RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ETU: Creature Feature - La Bruja
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 15:20:05
This is a great add on for the ETU RPG setting. This mini monster book focuses on the Brujah as it applies to ETU. The booklet includes the main write up along with four variations. It also includes four Savage Tales, each one featuring one of these variant Brujah.

The price vs page count is very reasonable and well worth the price. My hope is that we will see more Creature Features for ETU.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Creature Feature - La Bruja
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Last Parsec: Eris Beta-V
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 14:26:52
Eris Beta-V provides a solid solar system based science fiction framework. The detail on each location deliberately leaves a lot of room for GM enhancement, and they all have a hook that's strong enough to make that enhancement easy.

Like most plot-point campaigns, this one is more of a framework to hang player stories on than a fully fleshed out series of adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Eris Beta-V
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Last Parsec: Archetypes
by Carlos M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2014 14:13:39
Great product, easy to use, good characters for quick plays or to use as npcs

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space 1889: Red Sands
by Genford B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2014 12:26:29
I got to play Space 1889: Red Sands for the first time at Mace-Con recently. It was also my first Savage Worlds game. As someone unfamiliar with the setting, it was not necessarily the most newbie friendly setting, but it was extremely fun and full of campy steampunk goodness. If you are at all into steampunk/Victorian sci-fi or Savage Worlds, you will no doubt enjoy Space 1889.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space 1889: Red Sands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Redneckromancer
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2014 05:44:45
The East Texas University material is chock full of good ideas for a more small town campaign. Redneckromancer was my favorite if for no other reason than the name. Keep up the good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Redneckromancer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Redneckromancer
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2014 14:02:45
Used this as a last minute scenario for my Call of Cthulhu game where 2 of my players didn't show. Good for a side trek-it is basically a 2 page description; taking my remaining 2 investigators about 30-45 minutes to run thru (Your group may or may not take longer, depending if your group is larger than 2). I also added some interesting details to the module (ie an alter in Jimmy's trailer, to there being a Moonshine still out by his kitchen window).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Noir GM Screen Inserts
by Dustin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 18:57:08
I currently run a Deadlands: Noir game on roll20

These inserts are a god-sent for that game as they provide a quick reference to material I am other wise unsure of (such as patter and interrogation rules).

While they are over priced (the rules are in the book) I found them useful in keeping pace with my players.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Noir GM Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird Wars Rome
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 13:20:02
Very satisfied. I started Weird Wars with Pinnacles Weird War II and have almost all the modules and variants. What made me gun shy was when Savage Worlds took over. Quite frankly they have less style and chrome in their World War II meets AD&D style of gaming.
That being said I was pleasantly surprised with their core Roman rules and Celtic, Egyptian, and Germanic Roman modules. The detail is good and historically accurate. AD&D Rome with magic and undead but with nice historical flavor. Highly reccommended by myself and the Samos's Swordsmen Chapter of the Blade & Blaster Gaming Society

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird Wars Rome
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds GM Screen Inserts
by Francisco J. B. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2014 15:06:45
No weapon or edge/hidrances tables, quit only a bunch of illustrations.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds GM Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: East Texas University
by Joseph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 15:23:34
ETU is amazing game with so much random stuff to build your story & campus on.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: East Texas University
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Clayton M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 12:22:40
Great suplement! It expands wonderfully on the base rules and allows for fast, easy super hero games. I used it to a Green Lantern session for my friends and it went over very well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: East Texas University
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2014 19:28:33
Well howdy, this is another hit (with a raise) for Pinnacle Entertainment. I've been interested in this setting for about seven years, and have enjoyed everything I've read for it. Now I will have a home for some of the ideas that is excellent setting inspires. The document is well laid out, and the art works well with the mood of the material. The generators included, Organization names, Adventure, and Demonic traits, look like they will inspire countless stories set in and around Pinebox, the hometown for ETU (Go Ravens!!!). I have friends, and family that are, or have lived in eastern Texas, and now I can throw all the fun of a rampaging Big Foot, or Drunk Sorority girl at them...which sometimes could be one and the same...

The book includes the basic character creation information, and updates some of the Savage Worlds edges and hindrances, while adding a few that are tailored to the books setting. It's really an easy read, and incorporates some of the ideas from other Savage World books that seem to dovetail with the setting quite well. I am a huge Savage Worlds fan, but even if you wanted to use another system (but, really, why would you?) it would be simple enough to convert and the setting will hold up.

All and all, I think it's really good, I would have liked it to be longer, but I'm sure there will be lots more offerings that will flesh out the setting in the future.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: East Texas University
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: The Last Sons
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/21/2014 04:48:08
Aufgepasst, Männer! Wir reiten ins Indianerland. Mit Last Sons habt ihr die Möglichkeit, den unheimlichen Westen aus Sicht der Indianer zu erleben. Entdeckt den großen Geistertanz, den Kult um Raven und werdet Teil eines Abenteuers, das den Westen für immer verändern wird. Bei den Rothäuten geht es rund, also passt auf euch auf, bevor es heißt: „Du kannst gehen – aber deine Kopfhaut bleibt hier!“

Inhalt

Das ist mal ein dickes Buch! Über 300 Seiten vollgepackt mit spannenden Informationen, Geschichten und Abenteuern für den unheimlichen Westen. Obwohl es sich in erster Linie um einen Kampagnenband handelt, existiert ein kleiner Spielerteil. In diesem wird im Stil einer Wild-West-Zeitung das aktuelle Geschehen nach dem Ende der The Flood–Kampagne beleuchtet und der Schauplatz der Last Sons–Kampagne vorgestellt.

Während sich zukünftige Mitglieder der Texas Ranger oder der Agency über neue Ausrüstung und Regeln zur Materialakquise (oder: „Wie komme ich an cooles Spielzeug?“) freuen dürfen, geht es für potentielle Rothäute richtig zur Sache: Welche Stämme gibt es im unheimlichen Westen und wo sind sie angesiedelt? Welche Sprachen werden gesprochen? Und vor allem: Wie funktioniert so ein Stammesgebilde überhaupt? Neben der Beantwortung dieser Fragen bietet dieser Kampagnenband noch eine Handvoll neuer Talente und Handicaps.

Einigen arkanen Hintergründen wird außerdem eine neue Kraft spendiert: Contact Spirit World –grob übersetzt „Mit der Geisterwelt Kontakt aufnehmen“. Diese besondere Kraft beginnt mit einer recht einfachen Beschwörung, wird aber gemeinsam mit dem Charakter mit jedem Charakterrang etwas mächtiger. Schließlich kann man sogar ein Tor in die Ewigen Jagdgründe öffnen. Obwohl diese Kraft vom Flair am ehesten zu indianischen Schamanen passt, haben zum Beispiel auch verrückte Wissenschaftler und Voodoo-Priester die Möglichkeit, diese Kraft zu erlernen.

Der bis hierher beschriebene Teil des Bandes ist übrigens bereits seit einiger Zeit als Freebie erhältlich und kann gratis von der Webseite von Pinnacle Entertainment heruntergeladen werden.

Dem Spielleiter, auch Marshal genannt, sind die verbliebenen Kapitel gewidmet. Der Einstieg ist eine Zusammenfassung der Geschehnisse um die namengebenden Last Sons und ihrem mysteriösen Anführer Raven. Anschließend werden die neuen Settingregeln vorgestellt, die zum einen die Atmosphäre des Settings verändern sollen, sich zum anderen aber auch mit neuen Elementen, wie zum Beispiel Telegraphen, den Ewigen Jagdgründen oder dem großen Geistertanz widmen. Auch Wetterregeln werden an dieser Stelle neu eingeführt. Anschließend folgt der Überblick für den Marshal, welche interessanten Orte und Städte sich im Kampagnengebiet befinden. Neben zahlreicher, kleinerer Städte und Plätze wird auch ein besonderes Augenmerk auf Deadwood, Dodge und Denver gelegt. Abschließend bietet dieses Kapitel noch einen Abenteuergenerator, der auf die Kampagnenregion ausgelegt ist.

Die Kampagne selbst erstreckt sich beinahe über ein Drittel des gesamten Buches und ist in insgesamt neun Teile unterteilt. Ein zusätzlicher, optionaler Epilog bringt die Kampagne damit auf zehn zusammenhängende Geschichten. Die meisten Plot Points sind nur lose miteinander verknüpft und es ist auch die ausdrückliche Empfehlung, zwischen diesen noch einige Savage Tales und eigene Abenteuer einzustreuen, da der Schwierigkeitsgrad der Kampagne gerade zum Ende hin drastisch ansteigt. Leider wird in keinem Plot Point ein empfohlener Charakterrang erwähnt, daher hat der Marshal auch keine Vergleichsgröße, zu welchem Zeitpunkt sein Aufgebot bereit für den nächsten Teil der Kampagne ist. Besonders ärgerlich, da die Kampagne einem Timing folgt, zu dem bestimmte Zeitpunkte bestimmte Ereignisse auslösen. Trödeln die Spieler, verpassen Sie möglicherweise wichtige Meilensteine und vermasseln damit die gesamte Kampagne. Die Versuchung für den Spielleiter, hier regelnd und mittels Railroading einzugreifen, ist daher entsprechend groß.

Ich möchte nicht zu viel über die Kampagne verraten, kann aber an dieser Stelle sagen, dass Veteranen der Classic–Reihe einige Plätze und Persönlichkeiten durchaus wiedererkennen werden. Da sich diese im Laufe der Jahre verändert haben, stehen aber gerade für Kenner der Reihe einige spannende Momente ins Haus. Die Kampagne treibt den Meta-Plot insbesondere auf indianischer Seite voran. Eine Gruppe aus Indianer hassenden Charakteren wird mit dieser Kampagne wahrscheinlich nicht viel Freude haben. Spieler, die sich darauf einlassen, erwartet aber eine sehr ausführliche und vor allem für neue Marshals geeignete Kampagne. Diese deckt vom klassischen Dungeon-Crawl über detektivische Einlagen zu epischen Schlachten so ziemlich alles ab, was eine erfolgreiche Kampagne ausmacht. Lediglich der Epilog verliert deutlich an Qualität und ist eher ein wirres Ende als ein würdiger Abschluss.

Zusätzlich zur Kampagne wartet der Settingband mit über 30 weiteren Savage Tales auf. Diese haben insgesamt eine gute Qualität, sind aber in Savage Tale–Manier mehr als Inspiration gedacht. Deadlands–typisch muss der Marshal hier also wieder selbst den beschriebenen Geschichten Leben einhauchen. Ein Kapitel über mögliche Begegnungen rundet den Band ab.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Als Print-Produkt ist der Preis von annähernd 40 EUR sicherlich gerechtfertigt. Für eine PDF ist der angesetzte Preis von 36 EUR definitiv zu hoch.

Seit der Reduzierung um 50% erhaltet ihr aber ein großartiges Produkt zum angemessenen Preis. Hochwertige Kampagnenbände haben es natürlich schwer, hohe Preise zu erzielen, erhält man doch mittlerweile akzeptable eigene Settings zum gleichen Preis.

Erscheinungsbild

Deadlands Last Sons CoverWie bei den meisten Deadlands Reloaded–Produkten sind die verwendeten Illustrationen eine Mischung aus alten Classic–Grafiken und neuen Reloaded–Bildern, die in sich auch nicht einheitlich sind.

Daher ist auch dieser Band mit einer Mischung aus knallbunten Actionszenen, stimmungsvollen Westernmotiven in gedeckten Farben und düster ausgestalteten Horrorbildern versehen. Einige der Bilder sind schlicht atemberaubend, andere kann man bestenfalls als „qualitativen Ausrutscher“ bezeichnen.

Insgesamt bewegt sich der Band aber auf erfreulich hohem Niveau. Auch textuell hält der Band, was die Optik verspricht, wobei sich dieses Mal einige Schreibfehler bzw. fehlende Worte am Lektorat vorbeigeschummelt haben. Die gewählten Kontraste gewährleisten eine gute Lesbarkeit, nur Überschriften von Unterkapiteln sind in einem merkwürdigen Font vor einem Holzhintergrund gedruckt. Die Lesbarkeit leidet hier unnötig und wirklich hübsch sieht es leider auch nicht aus.

Zur Unterstützung der Kampagne gibt es zahlreiche Umgebungskarten von Städten oder Orten, an denen es wahrscheinlich zu Konflikten kommen wird. Insbesondere der Dungeon Crawl-Teil ist vollständig mit Kartenmaterial illustriert. Als Spielhilfe sind die Illustrationen sehr wertvoll und in guter Qualität vorhanden.

Zusammenfassend hat Pinnacle hier wieder einen soliden Band abgeliefert, der sich nur wenige Schwächen erlaubt.


Fazit

Wow, ist das ein Wälzer! Im Zeitalter von PDF-Dateien spielt die Seitenanzahl dankenswerterweise keine große Rolle mehr, denn Speicherplatz ist billig und hundert Seiten hin oder her trüben den Lesegenuss auch nicht mehr durch ein höheres Gewicht. Ich finde diesen Kampagnenband außerordentlich gelungen. Zum Thema passende und das Setting sinnvoll erweiternde Regeln (die noch dazu kostenfrei zur Verfügung stehen!), eine großartige Kampagne, die spannend, nicht zu geradlinig und vor allem ohne Spielerzutun immer weiter eskaliert und drei Dutzend neue Savage Tales – eine großartige Mischung. Der feste Zeitraum der Kampagne, sowie die fehlende Angabe des Charakterrangs trüben die Euphorie ein wenig.

Der bunte Illustrationsmix stört manchmal den guten Eindruck und über die schlecht lesbaren Unterüberschriften habe ich mich richtig geärgert. Insgesamt hält aber auch dieser Band ein qualitatives Niveau, das andere Rollenspielprodukte erst einmal erreichen müssen.

Preislich bewegt sich der Kampagnenband im oberen Niveau. Ob man wirklich so viel Geld dafür ausgeben sollte, bleibt natürlich jedem selbst überlassen. Empfehlenswert ist dieser Band auf jeden Fall für neue Marshals, da die Kampagne wirklich gut ausformuliert ist.

Erfahrene Marshals und Spieler freuen sich über eine spannende Kampagne, in der viele bekannte Persönlichkeiten und Orte wieder aufgegriffen werden. Man sollte sich vorher überlegen, ob man eine Kampagne mit deutlich indianischem Einschlag spielen möchte. Fehlt das Interesse daran, ist man mit dem Gratis-Teil zum Thema „Ausrüstung für Geheimagenten“ besser beraten.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: The Last Sons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Evernight Figure Flats
by Carlos L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 09:43:45
First, the bad: Orc Chieftain and Ogre are missing (I'm finishing Act I, so maybe there's more).
The good: Super easy to print and "assemble", I can't imagine other way to play Evernight without it.
Obs: it's the same art of the book, which is not so great - especially the heroes, monsters are ok. But, well, it's the book's art. That's how the book's publisher wanted.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Evernight Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:41:22
AMAZING WORK. A+ -- I don't even play Savage Worlds yet. I bought it last year and, on the strength of what I read, I also got the Fantasy Companion, and a bunch of Beasts and Barbarians stuff because I'm a Robert Howard, Clark Ashton Smith type of guy.

So, as I say, knowing that I cannot vouch for the system or 50 Fathoms *in action*, I will say that this is one of the best conceived and composed world/ adventure modules I've ever read. The world concept is bold, and the adventure has a definite point to it -- clear objectives are written into the world, and a large number of adventures big and small would allow you to explore this world for years, or just go hell-bent for the big brass ring -- saving the world, of course.

Saving the world. Big deal, right. Always we gotta save the world. But *this time*, it's different. Not only are there big bads, but what they have done to threaten the world is so big, so concrete, so evident in the everyday, and so prosaic in its way, that it's an irrestistible objective:

Three crazy sisters, in love with arcane power and executed by drowning for the heinous crimes that followed from their twisted desire, have cursed their world to drown. Now, a mysterious sending of a ghostly maiden is luring people of Earth, sailors and other wanderers, to her world to save it, and also of course to pirate, or trade, or whatever, their way across the face of the ocean and the archipelagoes that are all that remain of the great empires of a few decades before.

In its overall campaign concept, and in the detailed adventures that support, or color, or having nothing to do with that campaign at all, this is a winner, written by those who know a good idea and how to express it, and also know how to assemble a book with intelligence and get the right illustrators to come along.

If you play or like SW, or pirates, or just examples of good adventure writing, buy it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 575 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG