RPGNow.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
War of the Dead: The Paper Dead
by robert f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2013 01:43:36

A huge variety of figures, covering subjects often left out of other similar sets. The zombies and survivors here show evidence of their former lives, in their dress and equipment. Several age categories, for zombies and survivors. Pets, wild animals, horses. Bikes, motorbikes, cars, an RV. Also includes larger vehicle reference images, with the seating plans laid out; very useful for having at the side of the game table, to remind yourself "Who was sat in that seat?". These should save a lot of in-game debates of "Wasn't me!".

Tons of re-useability for any modern horror game. The pdf also has a layer facility, to allow you to print out smaller numbers of specific figures, for when you don't want the full sheet.

Even if you're not currently running a zombie game, this product will make you WANT to run one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: The Paper Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellbrood: Countdown to Invasion
by David P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2012 18:37:34

Hellbrood: Countdown to Invasion is an short introductory campaign leading into the main Hellbrood campaign detailed in a future book. The first part of the book has a brief history of the campaign world and how the heroes fit in it. Followed by some new setting rules, races, edges, hindrances, 6 adventures and then finally the NPCs necessary to complete the story arc.

The writer's intention is to make the PCs part of a comic book crossover event like "Blackest Night" or "Crisis of Infinite Earths" and they accomplish a lot toward that goal. The adventures are straight forward, but tied to the setting and future events. I assume a lot of the pay off will happen in the next book. Playing this without going into the main Hellbrood campaign I don't think would work, unless you like your superhero tales to end on a downer.

My only real criticism is the length of the book, its too short. I would have liked to have seen more of the world built before it is torn down. Makes for more of a sense of loss.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hellbrood: Countdown to Invasion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellbrood: Countdown to Invasion
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2012 17:52:42

Small black writing on grey pages. Unreadable on my iPad to the point that I gave up after 4 pages



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hey folks-- just wanted to reply here and let everyone know that the purchase now includes the full graphic PDF, a print-friendly version, and a basic iPad version with all background elements removed. We'll be working on improving our iPad compatibility on all future products. Thanks!
War of the Dead: Chapter One (Print Edition)
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 17:42:17

Not impressed that there's an option listed for pdf print version that is then noted in the description as not being available. So, why have it as an option to purchase? I missed reading that note until after making a purchase and finding no pdf. Very deceptive listing and unlike anything else I've seen on this site. I suggest changing it soon. This rating is nothing against the product itself, but this listing needs to be fixed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Chapter One (Print Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
That is unfortunately a OneBookShelf format issue. Though we had spoken with them multiple times, unfotunately we have no option to to have the "PDF" button turned off in that listing. And because this product is primarily a retail store released through Chronicle City (and was placed here to test the Print Program waters at the request of OBS), we are unable to offer the PDF + Print as a package deal and further undercut the retail stores that support Daring Entertainment and form the backbone of our print sales business.
War of the Dead: Fan-Created Support (2)
by Ron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2012 13:50:37

I'd like to give this 5 stars, I really would. Item cards, a great idea. If you can't keep accurate notes, or if you're doing a random item draw thing, or if you're likely to forget to raid that camping store for a compass before heading into the wilds of Colorado.

The rest of us will just write it down, in a handy space on our character sheet, marked "gear" or "equipment" or "inventory" or any other such verbage.

But here's where it really loses points. I dislike having a dozen items that do the same thing. When my character eats, he eats "food" - the difference between a takeaway pizza and a 5 course gourmet luncheon is mostly irrelevant, especially when I have to eat it in between combat rounds, while loading my shotgun with the other hand. So explain to me why I need a card that says "pizza" while my colleague has one that says "fast food," if you can? What is the difference between a can of nuts to a bag of trail mix?

It's worse with weapons. Now, some people like their weapons to have flavour. Groovy. My character has a fillet knife because that's all he could grab when he raided that kitchen. OK. A fillet knife does exactly the same thing as, for example, a butterfly knife, a throwing dagger, a survival knife (barring the survival bit) and, believe it or not, a glass bottle. To say nothing of the butter knife, steak knife and switchblade.

That's seven, count 'em, seven things that do exactly the same thing. Let's be generous and take out the bottle and the survival knife. That's five things that would cheerfully come under the heading "knife" and nobody would notice the difference. You might, maybe, note it on your sheet that it's actually a professional grade steak knife because before TZA you were a waiter at a five-star restaurant, but when someone asks you what you're carrying, you're going to say "knife" just like everyone else.

Few people that aren't plumbers would be able to tell the difference between a monkey wrench and a pipe wrench if you smacked them over the head with it, much less care what the difference is when you're, erm, smacking them over the head with it.

And don't get me started on the guns. Incidentally, that should be "Ruger." "Rugger" is something quite different and only applies if you're an English public schoolboy.

I can't even compliment the author on his artwork, because the pictures are thumbnail-sized photos, probably ripped straight from the search engine nearest you.

So, either this product starts at one star, and gets a bonus because it's occasionally useful, and another because it's free; or it starts at 5 and loses one because it's repetitive, and another because of the not-so-arty artwork. Either way, a solid 3 stars.

Oh, and the Item cards don't have any stats other than weight, so you could use them for any modern setting that's heavy into survival. I might aregue with some of the weights, though. A candy bar really weighs half a pound?

I shall leave everyone with one final thought. If you're leading your berry band of survivors thought the grim wasteland of the zombie apocalypse, is there any item less useful than a bag of ice?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Fan-Created Support (2)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: Food For Thought
by Eric L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2012 04:14:19

I ran this one sheet at a con a couple years ago. The players really didn't expect the "twist", when they find out what goes on in this town. It's very difficult to surprise gamers these days. So for $0 you get to surprise your players. It's worth it, grab it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Food For Thought
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

xxxWar of the Dead: Chapter Four (Subscription)xxx
by Keith B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 22:04:01

Although the entire campaign is great, and a fantastically written adventure that I enjoy running (and my players enjoy playing) more than anything we have done to date... It looses 1 star for the amount of typos, misspellings, wrong words used, and total lack of proper editing and grammar. This is however easily over looked by a well prepared GM. Chapters 1-3 are wonderful in content and style... Chapter 4 however looses another star from me for 2 reasons, #1 is easily over looked and ignored: The new cover. With the other 3 chapters having the same cover with different colors, chapter 4 is a fully graphical cover and now looks out of place with the other 3. This, of course, is just coverings and not really important. The second reason this looses a star for me is far more important, to me anyway: The interior of the book is in Black & White/Gray Scale. Where the other 3 chapters were in minimal color, they were in color. Now not only does it look even more out of place with the new cover, but the sidebars appear as black areas on my iPad2 in iBook and are totally unreadable there. That was the whole point to me buying the iPad2 in the first place: So I didn't have to print up all these things and didn't have to try and find room at the gaming table for a laptop. So now I STILL have to spend even more cash on something else so I can read the sidebars. Either A) Buy a new app that will read the files properly (Then spend all the time moving all the other books over to the new app, and I have a ton of books on there) or B) Spend the time and money getting these printed up.

Over all, bad move Daring Entertainment. New cover I can live with, typos, misspellings, bad grammar, incorrect words, All of this I can live with. But B&W PDFs that I can not properly read on my iPad2 anymore? I dislike that more than words can say. The complete change of style is just a bad move for those of us who are more ascetically minded.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
xxxWar of the Dead: Chapter Four (Subscription)xxx
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: Chapter Four (Week 1)
by Keith B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 22:02:03

Although the entire campaign is great, and a fantastically written adventure that I enjoy running (and my players enjoy playing) more than anything we have done to date... It looses 1 star for the amount of typos, misspellings, wrong words used, and total lack of proper editing and grammar. This is however easily over looked by a well prepared GM. Chapters 1-3 are wonderful in content and style... Chapter 4 however looses another star from me for 2 reasons, #1 is easily over looked and ignored: The new cover. With the other 3 chapters having the same cover with different colors, chapter 4 is a fully graphical cover and now looks out of place with the other 3. This, of course, is just coverings and not really important. The second reason this looses a star for me is far more important, to me anyway: The interior of the book is in Black & White/Gray Scale. Where the other 3 chapters were in minimal color, they were in color. Now not only does it look even more out of place with the new cover, but the sidebars appear as black areas on my iPad2 in iBook and are totally unreadable there. That was the whole point to me buying the iPad2 in the first place: So I didn't have to print up all these things and didn't have to try and find room at the gaming table for a laptop. So now I STILL have to spend even more cash on something else so I can read the sidebars. Either A) Buy a new app that will read the files properly (Then spend all the time moving all the other books over to the new app, and I have a ton of books on there) or B) Spend the time and money getting these printed up.

Over all, bad move Daring Entertainment. New cover I can live with, typos, misspellings, bad grammar, incorrect words, All of this I can live with. But B&W PDFs that I can not properly read on my iPad2 anymore? I dislike that more than words can say. The complete change of style is just a bad move for those of us who are more ascetically minded.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Chapter Four (Week 1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: The Digital Dead
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2011 12:16:07

Awesome set of tokens for modern and zombie games. If you use a digital tabletop program there's no reason not to grab this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: The Digital Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: The Digital Dead
by Hans M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2011 09:10:24

WOW! That's the first word that comes to mind. I have DM'ed for over 30 years writing many dungeons and campaigns myself. I was new to Savage Worlds and wanted to read someone else's ideas of how to run a Savage Worlds campaign and I got a lot more than just that. What I got was a well written and exciting campaign and discovered a new way to create and run dungeon adventures that will become my new normal style. Plus if you have never ran a Savage Worlds campaign the War of the Dead tutors you along the way by telling the DM when to pass out initiative cards and when to do skill tests.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Fan-Created Support (1)
by John J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2011 19:48:00

This is an excellent product for ANY Savage Worlds GM. As I don't use minis with Savage Worlds, the Condition Cards (showing Shaken, Wounded, etc.) are a godsend. The Character Creation Checklist is perfect for building a PC quickly and easily and clearly. A big win. The other items are great for those War of the Dead folks. Can't say enough good things. Certainly makes me want to see this company's other products and pay attention to them, considering the good work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: Fan-Created Support (1)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: The Paper Dead
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2011 16:21:54

Wow. That's the only thing I could think to myself after I looked through this set of paper counters for War of the Dead or any zombie game you might run. These are so awesome. The counters include everything from survivors from all walks of life to zombie babies to vehicles to cover.

The art is good. It is a little cartoon-y, but not in a bad way. The sheer variety of survivors and zombies is impressive. They even include military type folks as allies or if you get really lucky and find some cool gear. The zombie are equally as diverse. The vehicles include burned out shells of cars, functioning looking vehicles, and large vehicles with spots for several player character counters. This is good for tactical situations and figuring out who gets pulled out of the side of the van and eaten. As a nice bonus, there are damage counters and cover that you can take up positions behind. I don't always use counters for Savage Worlds-based games, but this may persuade me to do it more. It's really cool. If you play zombie games and ever think you might need counters for tactical combat, buy these. They are really nice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: The Paper Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Dead: The Paper Dead
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2011 20:30:14

This set has a great selection of survivors, zombies, and soldiers, any of which would make great opponents, extras, mooks, or whatever NPC you might need for a modern zombie game. Best of all, I didn't notice any real repeats.

There are a lot of extras beyond the usual paper miniatures included in this set. There are bases for alternate 2d usage and a papercraft RV/camper. The inclusion of doors I found an interesting touch which would be good to use with dry erase type maps.

For those of you using it for Savage Worlds zombie settings (such as the War of the Dead itself) there are zombies in standard sized burst templates (good for getting the point across that there might just be too many zombies for the PCs to live through) and markers for Shaken, Wounded, and "on fire" status.

All told, this is a great set filled with a great selection of minis and the artwork is better than a lot of the other paper mini sets I've seen.

Highly recommended for your zombie needs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
xxxWar of the Dead (Chapter One Subscription)
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/14/2011 20:36:55

I highly recommend War of the Dead Chapter One to start a Savage Worlds zombie campaign (or finish it depending on how brutal you want to be). I want to make sure I praise all of the amazing features of this product, but I am sure I’m going to miss something seeing as it has so much going for it. First, I want to say that it is very well written and produced. This is a very high quality PDF. The technical stuff is good all around.

Now let’s talk about content. I fell in love with this product after just a few short minutes of reading. First, it has some wonderful throwbacks to your favorite zombie genre celebrities. You have to appreciate that the goal was to make something even close to their work. I personally think it comes pretty close. If you don’t want to run this campaign after reading it, then you must not like zombies. As a matter of fact, even if you don’t run the game or play RPGs, this is very entertaining reading. I couldn’t stop, which is why I suggest just getting the subscription. Save yourself the money by getting bundle and jumping in feet first. You won’t regret it.

I have a lot to say and just want to let folks know some of the non-spoiler details about the campaign in general. It is very roleplaying focused. There is plenty of opportunity for action, but what really drew me in was the extremely detailed descriptions of characters, motivations, and call outs of where you should allow players to talk with NPCs that they know and care about. I don’t think this is a spoiler as you are likely going to have to tell people where you start in order to have them get a backstory. You start on a cruise ship. This idea immediately grabbed some of my players (pun intended). They loved the idea of the cruise ship being somewhat claustrophobic and the characters unable to just run away or drive to the nearest army base. Also, it sets up a great opportunity to have friends, family, and love ones with you. Who goes on a cruise entirely alone? So yes, this is story driven and character driven. A good group of players could really shine with this campaign.

I’ll wrap it up saying that this is a great framework to run a whole campaign, take sections for a one shot (you can use the previous sections to think about how the characters got where they are), or just get inspiration for your own homebrew campaign. I think the focus on characters, NPC reactions, and great writing elevate this above many adventures you’ll read. I also really enjoy the digestible sections it is broken into. There are cliffhangers pretty much built in at regular intervals, so you players will always want to come back for more no matter what length of session you are running. This product will definitely make it into the NerdBound podcast because I can’t pass up the chance to really dig into the story and see how the players handle it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
xxxWar of the Dead (Chapter One Subscription)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

xxxWar of the Dead (Chapter One Subscription)
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2011 09:44:46

I totally recommend this set of adventures to anyone. I've been running this campaign for a few weeks already, and I think it has grasped the interest of my gaming group very well. The setting is interesting and well built, go for it. Now, here are the things that I needed to change from the original text for my home game; they work for me, they might not work for you, just use them as you see fit:

  • We live in Barcelona, Spain, so I've changed the ocean for the Mediterranean, and I'm running this show in a familiar environment for my players: the catalan coast. Again, this is totally up to you (and yes, zombies work really well in Europe too, watch the movies 28 days later or Rec), but I'd totally move the events of this campaign closer to where you live for a much potent dramatic effect.
  • I've changed the names of Cap. Romero or Kirkman. They give away part of the story. When we started playing this, I didn't tell the guys that this was a zombie game. The look on their faces when they met the undead for the first time was worth the trouble! -Finally, the plot is waaay too railroaded. If you're not careful, your players will be reacting to the events set by NPCs, and following all the choices made by those NPCs. By al means, don't do that... in fact, you don't need to! You don't need Kirkman stitched to the PCs trousers all day, so let them run for themselves (in the begging they're trapped in a boat, they are not going anywhere!)

Anyway, this a solid plotline, with lots of potential fun for you and your gaming group. Many weeks of gaming for just 20$ is a steal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG