RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Affiliation Guide: United Human Front (for AMP: Year Two)
by Karl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2016 14:29:06

This supplement puts the spotlight on one of the bad guys of AMP. It has some interesting highlights, but suffers under a few huge issues.


It is one of the Strengths of AMP: Year One, that the issues it describes are so allegorical to real world social issues. Furthermore, the game treats all as equals, allowing players to create characters from across the political and legal specter.


Nevertheless, the game is clearly slanted to the left, something which puts a supplement like this in an awkward position. The UHF are the game's version of right-wing groups, just replacing AMPs with Mexicans/Muslims/Colored/Gays/Whatever. The supplement lets you know more about the UHF if you wanted to play that, but I think few would. On the other hand, it can be used as a supplement for the PCs enemies, but since the supplement isn't written like that, it is less effective in this capacity.


Still, it is a fairly interesting supplement, which shows the many faces of UHF. Its recruitment, tactics and disorganized structure are all covered; and the organization has more depth than it first seems. It turns out it has secret genetic tampering project, which can give its members super powers. In a way, it feels a bit like this goes against the concept of the faction, but hey, it's a supers game, so why not.


The biggest problem with the supplement is the scenario at the end, about a third of the page count. It is horrible. Even after multiple readings, I had a hard time understanding what was going on. It is very unclear why the PCs would even want to follow the investigation, and after a chain of chaotic events, they might even be thrown out of it all together.


The highlight of the supplement was the rules for genetic tampering. It gives the UHF an unexpected edge, and can offer some cool and unique enemies in a game. Probably worth the supplement alone, but I wish there was more useful stuff here, like some of the other Affiliation Guides.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: United Human Front (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Affiliation Guide: Seekers of Enlightenment (for AMP: Year Two)
by Karl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2016 13:55:57

While AMP has plenty of factions to chose from, the Seekers have always felt like the default one. They are good guys, and their goals of finding, helping and training AMPs, as well as understanding the condition, seems to hit the game's theme spot on.


This supplement details the organization and their operation, and in doing that also details what it is like for the emerging AMP population. The practical consequences of getting powers, and how to handle that personally, are heavy concepts that are expertly handled. Thoughtful and well written throughout. There are also some new powers. Martial arts is one, and also an intriguing one called Kinship, which is about the relationship between AMPs.


Finally there is a scenario. The concept is very exciting. It goes right into why some might not want powers; the pain and rejection it can all bring. It is a murder mystery, and lets the PCs explore such a heinous crime in the milieu of the Seeker's training program. Sadly, the scenario is written in a way that I think is a major no-no for scenario writing. First of all, the details of the investigation is not offered up front, rather it reads like a mystery, even to the GM. Secondly, there are a lot of scripted scenes, were the GM just has to read the lines as if in a one-person stage play. There is also a scene with trees working like bell chimes, that just didn't work for me.


Overall, this supplement gets to the core of what the game is about, and is probably the best supplement to get if you want to expand on the setting stuff from the core books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: Seekers of Enlightenment (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Part-Time Gods of Fate
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/23/2016 03:27:59

Von heute auf morgen zum Gott erwählt: Wie schaffen es die Charaktere, die neugewonnene göttliche Macht und Verantwortung mit ihrer 60-Stunden-Arbeitswoche und ihren familiären Verpflichtungen in Einklang zu bringen? Part-Time Gods of Fate macht das gleichnamige d20-System mit Fate Core-Regeln spielbar.


Ersteindruck: Part-Time Gods of Fate – Superheldengleiche Teilzeitgötter (Fate Core)


Part-Time Gods of Fate ist eine englischsprachige Konvertierung des d20-Systems Part Time Gods of Fate von Third Eye Games für Fate Core. Menschen werden vom einen auf den anderen Tag auserwählt und von einer göttlichen Macht erfüllt – sei es aufgrund eines mystischen Rituals, weil sie die Prinzipien der Macht besonders gut vertreten oder auch, weil sie gerade zufällig in der Nähe waren, als ein anderer Gott verstarb. Von nun an kämpfen sie damit, ihre göttliche Macht und Verantwortung mit ihrem weltlichen, menschlichen Leben in Einklang zu bringen. Denn es ist gar nicht so einfach, Beziehungen zu pflegen und die eigene Karriere voranzutreiben, wenn uralte Monster und neidische Götter die eigene Welt bedrohen ...


Das Leben als Teilzeitgott


Part-Time Gods of Fate enthält keinerlei Settinginformationen, dazu müsst ihr euch das separat erhältliche Part Time Gods-Regelwerk kaufen. Um euch zu zeigen, was ich an dem Setting so spannend finde, gebe ich euch daher eine kleine Zusammenfassung: Eine mystische Urkraft – die Quelle – hat vor Urzeiten einige Menschen zu Göttern mit nahezu unbegrenzter Macht erhoben. Die Götter wurden jedoch neidisch auf die Quelle und versiegelten sie gemeinsam, wodurch sie einen Teil ihrer Macht und ihre Unsterblichkeit verloren. Während die geschwächten Götter untereinander Kriege ausfochten, um sich gegenseitig ihre Macht zu stehlen und ihre Sterblichkeit zu überwinden, sickerte die Quelle langsam aus ihrem Gefängnis heraus und verlieh mythischen Monstern die Kraft, sich gegen die Götter und ihre Schöpfung zu stellen.


Die Konversion spielt in der heutigen Zeit unserer Welt, in der Geschichten über antike Götterkriege nicht mehr als Erzählungen sind. Die nunmehr sterblichen Götter haben längst gelernt, dass sie menschliche Nähe und Beziehungen brauchen, um sich nicht zu sehr von den Menschen zu entfremden, die sie sonst aufgrund ihrer Fremdartigkeit bekämpfen würden. Daher dreht sich Part-Time Gods of Fate am Spieltisch um zwei Fragen: Wie nutze ich meine göttliche Macht, um mich finsteren Bedrohungen entgegenzustellen und meine Ziele zu erreichen? Und wie bringe ich dies mit meinem menschlichen Leben in Einklang, ohne alle mir nahestehenden Personen durch meine Geheimnisse zu vergraulen? Im Grunde spielt es sich damit wie ein Superheldenrollenspiel, in dem die Superhelden ihre geheime Identität und ihre nächtlichen Tätigkeiten vor ihren Liebsten verheimlichen müssen, um sie nicht vor den Kopf zu stoßen oder in Gefahr zu bringen. Das klingt erstmal sehr spannend – schauen wir mal, wie Phil Vecchione, Chris Sniezak, Shawn Merwin und Robert M. Eversion das Setting in Fate Core umsetzen.


Charaktererstellung


Göttliche Aspekte
In Part-Time Gods of Fate stellt jeder Spieler einen Gott dar. Jeder dieser Götter besetzt eine bestimmte Domäne, beispielsweise aus den Bereichen Emotionen (Gott der Liebe), Objekte (Gott der Computer), Berufsgruppen (Gott der Anwälte), Tiere (Gott der Affen), Konzepte (Gott der Jagd) oder Elemente (Gott des Sturms). Neben diesem göttlichen Aspekt besitzt jeder Charakter einen menschlichen Aspekt, der dessen Profession und seine größte Leidenschaft umfasst (z.B. Bauarbeiter und Familienmensch, Barkeeper und frustrierter Autor, ...). Der dritte Aspekt wird durch die Theologie definiert, der ein Charakter angehört. Theologien sind bis auf eine Ausnahme Gruppierungen von Göttern, die ähnliche Grundeinstellungen besitzen. So glaubt eine Gruppierung, dass man sich als Gott über die Menschheit erheben müsse, während eine andere Gruppierung die Ansicht vertritt, dass man mit Menschen zusammenleben und ihnen möglichst helfen sollte. Eine Ausnahme, die mir nicht besonders gefällt, stellen die Koboldfresser dar. Sie sind Kannibalen, die durch das Einverleiben anderer magischer und göttlicher Wesen einen Teil ihrer Macht erhalten. Abgesehen davon, dass jede Spielrunde für sich entscheiden muss, ob sie Kannibalen in einem Superheldenrollenspiel als Spielercharaktere zulassen will, finde ich es konzeptionell seltsam, dass sieben von acht angebotenen Theologien nur Ideologien darstellen, während die achte spielmechanische Vorteile bringt. Dass diese mechanischen Vorteile auf lange Sicht mit dem Fate-Konzept brechen, bei dem jeder Charakter gleich kompetent ist und dadurch ähnlich oft glänzen kann, finde ich auch nicht besonders elegant. Schöner wäre es, wenn jeder Gott die Möglichkeit hätte, auf diese Weise an Macht zu gewinnen, sich aber nur die Koboldfresser kollektiv für ritualisierten Kannibalismus entscheiden.


Die letzten beiden Aspekte werden schließlich menschlichen Beziehungen gewidmet, die neben dem ihnen zugeordneten Aspekt auch noch eine Stressleiste besitzen. Solche Beziehungen können Beziehungen zu anderen Personen, aber auch soziale Verpflichtungen zu Gruppen und Vereinen oder emotionale Beziehungen zu besonderen Orten sein. Die Länge dieser Stressleisten ist abhängig von der Erholungsrate eines Charakters. Kurz gesagt: Je kürzer die Erholungsrate, desto kürzer die Stressleisten.


Manifestationen göttlichen Wirkens
Neben der normalen Fertigkeitenpyramide verfügen Charaktere über weitere Fertigkeiten, sogenannte Manifestationen, die separat verwaltet werden. Die Manifestationen stellen die Fähigkeit der Götter dar, die Realität nach ihren Wünschen zu formen. Die acht Manifestationen sind sehr abstrakte Beschreibungen von Realitätsveränderungen (Schutz, Herbeiwinken, Reisen, Schergen, Puppenspiel, Orakel, Zerstörung, Formen), die auch schon im Originalsystem eher als Freiform verwendet wurden und sich daher schön auf Fate übersetzen lassen. Die genaue Ausprägung einer Manifestation wird von der Domäne eines Gottes bestimmt. So kann der Gott des Blutes mit der Manifestation Schutz beispielsweise eine Kugel aus Blut erschaffen, die ihn umgibt und vor Angriffen schützt, während der Gott der Ratten einen Rattenschwarm beschwört, der es seinem Gegner erschwert, ihn anzugreifen. Gefällt mir gut, weil es sehr gut in das Designkonzept von Fate passt!


Stunts, Superkräfte und Artefakte
Schließlich wählt jeder Charakter noch einen menschlichen Stunt und ein göttliches Extra aus. Göttliche Extras sind Superkräfte oder Artefakte, die in der Regel wie mächtige Stunts aufgebaut sind und ein bis zwei Punkte Erholungsrate kosten. Von den maximal vier übrig behaltenen Punkten Erholungsrate kann der Charakter anschließend noch bis zu drei für weitere Stunts oder Extras ausgeben. Die im Regelwerk vorgeschlagenen Extras sind sehr kreativ und zeigen gekonnt, wie sich Superkräfte im Rahmen des Fate-Regelwerks umsetzen lassen. An manchen Stellen erscheinen sie mir persönlich aber auch zu detailliert in ihrer Mechanik (wer Mindjammer kennt weiß, welchen Detailgrad ich meine). Außerdem bezweifle ich, dass alle Extras in Bezug auf ihre Erholungsratenkosten ausbalanciert sind. Da aber schon das Fate Core-Regelwerk zeigt, wie schwierig es ist, gute Stunts zu formulieren, will ich dies nicht zu stark kritisieren. Schließlich bin ich kein Freund davon, dass einige Extras dadurch aktiviert werden müssen, dass eine Probe gegen eine Schwierigkeit von +3 bestanden wird: Extras sind einzigartige Eigenheiten eines Charakters, Elemente, die ihn ins Spotlight rücken und dort glänzen lassen. Das Nutzen eines solchen Extras sollte nicht vom Würfelglück abhängen. Da für das Aktivieren der meisten Extras auch noch Fate-Punkte ausgegeben werden müssen, kann ein missglückter Würfelwurf wohl nur noch selten korrigiert werden, sodass das Aktivieren des Extras – also das Nutzen der coolen Kraft, des mystischen Artefakts – einfach fehlschlägt oder nur mit einem großen Haken gelingt. Weil diese Regelung den Einsatz von göttlichen Extras oft unspektakulär machen wird, finde ich sie sehr unglücklich.


Fate-Punkte: Der göttliche Funke
Apropos unglücklich: Auch sehr ungünstig finde ich, dass der Funke (die Göttlichkeit der Charaktere) mit dem Vorhandensein von Fate-Punkten gleichgesetzt wurde. Im Originalsystem gibt es Funken-Punkte, die der Charakter bei Steigerungen kaufen und dann einsetzen kann, um Proben zu verbessern. Diese Funken-Punkte spiegeln seine göttliche Macht wider: je mehr Funken einem Charakter innewohnt, desto weniger menschlich ist er und desto weniger menschliche Beziehungen besitzt er. Sollte er jemals zehn Punkte besitzen, wird er vollständig zu einem unmenschlichen, unverständlichen Gott – und damit zu einem NSC.


Was vor dem Hintergrund der Spielwelt plausibel erscheint, funktioniert leider nicht reibungslos, wenn man diese Mechanik in Fate-Punkte ummünzt. Natürlich indizieren Fate-Punkte auch die Macht und noch mehr die Bedeutung eines Charakters für die Geschichte: Namenlose, menschliche, machtlose NSC haben weder Funken-Punkte im Originalsystem noch Fate-Punkte in der Konvertierung. Anders als im Originalsystem bedeuten Fate-Punkte aber auch Erzählrechte: Ein Spieler, der häufig die Schwächen seines Charakters anspielt und dessen Aspekte reizt, wird viele Fate-Punkte erhalten. Wird sein Charakter aber auch dadurch göttlicher, dass er von seinen Feinden ausgetrickst, von seinen Freunden hintergangen und von seinen Ängsten beherrscht wird? Ich glaube nicht.


Über dieses konzeptionelle Problem hinaus vermute ich, dass die hohen Fate-Punkte-Kosten vieler göttlicher Extras im Spiel ein Problem sein werden. Wenn ein Charakter nur über zwei Punkte Erholungsrate verfügt und dann noch für das Aktivieren eines Extras ein bis zwei Punkte zahlen muss, bleiben am Ende nicht mehr viele Punkte übrig, um Fakten zu schaffen und Erzählrechte einzuführen. Ich bin zwar auch der Meinung, dass Fate-Punkte nicht im Übermaß vorhanden sein und eine Währung harter Entscheidungen darstellen sollten, aber aus meiner Erfahrung mit dem System befürchte ich, dass entweder die Götter nicht viel von ihrer coolen Göttlichkeit darstellen können, weil sie ihre übermenschlichen Fähigkeiten nur selten nutzen können, oder Fate-Punkte ihren Status als Währung des Erzählrechts verlieren.


Auch die Notwendigkeit, die Stressleisten der menschlichen Beziehungen an die Erholungsrate zu knüpfen (siehe oben), sehe ich nicht. Hier wird meiner Meinung nach ein Element des Ursprungssystems konvertiert, das so aber nicht notwendig oder zuträglich ist. Schließlich kann man sich ohne Fate-Punkte auch nicht gegen bestimmte Formen von Angriffen oder Manipulationen wehren; wie viele Erfolgsstufen ein solcher Angriff hat, wenn ein Charakter keinen Fate-Punkt besitzt, wird jedoch nirgendwo beschrieben.


Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis
Part-Time Gods of Fate kostet 14,99 USD als PDF bzw. 24,95 EUR als Softcover inklusive PDF. Der Preis ist für 187 Seiten Konvertierung auf jeden Fall in Ordnung, allerdings sollte man bedenken, dass man eigentlich wegen der Settingbeschreibung auch noch das d20-System (für den gleichen Preis erhältlich) sowie das Fate Core-Regelwerk benötigt.


Erscheinungsbild
Das Layout orientiert sich am typischen Fate-Layout und ist gut zu lesen. Ein Inhaltsverzeichnis mit Lesezeichen im PDF ist vorhanden, ein Index (zumindest in der von mir gelesenen Beta-Version) jedoch nicht. Das Buch enthält einige Schwarzweiß-Illustrationen, die ich im Vergleich zu anderen Rollenspielen, die ein ähnliches Genre bedienen, als unteren Durchschnitt bezeichnen würde.


Fazit: Konvertiere das Setting, nicht die Regeln!
Das Setting ist spannend und weckt in mir zahlreiche Abenteuerideen. Insbesondere die Betonung des Konflikts zwischen der menschlichen und der göttlichen Seite der Teilzeitgötter ist eine interessante neue Spielart in einem ansonsten schon bekannten Genre. Ich kann mir vorstellen, viele unterhaltsame Spielabende als Teilzeitgott zu erleben. Das hervorragende Spielleiterkapitel sowie die zahlreichen Beispiele für spezifische Götter und göttliche Artefakte sowie Superkräfte sind dafür sehr hilfreich. Sehr elegant finde ich auch die Manifestationen – also die Fertigkeiten, mit denen Götter die Realität nach ihrem Willen verändern. Ihre Ausprägung und die Tatsache, dass sie immer von der Domäne des Gottes abhängig sind, mechanisch also von den Aspekten des Charakters gefärbt werden, passt sehr gut ins Fate-System.


Weniger gut gefällt mir der Detailgrad der Regeln, wenn es um die Spezifikation von Extras geht, aber diese Bewertung ist sicherlich sehr subjektiv. An einigen Stellen merkt man der Konvertierung deutlich an, dass eher das Regelsystem als das Setting konvertiert wurde – so erhalten Charaktere mit einem bestimmten Theologie-Aspekt mechanische Vorteile, die andere nicht erhalten, und werden plötzlich Probenerschwernisse oder -erleichterungen eingeführt, die sich in Fate eleganter als erhöhte Probenschwierigkeiten oder Vorteile abbilden ließen. Schließlich habe ich wie oben erläutert Zweifel am Fluss der Fate-Punkte aufgrund der hohen Anforderungen durch die göttlichen Extras. Persönlich hätte ich mir auch gewünscht, dass der erzählerische Konflikt zwischen der menschlichen und der göttlichen Seite der Charaktere nicht nur durch Beziehungspflege und soziale Verpflichtungen abgebildet wird, sondern auch in Konflikten zwischen widerstrebenden Aspekten der Persönlichkeit oder gegenläufigen Zielen eines Charakters zu verorten wäre.


Alles in allem ein Setting und eine Konvertierung, mit dem sich sicherlich viele unterhaltsame Spielabende verbringen lassen. Einige Probleme der Konvertierung würde ich für meine Spielrunden jedoch anpassen, falls ich das System am Spieltisch ausprobieren würde.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Part-Time Gods of Fate
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

API2E - Savage Worlds Expansion
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2016 08:01:19

Bear with me as this is my first review and I am going to make it short.


Okay I purchased the deadwood copy of the game setting last week while visiting a brick and mortar shop on vacation. I didn't buy the pdf so I am not sure I could review it here, however last night I bought this expansion so I will wrap them up together.


The setting (Pro): always loved it and wanted this conversion for a longtime, as I am one of those lazy GMs. I think the first book was very innovative, the tweaks to the SWD are minimal IMO and easy to grasp especially the magic "circles". Captures the setting well and also has beautiful racial edges for humans (keeping them in the fight) in the core setting book. The addition of the gear customization in this expansion? Beautiful! Added races? Beautiful!


(Cons): editing and information inboth books are a a little scattered and sometimes out of context with grammer errors. I was still able to use my typonese to get past it, as I was raised by an english professor and hated being corrected myself though am not an author or publisher.


That is it, in closing, it is a beautiful fun setting and I would still recommend it, just try not to get stumped on the misused words. I know you Savages can work past this and enjoy this rich setting. It is more of a monster hunting save the world game than an apocalyptic setting, the heroes are out to thwart unathorized demonic incursions. It's kind of like "Buffy" meets, "MIB" with a twist of a television show called "G vs. E" originally "Good vs. Evil" (look it up I highly recommend it).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
API2E - Savage Worlds Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mermaid Adventures RPG
by Crystal M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2016 20:58:55

Mermaid Adventures
Written by Eloy Lasanta
Art by Melissa Gay
Published by Third Eye Games
Pip System


Originally posted on Crystal's Review Blog


Mermaid Adventures is a fun and easy underwater adventure game system designed for players of all ages. The book is small enough where young players and players who are new to roleplaying games will find it easy to follow, which is great for recruiting new players into the roleplaying world. I personally love the premise of this game. The genre is very appealing for younger gamers, and the overall system is very easy to bring new players into the gaming world.


The mermaid world is based in Atlantis, which is the underwater home of all of the merfolk. There once was a great war, in which all of the merfolk and surrounding areas were pulled into it. The war ended when the current King and Queen were able to peacefully settle the differences. Atlantis is still ruled by this King and Queen, who work to keep the peace and continue the alliance between all the different merfolk under their protection. Different merfolk have different alliances as well as rivalries, but overall they work to ensure peace throughout their world. Outside of Atlantis is the Dark Water, a creepy and dangerous part of the world. The Top-world is also briefly described, as there are chances for the characters to interact with the part of the world that they hide from.


The denizens of this world are extremely diverse, using features from undersea creatures such as sharks, fish, sting rays and even lobsters. Each of the different merfolk have a very interesting niche to which they fit into within their society. What is very cool is that the merfolk have talents that resemble their real life counterparts in the animal world. Alongside the merfolk are other animals of the seas, some friendly, others not so much. These animals can become friends with merfolk if the merfolk work at building up their relationships with them. Other animals are a danger and only should be approached with extreme caution and weapons.


Character creation for the game is very simple, using 4 steps to finalize a character. What is really neat is that this section there are several randomization charts for helping to create a physical character as well as some goals for the characters. This is a fun way to help new players flesh out their characters in a quick and easy way. Players have a lot of support in building any type of characters they want. As far as rolling mechanics go, there are contested rolls, but the only difference is one player rolls both dice sets. There should be a black set and a white set (or opposing color schemes). The player rolls the appropriate amount of dice for attacking and defending, and goes from there to determining which dice rolls won and lost. There are wound charts for randomizing what happens when a character goes to 0 in an attribute. There is no character death in this system, so this is a wonderful solution to things that happen to the character in a really bad fight.


What I personally liked about this book is that there is a small section in the book specifically for narrators. It sets up how to create an interesting story and also emphases that a narrator has the right to suspend disbelief for telling a story. This is something that narrators can forget, and it is nice to see it in the book. There are also random charts for creating an event or plot to bring characters into the story. This is a fun option to help kick off a game night and get characters involved. There are also pregenerated characters which can be used for non-player characters or for players who want a quick character to play.


At the end of the book there are five adventures that narrators can use for their campaign. The adventures are written in a way where it is easy for young players to be able to play, but the difficulty can scale to meet the needs of older or more experienced players. These scenarios take the players to different parts of the world, including a land based scenario in which the characters are stuck on land, an Olympic style competition, a rescue operation in the dark lands, and a mystery in the great Kings castle. These adventures are a great addition to the book, giving a well rounded resource for players and narrators.


The art in this book really captures the feeling of the game itself. The colorful and lively characters are all captured beautifully in the book, and help the give a visual representation of what the denizens of the sea look like in this setting. The pregenerated characters in the book are also designed by backers of the Kickstarter, which is very cool to see. Having fans of the game involved in the book is very neat, especially for a game written for younger players.


Overall, I am very impressed with Mermaid Adventures. It is a very fun and simple game that is laid out well in an easy to read book. There is both a PDF, which can be found on DriveThruRPG, and a soft cover, which can be found through Third Eye Games. I would recommend this book for any young players or new to gaming players who may not have an experienced player to help them. Parents will also find this book helpful. Teachers who are adventurous will also enjoy aspects of this book for their classrooms!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mermaid Adventures RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
by QDOGGY D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2016 12:54:43

Interesting, very wuxia, almost have to remind myself it is supposed to be Japan/Ninja, we keep playing like Wuxia.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. - Savage Worlds Edition
by Nathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2016 10:35:11

Seriously, I want to love it.


I think that this setting is creative and has a huge upside potential. Unfortunately, the material is extremely hard to get through. The book is poorly organized, dropping you directly into character types, races, etc. after a page of setting and mood summary. This would be fine if there were any sort of assistance such as, "If you'd like more information on the setting before reading a whole bunch of setting specific system, go to chapter 3." (Yes, my suggestion for anyone who buys it is to start by reading chapter 3.)


Beyond organization, the copy edit is bad. I understand that people have different styles of writing, but there are numerous grammatical errors and there are times that words are simply misused. For example, a line on page 109 reads "as anything that could protect against ensuing supernatural forces was rare." Ensuing is absolutely the wrong word as it places an event in a causal or chronological structure. The author uses it to mean something more like "encroaching" or perhaps "overwhelming." While this may seem a bit nitpicky at first, it becomes less so when one realizes that either word misusage or some other grammatical error occurs an average of 2 or three times a page. (See footnote 1) It isn't as if I can't figure out what is being said, but it becomes laborious to get through the material. I too often had to reread a sentence or an entire paragraph to be sure I was following what was being said.


Like I said, I want to love it. Perhaps I will love it once I've gotten the material under my belt. It seems like the perfect setting for me to run one-shot sessions on the weeks that we don't have our entire crew available to play our long-running "epic" campaign. I just regret that I have to struggle to read what is obviously creative and useful material that simply needed more careful editing.


footnote 1: On page 109 alone there are at least two more grammatical errors. A paragraph after the misusage of "ensuing" we are given an incomplete sentence; "For huanity's safety, of course." Two paragraphs after that a comma is misused in the sentence "Despite API’s best, memory-erasing efforts, some people are exposed to the supernatural world."



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. - Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 21:26:43

A really great system that allows for all sorts of fun, cinematic-style characters that each feel unique in their own right. The book has a slightly weird ordering that makes you flip back and forth between some of the pages while making a character, but once you get everything down it all flows great! The ruleset also lends itself to very creative storytelling, allowing battles to become far more interesting than simply "roll your strength to hit 17."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
by Dan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 17:16:45

I have been following ELoy's work for some time now. This is one of his best works that I have read. The flow is well balanced with a nice mix of background and storyline to feel in the gaps. Well thought out powers that have been balanced between gameplay (fun) and story. Multiple paths allow for players to play form the same clan, but yet still have a feel that are unique in the game. Well worth the read.


Over All - I give it 2 thumbs up :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: TRAC (for AMP: Year Two)
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 19:56:18

It's always great to see an expansion on stuff that's only glimpsed at in the core book. A look into how mundanes can fight back, as well as more in-depth look at some of the people in the organization itself. Plus the ready to play scenario at the end is a nice cap to the supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: TRAC (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Affiliation Guide: Changelings (for AMP: Year Two)
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 19:53:17

Loved the additional supplement. It helps flesh out a group that we don't get to see a whole lot of detail about.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Affiliation Guide: Changelings (for AMP: Year Two)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Affiliation Guide: Changelings (for AMP: Year Two)
by Karl L [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 13:39:18

Don't let looks be deceptive, but this supplement has everything I require from a supplement. It has some setting and some crunch, developing the topic of the Changelings further and gives some nice story seeds as well. If you aren't into reading setting stuff, there are some new powers and other stuff to keep you happy. All this is exceedingly well written, and a joy to read.


To finish it in style, there is a ready to run scenario. It is one of those low-key scenarios which I personally love, and seem perfect for both the game and the affiliation. It is designed for Changelings at a particular period, but I can see it easily reworked for other uses.


On the negative side, the supplement seems a bit political. The good guys seem like liberals and the bad guys like conservatives, in particular in the scenario. It would have been nice if it had been mixed up a bit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
by Thom S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2015 13:18:23

This is a fantastic setting with a great ruleset that does a fantastic job of capturing Wuxia / Anime / Manga style combat. The setting itself includes enough overlap with real historical Asian culture to be familiar to the reader, while putting its own unique spin and effectively distancing itself from Earth / the "real" world.


I look forward to the Third Eye Games efforts on Ninja Crusade 2



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. - Savage Worlds Edition
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2015 09:02:15

A clever pastiche of Angel, Blade, HP Lovecraft, and above all else, Men In Black, it's eldritch horror done with tongue in cheek. Demons walk among us but you can't notice the weird fish-man demon if he's wearing a trenchcoat and a floppy hat. Occult shops sell real actual items of power, to those in the know. Back alley doctors install cybernetic parts on human and demon alike. And regulating all of them is a shadowy mega-corporation and its agents in black suits, responsible for stopping a dozen apocalypses so far.


The book is largely black text on white, with a few comic art pieces here and there - definetly printer-friendly.


While the concept is wonderful, and the chapters on cybernetics and magic are really good, but the last couple of chapters, describing API's operations, it tends to drag a bit. There's no adventure generator, custom Savage Tales, or sample antagonists to give GMs a boost when it comes to prep time. This is a conversion from their own in-house game system to Savage Worlds, and there's a few places where the editor failed to notice a mechanic from the previous system slipped through (what's a Passion Roll?).


Stellar product otherwise. Glad I picked it up during Savage September!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. - Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Attack of the Buzz (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2015 00:24:16

The first AMP adventure, Attack of The Buzz takes a moment from the AMP timeline (a crazy killer bee attack) and leads the PCs to it. Hooks are provided to help the PCs along, no matter which AMP affiliation they belong to (including being unaffiliated.


SIX POINT SUMMARY




  • Smart move providing different entry points to the adventure based on affiliation. It drives home that there is no "one true way" to play the game, but there truly are options.




  • Beekeeper suits.




  • Critter, a major NPC from the corebook, is included again at the back of this adventure for convenience, as she plays a large (though it shouldn't be overshadowing) role in the adventure. Nice move for convenience sake.




  • I believe the art used is unique to the adventure, and it is well placed and evocative (bees attacking people, plus the titular villain, who looks just a little pathetic...which is intentional).




  • Two new augments for the Leash power, one that allows you to ward off animals and one that allows you to forge soldiers out of swarms.



  • The adventure provides a few more nice examples of how to use Skill Combos in different situations (like hiding from bees). Does a nice job of illustrating the flexibility of the skills.


A solid adventure with an interesting antagonist with a back story that serves to illustrate just the kind of world this is. The Buzz isn't a cackling supervillain, and this isn't a comic book. It's a super powered tragedy more than anything...and that ain't bad. I can send Swarm at my PCs in Marvel SAGA all day long, AMP needs to do something different to be worth my time, and it does.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Attack of the Buzz (Adventure for AMP: Year One)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 81 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG