RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Day After Ragnarok: Fate Core Edition
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 19:03:15
So I saw The Day After Ragnarok way back when it was being offered for the up-and-coming 6th edition of Hero system. At the time, my group was using 5th ed. Hero for all our games and I was intrigued by the idea. But alas, I had decided not to jump on the 6th edition train, giving that I had invested so much into the earlier version and it worked perfectly fine for any genre we wanted to play in.
Skip ahead a year or so, and I had grown out of trying to use Hero Designer to make every vehicle, NPC, weapon, and so on. I began searching for a less crunchy rules system that fit my GMing style of coming up with stuff on the fly during gaming. I picked up several books using the Fate system, including the excellent Fate Core and Strands of Fate, and was amazed at the flexibility and levels of simplicity in the system. Now that I've played several games (both running and playing) in various genres, I can say that it is the system I was waiting for.
Now, once again I see The Day After Ragnarok, this time offered for FATE and may I say, it is as interesting and engrossing a setting as I imagined. Post apocalyptic has always been one of my favorite genres to play in, and combined with the technology and history of a post-WW II world, and you get a very unique setting. I would say that if you are using FATE now, then pick up this book if for nothing else then the various creature descriptions and the entertaining sidebars. If you are looking for a post-apoc setting with something a little different then your run of the mill, then this fits the bill. And if FATE isn't your cup of tea, TDAR is still offered for Savage Worlds and Hero 6th ed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok: Fate Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Serpent Scales #4: The Lion in Fimbulwinter - Sweden (Savage Worlds)
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2013 02:47:02
When I think of good old neighbor to the west action. excitement and adventure are not the things that first come to my mind but The Lion in Fimbulwinter manages to sell me consept of Sweden as setting for pulp adventures.

Hite has crafted this mini-setting with great depth, or at least feeling of such. There is atmosphere of impending doom, uncertainty and back to wall desperation in the post-serpentfall Sweden that main setting of devasted America I think lacks. This does not look like a post-apocalyptic western setting for plucky pioneer types that will repuild a nation and kick snakemonsters and KKK-klowns in the behind. It is still fun over the top setting like main The Day After Ragnarok and there is even a silly Pippi Longstocking joke in the mix.

I would really want to read more of material that Hite has published in Fenix magazine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Serpent Scales #4: The Lion in Fimbulwinter - Sweden (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Fate Core)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 09:24:49
In a delightful example of making a bad situation worse, this is a neat side adventure to spring on the characters any time the party decides to make a journey in an aircraft preferably somewhere quite wild and untamed... oh, and in winter.

Without giving too much away, the scenario involves a plane crash and the subsequent struggle to survive and - maybe - get airborne again. Challenge upon challenge should keep the characters busy, and they need to be resourceful to make it out in one piece.

Perfect for when the party sounds complacent, so full of what they are going to do when they reach their destination that they haven't noticed that the journey is part of the adventure too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Fate Core)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Day After Ragnarok
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2013 07:20:12
Best Savage Worlds setting I have come across, because this just oozes style and substance. Writing shows real understanding what makes old pulp stories cool and worth emulating on roleplaying games. Rules on creating adventures and campaigns are very handy and get the show on the road real quick,

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Savage Worlds)
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2013 15:55:07
Pretty good one sheet adventure. I can see using the stats and information for the plane in future adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Day After Ragnarok: Hero Edition
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2013 20:18:27
Good quality PDF with very nice content; I enjoyed this product very much and am looking forward to using it. I am thinking of getting the hard copy as well as there are a number of parts that it would be nice to be able to pass around my gaming group for their reference, particularly the large number of character templates for character generation.

Fascinating mix of Pulp, Post-Apocalyptic, and Fantasy which is perfect for using the Hero System. I am reviewing only the Hero System version and not the Savage Worlds rule based version. I was particularly happy with the quality of the Hero System stats and write ups as they felt like an integral part of the writing instead of a quick, tacked-on conversion.

I hope that they make a Hero Designer Pack available at some point for character templates, equipment, vehicles, etc.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok: Hero Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cthulhu 101
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2013 17:48:24
Everything you need to know (and a few things you weren't meant to) about His Squidliness and Mr. Lovecraft. Quippy and fun to read, this is Ken Hite rollicking in his element.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu 101
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Day After Ragnarok Figure Flats Set 1: Behind the Serpent Curtain
by PEDRAZZI G. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2013 14:05:41
Very good "classical" figures flats. Great drawing, colors and overall art ( but I don't expect less from "ProdigyDuck" ).
Excellent product. Twelve flats at a very good price. This is a "well-packaged" product, with various figures' options ( A-Frame, Tri-Fold and tokens ).

But there is no back art ( only black silhouette ). A real shame, imho. Because the artist, Jacob Blackmon, is perfectly able to drawing back arts ( and not all have this ability ) and does it well, too.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok Figure Flats Set 1: Behind the Serpent Curtain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Serpent Scales #1: The New Konfederacy (Savage Worlds Edition)
by Mikhaila B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2012 23:05:57
As the first in a series, this book leads the way with a bang. The supplement, like its core setting, uses a mix of fictional and factual personages to create a fully realized addition to an already incredible gaming world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Serpent Scales #1: The New Konfederacy (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Day After Ragnarok
by Kev N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2012 13:18:06
This an excellent source book covering a post-apocalyptic setting with a twist! Superb coverage of the world political and geographical situation both leading up to and after 'the serpent fall'

As a fan of pulp, the ww2 era and Norse mythology this appealed as soon as I spotted it, and I certainly wasn't disappointed!

The scope for adventures in this 'world' is vast, and will keep any group of players busy for years.

Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2012 00:29:07
This was really a no-brainer as a purchase for me; first, I love Kenneth Hite's work, and second, I love HPL (faithfully playing Call of Cthulhu since it first came out back in the day). This really ought to be titled "Tour de Force," given Mr. Hite's discussion of virtually every story HPL ever published (certainly those under his own name). His comments are insightful, and he clearly loves his work. I found it to be illuminating, though being a major fan of HPL's, I was already aware of some of the more broadly accepted critiques and commentaries. If you enjoy HPL's stories, if you play Call of Cthulhu, if you even like campy B-Movies (a surprising number of which are based at least loosely on Lovecraft's work), this is a book you'll enjoy very much.

The price is great, and the content is well worth it. As usual with RPGNow, the quality of reproduction was outstanding. All in all, I'm very pleased with this one. Thanks Kenneth!

I also liked the license plate on the bus! :-)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales
by kyle s. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/21/2011 14:12:30
I was first introduced to writer and role-playing game designer Kenneth Hite thanks to the excellent HP Lovecraft Literary Podcast. Gamers out there are probably familiar with Hite from his work on GURPS and the superb Trail Of Cthulhu RPG.

Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales is a collection of Hite's thoughts on each and every tale by weird fiction author and father of the Cthulhu Mythos HP Lovecraft. And it is damn good! Fans of Lovecraft will find, well, a lot to love here. Hite offers wit and true insight on many of our favorite weird tales. For the "noob", Tour de Lovecraft is a perfect guide for the literary fan looking to explore Lovecraft's often obtuse work.

A must buy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales
by jim t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2011 12:53:51
Not a whole lot to be said here. IF you've read Mr. Hite before you know he loves to use his $2 words and at times tends to ramble a paragraph too long, but if you like Lovecraft, this is a can't miss book. Well worth the purchase price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ken Hite's Dubious Shards
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2011 16:11:42
Ken Hite is one of the most interesting and original thinkers working with the subject of Call of Cthulhu and Dubious Shards shows him at his esoteric best. He weaves together interesting bits of information that by sheer coincidence seem to confirm the most bizarre contentions of HPL while at the same time showing the prospective Keeper how to do the same thing. His knowledge spans enough different and seemingly mutually exclusive areas of knowledge to astound the reader with the bits of "corroborating" evidence he places throughout his topical wanderings, and yet he retains the joy of discovery as he does so. You fully expect him to exclaim at the end of one of his articles "And you can even use Zeppelins!"

Dubious Shards is another collection of his articles, this time focusing on some of the more salient features of Call of Cthulhu, including Irem of the Many Pillars, Dunwich, "Yog-Sothothery" and its use by the Keeper to evoke atmosphere and develop scenarios and even campaigns, an article on HPL himself, and so on. While his guidance scarcely falls into a "step-by-step" guide, he does evoke the spirit of HPL and provides some data that can be used by the dedicated Keeper to begin researching his own connections. Perhaps his most important piece of advice, however, is to "become paranoid" as you read through history in order to permit yourself to make those same leaps of connections that the truly insane can and do, and which are fully in keeping with the nature of the creatures (and their nefarious plots!) that Call of Cthulhu brings to the harsh light of day. The articles are interesting, and as noted, permit the reader to look up other bits of information and formulate ties between them, all the while keeping the idea of the mythos clearly in front of the reader.

In addition, this particular book includes a complete, ready to play Delta Green scenario. While I generally stick to the 1920s for my CoC campaign, I'm told that Delta Green is far and away the best modern era construct revolving around the mythos, and from what I saw in the scenario, it's a very good one with plenty of suitable places to hang additional plot hooks and adventures from.

All in all, I rated it a four -- simply because I'm NOT a fan of anything much outside the "classic" era of CoC and thus felt part of the book was "wasted;" however if you like modern era CoC, I'm betting you'll rate this book a "five+!"

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ken Hite's Dubious Shards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tehran: Nest of Spies
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2011 21:43:58
Tehran: Nest of Spies is chock full of characters, events and other details to make a MacGuffin-chase in the turbulent Tehran of the late 40's a harrowing experience for your characters.

Friend and foe NPC Wild Cards are fully fleshed out and given plenty of back-up in the form of appropriate extras (Tehrani thugs for the Gorbecki gang, soldiers and man-apes for the Soviets). Real characters like the pre-Ayatollah Khomeini mix it up with fictional characters like The Scarlet Adventuress Kara Vania, which is an element of the setting I've enjoyed from the main Day After Ragnarok book.

Another great element of this setting and its supplements is the Savage Shortlists which either add to the flavor with "Top Five Tehran Touches" which gives you some of the feeling of Tehran's personality and culture and the "Top Five Tehran Sights" which gives you some real-world places for your characters to visit.

Easy-to-use encounter tables are included to add some spice to you time in the city. An Allegiance Table creates an interesting twist as it allows you to randomize a character's overt allegiance as well as the one he/she keeps to him/herself. Then, there's always the chance that those "allies" you thought you had might betray you. This supplement provides you with the means to keep that mystery even from yourself.

The provided adventure is a search for something called the "Peacock Key". Suggestions as to how the PCs hear of this and what the key actually is are suggested but the truth is left up to you. All that's important is that everyone wants it.

Some Persian-inspired creatures are included in this supplement and the Ganj, a "jewel serpent" fits in perfectly with the snake-filled themes of the setting.

Although this is a supplement to The Day After Ragnarok, Tehran: Nest of Spies could be used for just about any mid-20th Century romp in the Middle East with minor tweaking.

This is more than just a one-shot adventure. There are too many intricacies and players involved in the provided adventure that it would take a few sessions to really flesh out and pace well, but it is a very well put together and researched product.

Recommended for post-apocalyptic, Persian, "sub-machine guns and sorcery," and Dieselpunk enthusiasts.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tehran: Nest of Spies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG