RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
X-plorers RPG
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 13:59:09

Love it, read the whole book in two days and love the way its set out. SU Systems and the ships, aliens, SONIC weapons, its just fantastic! Its also very very simple which is why this is the game ill be teaching to those that are new to roleplaying games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Appendix N Adventures #4: "The Witch of Wydfield"
by Joshua O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 14:14:49

Disappointing to my players as the adventure was not dangerous enough S written to be used as a character funnel. No deaths until the last scene, and even then I had to double the boss' hit points. Triple all the enemies and you will have a funnel... But plot wise it's also really thin. Which is okay I guess as it works for a session. I do think some flavor text would have really helped, given this seems to style itself a pick up and play product. I'd run one of their games again, because they're simple, not over written, and seem good As low prep adventures, but I'd expect to have to do some prep to get it ready.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #4: "The Witch of Wydfield"
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers Digest Character Sheets
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2015 16:29:19

I like this character sheet FAR MORE than the one included in the rules. Very clean and elegant design, just like the rules themselves!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers Digest Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers RPG
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2015 13:08:21

The PDF is 40 pages, 37 are the content.
X-xplorers gives an 'old school' feel to this simple D20 sci-fi RPG.
Character creation: 3d6: Agility, Intelligence, Physique, Presence.


The equipment list (P10 & 11) could be more (try Dragonstar & Star Frontiers) for ideas. Primarily Star Frontiers.


There are a few supplements (BD Games do 3).


With White Star out, this appears 'swept under the table'; but, as a slightly 'rules light-ish' OSR d20 sci-fi RPG, I think it still holds OK.
X-plorers doesn't appear to be in Lulu's list any more as POD (or any other format).


For £3.15 it's good. Worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers Printable Player's Guide
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:20:00

Read my full review here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2015/05/rev-
iew-x-plorers.html


This is everything the play needs to get their characters from cool concept to play. Best yet, print it out and give copies to your players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers Printable Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers RPG (FREE No Art Version)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:14:16

X-plorers is somewhere in the middle of Starships & Spacemen and White Star. Both thematically and in terms of rules. There is a more of an old school vibe of this one. So to continue my analogies to the point of breaking, X-plorers is more Buck Rogers, the old serials and 50s sci-fi movies.


The book itself is 41 pages. This includes cover, title page, ogl page and a trademark license. The trademark license is nice. You can make content that is "X-Plorers Compatible" as long as you abide by the license. Yes other games do this too.


Characters have class, hit points, and levels just like most OSR books. The characters in X-Plorers though only have 4 attributes; Agility, Intelligence, Physique and Presence. They are still ranked 3-18. There are also four classes; Scientist, Soldier, Scouts and Technicians. Personally I think some sort of Royalty or Ambassador class might have been a nice inclusion as well.
There are some multi-classing rules too which are nice to see.


Equipment is covered next. The basic unit of commerce is the credit (cr). It functions largely the same way the gold piece does. Gear and weapons are covered, but also vehicles and robots. Near the end we cover skills as well.


Chapter 3 covers running the game. This includes saves, combat and skill checks. All similar territory to other games.


Chapter 4 details Space. This covers ships, buying and outfitting with crew as well as combat. Each phase of combat is discussed, so the gunner, engineer, pilot and so on. This reminds me of some the of old school Naval ship battles. Ship repair is also covered.


This is followed by a referee's section. This covers creating a game and running one. There is a small section on Aliens and Planets.
NPCs, Allies and Monsters are featured in the next section. I would have liked more, but again, these are easy to take from any fantasy game.


Chapter X is an adventure/background piece on Roswell. There are even stats for the Greys, whic is really cool to be honest.
Chapter Y covers psionics and pyschic characters. This is also pretty cool.


We end with some sheets for characters and ships.


X-plorers is a light game and designed to emulate the games of the 70s. So in that respect it does the job well. Some people will want more, but there is still a lot here. Rule-wise it reminds me more of White Box Swords & Wizardry, in fact you could use S&W as the rules and the rest as add-on.


This is the same as the full featured version, only no art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG (FREE No Art Version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers RPG
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:05:57

X-plorers is somewhere in the middle of Starships & Spacemen and White Star. Both thematically and in terms of rules. There is a more of an old school vibe of this one. So to continue my analogies to the point of breaking, X-plorers is more Buck Rogers, the old serials and 50s sci-fi movies.


The book itself is 41 pages. This includes cover, title page, ogl page and a trademark license. The trademark license is nice. You can make content that is "X-Plorers Compatible" as long as you abide by the license. Yes other games do this too.


Characters have class, hit points, and levels just like most OSR books. The characters in X-Plorers though only have 4 attributes; Agility, Intelligence, Physique and Presence. They are still ranked 3-18. There are also four classes; Scientist, Soldier, Scouts and Technicians. Personally I think some sort of Royalty or Ambassador class might have been a nice inclusion as well.
There are some multi-classing rules too which are nice to see.


Equipment is covered next. The basic unit of commerce is the credit (cr). It functions largely the same way the gold piece does. Gear and weapons are covered, but also vehicles and robots. Near the end we cover skills as well.


Chapter 3 covers running the game. This includes saves, combat and skill checks. All similar territory to other games.


Chapter 4 details Space. This covers ships, buying and outfitting with crew as well as combat. Each phase of combat is discussed, so the gunner, engineer, pilot and so on. This reminds me of some the of old school Naval ship battles. Ship repair is also covered.


This is followed by a referee's section. This covers creating a game and running one. There is a small section on Aliens and Planets.
NPCs, Allies and Monsters are featured in the next section. I would have liked more, but again, these are easy to take from any fantasy game.


Chapter X is an adventure/background piece on Roswell. There are even stats for the Greys, whic is really cool to be honest.
Chapter Y covers psionics and pyschic characters. This is also pretty cool.


We end with some sheets for characters and ships.


X-plorers is a light game and designed to emulate the games of the 70s. So in that respect it does the job well. Some people will want more, but there is still a lot here. Rule-wise it reminds me more of White Box Swords & Wizardry, in fact you could use S&W as the rules and the rest as add-on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Haldo's House Rules for Labyrinth Lord
by Vik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2014 14:10:28

I give this 3 stars because I think it's great that you published your house rules. I have done the same, although I never thought to put it on Drivethru. The formatting is easy to look at and the material is simple and clear. I wish you had elaborated a bit more on using rituals in place of higher level spells.


That said, These house rules create a very specific sort of game. I don't think I would use any of them, with the exception of granting an additional HP as a reward for adventures completed (up to the maximum allowed). It is a brilliant way to both award active characters and also increase their ability to survive without the arbitrary "just use max hp".


I will keep an eye out for a ritual magic system based on the higher level spells.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Haldo's House Rules for Labyrinth Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dagger for Kids (Free Version): Supplemental Rules for Classic Role-playing with Kids
by Jarrett P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2014 07:11:39

A marvelous little product that can get anyone new to the hobby up and running in minutes. I've used Dagger to introduce over 30 public school kids to their first table top RPG experience.


Kids who are used to the fast, low requirement entry of console gaming aren't chased off by the extremely brief and simple rules ("You mean we have to READ something BEFORE we play?").


The rules invite tinkering and modifying to taste, but don't require it in any way and as players are ready for more options in the future they'll have minimal difficulty moving to Dungeon Crawl Classics, Labyrinth Lord, vintage D&D reprints, or D&D Next, since those products share the same gaming "DNA" (class, level, monster, to hit, saving throw, etc.).


Finally, and in my opinion most importantly, Dagger provides so simple and clear a framework that I've been able to use it to get about five brave kids to start designing and running their own adventures for their peers! New players are one thing, but new GMs/DMs are another! Dagger can get kids comfortable making rulings and developing confidence (vs the game stalling as they dig through a rulebook) right from the start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dagger for Kids (Free Version): Supplemental Rules for Classic Role-playing with Kids
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cleopatra Station
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2014 05:55:01

Sort of dry and uninspired adventure, this is the sort of material anyone can come up with. This adventure might be useful if you are in hurry and anything goes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cleopatra Station
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Appendix N Adventures #1: "The Ruins of Ramat"
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 22:05:09

This module already has a nice review that is "spot on", so I'll just cover a couple of things quick and dirty: the module text is DM friendly (italicized sections to be read to players), has a nice background and quick player hook, B/W art and player handouts. It doesn't have pre-geberated characters, which is just as well. I've never been a fan of 0-level characters, so we'll probably just roll some 1st level ones. The "jury is out" on two possible issues though. The pages look tall enough to be legal-sized, so I'm not sure if I'm going to have trouble printing this adventure out. Also, while the map looks amazing with not a single space wasted (B/W art), I'm not sure I'm going to have trouble or not reading it during gaming due to all the decorative art.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #1: "The Ruins of Ramat"
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Appendix N Adventures #2: "The Vile Worm"
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2013 16:58:16

I am new to DCC RPG. It is fast to play, and I am using commercially available stuff in my game since I pressed for time. Goodman Games produces fantastic stuff, and I've read that this publisher does great as well.


But the quality here is lacking. The story does not measure up to Goodman Games' quality. I may give this publisher one more shot, and if this is what they've got, I'll buy from others.


This scenario is very, very brief. I paid $3 for it. But it is so simple and short that it is about what I could have come up with myself on the fly.


I will expand it to last a 5-6 hour game session, adding encounters, etc. But this is a 3 hour deal, tops, based on the adventure itself.


There are 6 or 7 pages of actual adventure/content, depending on whether you counting the beginning summary as content. The map for the adventure fits on one page, one sided.


The art is excellent -- pure DCC RPG old school. But the scenario is kinda boring and lacks a story, the main character lacks a defined, credible reason for being who and what he is.


This should be a freebie or a buck or two. I can't complaint for the $3 I paid -- I guess I'd just rather have paid $7-10 and gotten a Goodman Games adventure that would last 3 game sessions.


The listed treasure is a monty haul for surviving 1st level characters, unless you want them all in plate with warhorses and various finery at 1st level. That's not how I roll...


Overall, it is not a bad value, but I was just not "wow'ed" by it at all.


Art: 5/5
Writing: 4/5 clear and concise and easy to read and understand, good if you've got 30 minutes to get ready to run something.
Originality/Quality of story: 2/5
Length: 2/5



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #2: "The Vile Worm"
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X-plorers RPG
by Doug M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2013 21:43:12

This is a rules-light (38 pages of rules) RPG that intends to be a scifi version of the 1974 OD&D, and succeeds admirably. The core mechanics (class-based, ascending AC, d20/d6, roll high) are based on Swords & Wizardry Whitebox, but there is a lot that is unique in this game, including a class-based skill system, a critical hit table, monster creation rules, and a simple spaceship combat system. It's just about the perfect amount of information for a GM to get a game up and running in an hour or so (that includes reading the rules), with no gaps in the core gameplay but plenty of room for house-ruling and expansion. Old-school GMs will feel right at home. The introductory adventure, Cleopatra Station (>http://www.rpgnow.com/product/95003/Cleopatra-Station), is an excellent introduction to the game and I highly recommend using it or a recently published quickstart adventure (https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzHniBXLE3GgbG1XZzVkT-
GVaMTQ
) the first time you play. Both are free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alien & Robot Class Design
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2013 19:09:18

This is a great expansion for X-plorers!
Grab a copy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien & Robot Class Design
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Appendix N Adventures #4: "The Witch of Wydfield"
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2013 06:13:03

Originally published at: http:/-
/diehardgamefan.com/2013/04/08/tabletop-review-appendix-n-ad-
venture-toolkit-4-the-witch-of-wydfield/


The Witch of Wydfield is the fourth release from Brave Halfling’s Appendix N Adventures line. These adventures are meant to be short one session pieces that use the Dungeon Crawl Classics rules set. Previous releases include The Ruins of Ramat, The Vile Worm and The Treacherous Cobtrabs. I’ve enjoyed all of the adventures so far, but I’m happy to say that The Witch of Wydfield is the best Appendix N release yet, as you still get a healthy dose of DCC hack and slash, but you also get a pretty interesting storyline that should keep your players on their toes from beginning to end.


What’s really nice about this particular Appendix N Adventure, is that you’re getting far more than just the DCC piece. You also get a separate black and white map, which, in true Dungeon Crawl Classics style, ends up being one of the artistic highlights of the piece. I can’t express enough how the maps for DCC products like these are reason enough to buy adventures for this system, especially when they cost as little as this one! You also get an art free version of the adventure and a system neutral one, in case you want to run the storyline with, say, Dungeons & Dragons, Pathfinder or Swords & Wizardry. Heck, you could even probably do it with something like Cthulhu Dark Ages. I just can’t believe the sheer amount of stuff you get with this adventure, and even if you’re brand new to Dungeon Crawl Classics, the Appendix N Adventures are a wonderful way to get sucked in to it.


The adventure itself is short but brilliant. It is designed for Level 0 characters, although how many is not mentioned anywhere. Level 0 characters a DCC staple, and can even be more fun than high powered god tier characters. Behold the fury of the cheesemaker! Anyway, Level 0 adventures are a great way for newcomers to see firsthand the lethalness of the Dungeon Crawl Classics system, and also decide what class they want to be once they have obtained enough experience. It’s also always fun to throw monsters and supernatural activity at characters that have no experience or training in this regard, one of the reasons I also love Call of Cthulhu so much.


The story of The Witch of Wydfield is that one morning, the townsfolk of Wydfield awaken to find their local Cleric, Sister Thara, horribly murdered with the letters Y U L spelt out in her blood. A young girl named Dela is also missing. The villagers put two and two together and realize the good Sister was trying to spell the name of who killed her – a witch named Yulna. Unfortunately, Yulna was killed by Sister Thara and her adventuring party some time ago. Could the witch have come back from the dead? Well, the players are determined to find out, and guided by a young man who knows where the witch once dwelled, the PCs form a town mob to root out the cause of this evil and destroy it.


The Witch of Wydfield is a short adventure, involving only four encounters and six locations on the map. There are also three ways the adventure can end, but only one of them is a happy ending. The other two are melancholic at best. I do like that the encounters are extremely interesting ones, that include an ensorcelled hunter, a living wall of ivy, a cauldron full of slime and even a demon. The big trap in the adventure is also a highly memorable one, and every aspect of The Witch of Wydfield should have players fondly reminiscing it weeks, months and possibly even years after playing it – it’s that well written. I even like that you can find Yulna’s magic broom in her belongings if you play your cards right. That’s a nice magic item for early adventurers to get their hands on.


As I said at the beginning of the adventure, The Witch of Wydfield is the best Appendix N Adventure to be released so far, and it’s one of my favorite Dungeon Crawl Classics experiences to boot. With a price tag of under two dollars for the PDF version, you should definitely pick this up, even if you’re new to DCC. The art and adventure itself should suck you in to considering a purchase of the core rulebook itself. I’m really impressed by what’s here, and can’t wait to see what’s coming next for Dungeon Crawl Classics from Brave Halfling Publishing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #4: "The Witch of Wydfield"
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 73 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG