RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Old School Renaissance Handbook
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2014 10:19:52
Original on my blog: http://scriptogr.am/sbr/post/rezension-osr-handbook

This is a review of the 1st iteration of the OSR Handbook. The new edition contains more systems but otherwise haven't changed much. This review will still be helpful!
---------------------------
OSR, was ist das überhaupt?
OSR steht für Old School Renaissance und bezeichnet eine Richtung des Rollenspieldesigns, die wieder "back to the roots" geht, also auf den ersten Editionen von D&D beruht.

Als Gamer jüngerer Generation sind mir die ersten Rollenspielwerke fremd. Mein erster Kontakt mit D&D erfolgte mit der Edition 3.5. Daher ist die OSR-Bewegung auch bislang an mir vorbei gegangen. Ich weiß jedoch, dass es gerade in der Bloggerszene viele Anhänger dieses Genres gibt. Als ich auf Google+ über Brent Newhall's Werk gestoßen bin, war ich daher neugierig. Ich habe ihn daher gefragt, ob er mir ein Rezensionsexemplar zukommen lassen kann - und er kann!

Was ist also das OSR Handbook?

Das Old School Renaissance Handbook hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, einen Überblick über 16 Systeme des Genres zu bieten. Beginnend mit einer Tabelle folgt eine Anleitung zu jedem der Rpgs, welches einen Kurzabriss über das System, die Regelmechanik sowie die vorgestellten Ratschläge für Spielleiter und Spieler bietet. Anschließend wurden fünf Standardcharaktere für jedes der 16 Spiele erstellt.

In der Printversion wird es noch Bilder und Interviews mit einigen der Autoren geben. Grundlage dieser Rezension ist die PDF-Datei.

Übersicht

Das PDF findet auf 86 Seiten Platz. Es ist voll indiziert. Das Layout ist einfach gehalten. Man merkt, dass es in LibreOffice gestaltet wurde, es ist jedoch alles gut lesbar.

Nach einer kurzen Einleitung erklärt der Autor den Begriff OSR und die Kriterien für die Charaktererschaffung der Beispielcharaktere (1.-Level-Charaktere mit 0 XP, Archetypen: Zwergenkrieger, Elfischer Bogenschütze, Halbling-Dieb, menschlicher Priester und Magier).

Die Systeme

Folgende Systeme stellt Brent Newhall vor:

Adventurer Conqueror King System
BareBones RPG
Dungeon Crawl Classics
Dungeon Raiders
Dungeon Squad
Dungeon World (Basic)
Labyrinth Lord
Lamentations of the Flame Princess
Mazes & Minotaurs
Microlite74
Old School Hack
OSRIC
Searchers of the Unknown
Stars Without Number
Swords and Wizardry
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Näheres hier.

The Good, The Bad and the Ugly

The Good

Das OSR Handbook schafft es, eine breite Palette von Systemen vorzustellen. Neben regelleichten Rollenspielen gibt es auch Werke mit über 400 Seiten. Man kann die Systeme vergleichen und durch die Beispielcharaktere gewinnt man einen guten Überblick.

The Bad

Eine kleinere Kritik: Dungeon World wurde in der Basic Edition vorgestellt, die m.W. gar nicht mehr erhältlich ist, da es sich um eine Vorab-Version während des Kickstarters handelte. Das fertiggestellte Dungeon World hat wesentlich mehr Klassen. Auch die Github-Version, die Brent hier herangezogen hat, besitzt schon mehr Klassen.
Ich habe ihn darauf aufmerksam gemacht und habe es so verstanden, dass er das noch ändern wird.

The Ugly

Das Layout der PDF-Version ist graphisch nicht besonders ansprechend. Zur Verdeutlichung wären vielleicht Boxen anstatt Auflistungen sinnvoll gewesen.

Fazit

Wenn man sich mit OSR beschäftigt, wird man feststellen, dass es massig Systeme gibt. Die Auswahl kann einen schier erschlagen. Umso schöner, dass sich jemand die Mühe gemacht hat, ein Handbuch zusammenzustellen.
Das OSR Handbook gibt dem interessierten Neuling einen Einstieg in das Genre und dem Veteranen eine Möglichkeit, seine Lieblingssysteme anhand der praktischen Übersicht zu vergleichen.
Gestandene OSR-Recken werden vielleicht wenig Neues finden, haben dafür aber einen Haufen von Informationen in einem handlichen Dokument.
Streng genommen ist das OSR Handbook kein Muss-Kauf, aber für $2.99 (PDF) macht der Rollenspielfan m.E. nichts falsch!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Renaissance Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bounty Hunter Blues
by Joseph E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2014 22:42:39
I've played this Fiasco Playset a few times now and every time it deliveries a fun and dark session that you could see taking place in the world of Cowboy Bebop. If your looking for a new Fiasco playset and like Anime and Cowboy Bebop this is a great choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bounty Hunter Blues
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Steel & Flame
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2014 15:56:01
A combination of Barbarians of Lemuria (which I love) and Fate (also...love), Steel & Flame is is quick and simple with very light mechanical crunch and only a few hints of world detail fluff.

I would say it is perfect for an evening's pick up game, or a quick side story in a world that the play group (or at least the GM) is already familiar with. I'm not sure if it has enough "heft" to support a longer campaign, but the rules are concise enough that they can easily be built on.

I would have loved to see one more page of content - either a quick bestiary or even a "one page dungeon" style adventure.

Nonetheless, for the price I am well satisfied with the value received.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Steel & Flame
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MurderHobos
by J. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2014 08:44:36
bloody love it! a delightfully basic mechanic allows for more inventive creations, setting wise and creature wise.

for what its designed for it is rules lite dungeoneering fun.

but with some meddling (a couple of extra stats and seperating experience and currency) I've now got the perfect rules system for running quick 'filler' games between my groups full on gaming sessions.

my only addition would be, that it could be good to add some tropey monsters to guide those less creative in what the average abilities of such creatures is as a guide to people coming up with their own?

so far ran one session with this, was a good balance of giggles and 'serious?' roleplay. Many thanks.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MurderHobos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MurderHobos
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2014 20:36:11
I dig it. Lots of great design ideas here.

Cool stuff...
1.) Your characters have special things they can do something somewhat akin to 4e but without any bloat whatsoever. This rocks.
2.) Simplified and streamlined die mechanics that remind me a bit of Dungeon World... very cool.

Not so cool stuff...
1.) Healing potions can blow up and make you sick, etc. Kinda funny but also might get in the way of a serious game. However, if you're going for a beer and pretzels kinda thing, watching your party throw up blue chunks and emit noxious gases could be pretty awesome.
2.) The bit about everything having gold, gold, gold! Well, this reminds me too much of being in Legend of Zelda or some other type video game. Not necessarily a bad thing, but in a more serious game it could stretch the suspension of disbelief too far into gonzo-land. And that being the experience system as well isn't quite my thing.

But yeah, in general two thumbs up for this one!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Steel & Flame
by Wolf B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2014 14:25:32
This is a very simple system, but at that it is very flexible that allows you to run any kind of character. A great game for an evening of Sword & Sorcery!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Steel & Flame
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Steel & Flame
by Andreas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2014 03:25:30
Bland layout, big illustrations wasting space which could have been used to flesh out the spartanic rules, and too much of the (for my taste) too vague and uninspiring bol. FATE Accelerated would be a far better choice (which is "pay what you want" too).

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ability Score
by Ron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 03:07:32
It is a very very simple system, it is a one page game system.

It does not however have any specific guidance for combat systems; just a very loose interpretation. An update utilizing a little more of the 1 page real estate with combat options would be GREAT. Experienced gamers can make it work, I think with a little more information, this would be the perfect introductory game system.

EpicRPGBlog.blogspot.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ability Score
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Delvers
by Wayne R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2013 12:57:38
I've given this 4 stars mainly because it omits a few key little details that I feel are important, if these little things were corrected or clarified I'd be upping my rating to 5 stars.

They are:

1. Leveling- The class abilities refer to level, however the game never actually states how to "level up".
2. The monsters (and free adventures) feature this sentence a lot "an attacked enemy must make a "insert stat here" roll or be immobilized/weakened etc" but never states if this is addition to regular 1 hit damage or replaces it. It also never clarifies if "attacked" means if "hit" or just the target of an attack.

I know i'm being nit picky, and it's a pocket book rpg, and it is an amazing one at that, however I think these small items could have been addressed in the "Dungeon Master" section, as there is no real need for a character sheet for a game of this size to take up a whole page.

Sincerely,

Wayne.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Delvers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Delvers
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2013 02:17:11
The simplicity here is just astounding! As a long-time gamer, I've seen attempts to simplify fantasy rpg's, and many have not done so well. But this...what can I say. It's simply genius!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Delvers
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2013 07:18:38
This is a quick and simple role-playing system crammed into a single page (plus an extra page with more spells) along the lines of Dungeons & Dragons but ever so much simpler. It could be used for introducing your non-gaming friends to the hobby without daunting them with a pile of rulebooks and bewildering explanations, or even as a game for children. Or something quick to play when you don't have time or space for other game systems.

And yet, it has the scope to develop into more... into the core of a 'proper' game. It's got all the freedom of very simple rules. If it isn't here, you'll have to work out how something is done and moderate success appropriately.

Some people may be daunted by this simplicity, others will revel in it. As a quick task-resolution system you could use it to run brawls, or to underly intense story-led role-play when you do not want rule mechanics to interfere with the flow but do need them occasionally.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bounty Hunter Blues
by Muzaffer B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/29/2013 00:49:42
This is not a "list" or an individual game. This is a playset for Fiasco. If you like Cowboy Bebop series and play Fiasco, then this is a 5 star product for you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bounty Hunter Blues
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bounty Hunter Blues
by Denis P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2013 13:43:41
What is the point? There is nothing in this download.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Bounty Hunter Blues
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 10:13:11
Previous reviewer did not understand that this is just a free downloadable Fiasco playset. Requires Fiasco to use.

All in all, its all right. Could use a bit of an intro into what exactly the expectations are for this playset to 'simulate'.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bounty Hunter Blues
by Craig M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 08:44:19
It's simply a ten-page list. Not at all what I expected.
It point of fact, I could LITERALLY print the entire document in this review.
Disappointed to say the least.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG