RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
It Came from Beyond the Stars! [Tunnels & Trolls]
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/10/2011 21:39:31
(originally posted at TenkarsTavern.com)

If you are a long time reader of this blog, I'm sure you've heard on of my little rants lamenting the lack of GM or group play adventures for Tunnels & Trolls. T&T is seen as a solo play RPG system by most, but it can really excel in group play. It's just that there has been so little in the way of group play adventures for T&T it's almost laughable.

I can stop laughing now, as It Came From Beyond the Stars is a really nice adventure written for a party of beginning delvers. It even has a Lovecraftian feel to it. Fun to read, I expect it will be even more fun to play. My one complaint is the lack of maps for the adventure area. They aren't needed for play, but would have helped with the atmosphere. Besides, ever group of delver's needs a home base ;)

It's not a long adventure, but T&T generally uses less space for stats and more for the story. Same holds true here.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
It Came from Beyond the Stars! [Tunnels & Trolls]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Fragmentary History of Trollworld
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2011 02:48:50
This was an interesting read, but I was hopeing that the information presented would have been a bit more informative. I know humor plays a big part for many fans of TNT, but I felt this should have been done with a bit more seriousness. That being said I'd still recomend it for the TNT truest.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Fragmentary History of Trollworld
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Elder Tunnels: Spring 2011 [Tunnels & Trolls]
by Ken S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/16/2011 01:00:34
Elder Tunnels 3 takes Tunnels & Trolls 7.5 where it has seldom gone before--into the science-fictional future of Trollworld. This 42 page zine contains 3 lengthy adventure, and a gag random treasure table--the gag being that you don't get any loot, just the results of your last date.
Brian Penn offers a 15 page solitaire adventure dealing with genetic manipulation. Tom Loney explores magical time travel with Wellsian ramifications. And Michael Eidson demonstrates that the life of an inventor's test subjects are never very easy. All three adventures are written with keen intelligence and elevate role-playing well above the common hack and slash gaming so dear to my heart. Very good stuff indeed!

Disclaimer: I received a free reviewer's copy of the pdf of Elder Tunnels 3, and as the creator of Tunnels & Trolls, I am predisposed to like such material. However, the content of this publication is intellectually far above your general dungeon delving. My only real criticism of the work is that the front cover of Elder Tunnels seems totally irrelevant to the contents.

--Ken St. Andre

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elder Tunnels: Spring 2011 [Tunnels & Trolls]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2010 12:56:28
Peryton's gimmick is its Knack system, which is a good idea. The book has a decent layout; the cover is it's best art. Because it reads like ODaD, it inherits some of the problems of its "parent". There is some innovation here, but not enough to justify the cost if you already have a free copy of some other ODaD clone; save your money if this is so.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Elder Tunnels: Halloween 2010 [Tunnels & Trolls]
by Jeff F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2010 10:54:21
This is a wonderfully creepy collection for Halloween! David R. Crowell spins a masterfully moody tale with lots of twists in his solo "The Farmer's Daughter". Christina Lea provides a collection of horrid little monsters in her GM adventure, and these beasties would be a wonderful addition to your collection of random monsters to use in other games as well. Mike Larsen provides a series of challenging little "Resurrection Missions". In "Trouble Among the Tumbled Stones", Tom K. Loney delves into Ghoulish culture for an exciting adventure. This is a really nice collection!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elder Tunnels: Halloween 2010 [Tunnels & Trolls]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2010 22:57:29
Two aspects of this retro-d20 game I like:

1. the knacks system--Castles & Crusades could take a page from Peryton here;

2. the write-ups of the Mystic, a class less like the Monk of standard d20 and more like an archetypal guru [Jedi, minus the light saber]; and the Templar, a cross between the d20 Cleric and Paladin;

Aspects of the game I don't like:

1. too few classes;

2. the magical class it retains is the Gygaxian Wizard; the OD&D convention I like the least is the guy lugging the spell book into the dungeon.

Basically, this is a solid game, but is it better than free retro-d20 fixes, namely Basic Fantasy? No.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
POW!erful Tales
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2010 09:41:03
Some really interesting, often unconventional, superhero stories. Several variations on the superhero theme accompanied by pictures from a variety of artists. If you pay attention, the seemingly disparate stories are tied together by the editor into an unexpected over-arching storyline. Very cool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
POW!erful Tales
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
by Sc N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2010 12:08:47
d20 Lite, this game uses the d20 system but without skills in a way. It uses whats called knacks, skills you get as you try doing certain things many times between levels, when you say try and ride a horse many times, when you advance to the next level, you can add it as a knack and have an easier time at riding horses. It kinda reminds me of the old 2e AD&D amalgamated with the 3.0 D&D d20 system somewhat. It makes it quite easy to use Monster Manuals from D&D 3.x and modules with PFRPG.

Liked: A simplified d20 version and open gaming system.

Disliked: Not much, it could use more monster pictures, this seems to be the way most OGL books are anymore, lack of monster art.

Overall its a nice workable set of rules based on the d20 OGL and some old school rpg systems, I recommend them to anyone looking for a game without feats and tons of skills.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WHAP Deluxe Pulp Adventure System
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2010 10:32:57
Full Disclosure: I am a long-distance friend of the Peryton Publishing crowd. While I may have a little personal bias, my correspondence with Tom developed originally from my playing this game at Gen Con (2009) and enjoying it, so I think I can still offer a fair review.

WHAP's mechanics are based mostly on primary attributes that you roll randomly and "inherent skills" derived from combinations of the primary attributes. The core mechanic is to roll against a target number by adding one of these attributes or inherent skills to a pair of dice (six sided - this is all six-siders). There are also perks, secondary skills, "and whatnot" mentioned to flesh out the character, but not much is said about this beyond a page of instructions and one example. The concept is explained clearly enough, but I'd like to see a little more detail for guidance. The business of cobbling together the inherent skills seemed strange to me at first, having never played a game that does this, but in actual play the math is already done and the derived stats make everything relevant in a fun, unobtrusive way.

The game is full of little touches that you might not notice until you start playing it. For example, you might see that a weapon has a 3d+2d damage rating. Why not just say 5d? Because the ASTRO rule lets you keep going if you roll all the same. This gives you a situation where some weapons usually do a fairly typical amount of damage, but then have an increased potential to be surprisingly deadly. The authors would probably have done well to toot their own horn on things like this, but I guess if it works at the table that's all you need.

WHAP loses one star because, like I said, there are spots where it could use more hand-holding and cheerleading to get new readers excited about the rules. It's still a very nice package with good rules and a lot of pulpy attitude and I can tell you from experience both as a player and later as a GM that, in actual play, it delivers.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WHAP Deluxe Pulp Adventure System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
WHAP Deluxe Pulp Adventure System
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2010 22:05:35
WHAP is a bare-bones, almost no "flesh" quasi-ruleset for playing pulp action adventures that would date from the 1860s to the 1930s. This is a short, 50 page book that is severely over-priced. When I downloaded the product, it didn't even come with the cover (seen here). I don't know if the PDF is only a part of the printed work, or if it is, in fact, the whole enchilada. Whatever it is, this game feels like it is unfinished and headed on the wrong track, mechanics-wise.

RATINGS: Is it ...
1) Straight-forward? Yes, but that's done by accident - not design. There isn't enough typing, background info, explanation, or story-line present to cause any kind of deviation from the subject.
2) Easy to Teach? No: this game uses formulas of addition, mixing and matching abilities / attributes, to produce calculated secondary attributes. This method is not "going the extra mile"; it's "going in the wrong direction".
3) Easy to Play? Not really: the results are gleaned after reading formulas - not after reading dice or reading the GM's reaction.
4) Appealing? Yes, the idea is appealing, and the cover art seems promising (on the computer, reduced in size). However, close examination and reading the rules will kill any pre-conceived joy.
5) Functional or Creative? Neither: in my opinion, this game, this game book, this rule set is not finished. It's not even out of the gate.

I am not happy with this purchase. Peryton Publishing needs to drop back and punt on WHAP ... or, send it to the side-lines for good.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Qalidar [True20]
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2009 05:36:27
This strange, inverted, ruined place-between-places, haunted by cannibals, madmen and echoes of mythic events, is hardly a safe way to travel, but pretty darn cool.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Qalidar [True20]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 16 to 26 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG