RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Game Night
by Curt K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2012 12:10:50
Must agree with the others. This is absolutely great representations of soooo many games. I have been this ref, and much to my chagrin, I have probably been the Warrior or the Jester as well.

This is must read for any referee, potential ref or gamer with aspirations. Most gamers will find it painfully accurate...and I'm sure some will take umbrage about how "Their Character" is treated.

Already buying a copy of this for my oldest son!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Flying Serpent, or Strange News Out Of Essex
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/08/2012 21:09:07
An excellent prop for a horror or urban fantasy RPG, this is a 12 page document on the appearance of a flying serpent. The pages are yellowed and creased with age, and the entire document looks very authentic. I'd love to see more ready-made props like this one.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Flying Serpent, or Strange News Out Of Essex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 21:00:39
Dragon Warriors was one of the first RPG's I ever played, and I remember it fondly. This introductory book concisely covers character generation, combat and the setting, and is filled with all the stuff I remember and love. Mind you, it is a much neater, slicker and updated version and looks really good, too! Dragon Warriors is a very straightforward system that lets you get straight into the action, and well worth a look. Check it out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors RPG
by Ardon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2011 21:54:12
An excellent book. I've the original Dragonwarriors RPG books which was published in the 80's in paperback. This new edition is a faithful reproduction of the original with some new abilities added for most of the character classes. It has also been reorganized and is now more consistent. My only disapointment is that the timeline (as presented in this new edition) is still fixed at the same time as the original version. 30 years is not a long time in a medieval context but it is still enough time for a new generation to arise. There should have been some (minor) changes in the game world of Legend. Other than that, this is an excellent introduction to the Dragonwarriors RPG.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/23/2010 21:47:44
This marks the triumphant return of 'Dragon Warriors' to the marketplace. In the 1980s, this RPG was published as a series of novel-sized rulebooks that have now become almost impossible to locate; so this reprinting is welcomed heartily.

The 'Dragon Warriors' RPG is a well-conceived game that meets all of your stock-standard fantasy needs. The classes are what you'd come to expect, but are all written with a clean, smooth set of rules that ensures that the core concept of the class shines through.

The mechanics of the game are easily learned, especially if you have ever played D&D, and don't try to be too complex. It was very nice to see that the explanatory comic was included, giving you examples of how the game mechanics translated to actions.

The Introductory Book provides you with enough information to describe the world, play the game, and includes an enjoyable 'first adventure' in the back. The world is derived from the British Isles during the High Middle Ages with the obvious magical and fantastical elements incorporated. As such, there are plenty of 'touchstones' to familiarize new players with the setting.

Purchase this one, and run it for a few sessions - although I'd recommend bookmarking the full rulebook to make it easier to find when you return - and you will.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/28/2010 22:00:10
It has been a true pleasure to see Dragon Warriors reenter the RPG market and the developers of this module deserve to be congratulated.
The module is very smoothly presented, with plenty of opportunities for the GM to tailor events to their own campaign needs. The style is very free-flowing, offering a fine balance between combat and RP, with a lot of chances for PCs to interact with the world on a much deeper level.
A lot of thought has been put into the ecologies, and there is a commitment to internal consistency.

I'd strongly recommend this module to anyone running a fantasy campaign, no matter what the system. Mechanics are easily replaced, but the good ideas in this product aren't found often.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
by Lee B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2010 12:40:49
Fury of the Deep is an excellent adventure for the Dragon Warriors system, detailing an intelligently thought-through underworlde adventure that goes far beyond the standard dungeon-bash - there is plenty of area background, evocative narrative and role-playing opportunity throughout. Nor is this a linear adventure with only one route through to an inevitable conclusion - the players' choices have actual consequences in the module, which is all too rare in adventure modules these days.

All told, this is a great module and, because the emphasis is definitely not on creature and NPC statistics or the detailed minutiae of specific rules, would be an inspirational purchase for other game systems.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Game Night
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2010 14:40:47
This is a must-read for RPGers. Jonny Nexus, author of the now-defunct criticalmiss online 'zine, is one of the funniest authors in the RPG space.

The novel tells the tale of a group of gods sitting around a table playing a role-playing game. Each of the gods lampoons a player archetype with stinging accuracy. The twist to the story is the fact that what these gods imagine becomes reality, and all the changes, do-overs and metagaming have mind-numbing consequences in the PCs' world.

I found myself laughing out loud more than once.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2010 16:47:35
A superb introduction to a fantastic game. This little book will keep you in adventures for a while, but it's the main core book that has the real meat. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Game Night
by linda e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2010 15:42:33
Oh good lord. Ok, I want to know how long Johnny Nexus as been planting bugs in my gaming group! Every one of the gods (players) in this is an archetype that most gamers will have played with (and if you've ever been Lord Warrior I hope you got yours next game along!) and may find embarrassingly familiar.

The structure of the story works extremely well, flicking back and forth between the gaming group and the hapless mortals they are manipulating for their own amusement; the use of "I didn't actually DO that" moments is well judged, with a bizarre knockon effect to the game world. The potions sequence on the cliff had me giggling out loud: I would NOT recommend reading this on public transport.

This is hysterical. Just buy it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Chronicles of the Magi trilogy [BUNDLE]
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2009 02:01:04
A bundle of novels set in the same Land of Legend as the Dragon Warriors RPG, these books will help any aspiring GM to understand that world, though for my money, Legend as described in these books is less gritty and more fantastic than it is in the actual game.

The plot is intriguing and the books generally well written and evocative, though it does lapse into D&Disms in a few places, unlike the RPG.

Overall an excellent lite fantasy read with the added attraction for fans of Legend.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of the Magi trilogy [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors: Prince of Darkness
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2009 01:50:51
An update of the 1980s adventure first published as part of Dragon Warriors Bk 5 "The Power of Darkness" this is a huge improvement over the original. I say this because of the extensive 30 page section that covers the fief of Glissom, where the adenture is set: previously, this was a blob that was not fleshed out at all, but now we have maps of Glissom city and an outlying settlement and learn enough about the Reivers, the druids and other elements that you could actually run a campaign here.

The adventure itself is tweaked to remove some of the "show-stopers" that the original suffered from, but the real improvement is how the beginning and end of the adventure is handled. The PCs are now companions of Doron (secretly heir to the throne of Glissom) and there are suggestions for a number of pre-adventures that can easily be played without any work on the part of the GM, as they draw on NPCs and locations that are now described.

The adventure itself is largely unchanged, although the new artwork really adds a great feel to it: the B&W illustrations are properly grim. It centers around an evil spellcaster who killed the King and then used his undead corpse to change laws and get hinself named heir. The PCs have to journey north to the Lost City of Nem and find evidence of this spell-caster's evil. The encounter with the Vampire Innkeeper is one of the most memorable parts of any fantasy adventiure: I love the way the beds descend into the cellars below, so he can kill the PCs one by one.

The end of the adventure is also now better, since once the PCs have driven off the evil elementalist who had usurped power, there is scope for a whole campaign involving the Reivers. I really love the Reivers: think gypsy knight/vagabonds with no morality and you are half-way there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Prince of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ordo Draconis #1
by eric o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2009 18:31:54
Great first issue that really kept to the feel of the setting/system. A good mix of rules variants, short encounters, and an adventure. The question and answers session with the two creators was informative and gave some insight into why certain things were done. Very high quality for a free, fan based publication. Looking forward to future issues.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ordo Draconis #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ordo Draconis #1
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2009 19:57:16
Ordo Draconis is a free fanzine supporting the recently re-released Dragon Warriors RPG by Dave Morris and Oliver Johnson. This first issue has an informative interview with Dave Morris and James Wallis of Magnum Opus Press about the game, plus a peek at an old map of the game world of Legend from 1984, and some thoughts on the faerie world, also by Dave Morris.

As a fan of Dragon Warriors from when it first appeared in the 80's, I can't stress enough how cool it is to see the original collaborators on board this early for Ordo Draconis! Jon Hodgson's art is excellent as always, and the range of articles by Damian May, Cameron Smith, Edmund Wilfong, Roger Calver, Anthony Holtberg, Chris Brady, and Chor Kun Xin are both diverse and informative.

I particularly liked the encounters article Along The Road by Damian May, which offers some atmospheric quickies for DW scenarios. Also intriguing was the Friar profession by Edmund Wilfong, which plugs an oft-lamented gap in DW lore, particularly for those sorry individuals such as myself, whose cursed RPG origins began with Clerics and Basic D&D.

In short, an excellent start in support of the atmospheric Dragon Warriors RPG, and I look forward to more of the same! Recommended!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dragon Warriors RPG
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2009 11:49:06
This is just a great game, period. There's really nothing about Dragon Warriors that I don't like. If you've seen my review of QAGS you may assume that I'm strictly a "rules-lite" kind of person who dislikes the old-shool, unique-system-for-everything style of game, but you'd be wrong. I actually enjoy the fact that there is no unifiying mechnic as the individual systems do a nice job of covering their niches. Legend as a setting is amazing. The rules are simple direct and take care of business without a lot of mucking around. You could easily memorize the bulk of what you need to know after reading it and playing a test adventure. Just an all-around great game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG