RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Day After Ragnarok
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2017 12:07:28

“Submachine guns and sorcery”

The Day After Ragnarok by Kenneth Hite does not disappoint. From its zany concept (What would have happened if the Nazi’s unleashed the world serpent from Viking folk-lore?) to its alternate history (What would happen if the USA was Thor and “Thor” was killed during Ragnarok?) The Day After Ragnarok delivers a punch to your Savage Worlds game.

I have played in The Day After Ragnarok campaign placed in Iowa. We were part of the army and trying to stabilize the Mississippi River and surrounding regions. This game was a ton of fun to play. The rules include new arcane backgrounds, new edges, some new (or tweaked) skills. Basically everything you have come to expect from Savage Settings.

Something our GM raved about was the adventure generator. Throughout the campaign our GM used the adventure generator to come up with the next wacky conflict we had to resolve. He said it was perfect for The Day After Ragnarok. Myself, I’ve actually used the adventure generator from this setting in other games, even in other systems. It’s awesome!

All in all, The Day After Ragnarok is a fantastic setting and perfect to run along with the Savage Worlds Core Rules. Nothing else is needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cthulhu 101
by Ryan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2017 10:47:57

This little book with a huge font is great for a light romp through some dark territory. Not too bad, its references are a little dated, but still fun to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu 101
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Sheet - Song of the Siren (Fate Core)
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:47:31

I admit I randomly bought this as part of a 'five star game Russian Roulette' for the GM's Day sale. This was a real shining star out of my selection. I don't own the setting, but I love Fate and it's a really nice premise which I plan on adapting to a custom setting. I'll probably have to check out the campaign setting, just in case it's of this calibre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Sheet - Song of the Siren (Fate Core)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Day After Ragnarok: Fate Core Edition
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 19:03:15

So I saw The Day After Ragnarok way back when it was being offered for the up-and-coming 6th edition of Hero system. At the time, my group was using 5th ed. Hero for all our games and I was intrigued by the idea. But alas, I had decided not to jump on the 6th edition train, giving that I had invested so much into the earlier version and it worked perfectly fine for any genre we wanted to play in. Skip ahead a year or so, and I had grown out of trying to use Hero Designer to make every vehicle, NPC, weapon, and so on. I began searching for a less crunchy rules system that fit my GMing style of coming up with stuff on the fly during gaming. I picked up several books using the Fate system, including the excellent Fate Core and Strands of Fate, and was amazed at the flexibility and levels of simplicity in the system. Now that I've played several games (both running and playing) in various genres, I can say that it is the system I was waiting for. Now, once again I see The Day After Ragnarok, this time offered for FATE and may I say, it is as interesting and engrossing a setting as I imagined. Post apocalyptic has always been one of my favorite genres to play in, and combined with the technology and history of a post-WW II world, and you get a very unique setting. I would say that if you are using FATE now, then pick up this book if for nothing else then the various creature descriptions and the entertaining sidebars. If you are looking for a post-apoc setting with something a little different then your run of the mill, then this fits the bill. And if FATE isn't your cup of tea, TDAR is still offered for Savage Worlds and Hero 6th ed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok: Fate Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Serpent Scales #4: The Lion in Fimbulwinter - Sweden (Savage Worlds)
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2013 02:47:02

When I think of good old neighbor to the west action. excitement and adventure are not the things that first come to my mind but The Lion in Fimbulwinter manages to sell me consept of Sweden as setting for pulp adventures.

Hite has crafted this mini-setting with great depth, or at least feeling of such. There is atmosphere of impending doom, uncertainty and back to wall desperation in the post-serpentfall Sweden that main setting of devasted America I think lacks. This does not look like a post-apocalyptic western setting for plucky pioneer types that will repuild a nation and kick snakemonsters and KKK-klowns in the behind. It is still fun over the top setting like main The Day After Ragnarok and there is even a silly Pippi Longstocking joke in the mix.

I would really want to read more of material that Hite has published in Fenix magazine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Serpent Scales #4: The Lion in Fimbulwinter - Sweden (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Fate Core)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/03/2013 09:24:49

In a delightful example of making a bad situation worse, this is a neat side adventure to spring on the characters any time the party decides to make a journey in an aircraft preferably somewhere quite wild and untamed... oh, and in winter.

Without giving too much away, the scenario involves a plane crash and the subsequent struggle to survive and - maybe - get airborne again. Challenge upon challenge should keep the characters busy, and they need to be resourceful to make it out in one piece.

Perfect for when the party sounds complacent, so full of what they are going to do when they reach their destination that they haven't noticed that the journey is part of the adventure too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Fate Core)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Day After Ragnarok
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2013 07:20:12

Best Savage Worlds setting I have come across, because this just oozes style and substance. Writing shows real understanding what makes old pulp stories cool and worth emulating on roleplaying games. Rules on creating adventures and campaigns are very handy and get the show on the road real quick,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Savage Worlds)
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2013 15:55:07

Pretty good one sheet adventure. I can see using the stats and information for the plane in future adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Sheet - Wheels-Up Landing (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Day After Ragnarok: Hero Edition
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2013 20:18:27

Good quality PDF with very nice content; I enjoyed this product very much and am looking forward to using it. I am thinking of getting the hard copy as well as there are a number of parts that it would be nice to be able to pass around my gaming group for their reference, particularly the large number of character templates for character generation.

Fascinating mix of Pulp, Post-Apocalyptic, and Fantasy which is perfect for using the Hero System. I am reviewing only the Hero System version and not the Savage Worlds rule based version. I was particularly happy with the quality of the Hero System stats and write ups as they felt like an integral part of the writing instead of a quick, tacked-on conversion.

I hope that they make a Hero Designer Pack available at some point for character templates, equipment, vehicles, etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok: Hero Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cthulhu 101
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2013 17:48:24

Everything you need to know (and a few things you weren't meant to) about His Squidliness and Mr. Lovecraft. Quippy and fun to read, this is Ken Hite rollicking in his element.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu 101
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Day After Ragnarok Figure Flats Set 1: Behind the Serpent Curtain
by PEDRAZZI G. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2013 14:05:41

Very good "classical" figures flats. Great drawing, colors and overall art ( but I don't expect less from "ProdigyDuck" ). Excellent product. Twelve flats at a very good price. This is a "well-packaged" product, with various figures' options ( A-Frame, Tri-Fold and tokens ).

But there is no back art ( only black silhouette ). A real shame, imho. Because the artist, Jacob Blackmon, is perfectly able to drawing back arts ( and not all have this ability ) and does it well, too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok Figure Flats Set 1: Behind the Serpent Curtain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Serpent Scales #1: The New Konfederacy (Savage Worlds Edition)
by Mikhaila B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2012 23:05:57

As the first in a series, this book leads the way with a bang. The supplement, like its core setting, uses a mix of fictional and factual personages to create a fully realized addition to an already incredible gaming world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Serpent Scales #1: The New Konfederacy (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Day After Ragnarok
by Kev N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2012 13:18:06

This an excellent source book covering a post-apocalyptic setting with a twist! Superb coverage of the world political and geographical situation both leading up to and after 'the serpent fall'

As a fan of pulp, the ww2 era and Norse mythology this appealed as soon as I spotted it, and I certainly wasn't disappointed!

The scope for adventures in this 'world' is vast, and will keep any group of players busy for years.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2012 00:29:07

This was really a no-brainer as a purchase for me; first, I love Kenneth Hite's work, and second, I love HPL (faithfully playing Call of Cthulhu since it first came out back in the day). This really ought to be titled "Tour de Force," given Mr. Hite's discussion of virtually every story HPL ever published (certainly those under his own name). His comments are insightful, and he clearly loves his work. I found it to be illuminating, though being a major fan of HPL's, I was already aware of some of the more broadly accepted critiques and commentaries. If you enjoy HPL's stories, if you play Call of Cthulhu, if you even like campy B-Movies (a surprising number of which are based at least loosely on Lovecraft's work), this is a book you'll enjoy very much.

The price is great, and the content is well worth it. As usual with RPGNow, the quality of reproduction was outstanding. All in all, I'm very pleased with this one. Thanks Kenneth!

I also liked the license plate on the bus! :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales
by kyle s. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/21/2011 14:12:30

I was first introduced to writer and role-playing game designer Kenneth Hite thanks to the excellent HP Lovecraft Literary Podcast. Gamers out there are probably familiar with Hite from his work on GURPS and the superb Trail Of Cthulhu RPG.

Tour de Lovecraft: The Tales is a collection of Hite's thoughts on each and every tale by weird fiction author and father of the Cthulhu Mythos HP Lovecraft. And it is damn good! Fans of Lovecraft will find, well, a lot to love here. Hite offers wit and true insight on many of our favorite weird tales. For the "noob", Tour de Lovecraft is a perfect guide for the literary fan looking to explore Lovecraft's often obtuse work.

A must buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG