RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Giants
Giants
$3.95









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hellfrost: Bestiary
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/16/2011 21:48:31
WHAT WORKS: As good of a setting bestiary as I have ever seen. The art is a mix of great color pieces and well-done pencil sketches, a combination that probably works better than it should. Some of the entries, like Assassins, have unique abilities that serve as a helpful reminder that not all adversaries need to come off a shopping list of powers and abilities. If you don't mind the over abundance cold-related enemies, many of these entries can be used in any Savage Worlds fantasy game with a little re-skinning.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Really just an odd bit or two...for instance, there's an agile, undead creature that can only be killed by being grappled...but there's never a reason given as to WHY a grapple does automatic damage to it. There's still that whole "three book buy-in", but looking at the sheer amount of information crammed into the first two thus far, I'm starting to see why it had to happen that way.

CONCLUSION: You might be happy with the Orc entry from the Savage Worlds rulebook. I love "Orc" being divided into 13 specialized archetypes, then further modified by the nine different tribes. It's just how I'm wired. The Hellfrost Bestiary takes the awesome of Savage Worlds and gives me that extra bit of mechanical goodness I love, rather than giving me a dozen entries and advice on just re-skinning orcs every time I want something mean and humanoid. Great product that makes me really want to run Hellfrost (I have a love-HATE relationship with wintery stuff...as in, I think winter is pretty much hell, but I love it from a setting/storytelling standpoint). Highly recommended even if you're just a Savage GM with the extra money to spare and stumped on monsters.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/08/tommys-take-o-
n-hellfrost-bestiary.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost: Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost: Player's Guide
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/15/2011 21:36:39
WHAT WORKS: Um, most everything. Gorgeous book, very affordable print price, a ton of great examples as to how to tweak Savage Worlds to fit a setting without mangling the core of the system, the well-done Glory rules and a couple of Edges that I'm already planning on swiping for other games (how you doin', Tactician?).

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: While we get a basic overview of the land, we don't get even a few monsters, so you either buy the Bestiary, play with the selection in the corebook or use entirely humanoid antagonists (nothing wrong with that last one, mind you). While it's not unheard of for Savage Settings to extend past one book, fact is that most of them are usually playable either alone or with the rulebook, and Hellfrost really feels like it does need at LEAST the Bestiary to get the most from it.

CONCLUSION: Wiggy knows his Savage Worlds, there is absolutely no doubt. I am ashamed that it took me this long to pick up the Hellfrost Player's Guide. Even if I never run the setting, there's a ton of mineable material and system tweaks to apply to other SW games, easily. The product reminded me a lot of cracking into new AD&D settings back in the day, and I mean that as a compliment. There's a reason Hellfrost is so well regarded, clearly. One of the best third party products...no, check that...one of the best Savage Worlds products I've read, despite the near-mandatory three-book buy-in.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/08/tommys-take-o-
n-hellfrost-players-guide.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Richelieu's Guide to Fencing Schools
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/15/2011 20:19:03
Richelieu’s Guide to Fencing Schools is an excellent expansion to the core book, addressing the need to explore the Fencing Schools further, going into more detail on just what makes each school different, both in philosophy and technique. The addition of unique “Members-Only” Talents is a definite plus that Players will enjoy having as an ace in the hole and greatly expands the options that players have when it comes to personalizing their character.

GMs will find the school descriptions to be full of possible plot hooks, and the discussion on how Fencing Schools benefit and influence their members is an eye-opener, especially for players who tend to view things in pure mechanics.

Definitely a solid addition to the All For One: Regime Diabolique line.

For my full review, please visit: http://philgamer.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/lets-study-all-for-
-one-regime-diabolique-%E2%80%93-richelieu%E2%80%99s-guide-t-
o-fencing-schools/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Richelieu's Guide to Fencing Schools
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Richelieu's Guide to Expanded Characters
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/15/2011 20:15:34
Richelieu’s Guide to Expanded Characters is a perfect example of what a supplement ought to be. It expands the scope of the core game, adding a wealth of mechanical and fluff options that give All For One: Regime Diabolique the ability to tackle more than just Musketeer-centric games.

I’d highly recommend Richelieu’s Guide to Expanded Characters as the first purchase after the Corebook as expanding the core setting to accommodate a greater cast of characters cannot possibly be a bad thing for any Regime Diabolique campaign and for a price that is definitely easy on the wallet and well within the impulse-buy zone.

For my full review, please visit: http://philgamer.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/lets-study-all-for-
-one-regime-diabolique-%E2%80%93-richelieus-guide-to-expande-
d-characters/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Richelieu's Guide to Expanded Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sundered Skies - Setting Book
by wesley c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2011 22:23:22
this is a solid product a good fantasy setting that captures the philosophy of savage worlds. the main down side of the book is the layout of the tables, though once I have read through every thing in more detail they should be easier to use. the second complaint I have with the book is the layout if you use your pdf's like I do on my ipad this book will not display.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Skies - Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

All for One: Régime Diabolique
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2011 20:12:42
All for One: Regime Diabolique is one of those rare games that comes along where the setting, the system, and the vision of the developer all work together to create an exceptional product.

Things to like:
+Very evocative presentation of the concept and setting
+Superlative system (Ubiquity) leading to fast, carefree game play
+High rate of support in the form of both expansions and scenarios at reasonable prices
+Very clean magic system
+Well-developed emphasis on schools of fence
+Great art
+the pdf toggles between web and printer friendly

Things of which to be wary: (Not much)
-May require some work getting those who know nothing about the works of Dumas or Howard into the intent and atmosphere of the setting
-The freedom and flexibility of Ubiquity may give those used to more rigid systems a steeper learning curve.
-limited examples of spell-design are clear and useful, but less-so for absolute novices
-no example of play (although excellent advice and responsiveness can be found on the Triple Ace forum)

This is a game to love!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All for One: Régime Diabolique
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daring Tales of the Space Lanes: Galaxy Guide Sector #01
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2010 02:41:36
A GM might find many of these one-page descriptions useful as starting points to build up an interesting planetary location, or for a quick visit. It's a squishy-soft kind of SF, but unlike some other products, doesn't descend into sheer babbling.

It would have been good for a setting supplement to include a few maps, landscapes or illustrations of local oddities, and also a few game statistics for unique local conditions, creatures or characters, but for the price asked, it is what it is.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of the Space Lanes: Galaxy Guide Sector #01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sundered Skies - Players Guide
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2010 13:53:24
Good stuff, everything your players need to know. Two minor quibbles:
1) It should probably be slightly cheaper.
2) It includes the table of contents for the whole setting book, which could be a little spoilerish for your players.
Otherwise, again, good stuff.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Skies - Players Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daring Tales of Chivalry #03: The Danbury Curse
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2010 18:56:13
A straightforward and well-presented classic faerie incursion (the PCs' likely allies are also not without their perils and diverging motivations) leading to a ferocious combat.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Chivalry #03: The Danbury Curse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sundered Skies: Within the Skies
by Timo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2010 03:14:52
Within the Skies is a collection of 4 adventures. Each adventure is set up for different ranks of Groups (Seasoned, Veteran, Heroic and Legendary).

Lifemothers home is a dungeoncrawl in an island inside the runoff falls. It uses the deck of cards method for exploration. Nice scenario. (Seasoned)'

The Symphony has a group of psychopathic songpriests (The requiem), who have kidnapped a group of citizens in Gateway and are forcing the characters to participate in a sadistic game. This is a very nice scenario that put the group in a position where they have to make difficult choices. I suggest that the savage tale where the requiem tries to assassinate the characters is held before this adventure (Veteran).

Darkhome is a hollow island that a group of pirates have as a headquarters. This is an interesting adventure in which the characters are sailing in caves, and includes ship to ship action, which is nice. I liked this adventure the most (Heroic)

Seed of the wild is for Legendary adventurers. The characters go to an island, fight some elementals and end up fighting the island itself, which is a great big earthelemental birthed by the Wild. Scripted and booring. I did not like this adventure at all, because it puts the group in a difficult position, and no matter what they do, they just end up having to fight loads of enemies. (Legendary)

I kind of liked this product in the end. It had 2 very nice adventures, one mediocre one and one very bad one.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Skies: Within the Skies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daring Tales of Chivalry #04: Castle Fairstone & The Madness
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2010 02:17:27
Two excellent scenarios combining social division, faith, faerie legends and strange magic with a good amount of swordplay. Both might leave few opportunities, beyond simple talking, for any priest-type characters, but it shouldn't be hard to fit in ways to remedy that.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Chivalry #04: Castle Fairstone & The Madness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost: Gazetteer
by mm m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2010 15:58:59
Great setting, beatifull book! Inspiring and full of adventure hooks! More artwork would make it perfect!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost: Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost: Bestiary
by mm m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2010 15:54:16
Pretty much a necessity for every game master, BUT not great.
It certainly gives the stats for every monster you could need but disappointing is the lack of background information on every creature and the is the absence of artwork for 95% of the beasts and monsters.
So what you get is pretty much well layed out but raw stats for your encounters. Disappointing compared to the high quality of the players Guide and the Gazeteer!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost: Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sundered Skies: Mists of the Savannah
by Timo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2010 09:14:55
*SPOILERS*
Continuation to the mindthief, I would not use this adventure without playing mindthief first. Also note that this adventure is for heroes of at least heroic rank. That said, this is a truly great adventure product. It is basically an expedition to a mysterious "jungle" island which has a mysterious draconic temple at its centre. Like the other Sundered Skies adventure products, this one too is "ready from the box" and thus suits busy modern ppl. Epic and very well written, I definitely recommend this product to every Sundered Skies GMs :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Skies: Mists of the Savannah
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sundered Skies: Blade of Destiny
by Timo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2010 07:25:07
*SPOILERS*

Nice adventure, which can be used as a backdrop plot to your ongoing campaign. I really enjoyed the way they handled a dungeon crawl in the dwarf mountain. There is a system of drawing playing cards which represent various encounters the characters run into. Solid good adventure, which is a bargain for 7.5$

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Skies: Blade of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 50 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG