RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 21:26:43

A really great system that allows for all sorts of fun, cinematic-style characters that each feel unique in their own right. The book has a slightly weird ordering that makes you flip back and forth between some of the pages while making a character, but once you get everything down it all flows great! The ruleset also lends itself to very creative storytelling, allowing battles to become far more interesting than simply "roll your strength to hit 17."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
by Dan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 17:16:45

I have been following ELoy's work for some time now. This is one of his best works that I have read. The flow is well balanced with a nice mix of background and storyline to feel in the gaps. Well thought out powers that have been balanced between gameplay (fun) and story. Multiple paths allow for players to play form the same clan, but yet still have a feel that are unique in the game. Well worth the read.


Over All - I give it 2 thumbs up :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: TRAC (for AMP: Year Two)
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 19:56:18

It's always great to see an expansion on stuff that's only glimpsed at in the core book. A look into how mundanes can fight back, as well as more in-depth look at some of the people in the organization itself. Plus the ready to play scenario at the end is a nice cap to the supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: TRAC (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Affiliation Guide: Changelings (for AMP: Year Two)
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 19:53:17

Loved the additional supplement. It helps flesh out a group that we don't get to see a whole lot of detail about.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: Changelings (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Affiliation Guide: Changelings (for AMP: Year Two)
by Karl L [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 13:39:18

Don't let looks be deceptive, but this supplement has everything I require from a supplement. It has some setting and some crunch, developing the topic of the Changelings further and gives some nice story seeds as well. If you aren't into reading setting stuff, there are some new powers and other stuff to keep you happy. All this is exceedingly well written, and a joy to read.


To finish it in style, there is a ready to run scenario. It is one of those low-key scenarios which I personally love, and seem perfect for both the game and the affiliation. It is designed for Changelings at a particular period, but I can see it easily reworked for other uses.


On the negative side, the supplement seems a bit political. The good guys seem like liberals and the bad guys like conservatives, in particular in the scenario. It would have been nice if it had been mixed up a bit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
by Thom S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2015 13:18:23

This is a fantastic setting with a great ruleset that does a fantastic job of capturing Wuxia / Anime / Manga style combat. The setting itself includes enough overlap with real historical Asian culture to be familiar to the reader, while putting its own unique spin and effectively distancing itself from Earth / the "real" world.


I look forward to the Third Eye Games efforts on Ninja Crusade 2



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. - Savage Worlds Edition
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2015 09:02:15

A clever pastiche of Angel, Blade, HP Lovecraft, and above all else, Men In Black, it's eldritch horror done with tongue in cheek. Demons walk among us but you can't notice the weird fish-man demon if he's wearing a trenchcoat and a floppy hat. Occult shops sell real actual items of power, to those in the know. Back alley doctors install cybernetic parts on human and demon alike. And regulating all of them is a shadowy mega-corporation and its agents in black suits, responsible for stopping a dozen apocalypses so far.


The book is largely black text on white, with a few comic art pieces here and there - definetly printer-friendly.


While the concept is wonderful, and the chapters on cybernetics and magic are really good, but the last couple of chapters, describing API's operations, it tends to drag a bit. There's no adventure generator, custom Savage Tales, or sample antagonists to give GMs a boost when it comes to prep time. This is a conversion from their own in-house game system to Savage Worlds, and there's a few places where the editor failed to notice a mechanic from the previous system slipped through (what's a Passion Roll?).


Stellar product otherwise. Glad I picked it up during Savage September!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. - Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Attack of the Buzz (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2015 00:24:16

The first AMP adventure, Attack of The Buzz takes a moment from the AMP timeline (a crazy killer bee attack) and leads the PCs to it. Hooks are provided to help the PCs along, no matter which AMP affiliation they belong to (including being unaffiliated.


SIX POINT SUMMARY




  • Smart move providing different entry points to the adventure based on affiliation. It drives home that there is no "one true way" to play the game, but there truly are options.




  • Beekeeper suits.




  • Critter, a major NPC from the corebook, is included again at the back of this adventure for convenience, as she plays a large (though it shouldn't be overshadowing) role in the adventure. Nice move for convenience sake.




  • I believe the art used is unique to the adventure, and it is well placed and evocative (bees attacking people, plus the titular villain, who looks just a little pathetic...which is intentional).




  • Two new augments for the Leash power, one that allows you to ward off animals and one that allows you to forge soldiers out of swarms.



  • The adventure provides a few more nice examples of how to use Skill Combos in different situations (like hiding from bees). Does a nice job of illustrating the flexibility of the skills.


A solid adventure with an interesting antagonist with a back story that serves to illustrate just the kind of world this is. The Buzz isn't a cackling supervillain, and this isn't a comic book. It's a super powered tragedy more than anything...and that ain't bad. I can send Swarm at my PCs in Marvel SAGA all day long, AMP needs to do something different to be worth my time, and it does.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Attack of the Buzz (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Evolution of Apex (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2015 00:23:43

Nothing shady about a mysterious organization recruiting AMPs in the name of SCIENCE~! and research, right? And when a patient goes missing, the PCs get the call...what could go wrong?


SIX POINT SUMMARY




  • A little less universal utility than Attack of the Buzz. While far from rigid, the entry points are just a little less open - and thus a little less likely to fit any and all characters - than the first adventure.




  • A pair of intriguing setting developments: An AMP whose powers mutate over time, and a human genetic experiment on par with an AMP.




  • No new mechanical crunchy bits like augments.




  • The adventure is actually very wide open. Little points that can be expanded upon by the GM to fit the mood they want, and the PCs' decisions have a huge impact on the ending and the repercussions that follow.




  • The bad guys have the potential to be truly scary, and far reaching, depending on how the PCs handle them.



  • Again, original art is commissioned for the adventure, and it sets the tone nicely.


While this one is going to be a touch harder to fit into every campaign than Attack of the Buzz, I like it a bit more, as it allows the GM a little more flexibility than a lot of written adventures, something I truly appreciate, complete with advice on how to carry these threads out of the adventure and back into your regular campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Evolution of Apex (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The White Knight (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2015 00:23:03

An AMP horror adventure! The White Knight takes place the night of Halloween, 2015 (culminating on November 1st - All Souls Day), and leaves the PCs in the midst of an ongoing battle between two warring AMPs.




  • This adventure is very much a horror adventure. While all of the AMP adventures have a slightly more unsettling tone to them than the typical supers adventure, this one falls deep in a dark place.




  • New Augments are presented for the Mediumship power, which makes sense as it shows off two NPCs with Mediumship who have developed in VERY different ways, both in personality and concept, as well as in actual manifestation of powers.




  • The bad guy in this adventure has completely lost the script, a good example of someone who starts down the road to Hell with good intentions and becomes an absolutely horrible monster in the end.




  • White Knight is a great example of a big, important (for the adventure) NPC, who does not overshadow the PCs because of smart design by the author.




  • This one, unfortunately, lacks the effective art of the other two, which is doubly disappointing because it arguably needs the tone set more.



  • Ran many supers adventures with a full blown zombie horde? I haven't, and I've been running supers games for decades. And it gets WORSE from there.


Easily one of the most unique supers adventures I have seen, and probably the one I would tell you to pick up if you only bought one, in part because of the uniqueness of it, and in part because of the fantastic side by side example of how to build two completely different characters with the same primary power.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The White Knight (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AMP: Year One
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/13/2015 07:15:20

SIX POINTS:




  • Divorced from the setting, I would grumble at the limitations of the power system...and for a generic superhero game, I would not recommend it. For a very particular type of game (a Heroes or X-Men-style game), it fits the tone very well.




  • The official character sheet is very cool in that it has boxes to fill in when making your character (like four boxes for a Marksmanship of four), which gives you a completed sheet that reminds me of the Power Grids Marvel has used over the years on the website, trading cards and Handbooks.




  • The metaplot mildly concerns me. Obviously, you are not bound to anything in the book, but the more you deviate, the less useful later books are (or, depending on your players, the more they resist you game because of what the next book brings). Previous Third Eye Games entries such as Wu Xing and Apocalypse Prevention Inc. have had a lot of setting material, not so much metaplot. With the right touch, metaplot can enhance a game. With the wrong touch, it can bring back nightmarish memories of NPCs with Plot Armor and stories that are bigger than your PCs.




  • A very healthy and diverse selection of premade characters, complete with art, can be used as quick PCs, as NPCs or just as inspiration for what can be done with the powers system. There's even a "magician" named Citizen Arcane.




  • The Juice mechanic is basically a Power Points system but it reads very well, with the ebb and flow of power being influenced by more factors than just "I spend power points. Dang, I'm out of power points". It is recommended that you use some kind of physical markers (poker chips, glass beads, whatever) to keep track of the flow.



  • The setting reminds me a bit of White Wolf's Aberrant or Green Ronin's Paragons, which sure seemed heavily inspired by X-Men and Heroes respectively, but with a certain vibe (and system) that suits my personal tastes much more. As much as I love Wu Xing, it has never actually hit my game table. We're through character generation with this one, and it will now certainly see play, which I am very much looking forward to.


Right now, at least, I have nothing else to add. If this sounds remotely appealing to you and you don't own it (and you are reading this before March 24), just enter the giveaway and try to win a free copy and see for yourself. You literally have nothing to lose.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspo-
t.com/2015/03/tommys-take-on-amp-year-one.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AMP: Year One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Part-Time Gods
by Amelia V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2015 10:38:18

By far the best modern-gods themed RPG, Part-Time Gods manages to nail down the thing that neither of its contemporaries in the genre can: The human life that godhood is stapled onto. The big mechanic here is balancing your mortal and divine lives with one another. Go too far in one direction, the other degrades. This is brilliant and I don't understand why nobody's come up with attaching that to being a god before. I was sold just on the concept. It helps that there's an actual game in there, with a simple but powerful system that could probably be explained over lunch. The writing is solid, creating an intriguing setting and presenting it well. I wholeheartedly endorse this product and/or service.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Part-Time Gods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Camp Myth: The RPG
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2014 12:33:59

Fun and quick to start. Well designed and the goals add to future adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Camp Myth: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AMP: Year One
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2014 23:12:19

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of AMP Year One
Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!
Product- AMP Year One
Producer- Third Eye Games
Price- ~$15 here http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/product/132784/AMP-Year-O-
ne

TL; DR- Want some amazingly customizable superheroes? Look here! 93%


Basics- When they showed up, everything changed. AMP is a near future, heroic RPG. Players take the roles of super humans in 2015. The mutants have only been around and in large numbers for about a year, and the world isn't really read for what they have to offer. Will you fight to save mankind or destroy it? Are you here to put these monsters in their place or will you stand with the mutants? All of these are important questions that you will have to answer as you struggle to find where you fit in.


Mechanics or Crunch-This is a new RPG theme and with a ton of new mechanics. Let's do a rundown of some of the high points that are offer.
Base mechanic-This game has echoes of its d20 past, and I mean that in a good way. Everything in this game is a d20 + skill A + skill B or d20 + 1 1/2 skill A. That's it. It's simple, it's quick, and it's fun to play. Want to treat an animal's wound? That's a d20 + beast handling + medicine. Want to shoot a gun? That's d20 +marksmanship*1.5. Simple enough. It only gets slow when both the target and the attacker have to roll to determine if a hit is a success. In my game, I found myself just saying 10 plus the skills for the attack or defense. That change made my game run just a bit quicker.
Character Generation-This character generation is complex but has several walkthroughs. This is a true everything point by. You can really screw up your character if you try to min/max and fail horribly! Everything from your speed, to your health, to your attacks is all bought via points. You don't have to take any points in speed, but you will move really slowly. I love this style of customization, but newer RPG players really need to look over the example characters to make a useable character. Unlike DnD5e where you make about five choices, when you make your character in AMP, you have at least 20+ decisions to make. It's easy to do as the math of the system doesn't operate like the point buy from Shadowrun 4e, but don't expect your first character to be made in five minutes.
Loyalties-One thing I wanted to point out from the character generation was loyalties. This game has lots of different themes that are really well integrated into the mechanics. One way that is done is with loyalties. When you make a character you decide how important various aspects of your life are. These range from your community, yourself, and to lovers you may have. Each rank in these provides in game bonuses with ranks varying from rank zero to rank five. I like the addition of mechanicals benefits from role-playing choices, and these loyalty ranks really provide that connection.
Powers-It wouldn't be a superhero RPG without superhero powers. Powers come from several different general areas ranging from batteries (you store up energy) to behemoths (you are the Hulk!). These powers all have augmentations that provide extra benefits like the behemoth has the crush augmentation that adds extra damage on melee attacks or the bolt ability which allows you to fire elemental blasts at people. Most of these powers are dependent to on Juice. Juice can be thought of as adrenalin, and it powers the superpowers of the heroes and villains. Each broad category has a number of smaller augments that you get as you level up in the power. Some categories have several different augmentations, while some only have a few. It's a quick and easy way to broadly provide the foundation for lots of different hero powers, options, and flavors. Some of the names might be somewhat confusing, but looking over the powers the descriptions provide the rules and the story to how each power works.
Summary-The mechanics of this book are well done. The game provides near endless customization and the ability to create the heroes and villains you want to be and see. The new ideas such as the loyalties are excellent mechanics that other RPGs should employ that really developed the mechanics and the theme together. However, this isn't perfect. Some aspects are a tad fiddly such as rolling for both attack and defense on both sides of the GM screen. It's not the worst thing in the world, but sometimes dealing with the amount of rolling in combat can be annoying. Also, character generation is somewhat difficult. If you know what you're doing, you get all the tools you need to make any hero, but if you are just by yourself readying a character for a friend's game, you might be lost in the amount of options you have to choose from. 4.75/5


Theme or Fluff- The basic story of AMP year One is that after World War I governments around the world worked on a super soldier project to stop war altogether. Over the generations, the children of the experiments developed these super powers and passed them on. Now, lots of super powered people are emerging. How will the world change because of this? What kind of person will you be? This is a standard comic book intro, and this is semi-cheesy. But, its super powered people. You have to expect a little cheese in that territory. Just look at the number to times Batman has died and come back to understand. While it might not be my absolute favorite intro story, it does leave a lot of room for the GM to design a story in the near future world of 2015. The first half of the book describes the history of the future, and provides lots of different story hooks as well as doing an excellent job of introducing the various groups at play in the lives of the mutants. Does this feel like the X-Men? Good! This RPG specifically mentions that as one of the main inspirations behind the themes of the game. And since there is no currently published X-Men RPG out there, this is the best solution if you want to play in that world. I think AMP does a great job driving home its theme while providing lots of different stories for the GM to run. 4.75.5


Execution- AMP is done fairly well. The powers section is a bit wordy, but all the powers get nice flow charts explaining what augments you have to take to take the next one. A little more art would be nice as well as color, but for a black and white book, it's done really well. The font, words, and layout all work well, and the hyperlinks don't make my iPad slow to a crawl. I would have liked a few more pre-generated antagonists for the PCs to face as well as a better guide on how to generate encounters. But, on the whole this is a well done book that was fun to read. 4.5/5


Summary-If you want to play a free form superhero RPG? Then, pick up this book. The mechanics are simple, the powers work well, and the execution is great. I have my minor gripes, but overall, this is a fun super hero RPG that isn't too crazy or cheesy. The world is fresh and interesting while providing enough open-endedness to give the GMs free reign in the stories they want to tell. I was actually pretty entertained by the story that this book had to tell. Since the tile of the book is AMP Year One, I hope the authors keep up with other AMP books or splat books to keep the metastory going. 93 %



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AMP: Year One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Attack of the Buzz (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2014 23:10:48

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Attack of the Buzz
Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!
Product- Attack of the Buzz
Producer- Third Eye Games
Price- ~$3 here http://rpg.drivethrust-
uff.com/product/137727/Attack-of-the-Buzz-Adventure-for-AMP--
Year-One

TL; DR- Know your group, and this will be a blast. 90%


Basics- Alice, Texas is under attack! Not by the mutants that are running around but by bees! Hundreds have died, and no one knows why the bees won't give up attacking people. Can you and the other AMPs you travel with find out how to prevent the bees from killing the town or will you end up like the rest of the town?


Mechanics or Crunch-The adventure is a fun one, but there are some problems depending on who is playing. This isn't a bad adventure for mechanics as everything presented makes sense in the AMP work and is balanced, but bees are swarms. And, swarms are always hard to fight. Especially with new characters. Some characters will be completely useless for some of the major scenes in this adventure. If you have a super computer hacker, then that character will spend most of his/her time running from the bees. It's a bold move for the first adventure put out by a system to feature swarms as the main villain, and I think it hurts the fun a bit. However, the adventure does provide some new powers as well some equipment to help smart players. What's here is good, but the mileage your players will get out of the module really depends on who is at the table. 4/5


Theme or Fluff-This is one of the major events in the AMP Year One story. My players enjoyed being part of the world and solving a major mystery that is presented in the main book. It was fun for the players to work out how to solve some problems as well as fighting for their lives! Also, the major groups all have reasons to send characters to this location helps me as a GM bring all the players to this location while still allowing the players to be whatever they want to be. I didn't feel like I had to shoehorn my players into this one size fits all adventure. 5/5


Execution-This product was laid out like the AMP Year One core book. Overall, that's good as I like the text, font, and layout, but I felt this lacked a few things. Alice, Texas doesn't have a map. That was somewhat troubling. However, I did like the fact that there is some new art like the main villain and the bees attacking the town. The art was well done, conveyed the sense of terror from a bee swarm attacking people, but didn't go gory. The RPG was still pretty age neutral, and that makes the super hero genera fun. I would have liked a bit more art, but for the price of the module, it's worth it. 4.5/5


Summary-As a mod that's a cold intro to the system, this one might not be favorite. The main enemies that are thrown against the player are kind of hard to deal with when players have limited resources and powers. That said, if your players know that swarms are a problem here and they can plan accordingly, then this is a fun module. I'd like a bit more to the module like a map, but for the price, I had fun and so did my players. It's a quicker mod as it doesn't have tons of scenes, but that's not a large problem. If you need your AMP fix and want to learn one of the major secrets in the AMP world, this is a great way to get some more of the system. 90%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Attack of the Buzz (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 74 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG