RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Alas Vegas
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2018 10:14:41

Another KS backer who had a long wait, but yes, it was worh it.

An inovative system with a good set of extras.

Don't read the designer's notes if you don't want to see a huge spoiler, mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alas Vegas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alas Vegas
by Douglass B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2018 12:52:48

I backed this as a Kickstarter, and it took forever to release--but seriously, it was worth every minute of that wait. The mechanics for character development during play are clever and intrinscally thematic while the story is both compelling and mysterious. Honestly, even if you don't intend to play it, the book is worth it as a read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alas Vegas
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2018 12:27:30

I was a kickstarter backer on AV, and though it was a long ride to get here it's absolutely been worth wait, even just to see the process of building it. I'm not hugely creatie myself, and seeing the joys and frustrations of it first hand is always intriguing.

The game... well, it's as unusual as you might expect from the brain behind Baron Munchausen. The idea of a tightly scripted RPG like a DVD box set - an RPG with spoilers! - was what first intrigued me, but we've ended up with a ton of fresh new ideas rolled into this: a cycling GM, a unique resolution mechanic, even a chapter written by a bloody magician. A MAGICIAN. What more could you want?

I'm having to dance around a lot here, mind, as the less you know about this game going in the better. Just... trust that if you can get a handful friends together for a handful of sessions, the kind of friends who would be tickled by having you read the blurb to them, you're not going to regret picking this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AFTERLIVES: or All Good Characters Go To Heaven
by Katrina B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2018 10:58:56

Afterlives is a diceless system that can seamlessly stack atop pretty much any game where PCs worship deities or god-like beings.

It's designed for when PCs die and you want something more dramatic and meanignful than "make a new PC and divide up dead PC's gear" or "I cast Raise Dead". It's designed such that the normal DM opperates as the Persecutor and a guest player acts as the Judge.

It doesn't offer any true game mechanics but does give a pretty solid, easy-to-follow outline for how to build a case for a PC's eternal soul. Overall, a great read and def something I'll consider using when I next find myself with a deceased PC.

Full review here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AFTERLIVES: or All Good Characters Go To Heaven
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alas Vegas
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2017 08:55:46

Non-spoiler review: I was a kickstarter backer and rode the long wait for this game to see the light of day, and it was absolutely worth it. This is one of the best story-driven RPGs I've ever ran. The book recommends swapping GMs for the 4 parts, but I ended up running the whole thing for my group based on how we play (long 10-hour sessions once every three months), and it worked out really well - we're a seasoned group of CoC players and had a blast with this game.

The less the players know about this game going in, the better. There's a big reveal at the end of Act 2 that's best not spoiled, so if you plan on playing in this game, I recommend you don't read the entire book (or any spoilery reviews).

The story / narrative is the game's strongest point. It works perfectly with the fugue system, where you build your characters by having "flashbacks" to remember them doing things - for example, someone might approach you with a knife, and you have a flashback to being a knife fighter - so now "knife fighting" is a skill you have. The flashbacks also serve to help build your character's backstory, and eventually the backstory of the entire group, for a fresh take on the whole idea of bonds and connections.

The conflict resolution system is a modified version of blackjack played with a tarot deck. It works pretty well, especially once you're used to it - the game recommends using the imagery on the cards to help narrate what you're doing, but we ended up just kind of making our own stuff up as we went, and it worked out just fine. The first combat is designed to get everyone up to speed on how it works, but I highly recommend the GM run some mock combats before the first session to famliarize themselves with how it works.

All in all, Alas Vegas is a stunning self-contained game with a heck of a narrative punch. My group ran it in two 10-hour sessions. I highly recommend this game for a unique, one-or-two-or-four-off game that will leave your group talking about it for weeks afterward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alas Vegas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alas Vegas
by Howard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2016 15:21:38

This was a wait, boy was it a wait... BUT SOOO WORTH IT! :D

Beautiful artwork, a fantastic premise and the gameplay seems good (even if I am stuck out in the sticks & have not been able to give it a good run).

Thank you so much for a great addition to my games collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
by Curt K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2012 12:10:50

Must agree with the others. This is absolutely great representations of soooo many games. I have been this ref, and much to my chagrin, I have probably been the Warrior or the Jester as well.

This is must read for any referee, potential ref or gamer with aspirations. Most gamers will find it painfully accurate...and I'm sure some will take umbrage about how "Their Character" is treated.

Already buying a copy of this for my oldest son!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Flying Serpent, or Strange News Out Of Essex
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/08/2012 21:09:07

An excellent prop for a horror or urban fantasy RPG, this is a 12 page document on the appearance of a flying serpent. The pages are yellowed and creased with age, and the entire document looks very authentic. I'd love to see more ready-made props like this one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Flying Serpent, or Strange News Out Of Essex
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 21:00:39

Dragon Warriors was one of the first RPG's I ever played, and I remember it fondly. This introductory book concisely covers character generation, combat and the setting, and is filled with all the stuff I remember and love. Mind you, it is a much neater, slicker and updated version and looks really good, too! Dragon Warriors is a very straightforward system that lets you get straight into the action, and well worth a look. Check it out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Warriors RPG
by Ardon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2011 21:54:12

An excellent book. I've the original Dragonwarriors RPG books which was published in the 80's in paperback. This new edition is a faithful reproduction of the original with some new abilities added for most of the character classes. It has also been reorganized and is now more consistent. My only disapointment is that the timeline (as presented in this new edition) is still fixed at the same time as the original version. 30 years is not a long time in a medieval context but it is still enough time for a new generation to arise. There should have been some (minor) changes in the game world of Legend. Other than that, this is an excellent introduction to the Dragonwarriors RPG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/23/2010 21:47:44

This marks the triumphant return of 'Dragon Warriors' to the marketplace. In the 1980s, this RPG was published as a series of novel-sized rulebooks that have now become almost impossible to locate; so this reprinting is welcomed heartily.

The 'Dragon Warriors' RPG is a well-conceived game that meets all of your stock-standard fantasy needs. The classes are what you'd come to expect, but are all written with a clean, smooth set of rules that ensures that the core concept of the class shines through.

The mechanics of the game are easily learned, especially if you have ever played D&D, and don't try to be too complex. It was very nice to see that the explanatory comic was included, giving you examples of how the game mechanics translated to actions.

The Introductory Book provides you with enough information to describe the world, play the game, and includes an enjoyable 'first adventure' in the back. The world is derived from the British Isles during the High Middle Ages with the obvious magical and fantastical elements incorporated. As such, there are plenty of 'touchstones' to familiarize new players with the setting.

Purchase this one, and run it for a few sessions - although I'd recommend bookmarking the full rulebook to make it easier to find when you return - and you will.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/28/2010 22:00:10

It has been a true pleasure to see Dragon Warriors reenter the RPG market and the developers of this module deserve to be congratulated. The module is very smoothly presented, with plenty of opportunities for the GM to tailor events to their own campaign needs. The style is very free-flowing, offering a fine balance between combat and RP, with a lot of chances for PCs to interact with the world on a much deeper level. A lot of thought has been put into the ecologies, and there is a commitment to internal consistency.

I'd strongly recommend this module to anyone running a fantasy campaign, no matter what the system. Mechanics are easily replaced, but the good ideas in this product aren't found often.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Fury of the Deep
by Lee B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2010 12:40:49

Fury of the Deep is an excellent adventure for the Dragon Warriors system, detailing an intelligently thought-through underworlde adventure that goes far beyond the standard dungeon-bash - there is plenty of area background, evocative narrative and role-playing opportunity throughout. Nor is this a linear adventure with only one route through to an inevitable conclusion - the players' choices have actual consequences in the module, which is all too rare in adventure modules these days.

All told, this is a great module and, because the emphasis is definitely not on creature and NPC statistics or the detailed minutiae of specific rules, would be an inspirational purchase for other game systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2010 14:40:47

This is a must-read for RPGers. Jonny Nexus, author of the now-defunct criticalmiss online 'zine, is one of the funniest authors in the RPG space.

The novel tells the tale of a group of gods sitting around a table playing a role-playing game. Each of the gods lampoons a player archetype with stinging accuracy. The twist to the story is the fact that what these gods imagine becomes reality, and all the changes, do-overs and metagaming have mind-numbing consequences in the PCs' world.

I found myself laughing out loud more than once.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2010 16:47:35

A superb introduction to a fantastic game. This little book will keep you in adventures for a while, but it's the main core book that has the real meat. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Warriors: Introductory Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG