RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mission St. Mary
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 12:25:12

As a supplement for Larger than life this a good book.

However, I was saddened by the lack of detail on the setting. I'm afraid you'll have to make that up. Also if you are thinking that this will be great for some Steam Punk fun then you will probably be disappointed. Yes you can play a Steam Punk character but there is very little in the rules that help you to build a unique Steam Punk character

Anyway, enough griping. What's the good news? Well, you have an entirely new country to explore filled with lots of new NPC's. Lemuria is a tropical locale and as such this supplement really enhances your Jungle and Lost World adventures. Of note are the dinosaur rules. Ever fancied hunting a Dinosaur? I wouldn't recommend it unless you are awesomely brave!

The core of this book is the idea of hanging out in a bar in Mission St. Mary, looking suspiciously like Indiana Jones and meeting various NPC's who can hire your services to go on many and varied expeditions. Real good Pulp fare.

Also there are rules for you to play a Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle story. Edgar Rice Burroughs would be proud!

So. Let down in regard to Steam Punk and background info on the campaign setting. Somewhat small for its price, yet I find it a very worthy add-on to my 'Larger Than Life' games.

I would love to see an expansion that covered a setting like E.A. Burroughs John Carpenter on Mars books!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mission St. Mary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Larger Than Life
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 12:04:44

This game is awesome if you want to solo roleplay some over the top pulp action. I love Warrior heroes Legends by the same company (see my review for it) and this does for Pulp what WHL does for fantasy.

If anything, it does it better! There is a great system for clue gathering and it has a really great adventure generator. You'll find yourself hopping from location to location hunting lost treasure and foiling evil masterminds in no time.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Larger Than Life
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warrior Heroes Legends
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 11:56:43

I love WHL. I have been trying to find a way to solo roleplay that I like. It never really clicked with me until I bought Warrior Heroes Legends. It is a meeting ground between miniature skirmish rules and roleplaying. The numerous tables help you to roll up a character, recruit some hirelings and go on many and various high adventures around a sizeable map. There are even some simple rules for character advancement.

If there is one thing I have learned whilst trying out various systems its that simplicity is paramount when solo roleplaying. The author understands this and keeps the rule set very tight.

I wish there were more monster stats but it would be fairly easy to create your own. You can play a monster if you wish. I have designs on playing a dim witted Troll who goes on a rampage!

I have marked it only 4 out of 5 because the layout of the book could be more intuitive. I find myself flipping backwards and forwards throughout the document a lot! I'm sure this could be improved. Also I found the dungeon delving rules somewhat irksome. I have followed somebody else's lead in this regard and use the rules for 2Hour Dungeon Crawl by the same company. A fairly simple fix albeit one which involves spending more money...

To summarise. I'm very impressed and will be playing this game a lot!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior Heroes Legends
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2 Hour Dungeon Crawl
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 11:37:55

Excellent dungeon crawler that takes up very little space to play. Recommended.

Yes, its rather expensive but THW is a small indie press.

The rules aren't complicated. I'm not sure why the previous reviewer got so confused?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2 Hour Dungeon Crawl
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warrior Heroes Legends
by Ranjith E. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2015 15:06:51

Please note that this review is written from bad to good.

In my eyes, the campaign system feels somewhat lacking. There are mechanisms for travelling around the world, having random encounters and various things, but when you first start out, the game does not help you give a motivation for your character to actually do so. There are quite a few aspects where you need to fill in such gaps, giving the character reasons and motivations in order to justify decisions made purely in order to activate the mechanisms - or the other way around, filling in gaps that the system leaves. The latter can be seen with cities, villages and towns. While there are some differences, there is no real incentive to visit a city as most benefits of it over towns are rather marginal or dependent on getting lucky to get an involuntary encounter to begin with.

Mind you, those things can be handled by house-ruling, but even though that is really easy to do, I think it is not the way a product of this price category should be. Especially since the description claims that the engine provides you with a "why" for your adventures, which it does not, most of the time.

Another, personal, failure of the game is based on the information on the homepage of the designer (which is in turn information that is on the back of the book). "Legends aren't born, they're made" is the motto, followed by an explanation that suggests that you may start as an "inexperienced spellcaster" (among other things), and that you are nothing special when you start the game. Then you read the rules and they are designed in a way (and is suggested that you abide by it) that you start as a REP 5 character. REP 5 is defined by the game as "veterans of numerous successful encounters. Knights and Veterans would have a Reputation of 5." That does not really sound like nothing special, does it? An average soldier is REP 4 and someone who has limited combat experience would be 3. And as far as character development goes, REP 7+ is the highest category reserved for incredible creatures. Basically, you start in a position, where you could - if you are really, really lucky - reach the highest standing in the game in 2 fights (admittedly, you have to be very lucky, but it is still quite possible). The promise of development seems to be undermined.

As with the 2 Hour Dungeon Crawl, the price is also rather steep, although not as extreme as with the Dungeon Crawl. However, if you remove the material that is virtually identical with Sword Play rules, which are given away for free, things become dimmer, as we are left with the campaign system, the dungeon crawl system and additional interactions and magic items.

This brings me to the next negative - the dungeon crawl system. Personally, I think it is inferior to the one that comes with the 2 Hour Dungeon Crawl. While the 2 Hour Dungeon Crawl system creates potential encounters sometimes not in your current location but nearby and then has them chase you through the dungeon, Warrior Heroes Legends resolves all random encounters immediately. In addition, it adds quite a bit of fiddliness by using a deck of cards to generate and map the dungeon. The rules as written also basically expect you to constantly move forward, never going down the other corridor or checking alternative routes (which are rather rare thanks to the design anyway).

However, there is also a positive as the crawl system does add random events, which is a nice touch.

This also comes into play with another positive - if you also own 2 Hour Dungeon Crawl, you can easily integrate it into Warrior Heroes Legends with only minor adjustments needed (and maybe a decision whether to use the Big Bad and Minions tables of one or the other). In my opinion, that is a great advantage, as this combination greatly improves the experience.

There are also a lot of very nice details and gadgets - like the tables for NPC generation and interactions with them. Also the job opportunities and the encounters are well-designed and quite usable.

In the end, I have the impression that the design somewhat stopped between having only individual encounters and having a complete campaign generator. The components that are there are really good (except for the dungeon crawl), so if you are willing to fill in gaps and design the general situation, this book could be useful, although it is rather costly for what it does.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior Heroes Legends
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

2 Hour Dungeon Crawl
by Ranjith E. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2015 05:22:26

Please note that this review is organized from bad to good.

The biggest problem I see is also something that people who have not purchased the game will have noticed: it is extremely expensive. Nearly 30 cents per page is rather extreme, given that many very good RPGs are sold at 10 cents per page, sometimes even less. So, this is an investment you should probably think about.

Contentwise, the biggest problem I faced was with the structuring of the rules, which at places felt counter-intuitive. Mind you, it is not anywhere near the rules of Level 7:Escape in that regard, but I feel that it makes it unnecessarily difficult during the first sessions. Like, for instance, that you can search for secret rooms only after facing the PEF that is automatically generated for any room - but the rules first give you explanations about secret rooms and then the PEF information - which can possibly get important for you much earlier than the secret rooms. Likewise, a few clarifications or maybe even repetitions at times would have been helpful. Traps can be generated by PEFs, but the only information about them is given for traps generated in a special type of secret room.

Some rules are rather sketchy, as for instance the melee rules - it seems that once a character starts melee, that single melee has to be done to the end before other melees can be handled. And how you can get into multicharacter melees is left somewhat sketchy.

The absence of a character sheet is also disappointing given the high price and small size of the book. Surely, there would have been space for one more page. And the way characters are created and handled, designing such a character sheet would have been feasible, I think.

"Grunt" is used ambiguously - defined as any NPCs early on, but later on also any non-leaders of the group (which could also be PCs). In my eyes, a rather unnecessarily confusing word choice.

Not as much of a problem, there is another tidbit that can confuse people on the first reading of the book: in several places, the word "table" is omitted when telling the reader to consult one of the tables that are placed at the end of the book. Until you notice the omission, this is rather confusing as the main tables have the same title as the sections they belong to.

A very slight negative in my book, as it is about optional content, is the lack of variation for traps and lack of theming for rooms or secret rooms (there are different secret rooms, but they are not themed as the minions).

Personally, I didn't find the stop boxes at the ends of sections as helpful as intended most of the time. A detailed step-by-step example of a somewhat more complex fight would have been really helpful in my eyes.

In addition, I like to start with insignificant youngsters who may have a spark but not yet the experience, and the system advices you to use a character that is defined as an experienced adventurer (although this is mostly fluff, so you may ignore it).

It is a little sad that levelling up quickly becomes meaningless because of that (your starting adventurer is supposed to be REP 5, and REP 7+ is already said to be legendary).

On the plus side, the book is very light on the ink, making it easy and cheap to print. Typeface is clear and readable as are the tables.

The dungeon generator is simple but seems well-balanced. It is also easy to use.

The rules in general are rather simple and straightforward, although initially, you may have to check out a few situations to really make them click.

All the tables are placed in the back of the book, which is a very good design decision as it makes playing the game easier once you have grasped the basic rules and don't need to reference the text proper.

The game really shines in my eyes in three nice aspects: First of all, there are four different missions that may be the cause of your dungeon crawl, killing the boss monster or getting the treasure being only two of them. Thus, combat may actually be something you don't need to fulfill your mission. Secondly, there are several different bosses (10 if I counted correctly), one of which is selected randomly at the start of the game taking also your general power level into account (okay, only slightly, but still). Whenever you encounter monsters in the dungeon, which monsters you encounter is influenced by who the boss is; unless you meet a rival adventuring party... Thirdly, the PEF system is really great, adding a dynamic element to the crawl. Enemies do not simply sit in a room waiting for your crew to burst through the door (okay, some of them do that as well), but they move through the dungeon and hunt you down as well. And the rules for that are extremely simple.

All in all, the game is a lot of fun as a solo dungeon crawl with many neat details despite playing very quickly and simple. The different missions and boss-based minions give a good sense of theme while the PEF system adds a lot of suspense and foreboding to the game. However, it is, at its heart a dungeon crawler, but definitely one of the best I have come across. Personally, I found it worth the investment despite the rather tall price tag.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2 Hour Dungeon Crawl
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

5150 : New Beginnings - Urban Renewal
by Stefan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2014 11:29:00

5150 NHC presents a very detailed system, highly applicable to solo play, for determining events in a cyberpunk, near-future setting. Events are encounters with NPCs. This is a perfect sandbox system. Although a set of events should best be determined before play and used as the game progresses, the level of detail is such that with no preparation the GM can handle a game session, although the game would be rather slowed down. The probability if an event occurring depends on the time of day and the area in the city. Once an event occurs, there are many tables to determine the social class of the NPCs encountered (from very wealthy to criminal element), their race (human or one of five alien races), how many there are and what kind of reaction they will have when they meet the PCs. Reaction depends on the difference in social class, whether the NPCs have encountered the PCs before and other factors. Most encounters can be categorized as either combat or social. There are also rules for what happens when the PCs are at home. Events such as burglaries and police raids are well covered. There is also a system to determine combat and character generation, but this system can be replaced by any other SF gaming system if a rules-lite system is not your preferred way of roleplaying. In addition to the rules for sandbox playing, there is the setting which in my view is very good. New Hope City is a city of humans, aliens, cyber enhanced individuals, low-lifes, mega corporations, mercenaries and all the other ingredients which make a very believable cyperpunk environment. I give this game 5 stars because it is the best system to determine events I have ever seen. I even think the system could be applied to fantasy or other genres, with a bit of work from the GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5150 : New Beginnings - Urban Renewal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
by Tim R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2014 14:18:01

Good solid rules that are easy to learn, with a campaign option.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CR 3.0 Swordplay!
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2013 17:29:37

Surprisingly fun system... Better than any other fighting system I have come across.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CR 3.0 Swordplay!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Friday Night Fights 2nd Edition
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2013 11:42:18

If you want to recreate the excitement of a good boxing match, this is your go-to game.

First up, you need a boxer character. A system conbining some die rolls and some free choices let you design a boxer in terms of strength, stamina and fighting style. Then you... well, fight. You can fight boxers generated by other players or there are a whole bunch of pregenerated ones against who you can fight using the rules (which provide for 'automating' boxers when there isn't a player controlling them) - so this game works whether you are on your own or playing with friends.

The whole match is controlled by die rolls, mostly against tables. These cover manoeuvering around the ring as well as the chance of landing a blow and the results of each move. There are two levels of detail that you can choose from, depending on whether you want a blow-by-blow account of your fight or are more interested in just who wins. There's even a table to work out the judges' decision, should a knock-out not occur. And the winner gains Fame which, amongst other things, determines who he will fight next.

For those who want more, there are optional rules for training boxers and for being a fight promoter - running a stable of boxers and managing their careers.

Oh, and if you want, you can always use these rules to moderate a boxing match that the characters in a role-playing game get involved in, or even just go to watch. It's a specialised ruleset for boxing matches, use it whenever you please!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Friday Night Fights 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
by John Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2013 15:21:20

This is one of my favorite rule sets and it's free! The rules provide a clearly explained tutorial on how the THW reaction system works. And, to my mind, does the best job of it since their very early releases like Six Gun Sound 1st ed and the various Mayhem titles. In fact, as much as I enjoyed Six Gun Sound 1st ed. I hadn't, until this release, enjoyed any of the successive rules THW put out. That has changed as a result of CR3: FV.

Download the rules, grab a couple of figures and follow the tutorial and you'll have a decent grasp of the game. Do not try to mentally guess how they will go. These rules can be hard to grasp from reading alone; the play is the thing.

The included "campaign" mean you have a complete game (minus vehicle rules) for no investment but the time to play through some scenarios (again, I can't emphasize that enough, you need to play the rules to really appreciate them).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
by axel a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2012 19:16:32

Very fun game, rule book is a little dull but the game more than makes up for it. Best payed as a small campaign over a few weeks at the end of your regular gaming session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Sand Blue Sky - Heroes of the Arena
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gangsters!
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 17:11:49

Nice introduction scenario for the Chain Reaction rules. Requires the Chain Reaction 3.0 rules which are free from this site. Also introduces simple vehicle rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gangsters!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
by ROGER D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 02:59:22

This is a high quality piece of work! To be giving it away free is a wonderful thing you are doing. I just got it and haven't had time to use the rules yet but I am looking forward to digging into it in the next few days. THANK YOU!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chain Reaction 3.1 - Final Version
by Bill C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2012 13:03:40

Vunny you schould azk...

I have just finished my second game of Chain Reaction 3.0. this is a good product, in my mind. It can be a lot more lethal then most gamers are acustomed to, but it doesn't have to be.

It is designed for skirmish gaming cops and robbers or military vs military or military vs insurgents patrol engagements. The arsenal runs from the introduction of cased ammo to modern and tomorrow. There are no science fiction or black powder weapons.

There are rules for characters, buildings and vehicles, as well as rules for setting up clear, mountanous and forest terrain. All of the rules are sketchy and simple.

It is intended as an introduction to 2 Hour Wargames. The idea is to get you interested in the Chain Reaction system which eliminates the perfect control other games give players over their forces.

I enjoy it. This is now my standard set of rules. But frankly, I cheated and bought some of the other 2HW products as well. It IS a complete game, but I wanted more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG