RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2016 22:07:42

I was on the fence about getting a book for a setting I had no personal connection with, but I regret nothing. I'm not sure if I'll be running Rifts, but it's contents basically make it one of the must have books for Savage Worlds, just like the Sci Fi Companion and the Fantasy Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: A Clear Understanding of Honor
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2016 08:20:43

If I wanted to gain an idea of what The Last Parsec setting was all about from reading this short story I would conclude that this was Pinancle's attempt to do a bad Star Trek rip off and I would probably avoid TLP like the plague..
TLP is not a Star Trek clone although I suppose if you really want it to be it couold work like that.
It needs to be its own setting though and this story does not help.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: A Clear Understanding of Honor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 01:44:41

I have to say, I was skeptical. I stopped buying Rifts books at the turn of the century. I stopped playing shortly after that. I don't know what Savage Worlds is, and I haven't really given Rifts a second look in over 15 years. And yet... something about this kickstarter really got me wondering. And so I bit in for the miminum level to get the player book, and I have to say that I am impressed. It seems like this book is an update to every gripe and quibble that I ever had. I am still learning Savage Worlds, but the system seems really impressive and robust, and the people who put this conversion together love Rifts just as much as I once did, which almost rekindles something in my cynical heart. It might be a while before I can free myself up to actually play this, but I am eager and hopeful that I can make it happen, and relive the magic that led me into role playing in the first place. That magic exists in this book. I kind of want it in print now, too...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by Erik B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2016 17:10:43

It's obvious after reading through Foes that more books going into deeper details of various factions such as the Coalition and Zitichic are down the road. What this book offers is a decent selection of base advasaries to throw against your heroes. This book alone will allow you to run years worth of adventures and is a must have for anyone running Savage Rifts.
That being said the book has one major drawback; art. The book is sparsely illistrated and many of those illistrations are mediocre at best. Many of the creatures have no art, only text descriptions while the images of mech are perhaps the poorest in the book. Normally I wouldn't hold uninspired art against a product but Rifts has some very iconic creatures,mech, and characters that those who never played Palladium Rifts will be at a loss or just nonplussed with what some of these characters physically look like.
Overall this is a worth while book only marred by its visual presentation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by Jason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2016 12:33:55

I got this from the Savage Rifts Kickstarter, and it is awesome! I played Rifts for years a decade or two ago (or maybe more), but lost interest as my RPG tastes changed toward "balance" and "reasonable rules" that "make sense." So when I saw Savage Rifts, the combination of the well-regarded Savage Worlds ruleset merged with the awesome gonzo, over the top setting of Rifts, I jumped on it immediately. I've made a bunch of characters and GMd a one-shot, and it was pretty much just as fantastic as I hoped. I'm excited to see all of the other books from the KS come out soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Figure Flats
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2016 16:18:43

The 50 Fathoms Figure Flat pack covers the entire Encounters Section in 20 pages. You get a solid amount of small figures, some large-sized figures, three huge spiders, and four gargantuan figures. At $6.00, its a steal at .30 cents per page for flats for any kind of pirate-themed game and 50 Fathoms specifically.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2016 15:53:15

Savage Foes of North America is a book I've waited years for. I've wanted a comprehensive 'monster manual' for the Rifts setting, with pre-statted enemies like Dead Boy platoons, ready-to-fight Juicers, easy to run combat mages, and so forth ever since Palladium put out the first printing of Rifts. Finally, thanks to the Savage Rifts line, we've got something like that. Savage Foes of North America is a dense, content rich bestiary, complete with a few short and simple adventures, complete with tactical maps, that take good advantage of the stat-blocks presented here.


Inside, you'll find ready to use statblocks for the most common humanoid NPCs running around Rifts Earth: various Coalition troops, Line Walkers, a pre-made Glitterboy, Juicers, and so on. In addition, you've got stats for some of the most iconic monsters of the setting: Wild and Secondary Vampires, Fury Beetles, Gargoyles and Broadkil, and a lot more. You'll recognize all the names here, if you're a long time Rifts fan. There's even a random monster builder chart similar to the great creature-creator found in the first edition of Rifts. There's a new emphasis on the Black Market as an actual faction, with it's own agenda, rather than just a logistical handwave to allow players to acquire heavy weapons, and as such a few Black Market NPCs are presented. There's a rather nice stealth/espionage oriented magic user stat-block: I imagine that's a stat-block that will be repurposed a lot as an occult espionage agent.


Most of the monsters are illustrated, but probably due to art budget issues, a few old favorites just get a written description, rather than an illustration. Most case of text-only description is the Splugorth. I can understand the omission, in that the target market for this game is probably long-term and lasped Rifts gamer, who certainly know what a Slugorth looks like, but I'd of loved to have seen a new illustration of this iconic beastie. Still, given the sucess of Savage Rifts to date, I'm extremely hopeful an Atlantis (and an Archie-3 sourcebook, pretty please?) is around the corner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sixth Gun: Fractured Frontiers
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 18:40:15

I love how this supplement allows players and GMs to grab a little from both Weird Western settings. I highly recommend any of the Sixth Gun property.


Ron



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sixth Gun: Fractured Frontiers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sixth Gun: Circle the Wagons
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 18:38:50

Being a fan of the established Comic series, I absolutlely loved how the marriage of the comicbook and the rpg came together.
I ran this adventure and my players were instantly hooked into the Sixth Gun world. I would definitley recommend it/


Ron



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sixth Gun: Circle the Wagons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2016 23:55:03

I GMed the first adventure, Maiden Voyage for a total party kill. However, we were new to Savage Worlds, so many mistakes had been made, and the players very much wanted to try again--as soon as possible.


At novice level very few of the set adventures are safe for the characters, but the players can opt to engage in trade, smuggling, pirating, exploring, or--when they get enough money--privateering.


The campaign has a main arc, a secondary arc, a tertiary arc, and there are disconected adventures as well.


I have read through the book once.



  1. The interconnection between the adventures is non-obvious, except for the main arc.

  2. The adventures tend to be starter kits, inviting substantial preparation except for the most experienced GM.

  3. Despite point #2, the author's intention was that characters can wander and discover as they will. Also, see point #1 where the sequence of adventures is non-obvious, and without an overall chart.

  4. Suggested character levels for adventures are only indicated sometimes. Savage Worlds is also a pretty leathal system, so good share of many adventures available should have non-violent, role played solutions. 50 Fathoms is pretty combat oriented. Characters are going to die. Hopefully the players do not induce a TPK, since continuity is crucial to the campaign.


Despite the above, the campaign setting looks like it will be great, and much fun is expected to be had by all.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird War I: The 13th Warrior
by Rich E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2016 00:00:18

This fine adventure places the players in the role of British Royal Air Corps pilots (with Extra observers) in B.E. 2c biplanes flying several sorties against the bosche.


Through the adventure of several scenes, there are dogfights and missions galore (many using the really suitable Chase rules) that give quite a good feeling of WWI aircraft and combat. The Chase rules and new aircraft combat rules in this book really give a feel for piloting skill and positioning, range and poor early machine guns.


Ultimately of course there's romance and a bold rescue mission resulting in the discovery of the truly strange horrors lurking in the Weird Wars.


Being a well laid out, linear adventure, matching it with the pre-generated Airman from the British PreGen character pack, the entire book will last one long session or two short ones (about 4 hours).


Highly recommended. Especially since it keeps you out of the muddy trenches.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird War I: The 13th Warrior
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
by jonEthan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 11:26:56

Another offering another great product!
I am very happy with the way the GB came out. It keeps the tremendous fire power and combat ability and reinforces the piolets dependence on the armor. It dosen't mean the piolet is helpless ....it just means he's a specialist. I dig this because it forces the person play a Glitter Boy to be wary when out side of his armor. I mentioned this in a previous post, the combat machine that is the GB remains with a bit more emphesis on working with others.
I have 2 players alreay fighting over who's going to play a Glitter Boy first!!!


J.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by jonEthan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 11:17:11

The Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide is an outstanding first run product. I am amazed at how well both systems have been blended togeter and have kept the feel of both. Having read the Guide through I can't say enough good things. The excellence of the Players guide makes me all but drool in expectation for the rest of the line to be released!
The art work is flavorful and feeds the imagintion wonderfully. The lay out is clean and easy to follow. The system just screams "make a character and play". The initial character creation steps are staright forward and fun (Personally, creating the character and building a back story has always been half the fun). It lends itself to complex and flavorful character creation which in turn leads to great role-playing.
The combat system...works!!! It has blended the Savage mechanic with the Rifts MDC flavor in such a way as it makes sense and works!!! It's fast, simple and neat and is just cool to see in place with the Rifts tech.


Kudos to the team!
My 2 favorite sytems blended as one...it's like chocolate and peanut butter all over again!!!


J.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Character Sheet
by Tony M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 02:18:32

I was so impressed by Jeff C's entitlement that I just had see what he was missing.


Nice sheet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by jonathan m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 17:56:41

SEems like what ive been waiting for since 1990. CAnt be sure till the other to core books are out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 638 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG