RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
5150 : New Beginnings - Urban Renewal
by Stefan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2014 11:29:00
5150 NHC presents a very detailed system, highly applicable to solo play, for determining events in a cyberpunk, near-future setting. Events are encounters with NPCs. This is a perfect sandbox system. Although a set of events should best be determined before play and used as the game progresses, the level of detail is such that with no preparation the GM can handle a game session, although the game would be rather slowed down.
The probability if an event occurring depends on the time of day and the area in the city. Once an event occurs, there are many tables to determine the social class of the NPCs encountered (from very wealthy to criminal element), their race (human or one of five alien races), how many there are and what kind of reaction they will have when they meet the PCs. Reaction depends on the difference in social class, whether the NPCs have encountered the PCs before and other factors. Most encounters can be categorized as either combat or social.
There are also rules for what happens when the PCs are at home. Events such as burglaries and police raids are well covered.
There is also a system to determine combat and character generation, but this system can be replaced by any other SF gaming system if a rules-lite system is not your preferred way of roleplaying.
In addition to the rules for sandbox playing, there is the setting which in my view is very good. New Hope City is a city of humans, aliens, cyber enhanced individuals, low-lifes, mega corporations, mercenaries and all the other ingredients which make a very believable cyperpunk environment.
I give this game 5 stars because it is the best system to determine events I have ever seen. I even think the system could be applied to fantasy or other genres, with a bit of work from the GM.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5150 : New Beginnings - Urban Renewal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
by Tim R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2014 14:18:01
Good solid rules that are easy to learn, with a campaign option.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
CR 3.0 Swordplay!
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2013 17:29:37
Surprisingly fun system... Better than any other fighting system I have come across.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CR 3.0 Swordplay!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Friday Night Fights 2nd Edition
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2013 11:42:18
If you want to recreate the excitement of a good boxing match, this is your go-to game.

First up, you need a boxer character. A system conbining some die rolls and some free choices let you design a boxer in terms of strength, stamina and fighting style. Then you... well, fight. You can fight boxers generated by other players or there are a whole bunch of pregenerated ones against who you can fight using the rules (which provide for 'automating' boxers when there isn't a player controlling them) - so this game works whether you are on your own or playing with friends.

The whole match is controlled by die rolls, mostly against tables. These cover manoeuvering around the ring as well as the chance of landing a blow and the results of each move. There are two levels of detail that you can choose from, depending on whether you want a blow-by-blow account of your fight or are more interested in just who wins. There's even a table to work out the judges' decision, should a knock-out not occur. And the winner gains Fame which, amongst other things, determines who he will fight next.

For those who want more, there are optional rules for training boxers and for being a fight promoter - running a stable of boxers and managing their careers.

Oh, and if you want, you can always use these rules to moderate a boxing match that the characters in a role-playing game get involved in, or even just go to watch. It's a specialised ruleset for boxing matches, use it whenever you please!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Friday Night Fights 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
by John Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2013 15:21:20
This is one of my favorite rule sets and it's free! The rules provide a clearly explained tutorial on how the THW reaction system works. And, to my mind, does the best job of it since their very early releases like Six Gun Sound 1st ed and the various Mayhem titles. In fact, as much as I enjoyed Six Gun Sound 1st ed. I hadn't, until this release, enjoyed any of the successive rules THW put out. That has changed as a result of CR3: FV.

Download the rules, grab a couple of figures and follow the tutorial and you'll have a decent grasp of the game. Do not try to mentally guess how they will go. These rules can be hard to grasp from reading alone; the play is the thing.

The included "campaign" mean you have a complete game (minus vehicle rules) for no investment but the time to play through some scenarios (again, I can't emphasize that enough, you need to play the rules to really appreciate them).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
by axel a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2012 19:16:32
Very fun game, rule book is a little dull but the game more than makes up for it. Best payed as a small campaign over a few weeks at the end of your regular gaming session.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gangsters!
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 17:11:49
Nice introduction scenario for the Chain Reaction rules. Requires the Chain Reaction 3.0 rules which are free from this site. Also introduces simple vehicle rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gangsters!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
by ROGER D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 02:59:22
This is a high quality piece of work! To be giving it away free is a wonderful thing you are doing. I just got it and haven't had time to use the rules yet but I am looking forward to digging into it in the next few days. THANK YOU!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
by Bill C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2012 13:03:40
Vunny you schould azk...

I have just finished my second game of Chain Reaction 3.0. this is a good product, in my mind. It can be a lot more lethal then most gamers are acustomed to, but it doesn't have to be.

It is designed for skirmish gaming cops and robbers or military vs military or military vs insurgents patrol engagements. The arsenal runs from the introduction of cased ammo to modern and tomorrow. There are no science fiction or black powder weapons.

There are rules for characters, buildings and vehicles, as well as rules for setting up clear, mountanous and forest terrain. All of the rules are sketchy and simple.

It is intended as an introduction to 2 Hour Wargames. The idea is to get you interested in the Chain Reaction system which eliminates the perfect control other games give players over their forces.

I enjoy it. This is now my standard set of rules. But frankly, I cheated and bought some of the other 2HW products as well. It IS a complete game, but I wanted more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dead Heat
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2012 09:51:38
Competition is dog-eat-dog, and this race in NO exception! LITERALLY!

This game is not only WRONG on SO many levels, but cleverly thought out and FUN!

The game would benefit from "figures" instead of tokens, but with that minor exception, it is a great little game.

Some of the artwork is mind-blowing, and some is what it is. Overall, a pretty good beer and pretzels game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Heat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warrior Heroes: Armies and Adventures
by Rod S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 15:49:38
I was worried when I purchased this that another of the games Two Hour Wargames published (Rally Round the King) had made this Warrior Heroes outdated. Fortunately, that is not true.

The "character generation" in this is simple. Basically, after deciding what to play (and just about all fantasy choices are allowed to be played; my character for one campaign was a succubus and a human wizard the next campaign), you just assign a Rep, alignment, and equipment and that's it.

The campaigns are fun. This game is almost two games in one. The first option is typical adventuring. Looking on the map in the beginning of the book, you move around to different nations, possibly recruiting hirelings. Quests are offered, but it can be just as fun going into "enemy" territory and causing havoc. The second option is joining the army of a nation (it doesn't even have to be your home nation in some cases). You complete missions for the army. This route seems to be a precursor for Rally Round the King, with Warrior Heroes as a soldier/sergeant/lieutenant in small to medium military skirmishes and Rally Round the King as the character as a commander or ruler.

This game can be played solo, which is what I played it. The mechanics for how the opposing forces acts/reacts works well. Also, there is no need for you to run out and buy miniatures. As long as you have a fair supply of miniatures, you should be okay. I did have to improvise when the charts generated more mounted figures than I had, but it works out okay.

All in all, this is a good "tactical RPG" that can be played in an afternoon but is still simple so you don't spend all of that afternoon looking up how to resolve something.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior Heroes: Armies and Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Qwik - Game of the Wasteland
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2011 12:35:19
This game is inspired by the post-apocalyptic blood sport that is the theme of the movie "The Salute of the Jugger." I do recommend watching that or at least some trailers for inspiration.
You have two teams of five people trying to drive the "bean" (a dog skull) on a stake on the opposing team's end of the playing field. Only one player of each team, the "qwik," may touch the bean; the others are armed with clubs and chains and fight to protect their qwiks and attack the opponents.
The game uses a modified version of the reaction system found in other Two Hour Wargames products. The playing field is split into a number of squares or "zones." On each game round, characters may perform some actions based on their role in the team. Some of these actions (especially movement between zones) cause reactions from other characters and the result is a fluid simulation of the match.
Besides movement and positioning, there is also a strategy element in the bonus dice that characters may spend on any action -- think of it as their stamina or willpower. Choosing when to spend them can make a big difference.
The book includes rules suitable for two players, as well as a complete set of "behaviors" for solitaire play. I have tried them and they do work very well (I have a report here: http://fantalonia.blogspot.com/2011/05/qwik-game-of-wastelan-
d.html) as other THW games. You can play single matches, arrange a tournament between friends or try the campaign from the book -- lots of options and ways to play.
The best recommendation I'd have is: watch a trailer from the movie that includes scenes from the game matches. If you find yourself thinking, "I'd like to play a game based on that," then this game is for you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Qwik - Game of the Wasteland
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cereal Killers
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2010 09:13:08
It takes real chutzpah to release a game set in a world like this to show off your miniatures rules. I really admire that.

I do wonder, though, why they used the real (copyrighted) names for all these characters. The names could be changed very slightly to remove all liability and also provide another level of parody.

Also, this game is begging to have its own (preferably crudely drawn) cardstock minis included. You're never going to find similar characters in another cardstock set or in metal ... well, maybe Chocula, but that's it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cereal Killers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
by Jeff W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2010 00:35:44
A fantastic free stand alone game which is also an intro to the mechanics of Two Hour Wargames. Piles of fan based material for these rules are in the THW yahoo group files section. These rules emphasize the SOLO game experience, instead of as an afterthought , they are also very playable co-operatively and VS.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warrior Heroes: Armies and Adventures
by Aleksandar S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2010 02:14:50
It is not allways easy to find people for a good long RPG campaign that will last for a month or longer. Therefore, unlike the wargames, I like to play my RPGs solo.
Therefore, my system of choice for noncombat encounters is definetly Mythic RPG. The only problem is that combat resolution with this system can be a bit boring.
Well, that is where WHA&A, mixed with free Chain Reaction 3.0 Swordplay (featuring somewhat improved mechanics) comes into action, becoming my system of choice for combat encounters. Reaction mechnics for controling NPCs in combat is just revolutionary.
What I like: Combat magic, Reaction system for NPC control.
What I do not like: the book is few years old, and has to be updated using CR3 Swordplay for optimum results. Having this in mind, 20 USD is too much. New edition or price reduction should be in order.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior Heroes: Armies and Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Actually Warrior Heroes is a stand alone and will not be updated. Looking closer you will see that the mechanics in WH are different the CR and that CR is just a free watered down version of THW games. Thanks for the review!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG