RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Look Sarge No Charts WW II
by Ty C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 13:31:12
The rules layout takes a little bit of getting used to but once you have tuned into them they are logical and flow very well, the unit activation takes away predictability which makes it ideal for anyone wishing to play solo and creates real command and control decisions for the player(s).
For my first game I converted the Crossfire scenario Assault on Tula from the Hit the Dirt supplement, it played on a 2 x 2 table, first time out the Germans got repulsed with heavy losses while on a second play through the Russians retreated off table into the depths of Tula after taking light casualties, the game plays smoothly and quickly which will allow you to play a few games in an evening if you only have a battalion per side.
Having played the majority of WW2 rules out there I highly recommend this rule set for anyone wishing to get games on the table and reach resolutions in an evening whether as a group or solo, each stand is a platoon so three plus support elements and a HQ make up a company, they are written for 6-12mm but as long as you had infantry only encounters the bases will accommodate 15mm figures (3 inches x 1.5 inches for platoons and 1.5 x 1.5 inches for squads / command elements).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Look Sarge No Charts WW II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Look, Sarge, No Charts: Napoleonic Wars: Fate of Battle
by James Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2015 13:59:35
Right, in this set, the grognards over at LSNC cover the 'Age of Napoleon'.

Infantry and Cavalry bases represent a battalion (cav. reg't) and are composed of two bases, 1.5” wide by 1.5” deep. Artillery is placed on bases 1.5” square. Scale is 1” = 50 yards. Time scale = 15-30 minutes of time. Its recommended that each player commands up to a division. The theory here is that a player controlling more than that results in a slower game.

In keeping with the latest rules books, there are nice color photos to go along with the examples of play and to otherwise color the book with Napoleonic flavor.

The look of the game with 10mm figure seems off to me. 3mm or 6mm would look so much better with these size bases. Minor quibble as you, the purchaser, can base these however you see fit.

This is a good rules set, similar to the other Look Sarge No Chart titles with the addition of rules for formations (column, line, square plus stuff like skirmishers). Also, bucking the trend of the other LSNC titles, (hold on to your shakos boys and girls) are you ready for this?... this one actually includes two scenarios! (Actually its a linked two day scenario but who's counting.) Very cool: someone just starting out in this era can put together a small army based on this these scenarios.
Comes with comprehensive army lists of all the nations involved in this era.

Overall a playable and fun set of rules that gives realistic results which can be completed in a reasonable amount of time. I give this one my 'real deal seal of approval'. Highly recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Look, Sarge, No Charts: Napoleonic Wars:  Fate of Battle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Look Sarge No Charts American Civil War
by James Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2015 11:06:25
One of the benefits of learning the intricacies of a LSNS game is that once you've learned one, you've pretty much learned them all. All the other rules in the system have very similar rules mechanisms. This is the case with the American Civil War Module for this system.
Infantry and Cavalry bases represent a regiment 3” wide by 1.5” deep. Artillery are placed in bases 1.5” square. Scale is 1” = 50 yards. Its recommended that each player commands up to a division. The theory here is that a player controlling more than that results in a slower game. The look of the game with the 10mm models that are used is spot on. And there's nice color photos in this as well, very professionally done.
I prefer brigade level rules as they are more conducive to being able to fight a whole battle rather than just a portion. Now I'm not saying that its not possible to re-fight, say, the whole Battle of Gettysburg with this system. Its just that board size and number of miniatures, as well as that peter principle thing I mentioned earlier makes this a challenge. That said, if I were going to use a regimental scale game, this would be it.
The fire, combat, and morale rules share the same roots as the WWII system with of course a lot of chrome to represent the particularities of this particular conflict. For example, units can now take three hits instead of two, spotting is now an optional rule, cavalry regiments act as recon elements, etc. Speaking of spotting, I want to mention that both morale and spotting for games in this series are handled with easily created dice that really work well.
One thing I want to mention is that the designers notes are well done and do a lot to shed light on his thought process in coming up with the rules used to govern how your brave little soldiers act on your table. You can agree with them or not as you wish, but works both for knowledge and as a starting point for modifying a rule (aka 'house rules').
One minor quibble is that there are no scenarios in the book. Actually, there are none in any of the LSNC games I have read thus far. Sure, there are so many scenarios out there (both printed and in cyberspace), but not one! How is someone new to the hobby going to 'get in to' the era if they have nothing to shoot for? Just one scenario would also have an example for the newbs as to how a division is organized. But I digress.
To summarize, if you want a quick playing, fun regimental ACW rules set, and are willing to do a little research for the scenarios, get this. Does the LSNC system, originally designed for WWII combat, work to simulate the battles of the American Civil War? Yes indeed, and I can even make the argument that it is a more accurate representation of ACW combat than the WWII version of mid-20th century combat. But that is a discussion for another time and place. Therefore, I give this one the 'real deal seal of approval'. Highly recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Look Sarge No Charts American Civil War
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Look Sarge No Charts WW II
by James Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2015 10:22:31
I am writing this review of Look Sarge, No Charts WWII rules to help other in deciding if this is the right set of rules for them. I am an avid wargamer with over 25 years of experience. I have read many a rules set, both miniatures and hex-and-counter. In short, this is one of the best presented miniatures rules set I have come across. I will now briefly go over some of the fundamental design points of LSNC: WWII.

The basic maneuver unit is a platoon stand with activation done by company. 3” wide bases for platoon combat stands with 6mm(1/285)-12mm minis suggested.

The activation system used is a double random one in which a D6 is rolled for each command HQ and then cards (a standard deck Blk/Red Ace-6 plus a Joker) are drawn to randomize activation. When the Joker is drawn, the turn ends.
Because some formations may not activated each turn, this command system is not going to appeal to control-freaks who like to have their unit do exactly what they tell them every time. I like the mechanism, it models what Clausewitz called the “friction” of war. It is one of the designer's key objective in the design of these rules. Furthermore, there are options to allow higher level HQ to have a little more control of the formation under them.

The basis for the name of the rules is the fact that all the info (movement, defense, attack values) to run the game is printed on labels without having to look up charts. As far as combat goes, you roll a D10 add the attack value and if its higher that the defense value of the type of unit you are firing at, you score a hit. Obviously there are other nuances but that is it in a nutshell.

I have to say that the game in general seems feels right for the scale presented. Games have a potential to be quick and dynamic. None of this 'I move a few inches, you move a few inches' nonsense. Real sweeping, swirling battles can be had in this set.

Other key points, there are painless rules for spotting and reconnaissance, and morale. There are also many optional rules to be used to suit one's style.

The only issue I have with the game is that there are no scenarios or orbats. But this is not an issue for me as I have tons of resources for both. For those just starting out you can get one of the SkirmishCampaign books for scenarios and go to the GHQ microarmor website for free orbats at this same scale. Consider this a toolkit for battalion level (platoon scale) WWII combat.

I'd like to say that I was not looking for WWII miniatures rules (I have plenty of other projects in the works) but had an opportunity to pick these up. I'm glad I did. Heck, I might even dust off what few Microarmor I have and send for reinforcements!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Look Sarge No Charts WW II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T. Compendium
by Devon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2014 16:13:11
Wow. Rev R must really really hate these rules. I have found his exact tirade(and wrong tirade) on several sites.. How much do you have to hate someone or something to spend that much time writing the same bad review all over so many sites!?
I would disregard his review.

First the crux of his complaints are the layout. I am not sure what he is talking about with the "change of font" being the only indication of changing from one rule system to the next. They have put all the rules that pertain to each section in each section together, instead of one for each game.. this means you have at your finger tips all the shooting rules, or all the character generation rules together.. not sure how this is a bad thing or confusing.

The game, in so far as i have played it, is great fun, but whats best is it doesnt bother sticking its own fluff and back story all up in your face. You are in control of how you want the world to look. It is clear from the rules(and from games I have played with the authors) they like their games and stories a little on the sillier side. I tend to like things a bit more "serious"(how serious can one be about pushing toy soldiers around right?) This system will allow you to do that. Do you want to have a total steam punk world with steam tanks and martian flying ships? you can make that here.. do you prefer something more like indiana jones or the mummy, with a little less fantasy and a touch more realism.. you can do that too. nothing is off limits here..

That you can scale your game through the different systems, from large scale battles to roleplaying is a really cool idea too. My gaming group had a lot of role players in it. This is the kind of game that they would really love.. i would suggest it for converting rpg players into "proper wargamers"

please ignore the hype, the rules are really easy to figure out, and a lot of fun. and for the price of the PDF? you really cant go wrong

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T. Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rally Round the Flag
by Gregory K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 07:02:51
An excellent set of rules for ACW warfare, from a good company.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rally Round the Flag
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Look Sarge No Charts WW II
by Pete M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2014 22:01:15
This is a great set of WWII rules, that focuses on command decisions. It has everything you need to run a battle in any theater. It's written by an active duty officer in the U.S. Army and it shows. The game scale is 50 yards to the inch and the manuever elements are platoons. I like how easy it to figure out what you need to resolve basically any question in the game. The command system is highly innovative as well. You can't help but like a system where you really feel like commanders are driving the action and not just mobile moral boosters.

I will say that this game takes about 10 minutes to explain to newbies and you may get through your first game before anyone has any rules questions. It is perfect for convention play as well as among friends at the club. While simple it isn't simplistic. A Panther handles a lot different than a Tiger or a Sherman. While the modeling of the vehicles are simplified, this isn't a game of 1 on 1 tank duels but of military organizations duking it out for supremacy.

Get these rules - well worth the money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Look Sarge No Charts WW II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eagles, Swords and Bayonets
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/19/2013 07:30:37
A neat and elegant set of wargame rules for Napoleonic era land battles fought at a high level, regiment or above, and yet accommodating the influence of individual leaders.

It's a turn-based system, quite logical in approach, written with an eye to quick resolution of each turn so that you can see the effect of your tactical choices developing on the table before you. Once mastered, frantic checking of rules becomes unnecessary as the sequence of actions fits the rythym inherent at this level of abstraction.

It is predicated around the use of miniatures, although those who do not care for them could devise a system of counters without too much difficulty.

Rules are presented clearly and well-illustrated, and they take acount of historical knowledge concerning tactics and characteristics of the different nationalities involved.

The whole thing is nicely-presented and if you enjoy the broad picture, the wide sweep of events on the battlefield, and are happy with a nice balance of abstraction over realism, these rules are worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eagles, Swords and Bayonets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pike Hack: Road to Dunbar Warfare in the Age of Cromwell
by Joe S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2013 15:47:05
I recently downloaded Pike Hack. I have extensive experience with Classical Hack as well as having played other Hack supplements and was willing to take the challenge of another expansion. A quick overview of the rules confirmed they are easy to read with plenty of pictures & diagrams to explain the rules.
Pike Hack is well balanced for the 12-20 units per side recomennded for battles. Players familar with the Hack system will easily pick this up since Phil keeps the Combat Matrix along with the Morale Check system, those who aren't should be able to do so as well, since Phil clearly explains how a given rule applies to a battle as well as charts builts into each section of the rules. Unit creation follows the Hack system and the Order of Battle for the armies is easy to understand.
What I like most about these rules are the changes Phil made. It's nice to see thinking outside of the box and adapting a rule set to a new era. Command stands, with a required standard bearer, are innovative. Having varing distances for type 1,2, & 3 units from the command stand is an effective way to give better units more flexibility. The addition of the Bombardment phase shows familiarity with the period. The use of the random hit die until a shot hits a unit reflects this. The Shooting phase is now after movement, instead of before as with Classical Hack, folllows other Black Powder Era rules, giving a player comfort with the flow of the game.Opportunity fire is also allowed. Charges are now simultaneous instead of 1st one side then the other, as Classical Hack does movement. Finally, unit movement is faster. To sum it up, Pike Hack follows on the traditions of the Hack system. plus thinking outside the box with several new concepts.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pike Hack: Road to Dunbar Warfare in the Age of Cromwell
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T. Compendium
by Rev R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 07:13:28
Most poorly laid out rule book I have ever seen. The so called "chinese menu" format is horrible.
I had played variations of Gaslight at HMGSE cons as run by the authors and their cronies. The rules seemed like an adaptable system that could be shoe horned into most VSF concept. However after purchasing and reading the book that idea was shelved due to the confusing nature of the layout. Instead of each level of play (regular, big battle, rpg, fleet) having its own section, they are all shuffled together with a change of FONT so you can keep clear what is what.
One of the authors is pimping for folks on their yahoo group to post reviews poo pooing any reviews slamming the layout. Which is what prompted me to come and give my 2 cents.

PLEASE fix the layout so each book is in its own section or put a big warning that this book is for people who already own one or more of the books already, and are familiar with the game. As it is laid out now it would be impossible for someone to start from square one, read this book, and put on a game. Print it out and give it to your fellow gamers to read and watch their eyes glaze over.
If you are already comfortable with the GASLIGHT way this would be a great value. If you are not you may want to think twice.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T. Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Adventures and Expeditions By G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T.
by steve s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2012 13:37:15
Good simple product that gives you some good information about adventures in steampunk era.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures and Expeditions By G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

To Be Continued By G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T.
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/31/2011 00:51:57
This is a supplement for the GASLIGHT miniature wargame, and is a great deal of fun. The GASLIGHT rules are a straightforward, flexible ruleset for playing "Victorian Science Fiction" and steampunk type battles, but with this supplement your characters are thrust into the wild pulp adventures of the 1920's and 30's serials. Note, you need the basic GASLIGHT rules, or the Expeditions By Gaslight rules to use this supplement.
To Be Continued... lets you recreate the pulp serial adventures that were a mainstay of picture theatres a few (dozen) decades ago, and are intended to help you create your own 12-part serial on the tabletop. The game is quite comprehensive in what it covers - everything from outrageous props, swooning sidekicks, monsters from mars and space travel. It guides you in creating your serial, and offers plenty of advice along the way ("Does anybody die in this game?"). It is liberally illustrated with stills from classic pulp serials, and lots of authentic-sounding quotes from serial movie directors. It is a lot of fun to read.
It is not all fantastic, though. The layout is not particularly inspiring, being single column with headings that often spill all over the place, and looks pretty much like a word document. Perhaps more frustrating is there are no hyperlinks or even bookmarks, making it tedious to search through.
If you like the GASLIGHT rules, and enjoy your pulp adventure with tongue firmly planted in cheek, this is certainly worth checking out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
To Be Continued By G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T. Compendium
by richard s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2011 12:30:24
I bought GASLIGHT as I had been told it was amongst the best of the VSF rulesets.

To be honest this might be true but its a bit on the expensive side and the contents are poorly laid out, seemingly trying to cover three rulesets at the same time, that of skirmish, mass battle and roleplay.

It does have some nice rules in it but really needs re-editing so its easier to make sense of.

I would recommend WE CAN BE HEROES instead as its cheaper and far better laid out and a fun game to boot for folks interested in pulp and VSF gaming.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
G.A.S.L.I.G.H.T. Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Classical Hack: Ancient Warfare 600 B.C. to 600 A.D. First Edition
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 00:40:17
This is a huge download considering the number of pages and simplicity of art. The style is not particularly descriptive, with no army lists (special notes for particular nations and units are interspersed throughout the body of the rules) and a 4e-like opacity to the game mechanics themselves, so setting up a game will practically take some extra research. The idea of specifying slightly different rules and options for each of the four periods is intriguing, rather than trying to come up with universal descriptions to apply to every possible army.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Classical Hack: Ancient Warfare 600 B.C. to 600 A.D. First Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Would you care to review Classical Hack Second Edition? IF so I would gladly send you a free copy or zany of the others in the Hack Series. Thank you for your fair comments. Sincerely, Phil philip@lmwworks.com
Rally Round the Flag
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/02/2009 10:54:33
In the Introduction, the author remarks that the ruleset herein presented was written to meet the needs of the convention-going wargamer, for whom a typical complex set of wargame rules is too complex to learn from scratch during a single convention game. So he set out to write some rules that were simple to pick up quickly, yet still managed to reflect the style of warfare of the American Civil War period. This is followed by notes on the requirements for running the game, assuming standard 15mm miniatures are to be used.

Next comes an overview of the way American Civil War armies were organised - although similar there are minor variations between Union and Confederate forces. Naturally an enthusiast for the period will have more detailed information to hand, but for someone who just wants to try out an ACW skirmish or two, this does fine. This moves on to more arbitrary ways of measuring the 'quality' of a given group by means of assigning a 'morale class' to them. This gets slightly muddled as one moment there's a description of morale STATES - which will change during the course of a battle - which morphs straight into a discussion about how some regiments can be elite while others are green. This rounds off with how to determine starting morale for your units.

The discussion then moves on to how the game is actually played. It's a multi-phase turn-based system, with some phases - such as initial writing of orders - taking place simultaneously while others require the rolling of initiative to decide who goes first. To reflect the quality of command, a die roll must be made for each Divisional Commander which, modified by the Commander's personal rating, determine how many 'Command Points' he has at his disposal: these are spent as orders are issued to units under his command. There's a random system for determing personal ratings if you do not want to use hisorical commanders for some of whom ratings are given. Then comes movement, with an initiative roll to decide who goes first then units from each side alternating until all have gone where they were ordered. You can mix in modifiers for terrain, weather and darkness if more realism is required; and there are a range of movement types from which you can choose. Once everyone has got into position, those which are engagement range of the enemy can exchange fire with them.

Rules and tables out the way, a couple of scenarios are presented for you to try out. The first is a fictional skirmish designed to introduce the ruleset in action, and the second is a recreation of the First Battle of Bull Run (also known as First Manassas). For each, army lists and objectives are given, as well as the starting positions of the forces involved. Nice and clear, complete with victory conditions and diagrams of the battlefield. To round off, there are a couple of quick reference sheets that summarise the rules, far easier to cope with around a wargames layout than the complete rulebook.

While this is a simplistic system as far as wargames go, it is probably still a bit complex for a complete newcomer to wargaming... but as an introduction to the particular requirements of an American Civil War simulation it does quite well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rally Round the Flag
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG