RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Daring Comics Role-Playing Game
by Scot H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2017 12:28:03

The PDF itself was fine. Using it is making me wonder whether I should have got the book though - it's hard to navigate and find rules when I need them. On that note, the rule system is a little vague. I understand leaving room for storytelling, but there should be basic clarity about whether using a movement power counts as an action for the exchange. But so far we're having fun with it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Comics Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Apocalypse Unleashed
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:03:52

This book, first of all, does not cover mechanics and core post apocolyptic setting creation guidelines. That's 100% Apocolypse Campaign Guide stuff.

Instead, this covers simple, basic outlines of settings that are made with the stuff in the Apocolypse Campaign Guide. It does this job just fine, but it still feels like it's missing something for all that.

As a hillarious sidenote, my softcover copy seems to have had an entire second book put in there for some reason, not even slightly related to gaming (In fact, it's a workbook for some christian church. I'm not joking, that actually happened). This is probably a bug in the printer/distributor's presses, but thankfully none of the actual book I purchased was cut out. All that's changed is that I have to skip past an entire second book to get to the first page of the one I'm reviewing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Unleashed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Apocalypse Campaign Guide
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:00:12

This book is, simply put, extremely useful. A lot of attention to detail for each type of apocolypse listed (and there are a LOT of those in the book) is present. A crafting system that seems like it should have been included with the core Savage Worlds book is present within this book, and zombie and vampire race creation rules complete with point values for making PC Races (Which means that you can finally make PC Vampire Races that match the ones in the horror companion for versitility). Settlement Management rules are also present, which are extremely versitile and useful for way more than just post apocolyptic games.

This book is my vote for Unofficial Post Apocolyptic Companion, 100%.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Apocalypse Campaign Guide
by Stacey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2017 17:56:41

Looks like a great book I intend to use for the recently released RIFTS setting for Savage Worlds! Variants for a number of apocalypse causes such as Zombies, Robots, or Kaiju sized monsters, as well as rules for scavenging materials and modifying those pre-apocalypse vehicles and weapons for the mundane.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dawn of Legends (Re-Release Bundle)
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2016 11:13:13

Being a latecomer to Savage Worlds I realized pretty quickly that I missed out on some products that had been released earlier. I thought some of these were gone forever and wouldn't be found in my collection. I was pleased to see this re-released and then more pleased to see what all we got.

I have not found another super powers bundle containing so much goodness for this price point. As listed in the description, you receive a large number of well-thought out Edges, Hindrances, super powers, NPC villains, NPC heroes, a fully fleshed out adventure ranging in difficulty from Novice to Legendary (you know how rare those are), and the equivalent of a one page adventure. Additionally, Daring Entertainment further provides you a few summaries/cheat sheets to keep much of the new information straight. You get all of that for $10! Try finding that much value anywhere else for the Super Powers Companion by Pinnacle.

I’ve spent the last two days going through this information and still haven’t read it all. I’ve not found this much Super Power goodness anywhere else or published by anyone else. Further, it’s high quality in step with what we’ve come to expect anytime Lee is at the wheel and writing. There is not a single purchase you can make anywhere on RPGNow and DriveThru that is made for this rule set, covering this genre, providing you this much material, and at this price point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dawn of Legends (Re-Release Bundle)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daring Comics Spotlight #3: Power-Armor
by Gustavo C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2016 14:59:54

As all previous spotlights, this is a short and thought provoking text, that work as a mini toolkit for the specific aspect they are detailing. They are great reads and you can see the inner workings. In this Power armor, for example, there are comparisions about tought heroes and Power Armor heores and how they work mechanically, and what can you expect from them.

A real plus is the fact that they show how some other powers can be incorporated or reskined into the armor, and this is really powerful, as it opens up a lot of different variations on the power armor user.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Comics Spotlight #3: Power-Armor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daring Comics Spotlight #2: Powers Unleashed
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2016 18:48:29

Nice comprehensive "toolkit-like" explanations about the mechanics of powers in the game and the way to create and/or tweak them. The new Alter Ego and Universal/Omni Powers are nice addition too. Overall pretty useful ;)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Comics Spotlight #2: Powers Unleashed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daring Comics Spotlight #1: Teleportation
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2016 13:16:48

Interesting options to consider for a teleporter, especially the second, reskinning section. Felt like the first, attack sfx section, was a bit repetitive and didn't really like the idea that your target gets back "magically" after a number of rounds from being teleported away, however far, even if i understand the game balance reasoning behind it. Also, with only 7 pages of new rules, the price should have been lower, considering that getting all 6 planned Spotlights, assuming the same page count, would cost around 10$ for 35 pages, where Tin God is 13$ and the rulebook 20$ for 250 pages.

Nevertheless, i'm looking forward for the rest of the series.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Comics Spotlight #1: Teleportation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daring Comics Role-Playing Game
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2016 20:49:20

This game will scratch an itch for some, just not me. IMO it strays too far from what I love about Fate. Point buy and crunch that doesn't need to be there in a Fate game just doesn't sit right with me. That said there is some good GM advice for running superhero game. Those that like Strands of Fate will likely enjoy this one. Certainly not a bad game, just not for me.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Comics Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hey Mark, sorry to hear the game wasn\'t for you. I appreciate you taking the time to give it a shot, though. And thanks for taking the time to post some feedback.
Daring Comics Role-Playing Game
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2016 17:45:54

FATE Core + HERO System = Daring Comics RPG. This is a very good thing, IMO. Other FATE versions of supers lean toward FATE Core. They're too abstract for my taste. Daring Comics lean more towards "center-HERO" and I'm very comfortable with that. I still like a little more crunch in my FATE games and this book provides.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: The Survivors (Part 2)
by Woodrow J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2015 04:25:04

No backstories like the The Survivors Part 1, also these characters just seem ridiculous.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: The Survivors (Part 2)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: The Digital Dead
by Brandon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 03:02:13

Very good job putting this together and offering it for free. For those who are starting to use VTTs and need POGs to start out with I would certainly recommend this product. Great job, the fact that it is free is awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: The Digital Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: Alternate Beginnings (Print or PDF)
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 21:46:36

I ran the original 'start' on the Pinnacle cruise ship a couple years ago until one of my two players moved away. We loved it! Now I'm running this alternate beginning with some non-RPGers using FAE (FATE Accelerated) and we are loving it again. They are big zombie genre lovers and this really helps us have material to keep that moving. Better yet, it has been easy to plugin FAE instead of Savage Worlds this time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Alternate Beginnings (Print or PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: Chapter One (Week 1 through Week 3)
by Jeffrey C. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2014 01:24:45

If you are a fan of the Zombie Genre, then this is the setting to play!

My gaming group has been playing in this setting for over 2 years now. And when I GM, they do not want to play any other settings. They want WoTD.

It captures all the classic feelings you would expect in a modern day horror.

Love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Chapter One (Week 1 through Week 3)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of the Dead: Wheels of the Dead
by Thom S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2013 12:55:28

Fantastic set of vehicle figure flats. Instructions for printing in standard figure flat scale and heroic 32mm Mini scale. Have multiple versions of vehicles including pristine and "RoadWarrior-izations" of several vehicles. Includes layers that can be added or removed to give multiple options for the vehicles (armor, paint, damage, etc).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of the Dead: Wheels of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG