RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Song of Wind and Water
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 20:02:20
This supplement added a lot of good and useful new rules to the system. I really like the rules for standard bearer, again it lets me dust off more warhammer figures and shield wall. This was a good supplement and well worth the price, it made our campaign better and the fantastic terrain rules are actually fun.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Wind and Water
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Song of Gold and Darkness
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 19:57:46
This book does as promised adds new rules. There not bad but compared to Deeds and Glory they just don't add enough to really enhance the core rules. The dungeon scenarios are cool, I just don't feel that they fit the wargame genre.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Gold and Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Song of Deeds and Glory
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 19:48:00
The new rules introduced in this for the campaigns are really cool. I like how personalities and goons have separate tables for post battle aftermath. I really like the exploration phase, that is something that I feel really adds to the story of the campaign.
The raid scenarios are great, again not just kill all the other guys to win.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Deeds and Glory
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Song of Blades and Heroes
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2014 19:37:50
I bought this game hoping to use my warhammer figures and I was definitely not let down. I have an army of goblins and an army of dwarfs I dusted off and have had an awesome time. I really like that there are missions within in the book that are much more than kill all the other guys. As far as balance horde versus elite small armies its been pretty good. My goblins were rolling through our last campaign and our next one will be based off of those results. Also a friend of mine brought along his digimon figures which we made a warband around and had a great time with.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Song of Blades and Heroes
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2014 23:01:58
This is a great set of very simple rules with a fluid initiative system that really feels like a good skirmish. It is a simple, under-one-hour play time with solo-game playability was great. I tested it with one of my kids, and the others wanted to play too!

Definitely a recommended game system. It's easy to learn, easy to teach, and you can use your entire minis collection if you want to do so.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Drums and Shakos
by Christos S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2013 08:43:14
I never thought I would play a Napoleonic period wargame until Song of Drums and Shakos! Amazing skirmish game. Full of variaty of troops, very fun to play, strategic and most important not expensive! I suggest it to everybody who likes wargames. Not only the Napoleonic period. You will not get dissapointed. Try it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Drums and Shakos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleSworn - Bid for Victory!
by Russell C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2013 07:53:09
I knew nothing of Battlesworn until I saw it on the Wargames vault Top Ten. It immediately caught my eye because a) it was by Ganesha Games (and was designed by the same chap who wrote Song of Blades and Heroes) and b) the look and clean visual style of the actual document really jumped out at me. I picked up copy then and there and I’m really glad I did because this looks like it could be a great little game.

Like SOBH it is a fantasy skirmish game designed for about a dozen figure and quick play. In all other respects it owes nothing to the Song of Blades rules and there are a number of aspects that set it apart from other systems I have seen.

First the game uses a bidding system for initiative and combat. At the start of each turn, players bid for 'initiative' by secretly selecting a number between 1 and 6. The player who bids lowest has the initiative and can activate their forces, but the number of figures that can be activated is equal to their actual bid. The player who lost the bid may also activate figures, but they may only react to what the initiative player’s forces do and are similarly restricted in how many reactions they can take based on what they bid for initiative.

Melee combat also uses a bidding system, again by secretly selecting in a number between 1 and 6. The player that bid the lowest attacks first (combat is not simultaneous) but the number of dice they roll for their attack is equal to what they bid. If their opponent survives they may now attack with as many dice as they bid.

This bidding system looks like it could be a lot of fun as you try to out think (or out guess) your opponent and provides a nice risk versus reward style of play. The nature of the rules also keeps players fully engaged throughout the game with little or no ‘down time’. It also looks like it will play very fast.

Another feature that looks interesting is there are no set movement distances for figures; they can all move any distance the player wishes, but may only move in a straight line and must stop moving when they encounter either another figure, or a piece of terrain. Because of this the game recommends that there should be plenty of terrain on the table to prevent combatants from zooming across the battlefield willy-nilly and also creates ‘hotspots’ of action. This slightly abstract movement system means that in theory you can play on any size (or shape) of table with any scale of figure.

In addition there are no ‘stat lines’ for figures; each combatant simply has a Class (or multiple classes) that slightly alter the way they interact with the rules. This gives each figure a unique feel and role within the combat and by combining different classes you can actually get a lot of variety for your forces. The rules for the different classes are quite subtle and not too game breaking (for instance the Shooter class allows a figure to make a ranged attack at the nearest enemy in LOS, whereas the Sniper class may make ranged attacks against any target within LOS – near or far).

There’s more to the game of course (rules for magic, campaign play as well as advice on adapting the system to other genres including SF and historical play are provided). The rules themselves are not overly long or complicated and look like they will give a very interesting and tactical game. As for the rulebook itself, it is very nice; simply but attractively laid out with many colour illustrations that have a stylised ‘cut-out’ look. The pdf also looks great when printed out in booklet form.

In conclusion if any of the above intrigues or interests you, I heartily recommend you pick up a copy. Although some of the mechanics are slightly more abstract than normal for a table-top wargame, it still seems to feel like an actual miniatures wargame (rather than say a boardgame). I’ve yet to play a game myself so can’t really say for sure, but having read the rulebook a couple of times now, I certainly want to give this system a try because it looks like a heck of a lot of fun.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleSworn - Bid for Victory!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BattleSworn - Bid for Victory!
by Pete M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2013 00:06:10
Saw this advertised on a miniatures related page I frequent. I though, interesting art work but will it get old figures back onto the table? I dare say absolutely!

The rules portion of the book is less than 20 pages long. You will be up and playing in an hour. The games take all of 1 hour to play. You can run several scenarios in one night with this. The rules are designed for you to apply 1 or more generic classes to your figures. The army building rules are pretty easy and fair looking. Within limits you should be able to reason from effect and pick the right classes to create just about anything. The fast and very interactive play mechanics will keep everyone involved. I can see this working pretty well with multiple players either on teams or in a three way game. Hard to say for sure without trying it. However I can say that from what I read, a duel between warbands with two players should be a real blast.

The game relies upon a table set up with from 6 to 10 terrain pieces. These are needed because the action flows around them. There aren't rulers or measuring sticks in this game. A character moves to any point in line of sight. Its not crazy if you play a lot of chess. :-)

The bidding system is used through out and seems to be pretty cool. I think it's a great mechanic the way it is laid out and I can't wait to get a game in.

Overall this game was a great spot purchase, unseen. I think it will definitely help get a few figures out of the basement and onto the table that haven't seen the light of day in a decade. I'm really excited by the idea of using this game to play out a fantasy skirmish campaign. It's been ages since I've had that opportunity.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
by Tiago H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2013 13:50:22
This game is one of my favorites, perfect to waste an hour or an afternoon with every miniature you have!

The most remarkable feature of this game and its greatest quality is it's emerging complexity. By that I mean: The game is very simple, every unit has two stats that you use during the game, and some special rules, very easy to remember that modify the unit in some situations. With just that the game manages to be very strategic and new at each play. No two combats play the same, whenever you expect the tide of the battle may turn and you have to be prepared for that! The combat is easy to roll, fast and very engaging!

Simple rules, challenging gameplay, what's not to like?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Flying Lead
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2012 12:48:40
These rules are incredibly flexible and straightforward (for the most part). I prefer a little more detail, but for quick battles these rules are rock solid in my opinion and well worth the $$$ - especially for players just starting out with tabletop wargames.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Lead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Song of Blades BUNDLE
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2012 11:49:13
SBH and all its off shoots - Simply one of the simplest yet intuitive and fun small scale rules available. Backed up by a thriving community and unparalleled support from the author.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades BUNDLE
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mighty Monsters - Giant Monster Combat Rules
by Tom A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2012 12:27:38
Having giant monsters battling each other is great fun. This is more complex than Song of Blade and Heroes because each monster takes multiple damage and has a large variety of moves. Each monster feels "big" and is more than an elf with more hit points. You really can re-create movie battles with these rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mighty Monsters - Giant Monster Combat Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Song of Blades and Heroes
by Mauricio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2012 21:10:26
Great little gem! If you're a fan of small skirmish games but hate to stop the game to look rules up, this is for you!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tales of Blades and Heroes Fantasy RPG rules
by Alejandro A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2012 07:12:19
After more more than two decades of roleplaying, I find the holy grail in the shape of TALES OF BLADES AND HEROES.

The good: Easy and fast rules but deep enough to portarit characters and their abilities, and a limitless options magic system. Beware: if you are a fan ranks, modifiers and detailed to the core mechanics, this is not for you; if you want fast and fun games or/and games in which roleplaying can prevail over mechanics, with vast freedom for character creation without class or race restrictions, this is for you.
Another remarkable aspect is the union with tactical miniature gaming; this is a perfect mix of RPG and fantasy wargaming if you want, and can be used as a wargame on it´s own (being based on Song of blades and heroes)

The bad: No setting and no profiles for monsters and antagonists; it´s not really a bad thing for experienced gamers, but a couple more pages with goons and setting ideas could help newcomers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Blades and Heroes Fantasy RPG rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Flying Lead
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 15:43:49
Simple rules for a fun game. Adds a little more complexity to the SoSH rules but not too much. Like the added vehicle rules. I see a lot of potential for this game. Even though designing ones own scenarios is fairly simple I can't wait to see what else they have in store for these rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Lead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG