RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pip System Corebook
by HAMILTON R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2018 22:50:45

12/5/2018 Review = PIP core rules. / I purchased this in early 2018

Easy to understand? – The PIP System core rulebook - and the rules themselves - are easy to understand, even with a cursory, initial 30-minute scan of the text. The layout of the book is your standard "this is what it is - this is how to make characters - this is how to roll for actions - these are other elements of the game - this is how to GM" design. The artwork is balanced: not too much design, so as not to overwhelm you, but there was enough detail and color on the pages and in the artwork to hold my interest. I think PIP uses stock art for its decoration, but that is not a bad thing.

Fun to play? – PIP is fun to play, but be aware that it is a multi-dice rolling system. The advantage of such a system is a detailed dice roll, where someone with a vivid imagination can run wild with "what happened" on that roll. Others might be put-off by the sheer amount of dice to roll and may get bogged down in counting the correct number of dice to roll - BUT this game quality is not overbearing and works well with the game mechanics presented. I found a lot of fun in creating the characters for PIP: it has a detailed yet easy-flow system for creating wonderfully colorful characters with unique traits and abilities. You even roll for items and special qualities, which is a mechanic not found in many other RPGs that seek to keep things simple.

Built to last? – As much fun as PIP seems to play, with me and my group, rolling a bunch of dice tends to bog down game action and overall interest. The system holds well in character creation - it is extremely good for that! - however, in my opinion, if you do a lot of dice-rolling in your games, you may be in for a lot of dice counting. This is not a bad thing; it's just something I don't prefer. I find that this particular type of game races quickly out of the box, but it looses steam in the long race (because, we just get tired of counting and rolling dice all the time). Still, this is not a game-breaking issue, not even for me.

One more note: the printed book that I received was printed on an inkjet printer, so not the best print quality... but, not bad, either.

Worth the money? – PIP is worth the money at about $12-$15 (2018). You can also order a hard-copy, which I did (both PDF and HC); that is always a bonus. To me, being able to get a hard copy of the game is always worth an extra +1 star or a few bonus percentage points in the rating column.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pip System Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Part-Time Gods Second Edition
by Ed S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 14:42:09

This is my current favorite RPG and have just started a new campaign. The setting, though not necessarily unique, is intriguing as presented. The game system is simple to understand though the manifestation and attachment components takes time to grasp. Being creative really helps and increases the enjoyability. I highly recommend this game for people who are looking for a narrative style game as just rolling dice to resolve actions doesn't do this game justice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Part-Time Gods Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Part-Time Gods Second Edition
by Karl E. L. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2018 19:22:45

This might be as close to a magnum opus as i have ever seen Eloy Lasanta and Third Eye games come before it. This game is without a doubt my favorite rpg of all time, and it has had a near and dear spot in my heart. I loved first edition but i recognized that the game was a bit unpolished in certain areas and could need to expand some concepts....I am extactic to say that the polish has come of and there has certainly been done some expansions. You have here one of the best Urban Fantasy games i have ever seen, and without a doubt this is the best God Rpg i have ever encountered. This game is what Scion back in first edition wished that it could be.

The Premise of Part Time Gods is simple, you play humans who have become gods in the modern day. You are the inheritors of the legacy of the old pantheons like the hindu gods, the norse gods and the greek gods and so on. You carry their divine spark within you and you are the next generaiton of gods. However you unlike your ancient predecessors live alongside humanity rather than separate from it. So in this game you do divine schennanigans as well as dealing with your daily life...and intermingle the two. you gather worshippers as well as go to be apart of your dnd group and you sometimes have to keep an eye on divine stuff while trying to have fun with your dnd friends. You have great power but also bills to pay and friends and family to deal with. therefore you are part time gods rather than full time ones

So what are the highlights of this game for those who would wonder:

  1. A tight balance between mortal and god: The Gods of Today are not like the unbeatable Titans that preceeded them. They don't live on paralell worlds larger than earth itself, ruling over tens of thousands of worshippers, they don't comand ever facet of their dominions and they aren't perfectly immortal and invincible. The Gods of Today live alongside humanity as they were once humans themselves, they are the god of tea who have to do 3 minimum wage jobs to keep the lights on, they are the child who by accident has become the patron god of cannibals...who has to make sure that their divine nature does not rub off on others...while also being terrified of themselves and the influence they excude. They are the old pensionists and spoiled rich kids who have family obligations and friends they love. This game has mechanics to ensure that the Gods have to keep ties with their previous mortal existence, but they must also attend to their divine duties. It utilizes a clever system by making Free Time a measurable commodity and it has bonds veyr much akin to touchstones in games like Vampire the Requiem, V5, Changeling the Lost and Wraith the Oblivion.

  2. Diversified powers: You can be a traditional sort of god who has control over Winter or Lightning or you could be the god of paperclips, anvils, babysitters, mall cops or you could control something so Broad as Time. The only real options that aren't feasible are gods of "everything" or the god of "gods", but pretty much everything besides that is fair game. This Reviewer have seen gods of: Cannibals, Paper, Nerds, Storms, Time, Lightening, Death, Ravens, Tyranny, Rock Music, Needlework, Kindness, Light, Whispers and Hate. The different aspects of focus on of each dominion is also noteable, which means that you can have gods with the same dominion but wiith widely different abillities due to different focuses. The level of variety is almost if not completely Equal to Mage the Ascension

  3. Interesting Splats: This game has a very cool way of giving you interesting splats, every character has several splat layers. Their Dominion, Their Archetype((a reflection of their personality)), Their Mortal Occupation and Their Theology((basically a specific god ideology)). All of these can be mixed and matched to make up very interesting characters. You could be a god of babysitters who has become a member of the order of Meskhenet: An Aristorcracy of Gods who help groom whom they consider worthy to be gods, they have fast cars and loads of cash...but with that comes an obligation to the order. Or maybe you are a member of the Chaotic Puck Eaters who also work as Journalist, your hunger is not just for the latest scoop but for the flesh of monsters and greater gods...I could rant on but trust me there is a lot of diversity and depth here.

  4. Territory: The game implements a very handy map feature called the territory grid, where the players put out various points of interests connected to their characters. The territory grid is also tied to the free time system that has been mentioned earlier, moving over the map requires spending free time to reflect the time spent traveling. The second cool aspect about territory is that your god's nature impacts the territory. If you are a god of death then death would make itself more known in your territory, more people will die, more morbid thoughts will be spread and more ghosts will find their way there and more urns and undertakers will find their way into the territory. A Pantheon of Gods(the player group) will have their dominions affect their shared territory and link each effect, if a god of liqour and orphans joined the pantheon of the aforementioned death god. Then the deaths caused by more people drinking alochol creates more orphans. Or the orphans become morbid and afraid of death and therefore starts drinking alcohol.

5 Antagonists: The book has excellent antagonist rules that can be used to easily reflect an animal or a legion of zombies or a hydra or a internet personality and everything in between. These antagonists serves as opponents for mental, social and physical struggles ranging from petty douchebags to machiavellian masterminds and inhuman beasts. So you can much more easily have your character fight large groups without getting to cluttered and you can have individual threats.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: Nā ‘Aumākua (for AMP: Year Two)
by Karl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2018 09:43:03

Nā ‘Aumākua is definitely one of the more interesting factions AMP has to offer. You can play it as utopian faction of AMP/SAP cooperation, or a corrupt cabal of crazy vigilantes. This supplement really sets them up nicely for play. In addition to the pure faction information, it has some new powers and a nice scenario which fits the faction very well.

I miss a bit more tips and advice for the GM, and the product leans heavily on AMP: Year Two to make sense.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: Nā ‘Aumākua (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AMP: Year Two
by Karl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2018 00:44:48

AMP has the feel of a 90s RPG, and continues to be supported with awesome supplements since its initial release. This supplement brigs the stories timeline one year further. Together with a section about how the AMP revolution have affected individual states in the US and some countries around the world, this is the biggest chunk of the book.

The themes of year seems to be paranoia and responsibility. The dust has settled from the AMPs initial emergence, and the government and other group is now responding, often hostile. The game has a political slant, but it is surprisingly open-minded and balanced. There are a few “odd moments” where the writing could have been better, but mostly it was amazingly creative and full of ideas.

There are four new factions, fitting the year’s theme. You can play government agencies that fight AMPs, or AMP groups that has taken a deeper responsibility, either by cooperating with humanity or pushing back.

There are several new powers, the most important being gadgeteer, which can be used by humans. It is now possible to play a human character, and still hold your own to the AMPs.

If you purely want mechanics, this book might disappoint you. If you appreciate the setting, this is a highly enjoyable read, and will give you a ton of ideas on how to continue your own game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AMP: Year Two
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. 2nd Edition
by Jeffrey D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2018 09:38:37

I got the opportunity to review API2E for Knights of the Dinner Table (mag) last year. I'm including a few snippets of that review below:

Apocalypse Prevention Inc., 2nd Edition is an interesting RPG. The setting is modern day. The player characters will be asserting the role of earth saving, hero agents. This RPG is custom made to follow either a Hell Boy or Men in Black sort of game experience. Apocalypse Prevention Inc., 2E has is a lot of character options, as well as a robust combat system. A bit of a critique here is that horror is mentioned as a theme, but beyond character choices, I didn’t see enough in the writing for running a horror themed RPG. You probably could, but the horror elements aren't supported enough (my opinoin). Looking for something in line with Hell Boy or Men in Black? This is the RPG you should pick up.

The full review is on my blog here: https://withinthedungeon.blogspot.com/2018/01/apocalypse-prevention-inc-2nd-edition.html#gpluscomments



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
by Ronald B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 18:15:29

One of my favorite features is there’s no metaplot, just the setup. There are no secrets, which only the game master may know--another Good Thing(TM). The end result is players can read this book, cover-to-cover, and their understanding and enjoyment of the game can only be enhanced by doing so.

The core mechanic of the game is simple--roll d20, add modifiers, beat target number. A deft GM could easily roll in the additional mechanics as needed, to a crunch-shy group.

I have two issues with this book: 1) It seems to me a game about a war should include mass combat rules. I know ninja battles are showcased as one-on-on events in anime and manga, but larger-scale skirmishes and battles are mentioned; so they should be represented by rules. 2) The editing in this book leaves much to be desired. There are times where I laughed for all the wrong reasons when I was reading.

If you’re looking for a blow-by-blow replacement for Legend of the Five Rings, you may be disappointed by Wu Xing. Further, avoid it if you weren’t excited about my description of initiative and combat. But if you love martial arts action, and authentic Eastern culture is a tough sell at your game table, this is a must buy. Heck, if you saw Avatar: The Last Airbender and loved it, go directly to your FLGS or Third Eye Games' store or RPGNow--do not pass go; do not collect $200.

Full review at http://ronblessing.blogspot.com/2012/01/read-thru-wu-xing-ninja-crusade.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pip System QuickStart
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2017 19:04:12

The Pip System QuickStart is a 2017 release from Third Eye Games. It was written by Eloy Lasanta and features a cover by Gunship Revolution.

Presentation This is a 20 page pdf in full color. It has a page for a cover, one for credits and a back cover. The rest is content. The layout is clear and the editing is top-notch. This is easy to read and easy on the eyes.

Content This is a quickstart and so it's not a complete game. It is comparable to many other quickstarts out there in that it provides a summary of the rules, a sample adventure, and some pre-generated characters to tackle that adventure.

The book does not include character creation rules. Instead it focuses on what happens in a role-playing game, how tests, combat, and challenges are resolved using the PIP system. There's a section on Fortune and how to use it and a brief but comprehensive glossary of game terms. This short explanation of the rules takes about 6 pages in all with a few pieces of artwork.

The next section is the introductory adventure "The Crash Site". The adventure is set in The World After, a post-apocalyptic setting. The players are gathered around a campfire swapping stories when they see a group of planes fly by under enemy fire. One of them goes down and the others continue. The players decide to investigate the crash site to see if there is anything they can scavenge, an important part of life in The World After.

The adventure is laid out as a series of challenges, each of which describes an obstacle and the difficulties the players will face in overcoming it. This part does a good job of illustrating the ways characters can try to overcome problems. It also includes some nice tie-ins to the skills and abilities of the included pregenerated characters and ends with some notes on where things might go after the adventure. This section takes about seven pages.

The final section is for the pregenerated characters. There are six of them, each presented on it's own page. The characters run the gamut from a bad ass bounty hunter to an escaped prisoner and a noble magician among others. Each of them pregens is unique and each of them has a defined goal and enough background to help new players bring them to life.

Evaluation This is a really good quickstart. It has enough of the rules to whet your interest without spending too much time on details you'll never use. It reflects the highlights of the system and accents the focus on getting players up and running quickly.

The included adventure is a bit of a railroad, but it would be difficulty to produce anything else as part of a 20 page quickstart. It does offer multiple ways to solve many of the challenges and allows every character to shine in its own way. It's a well-designed trip and that's good for a quickstart where there's a chance none of the players is familiar with the rules or how to play an RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pip System QuickStart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pip System QuickStart
by Raymond S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2017 09:53:28

Great intro to 3EG's Pip System. Like any good quickstart product, it gives you everything you need to understand the basics of the system and the sample adventure/included PCs will have you rolling dice in no time. All you need are some d6s, too, which is incredibly convenient for those new roleplayers or those introducing their kids to the hobby. Fewer dice types lead to less confusion, and for those not yet initiated into the joy of FLGS, d6s are easy to obtain. 5/5, would recommend picking this up (and then the Pip System core rulebook) to a friend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pip System Corebook
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2017 14:25:12

Eloy has really caught lightning in the bottle with this amazing fun and versatile role-playing game system. You can easily create nearly almost any type of character. It is not only kid friendly but also adult friendly. You can really run away with this system and build almost any world or genre you can imagine. Character creation is a snap, within only a few minutes you will be creating well rounded and fun characters. The system is light and very easy to learn. Not only great for group play but I think it also plays well for solo play. This is a super fun game system, give it a try, you will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pip System Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sins of the Father
by Nate L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2017 22:33:24

A very well done concept with a novel, card-based game mechanic and is structured around a character's relationship with the Dark Lord. Are they able to escape their soul debt? Or, I guess you could also just embrace it and see how that is (i.e. the way some of us saw Vampire: the Masquerade as a superhero game). Choosing to fail and embracing evil is a valid method of playing the game. It really is focused on that narrative concept, which is a good one. With the 7 deadly sins as a framework, there's plenty of narrative space for characters to explore their own sense of evil.

The use of card decks instead of dice is certainly different (basically, pass/fail mechanic on high/low card, with a couple additional twists). The lack of a physical "inventory" is also an interesting choice, but it keeps the game timeless (which helps for generational play) and makes the storytelling focused on the central sin/virtue core of the storytelling. (Yes, the game art in the PDF is definitely modern, but the rules are pretty generic about it, especially since it doesn't say that any skill requires any specific implement like a cell phone or a hand-and-a-half sword or whatever. So you could conceivably place this anytime, anyplace.)

It certainly falls into the story game mode, and less into the "kill things and take their stuff" mode of RPG.

If you're into the exploration of good and evil, and also interested in generational games (yes, the sins of the father do get passed down if you want to do the generational thing), then this is a good concept game for you. It's not like super-mega hardcore kind of game that beats you up with good versus evil, and the game does mention "Tone" - so you can think about going super straight dire/nasty storytelling, or consider a more slappy humorous tone, or a mixture (which is important, given the good vs. evil backbone).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sins of the Father
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Affiliation Guide: Hounds (for AMP: Year Two)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2016 02:40:47

In Eloy Lasantas' socially conscious AMP setting, Hounds are all kinds of bad. No only are they hunters of the emergent AMP super-humans, with no qualms against using torture and illegal surveillance; all Hounds are also dominated by super-technology to act against their will. Publishing the Hounds affiliation guide I can imagine was the last thing the designers wanted to do; the choice was the backers of the AMP: Year two Kickstarter. There are simply so many obstacles to playing a good Hound campaign, as odds are you'll be playing a character that is either dominated to act against their own best interest, or a total psychopath. Nevertheless, the writers go eagerly to business, detailing the various aspects of the Hound operation. Who they are, how they operate, their short and long term plans, are all covered. Across the AMP line I have found the writing to vary significantly, but overall, this supplement is well written. The supplement also strikes a nice balance between showing how the affiliation is basically state-founded death squad, and the agony of those trapped within. There is also a affiliation-specific power, allowing a character to enhance the use of their Hound technology. Finally, there is a manhunt scenario. It is very Hound specific, and is almost unusable outside them. In this section I feel the writing slips a bit, as the scenario is bogged down in very specific instructions as to how scenes can play out. It could have been written and presented much cleaner. The most interesting part of it, the possibility of Hound technology in the hands of a journalist, is barely mentioned at the end, while other parts are detailed far beyond the necessary. This supplement has a very limited scope, which limits its use. I also feel there is a big opportunity lost with it. Like many Super games, there are good guys and bad guys; in AMP the bad guys are at best misguided in their wish to keep people safe from AMPs, with raging "racists" on the side of worse. Hounds are even beyond that, so playing one isn't really about the social issues AMP is built around. Instead there is a psychological horror of guilt and paranoia; the fact you are made to do horrible things against your will. An exploration of a Hound campaign as psychological horror would have been a great inclusion, and is what truly separates Hounds from other affiliations.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: Hounds (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mermaid Adventures RPG
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 21:49:05

The artwork in this fills me with existential dread. The urchinfolk evoke body horror. I can't handle it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mermaid Adventures RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
by Steven M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2016 17:40:41

There have been a series of good Kickstarters lately. One of those is The Ninja Crusade, Second Edition. (It dropped the "Wu Xing", which makes me a bit sad.) It arrived about the same time that my Runequest II did, and while I was absorbed in my new Savage Rifts PDF. But I pulled myself away from them (no mean feat, because they're both awesome) to read The Ninja Crusade 2E. I carried it around quite a bit for a couple of weeks, read it from cover to cover. (Now I can't find my physical copy. Until I do, at least I'll have my PDF.)

I can't help but compare The Ninja Crusade 2E to the first edition of The Ninja Crusade (aka Wu Xing). I was a fan of Wu Xing, and had invested in it heavily. When the new edition was announced, I wasn't sure if there was a need for it. It's not like I've really gotten to play the original, what with lack of any groups and free time. But I poured over those books, and I didn't want anything to come along that would invalidate it.

But I believe that Second Edition is a worthy successor to the first. Let me explain why.

Overview The Ninja Crusade (both editions) is a wuxia fantasy game inspired by Asia; it doesn't map neatly to any particular nation or culture, but blends numerous elements into its own thing. You play ninja, a warrior possessed of remarkable fighting skill and jutsu (magic). The setting is defined by intrigue and action; as a ninja, you're an outlaw and enemy of the state, and you must walk carefully. But sometimes subtlety just isn't an option, and you have to kick ass and let the jutsu fly.

The Setting For other fans of Wu Xing, the thing to keep in mind is TNC2 isn't just a rules update (more on that shortly), but a setting update as well. It's set two years after the original edition, and quite a bit has happened while leaving the basic premise of the game intact: rival ninja clans band together like Voltron to defeat the Izou Empire. So both editions are the same game, fluff-wise, it's just they do different things with the set pieces.

In First Edition/Wu Xing, it's driven home the clans are forced together in an uneasy alliance. Quite a few ninja are unwilling to let bygones be bygones, and will readily capitalize on any opportunity to shame or even kill their rivals. Inter-clan relations are tense, to say the least, and you really have to reach for justifications for mixed groups. Even if you don't hold any grudges, your clanmates do, and it can be difficult to gain status with your clan if you don't support their policies. And it's not like there aren't reasons for the ill feelings -- a respected member of an enemy clan may have killed your mentor. Essentially, your characters have to come up with their own reasons to associate across clans. While multi-clan groups seemed to be the default assumption for games, there was only a little support for that in the books. I had the sense that one was thrown into the deep end of the game and left to figure out how to swim. And that's not necessarily a bad thing, as I'm of the opinion that games don't have to hold your hand and show you how to play every step of the way. There's something to be said for finding your own answers instead of having them answered for you. But

One of the big reasons for the ninjas to work together (well, the only reason) is to take down the Izou Empire. The Empire is ruthless, and persecuted ninjas and even its own people. But they have reasons for what they do -- it was a ninja that poisoned the Emperor's daughter and killed his favorite concubine, after all. There are no clear-cut good guys or bad guys. Everybody has their sympathetic points, and everybody has their flaws. I've heard a few people bemoan this relativity, and the lack of clear white hoods and black hoods, but I think it's one of the game's strengths. No edition of The Ninja Crusade is likely to be your bag if you can only enjoy four-color morality In your games.

The Second Edition advances the timeline by two years or so. The Emperor is now dead, assassinated by (you guessed it) ninja. It's left up in the air how it happened and who exactly did it; I think this is done intentionally, perhaps the PCs participated or were involved in some way, or the GM can pin the act on one clan. This has left the ninja clans in a precarious position. The ninja were once the champions of the people, but some commoners have turned on their former defenders due to the Emperor's death. So they band together tightly out of desperation, and have formed a multi-clan village called Danketsu. The clans have squashed a lot of the beefs they had, because they all live in the same community now, and they're doomed if they don't. The old tensions and grudges and outright hates are still there, but it's not emphasized as much in this edition, and more is made of the burgeoning ties the clans and the individual ninjas are forming. So at least some good came of the regicide, right? And it's a richer foundation for mixed-clan groups. It's nice when the game doesn't fight you when you try to play it as intended.

I have to say that I like the setting in light of the metaplot advances more than the original... which I feel a little guilty about, because I like the original so much. But it is an improvement, and I wouldn't be fair to the new game if I didn't admit that.

So setting-wise, like I explained, it's still the same basic game. But the rules? These are as different as yin and yang.

The Rules The original Wu Xing was based on the Dynamic Gaming System (DGS), a d20-based system -- its own system with a d20 in it, not the d20 System of the WotC deluge from decades past. Wu Xing's DGS was crunchy, it had a lot of bonuses and widgets and moving parts and stuff. This is normally not my preference, but it was a solid rules set. And the complexity fit the game. You had all these different martial arts styles and magic and weapons and other things, and the mechanical differences made them distinct. Crane Style was different from Eagle Style, and both were distinct from Snake Style, and not in just the fluff. The basics of the system were easy to learn, it was all the specifics it was hard to keep straight in my head at first. I'll admit that I'm more of a fluff and story guy than one that focuses on mechanical specifics. But I enjoyed the DGS ala Wu Xing once I internalized it.

And then The Ninja Crusade 2E comes along with its radically different Chakra System, based on d10 die pools. And while I like the new rules, I'm still not quite sure what to think about that shift.

First, a handful of d10s recalls certain other games that I don't play anymore. Not just the dice rolled, but there are similarities in the basic resolution mechanic. You add stat + stat + mods to make a pool. 7 and over is a success. 10s explode. 1s lead to dramatic failures. Die pools are additive, with number of dice measuring competency. The goal is to build your pool as much as you can before rolling, leading to a lot of dice tossed around whenever characters do something.

This isn't saying that the system doesn't do anything interesting or original, because it definitely does. It nixes attributes in favor of skill + skill rolls, a carryover from the Combo System in A.M.P., and I approve of this. In some places, the Chakra System is simpler and more intuitive than 1E's version of the DGS, yet it still makes each style, each power, each character feel unique. It's a solid system, and I'd love to actually play it at some point. Might as well, I'm already making characters for it! Because I quite like the lifepath character generation system, no reservations there. (I've been working on something similar for my own game.) Character creation is a blast, and you can use it to generate a huge variety of characters.

Let me reiterate, I do like the Chakra System. The resolution mechanic is straightforward and it works; a lot of games can't say that. But it is a very drastic change from First Edition, and there's no easy way to to convert characters and material from it to 2E. It certainly doesn't spoil me on the new edition, but it is a jarring transition. (As far as personal preferences go, I might have preferred d6s over d10s... though part of this is because I have a lot more of the former dice than the latter. I also prefer smaller die pools to larger ones, using roll-and-keep or other techniques to do more with just a handful of dice than rolling buckets of dice. These aren't criticisms of the game itself, but the reviewer's musings. I'll be happy playing The Ninja Crusade 2E with the system as-is.)

In Closing I would definitely recommend Ninja Crusade Second Edition for anyone that liked the original game. And for those unfamiliar with the game or its previous edition, but like high-flying martial arts action and magic in a setting full of intrigue, get this game right now! It's a very worthwhile purchase and I'm looking forward to more books from the line; already, some of the clan books have been converted to the new system.

Just those of you familiar with the old school, don't expect a seamless transition between the two editions' rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Affiliation Guide: United Human Front (for AMP: Year Two)
by Karl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2016 14:29:06

This supplement puts the spotlight on one of the bad guys of AMP. It has some interesting highlights, but suffers under a few huge issues.

It is one of the Strengths of AMP: Year One, that the issues it describes are so allegorical to real world social issues. Furthermore, the game treats all as equals, allowing players to create characters from across the political and legal specter.

Nevertheless, the game is clearly slanted to the left, something which puts a supplement like this in an awkward position. The UHF are the game's version of right-wing groups, just replacing AMPs with Mexicans/Muslims/Colored/Gays/Whatever. The supplement lets you know more about the UHF if you wanted to play that, but I think few would. On the other hand, it can be used as a supplement for the PCs enemies, but since the supplement isn't written like that, it is less effective in this capacity.

Still, it is a fairly interesting supplement, which shows the many faces of UHF. Its recruitment, tactics and disorganized structure are all covered; and the organization has more depth than it first seems. It turns out it has secret genetic tampering project, which can give its members super powers. In a way, it feels a bit like this goes against the concept of the faction, but hey, it's a supers game, so why not.

The biggest problem with the supplement is the scenario at the end, about a third of the page count. It is horrible. Even after multiple readings, I had a hard time understanding what was going on. It is very unclear why the PCs would even want to follow the investigation, and after a chain of chaotic events, they might even be thrown out of it all together.

The highlight of the supplement was the rules for genetic tampering. It gives the UHF an unexpected edge, and can offer some cool and unique enemies in a game. Probably worth the supplement alone, but I wish there was more useful stuff here, like some of the other Affiliation Guides.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: United Human Front (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 95 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG