RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
GDW's Space 1889 Sourcebooks [BUNDLE]
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 17:00:18
I missed this first time round and purchased this for completeness after getting into the game. The Atlas of the worlds is a comprehensive overview of the solar system.

Cloud captains of Mars and Steppelords of Mars are fun chrome books and I haven't used Caravans of Mars as yet.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GDW's Space 1889 Sourcebooks [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironclads And Ether Flyers
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 16:04:37
I missed Space 1889 first time round and this supplement is worth it for the detail of all the worlds navies alone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironclads And Ether Flyers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Soldier’s Companion
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 16:02:46
Missed this first time round. This supplement is worth it for the worlds military alone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soldier’s Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sky Galleons of Mars/Cloudships and Gunboats
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 16:01:01
Missed this the first time round and it has got me hooked we have played a mini campaign and it is great fun.

The combat system involves different altitudes and types of aerial gunship, propulsion and artillery.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sky Galleons of Mars/Cloudships and Gunboats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space: 1889
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 15:54:44
This is an amazing game, which I missed first time round (due to the Housing Market crash).

We have played several sessions, it's fun and easy, I thought it might be a bit to simplistic at character generation, but with the career choices you can make interesting characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space: 1889
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space: 1889
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/14/2015 11:47:21
Space: 1889 was originally released in 1988 by Game Designer's Workshop. I am reviewing my old GDW hardcover from the time and the new PDF by Heliograph, Inc.. The are identical in most respects, save for copyright information.
The book is 225 pages with covers, ads and maps. The maps are also really nice featuring the three faces of Mars and of Venus.

The book lacks proper chapter numbers, but instead goes with titles.
The Introduction covers the basics of what Space: 1889 is all about. This includes a brief history of the last few years and some of the events of the modern day of 1889.
Characters covers basic character creation. Today a point-buy system is the defacto means of character generation for most games, but in 1988 it was a new-ish idea. Characters have six attributes, Physical attributes of Strength (Str), Agility (Agl), and Endurance (End). Psychological attributes are Intellect (Int), Charisma (Chr), and Social Level (Soc). Like Ubiquity and Unisystem these are ranked 1 to 6. Characters are given a total of 21 points to distribute among these attributes.
Characters also have 24 skills they can train in either via Careers or training aka purchasing extra skills. Also detailed is Wealth, which is a function of Social level and what career you may or may not have.
A few guideline careers are offered with suggestions on what attributes they should have.

Up next is the Victorian Age. While I didn't get to play this game much back in the day, I devoured this chapter. It is the Victorian age, but not exactly like the one we know from history. Afterall the British were not fighting on Mars back then.
The chapter is largely Anglocentric, which is to be expected really. There is not a lot here we have not seen before...except that this is one of the first Victorian Sci-Fantasy games on the market. Even Masque of the Red Death would be another year off and Cthulhu by Gaslight was still not everywhere yet.
Note: Those three games, Masque, Cthulhu by Gaslight, and Space: 1889 made up a sort of holy trinity for me back in the late 80s and early 90s. So much I wanted to do with them all as one campaign. College though got in the way...

The Referee section covers basic rules, NPCs, adventures and experience. The system is largely a Attribute/Skill Dice pool vs a Target Number. Not too difficult really, and in fact still playable by today's standards.

Equipment is predictably a large chapter. More so than the Characters and Referee chapters combined. But it also has nice illustrations of various equipment including weapons. Heck it is worth looking just for the picture of the rail gun! This is also one of the chapters that has utility for other games. I have not compared the prices or other stats of the weapons with other versions of the game, but they seem consistent. Indeed, the prices and stats (range, rate of fire) are useful for plenty of other games too. I have not run down the lists in all the games, but it looks like there are more weapons in this version. The PDF and the hardcover includes the original color inserts. I love the designs of the Martian ships. Wery cool.

The follows right into the Science chapter. This one is of course just fun. Flying through the ether and other weird science. This covers building your own equipment and inventions.

Combat covers... well combat. All sorts of conditions are covered, ground, aerial, missile, melee, and heavy weapons. There are even sections on explosives and animal combat. Color inserts here too.

The next two chapters cover Travel. The first is Travel and Exploration and Space Travel. Personally the meat of these two chapters is the Space Travel. Several points of interest in the Solar System are discussed, mostly the inner planets and the asteroid belt.

The next chapters cover the various locations in the Solar System. Luna, Mars and Venus. Each deals with the unique flora and fauna of the planets. The most detail goes to Mars of course.

We end with some useful charts.

The art throughout the book is a mixed lot. Very much a part of the times of the late 1980s. Though I noticed some good Jim Holloway and Jeff Dee illustrations. Judging it by today's standards though isn't really fair.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Canal Priests of Mars
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2015 17:07:58
Been playing this with my usual gaming group using a home-made mashup of Dead Simple and Savage Worlds rules. We have played it as a Saturday morning serial type pulp adventure and had a great time. We have played 5 sessions and not even got to Mars yet! The players were having an unexpectedly good time shmoozing with the other passengers on the Princess Alexandra so I let them get on with it.
Some of the story ideas in the book would not work with the party I have, but it was easy to make up appropriate storylines just from reading the passenger list and imagining what they would get up to.

Space 1889 has some fantastic background material for very little cost and I will be chucking some of that in as I go along with this campaign. There is easily enough material to keep going for years if we want to. And we just might...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Canal Priests of Mars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space: 1889
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/14/2013 13:46:55
Years ago I picked up a game book with a Victorian Era British soldier on the cover fighting off gold-skinned ape men with fin ears. The logo had "SPACE" drawn as riveted metal with a stylized "1889" below it. I picked up the blue book and read the back cover.

"Role-Playing In A More Civilized Time. Everything Jules Verne should have written. Everything H. G. Wells could have written. Everything A. Conan Doyle thought of, but never published because it was too fantastic. Everything you need for adventures of the century! The Space 1889 role-playing game covers the exciting background of Victorian science fiction: ether fliers and Martian cloud ships, the canals and ancient civilizations of the red planet, Venus' swamps and dinosaurs, the honeycombed interior of Luna, and the thrills of inventions and inventors; the driving force behind Victoria's multi-world empire!"

In the game's history, Thomas Edison invented a device called the Ether Propeller which allowed ships raised to high enough altitude to travel through space at amazing rates of speed. In the 19th century, Ether was believed to be light's medium like water for waves and air for sound. SPACE:1889 uses ether and other scientific theories from the 1800s to build a universe consistent with the mindset of the day.

Space: 1889 and its companion Sky Galleons of Mars ignited my imagination the way few settings ever have. While other science fiction RPGs sent characters to the far future, Frank Chadwick sent gamers into the past. The character combat system wasn't great but the ship-to-ship rules were first rate . The original work gave you atlases of Mars, Venus, the Moon, and Mercury along with the indigenous races for each planet. I fought the cursed Belgians from one end of Mars to the other and knew victory captaining the screw galley Texan's Pride. Now THAT was a setting!

The game has since been redone in Savage Worlds and a soon-to-be-release Ubiquity system. I can't say enough about the setting or it's creator, Frank Chadwick. Go forth, young adventurer, can conquer the skies of Mars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space: 1889
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Introduction to Space: 1889
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/14/2013 13:43:33
If you're interested in learning about Space 1889, this is the product for you. It contains the relevant setting history along with some of the equipment found in the rule books. Give this to your players regardless of which flavor Space:1889 you plan to play - Original, Savage Worlds, or Ubiquity.

Note: This product is a scan from the original text.

You can find a review of Space:1889 Red Sands at http://rptroll.blogspot.com/2010/09/review-space-1889-red-sa-
nds.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Introduction to Space: 1889
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space: 1889
by Mark L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2013 22:10:36
I introduced this game to my daughter a few years ago and she loved it. She is in the Navy now and doesnt have room for a library of gamebooks but this bundle will all fit on her Kindle Fire nicely!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space: 1889
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sky Galleons of Mars/Cloudships and Gunboats
by Scott W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2012 00:42:44
Its all I expected it to be... Now if someone will just make new ship minis

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sky Galleons of Mars/Cloudships and Gunboats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GDW's Space 1889 Adventures [BUNDLE]
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2012 15:11:11
I've been a fan of the Space: 1889 concept since I first saw it. This bundle is a wonderfully inexpensive way to get the PDF's of my favoerite adventures.

Even though I already have hardcopies of all these books I like the ability to use them on my computer during a game so I can reference them without carrying around a ton of books. Sometimes a game may break out when I'm away from home!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GDW's Space 1889 Adventures [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Introduction to Space: 1889
by Samuel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2010 10:06:10
It's been nearly 20 years since I played this game, and now my gaming buddies and I are getting back into it, full bore! Thanks to Heliograph for reprinting the original rules, which I just happened to see this last GenCon Indy (2010). Great steampunk game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Introduction to Space: 1889
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GDW's Space 1889 Complete Set [BUNDLE]
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2010 22:09:17
This is one of my favorite series of RPGs. The bundle is a great way to acquire the complete series

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GDW's Space 1889 Complete Set [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Introduction to Space: 1889
by Stuart R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/23/2010 20:47:03
My boxed set of Sky Galleons of Mars has been one of the quirkier parts of my gaming library since I won it at a Demo game in 1989. It contained this intro to Space: 1889 and I also had an opportunity to play in a Demo game for the RPG.

Space: 1889 was about 20 years ahead of it's time. Back in the 80s nobody had heard of "Steampunk" and the idea of alternate history Victorian Science Fiction seemed pretty weird to a lot of gamers. Today it's a very different story, so it's nice to see this being made available again.

If Steampunk, Pith Helmets and/or Flying Ships are your thing, this is a great game and worth checking out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Introduction to Space: 1889
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG