RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Book of Beasts: Legendary Foes (PFRPG)
by Anders B. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 05:35:08
I really like this bestiary of high-level foes! The monsters are very inspiring and have lots of cool signature abilities and innovative mechanics. The layout is good and clean, and every monster comes with a beautiful full-color illustration. Top notch!
I especially like this volume because I needed to have more monsters for level 15-20 campaign play. These Legendary Foes are up to the challenge! :) Recommended!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Beasts: Legendary Foes (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for taking the time to review. Everyone here is glad you enjoyed it and took the time to share your thoughts.
d66 Spaceport City Names
by Justin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2015 10:09:52
A cute little supplement that gives you a few dozen random names to plop onto spaceports. An amusing micro-supplement, and I approve of it more in concept than execution.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
d66 Spaceport City Names
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadly Delves: Rescue from Tyrkaven (PFRPG)
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2015 09:26:30
This is a short adventure that can easily be played in one session.

******Spoilers******
After a caravan goes missing, the characters are hired to find the missing goods and missing villagers that were in the caravan. After interrogating the only surviving member of the caravan, the characters go looking for the culprits. A few random encounters are provided to bring a bit of excitement during the trip. The characters find the caves where the hobgoblin bandits hide and during their exploration, they find that the walls bear strange runes in many places. As soon as a necromancy spell is cast (which is bound to happen when fighting the hobgoblin cleric), Tyrkaven cultists, cursed by their dark god to become zombies, become aware of the presence of others in their cave, and they swarm forward to investigate, killing anyone they encounter. The characters will have to stop them before they reach outside and assault the village.

Although I did not play it yet with my group, this adventure looks tough for 2nd level characters. The introduction and conclusion are very short and to the point, but that is expected in such a short adventure. Depending on your style of play, if you like to have details and stats on everything, get ready to develop the village that serves as the backdrop to the adventure and some NPCs. However, the goal of this product is to provide you with a pre-made adventure, and that is where it delivers very well. I like that while fighting the hobgoblins, the adventure takes another turn and zombies start pouring out of the deepest part of the caves. The mysterious glyphs on the cave walls are also a nice touch even if their main purpose is to serve as a warning that not everything is right. The only thing I would have liked to see is a bit more detailed on the Tyrkaven-cursed zombies. We have a lot of information on how they became cursed and how they will react when they become aware of the presence of others in their cave complex, but when looking at the builds, you will notice that they kept a fairly high degree of intelligence and that they are very fast (their speed is 50 ft.). They have a scream special attack and their leader as the same abilities as a fighter of about level 5. However, we do not get a template for Tyrkaven-cursed zombies or a short sidebar to explain how they differ from regular zombies. While this does not prevent anyone from running the adventure and one can assume that the curse of Tyrkaven made them so, if you want to expand the adventure, it would have been nice to have at least a simple template.

That being said, I still think this is a good low-level adventure with enough details to be expanded in an even bigger adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Delves: Rescue from Tyrkaven (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadly Delves: Quests of the Sands (PFRPG)
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2015 15:45:44
This book is a collection of 6 short adventures (around 4 pages each including map) that are intended to be inserted in an adventure path set in a land similar to Ancient Egypt or they can be played on their own.

Each adventure contain enough details to be played straigth from the book with the only exception of a few adversaries taken from different bestiaries. Overall, the adventures are interesting and well written. The maps supporting the adventures are nicely done and the I really liked the haunts as they were original in design.

Of the 6 adventures, 3 have a mummy (or mummies) as their main challenge. So, if mummies are not your thing, then I would not recommend this supplement. However, the adventures cover a fairly wide range of levels, so even if you play them as stand alone adventures, you should not bore your players with a variants of the same monsters.

This is a nice supplement, I recommend it for every GM running a desert/egyptian campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Delves: Quests of the Sands (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Character Datafile
by Dale W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2015 13:56:31
It was ok but not something I could really use, since I play/run Classic Traveller. All told it's a good sheet, full of necessary information, but too many pages in my opinion.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Character Datafile
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

12d66^2 [BUNDLE]
by Casey C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2014 18:59:32
Honestly comes in handy in a pinch. Silly and fun. Even things your players will read too much into. ;) Not necessary, but for $5, why not?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
12d66^2 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Age of Ideas: Character Backgrounds (13th Age/Archmage)
by Joshua V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2014 00:03:48
Was hoping for more...evocative backgrounds. This is just a list of boring medieval jobs. Not even worth your loonie.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Ideas: Character Backgrounds (13th Age/Archmage)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Age of Ideas: Character Backgrounds (13th Age/Archmage)
by Dean G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2014 20:25:26
Product is basically a bunch of mundane backgrounds, and merely the titles. I would expect a product like this to have plot hooks for various backgrounds or some added information beyond just a background title.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Foreven Worlds: Massina Subsector (Traveller)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2014 12:07:37
This is the second JBE supplement in the Foreven sector that I got my hands on. I have to say that it's definitely a step in the right direction as far as content and production values go. I also like the fact that the publisher was receptive to suggestions and comments from other purchasers. Always a good sign in my book! So let's review the specifics.

For a relatively small supplement (it clocks in at a total of 13 pages, and 4 of them are covers, index and license info) it contains a lot of background information. The subsector map is now a standard color one (yay!). There are a total of 23 planets for the sub-sector, seven of which get their own half-page write-up. Most of the remaining planets are mentioned in the three page overview for the sector. I think it's great that there's at least something on every system, which makes it much easier for a referee to develop scenarios. I personally like supplements like this because it reminds me of things like the old World of Greyhawk boxed set that had very high production qualities. Leafing through the supplement and reading some of the history and backstory helped (for me at least) make the game come more alive. Plus I'm the type of person that likes to read these things for pleasure too. Like the Fessor subsector, there are additional illustrations that help break up the pages. I have to admit when I saw the color illustration I thought "Vorlons!?!?!" :)

I would have given the supplement five full stars except for a couple of minor quibbles. It deserves 4.5 stars, but you have to rate in full, so I rounded down. For the price you get a lot of info - the maps, the subsector overview and the details on some of the worlds. I'm not sure what mapping software is used to create the maps, but when the pdf is created some of the images (like the depot one for example) seem like a fat-kid version of the naval base icon. I haven't tried printing it out yet, but when you zoom in on the screen overall the planets and color hold up well. There's also a few text errors that I figure will get cleaned up as they get reported. They are relatively minor and, to be honest here, I've seen far worse from much larger production houses.

I like the direction that JBE is taking with these. The cost is reasonable for what you are getting. Actually, with the cost being less than $4, in some ways it's a steal. Micro-releases like this are a nice break from buying the $29 or $39 supplements, that while much larger, don't always equate to better value for the money. On the plus side, if some of what you find here isn't quite to your liking, you aren't out that much. So it's a win-win in my book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Foreven Worlds: Massina Subsector (Traveller)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Foreven Worlds: Fessor Subsector (Traveller)
by paul h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2014 18:21:48
This was my first purchase of a JBE product. I had read the discussions on the MGT board and was interested in taking a look at what was being offered.

The supplement is 11 pages in total, of which only six having gaming information. The other five are the covers(2), a page covering the required OGL legalese and another information page with some more license/acknowledgements, and finally and introduction by the author talking about the sector and the direction he's taking with the supplement (it also includes some backstory for the sector as well). The additional backstory is a nice addition, the rest of the pages are to be expected.

Now, let's get on to the meat of the product. There is a sub-sector map page and accompanying table providing the breakdown of each system on the map. There are a total of 28 systems listed. Each of the major sub-polities (there are two) has their system clusters marked off on the map. There's also a single Zhodani planet along with a few empty hexes marked off as claimed by the Zho. No Imperial planets.

There's a page and a half detail for the subsector, providing some backstory on the region as well as an overview of the economics and political alliances. And there's some backstory on the pirates who flourish here as well. Fortunately for PC's, the pirates in this subsector are more concerned with smuggling than ship stealing or raiding.

There's a total of seven planets that have descriptions provided, with each one getting about half a page. I really enjoyed the detail provided for each one. Kudo's for the editing, since there's enough description provided for each of the detailed worlds to help a referee build a backstory around an adventure. Plus there are the always enjoyable snippets of information that helps provide character to each world. For example one world, known as the breadbasket of the People's Militia (one of the two multi-planet empires), has a problem with pollen that affects offworlders who have to wear filter masks. The author goes on to describe the social/economic layout of the planet in enough detail to provide adventure hooks. The rural nature of the planet offers opportunities for trade and adventure. Smaller towns offer potentially hostile or ill-tempered locals who need something done. And of course there's the built-in opportunity to do some profitable, if risky, smuggling.

The remaining six planets each get a similar descriptive breakdown - providing enough detail to set them apart from the rest while offering reasons and hooks for adventure.

I have two reasons for giving the product a three. The first is that the covers are in color, but the subsector map is black and white. It's easy enough to generate a color map, and the front and back covers (as well as some other pieces) are in color. In this day and age I expect color to used where it's most useful. And maps are (or at least should be) a primary focus of this.

The second, and main reason, I only gave this three stars was the lack of information on the remaining systems, and, to a lesser extent, more background on the two main political entities. There are 28 listed on the map and where system details are provided. But only seven get descriptions. The remaining systems only exist as far as system UPP's go (with a few exceptions to base listings, including pirate). There are two systems listed as Red zones and ten as Amber, so I would expect at least SOME description of why. A handful fall within the seven systems that are listed, but most aren't.

What I think should have happened was that the other 21 systems be given a paragraph description. And any system listed as Amber or Red definitely needed to have defined why they were listed as such. I find it annoying, to say the least, that planets get marked this way and no reason given. If there isn't a reason, then why bother? A referee can easy mark a planet as such if they so choose. If you are going to mark it you need to give a reason. I think it would have helped to provide more information on the two empires. There's mention of nearly 20 pirate bases in the region. I'm sure most are independent outfits, so it would have been nice to know which bases are known as the best places to fence stolen goods or ships, where you can go to repair damage or to get better weapons.

I think the supplement shows a lot of promise, but it's a bit light on details for my tastes. Hopefully the next ones will have more. I wouldn't mind spending double ($6 instead of $3) to get what I'm looking/asking for. It's still inexpensive enough that price isn't an issue.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Foreven Worlds: Fessor Subsector (Traveller)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
After reading your review, I must admit that you are correct on why you docked this 2 stars. I will be updating with a color map as soon as possible. Also I will be sure to add details on all the other worlds in the sector for future subsector releases. For this one though, I will be posting details on all the other worlds free on JonBrazer.com. Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate it. Dale McCoy, President of Jon Brazer Enterprises.
Foreven Worlds: Fessor Subsector (Traveller)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/25/2014 12:13:38
New worlds to explore is what Traveller is all about - and here is an area with considerable scope, as much is not aligned with the big power blocs (Imperium, Zhodani, etc) and parts even unexplored... territory your party might put their own stamp on, maybe even establishing their own government.

Most of the worlds in Fessor Subsector either stand alone or as part of small multi-world states, with many regimes being noted for their tendency to be led by warlords or dictators rather than public servants in office for the good of their citizens. Other worlds began as colonies of like-minded folk seeking freedom (perhaps to practice a particular way of life) and some have even retained that spirit. Others were sponsored by corporations, content provided a regular supply of whatever resource sent them there in the first place is maintained.

As well as a formal UPP, each world gets a write-up of several paragraphs that gives a summary overview of what that planet is like. Whist short, these pen-pictures give a good feel of the overall picture at an appropriate level for a visitor to the planet - and should provide plenty of ideas for inventive referees should the party decide to go there.

A nice part of the universe to visit, scope for adventure without being the sort of place nobody in their right mind would visit. Oh, and they have pirates, too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for taking the time to review. Everyone here is glad you enjoyed it and took the time to share your thoughts.
Age of Ideas: Character Backgrounds (13th Age/Archmage)
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2014 20:41:25
I was fairly disappointed with this product which essentially lists 100 mundane medieval professions. The four character backgrounds given as a sample are among the most interesting. The two pages of content are duplicates except that one of them is borderless.

I was expecting to see more inspiring entries to help spark the imagination when creating characters. Stamping it as 13th Age Compatible feels like a lazy attempt to profit from the interest generated by the game. You will likely get more mileage out of this free list : http://arcana.wikidot.com/list-of-medieval-european-professi-
ons

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Ideas: Character Backgrounds (13th Age/Archmage)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Magic: Pirate Spells (PFRPG)
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2013 12:42:46
While there are only twenty four spells in this volume, each is quite evocative in their own way. Meant for inspired sea-faring, each of the spells serve a real function (as opposed to just merely being a way to stack on damage. The spells are well thought out and provide interesting avenues of application in a seafaring, or even sub-seafaring campaign. The imagery involved in spells such as "Kelp Grapples" is worth the price alone. I'll certainly be looking at a few other publications. While I don't play Pathfinder, these spells are easily adapted to other settings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Magic: Pirate Spells (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d66 Reasons for an Amber Alert System
by Margaret E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2013 06:10:31
Seems like Star Trek only had a Red Alert or nothing. An Amber Alert makes sense. A good list of things that aren't as serious as the things on the Red Alert list d66 has. I recommend both

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d66 Reasons for an Amber Alert System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d66 Narcotic and Recreational Drug Names
by Margaret E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2013 06:01:44
I think all of the drugs on this list have excellent sounding names for sci-fi type scenarios. Good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d66 Narcotic and Recreational Drug Names
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 122 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG