" capacity, and the whole "Everyone's a Musketeer" thing helps you bypass that "why are your characters on the same side, again?" thing that comes up in some games.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Given the setting, as I'm not even a remedial student of French history, a closer look at the setting would have been great. I mean, there's enough there to run with, but it's kinda spread around from the beginning of the book to the end. Also, you can never go wrong with including an adventure generator...just saying.

CONCLUSION: I'm way more enthusiastic about Savage Worlds stuff, so if I had to pick a Triple Ace franchise and run with it, it would certainly be Hellfrost. That said, Ubiquity seems like a really easy system to pick up, which is always a plus. I actually like the Magick system better than I do Savage Worlds powers. It wouldn't take much encouragement to get me digging into the microsupplements, especially stuff like Guide to Expanded Terrors and Creatures of Sin. If you don't mind learning a new system and the idea of Three Musketeers vs Demons, Vampires and Witches appeals to you, then I heartily give this a strong recommendation.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/08/tommys-take-on-all-for-one-regime.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All for One: Régime Diabolique
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost: Gazetteer
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/17/2011 19:07:12

WHAT WORKS: The writing takes care not linger too long on any one place and painstakingly drive it into the ground. There are some great plot seeds if Hellfrost isn't hampered with a metaplot (I haven't read any of the adventures yet, and there is no plot point campaign). This book runs fairly light on the art, which means there's a lot of setting material inside the pages.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: I like extra crunchy bits, so I'm not quite as "Wowed" with the Gazetteer as I am the Player's Guide and the Bestiary, but that's just me. I caught an odd typo or two, like "Grey" and "Gray" being used for the same location within a sentence of each other.

CONCLUSION: While Hellfrost has a very central premise, the Gazetteer does a really nice job of establishing that the evil in the realm is not monolithic, meaning that there is more to do than just fight one bad guy and his minions. The Gazetteer gives you enough information to run with most places that might interest you, and they have a ton of microsupplements to "zoom in" on a given location if that interests you. In fact, if the setting only had the three books I just reviewed, it would still be a strong, fleshed out setting...but Triple Ace Games has released an amazing amount of support for it since its release. For me, I would place it near Midnight and Ravenloft among RPG fantasy settings (and I mean that as an extreme compliment). If, like me, you're a Savage who passed over Hellfrost in the past, you should probably rectify that.

http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/08/tommys-take-on-hellfrost-gazetteer.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost: Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost: Bestiary
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/16/2011 21:48:31

WHAT WORKS: As good of a setting bestiary as I have ever seen. The art is a mix of great color pieces and well-done pencil sketches, a combination that probably works better than it should. Some of the entries, like Assassins, have unique abilities that serve as a helpful reminder that not all adversaries need to come off a shopping list of powers and abilities. If you don't mind the over abundance cold-related enemies, many of these entries can be used in any Savage Worlds fantasy game with a little re-skinning.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Really just an odd bit or two...for instance, there's an agile, undead creature that can only be killed by being grappled...but there's never a reason given as to WHY a grapple does automatic damage to it. There's still that whole "three book buy-in", but looking at the sheer amount of information crammed into the first two thus far, I'm starting to see why it had to happen that way.

CONCLUSION: You might be happy with the Orc entry from the Savage Worlds rulebook. I love "Orc" being divided into 13 specialized archetypes, then further modified by the nine different tribes. It's just how I'm wired. The Hellfrost Bestiary takes the awesome of Savage Worlds and gives me that extra bit of mechanical goodness I love, rather than giving me a dozen entries and advice on just re-skinning orcs every time I want something mean and humanoid. Great product that makes me really want to run Hellfrost (I have a love-HATE relationship with wintery stuff...as in, I think winter is pretty much hell, but I love it from a setting/storytelling standpoint). Highly recommended even if you're just a Savage GM with the extra money to spare and stumped on monsters.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/08/tommys-take-on-hellfrost-bestiary.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost: Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost: Player's Guide
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/15/2011 21:36:39

WHAT WORKS: Um, most everything. Gorgeous book, very affordable print price, a ton of great examples as to how to tweak Savage Worlds to fit a setting without mangling the core of the system, the well-done Glory rules and a couple of Edges that I'm already planning on swiping for other games (how you doin', Tactician?).

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: While we get a basic overview of the land, we don't get even a few monsters, so you either buy the Bestiary, play with the selection in the corebook or use entirely humanoid antagonists (nothing wrong with that last one, mind you). While it's not unheard of for Savage Settings to extend past one book, fact is that most of them are usually playable either alone or with the rulebook, and Hellfrost really feels like it does need at LEAST the Bestiary to get the most from it.

CONCLUSION: Wiggy knows his Savage Worlds, there is absolutely no doubt. I am ashamed that it took me this long to pick up the Hellfrost Player's Guide. Even if I never run the setting, there's a ton of mineable material and system tweaks to apply to other SW games, easily. The product reminded me a lot of cracking into new AD&D settings back in the day, and I mean that as a compliment. There's a reason Hellfrost is so well regarded, clearly. One of the best third party products...no, check that...one of the best Savage Worlds products I've read, despite the near-mandatory three-book buy-in.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/08/tommys-take-on-hellfrost-players-guide.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Richelieu's Guide to Fencing Schools
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/15/2011 20:19:03

Richelieu’s Guide to Fencing Schools is an excellent expansion to the core book, addressing the need to explore the Fencing Schools further, going into more detail on just what makes each school different, both in philosophy and technique. The addition of unique “Members-Only” Talents is a definite plus that Players will enjoy having as an ace in the hole and greatly expands the options that players have when it comes to personalizing their character.

GMs will find the school descriptions to be full of possible plot hooks, and the discussion on how Fencing Schools benefit and influence their members is an eye-opener, especially for players who tend to view things in pure mechanics.

Definitely a solid addition to the All For One: Regime Diabolique line.

For my full review, please visit: http://philgamer.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/lets-study-all-for-one-regime-diabolique-%E2%80%93-richelieu%E2%80%99s-guide-to-fencing-schools/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Richelieu's Guide to Fencing Schools
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Richelieu's Guide to Expanded Characters
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/15/2011 20:15:34

Richelieu’s Guide to Expanded Characters is a perfect example of what a supplement ought to be. It expands the scope of the core game, adding a wealth of mechanical and fluff options that give All For One: Regime Diabolique the ability to tackle more than just Musketeer-centric games.

I’d highly recommend Richelieu’s Guide to Expanded Characters as the first purchase after the Corebook as expanding the core setting to accommodate a greater cast of characters cannot possibly be a bad thing for any Regime Diabolique campaign and for a price that is definitely easy on the wallet and well within the impulse-buy zone.

For my full review, please visit: http://philgamer.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/lets-study-all-for-one-regime-diabolique-%E2%80%93-richelieus-guide-to-expanded-characters/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Richelieu's Guide to Expanded Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sundered Skies - Setting Book
by wesley c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2011 22:23:22

this is a solid product a good fantasy setting that captures the philosophy of savage worlds. the main down side of the book is the layout of the tables, though once I have read through every thing in more detail they should be easier to use. the second complaint I have with the book is the layout if you use your pdf's like I do on my ipad this book will not display.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Skies - Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

All for One: Régime Diabolique
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2011 20:12:42

All for One: Regime Diabolique is one of those rare games that comes along where the setting, the system, and the vision of the developer all work together to create an exceptional product.

Things to like: +Very evocative presentation of the concept and setting +Superlative system (Ubiquity) leading to fast, carefree game play +High rate of support in the form of both expansions and scenarios at reasonable prices +Very clean magic system +Well-developed emphasis on schools of fence +Great art +the pdf toggles between web and printer friendly

Things of which to be wary: (Not much) -May require some work getting those who know nothing about the works of Dumas or Howard into the intent and atmosphere of the setting -The freedom and flexibility of Ubiquity may give those used to more rigid systems a steeper learning curve. -limited examples of spell-design are clear and useful, but less-so for absolute novices -no example of play (although excellent advice and responsiveness can be found on the Triple Ace forum)

This is a game to love!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All for One: Régime Diabolique
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG