RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2017 13:40:20

Everything I needed and more. The shining jewel of the book is the 30 page bestiary and NPC gallery but it also has multiple species and a species builder, multiple spaceships and a spaceship builder, multiple suits of power armor and a power armor builder, as well as rules for alien worlds, robots, cybernetics, and mecha. All are modular and easy to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 2
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2017 15:59:56

(This is a duplicate of my review for Combat Map Set 1)

This map pack is a bit like a stray shot. It was well-intentioned, but it missed the mark by a good little bit.

The included JPGs and PNG files are maps of the interiors of various westren buildings. Porches come as a independent file. The interiors are without a scale, but an included PNG file has the missing grid.

Thus, you will need a graphics program in order to create an interior with a grid. And you will need to expand the dimensions along one axis to leave enough space to add the missing porch - and the missing porches grid.

So if you bought this with the intent of using it for a VTT session, it might take a little work - or a lot of work if you are not comfortable with a graphics editor. I bought this to have quickly usuable interiors and I am somewhat annoyed that I will have to do the work. (Normally, guys, the publisher provides 2 maps, one with a grid and another without. As for the porches being seperate pieces.... well, whatever - it makes no logical sense. As long as I am forced to add the grid, I guess adding the porch is something I may as well do.)

Anyhow, this product doesn't seem to know it's market. It could either elect to provide the building blocks for someone to do all the work (give us chairs, bar stools, bottles, wooden walls, jail cell walls etc), or provide a finished product. Instead, they elected to give us something not quite finished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 1
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2017 15:57:49

This map pack is a bit like a stray shot. It was well-intentioned, but it missed the mark by a good little bit.

The included JPGs and PNG files are maps of the interiors of various westren buildings. Porches come as a independent file. The interiors are without a scale, but an included PNG file has the missing grid.

Thus, you will need a graphics program in order to create an interior with a grid. And you will need to expand the dimensions along one axis to leave enough space to add the missing porch - and the missing porches grid.

So if you bought this with the intent of using it for a VTT session, it might take a little work - or a lot of work if you are not comfortable with a graphics editor. I bought this to have quickly usuable interiors and I am somewhat annoyed that I will have to do the work. (Normally, guys, the publisher provides 2 maps, one with a grid and another without. As for the porches being seperate pieces.... well, whatever - it makes no logical sense. As long as I am forced to add the grid, I guess adding the porch is something I may as well do.)

Anyhow, this product doesn't seem to know it's market. It could either elect to provide the building blocks for someone to do all the work (give us chairs, bar stools, bottles, wooden walls, jail cell walls etc), or provide a finished product. Instead, they elected to give us something not quite finished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Combat Map Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Ops
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2017 14:13:58

First, the complaint. The product is good for what it is, but it needs to be made clear that this is a miniatures skirkmish game that uses the Savage Worlds ruleset. I had hoped that I would find solid background information on real-world special ops units, feats unique to such, what skills they should possess, and detailed weapons information. What I got was a glossing over of the Savage Worlds rules and extensive details for using miniatures to play out real-world special ops scenarios. I needed solid information on weapons, such as costs and weights. Encumbrance is not accounted in the skirmish system and costs are in point values, not dollars. I understand that many of these weapons are exclusive to the military, but it would have been nice to know what the cost in dollars of a MP7 is (not to mention what it weighs). There are no new feats. What was good about the product for my purposes was that it at least told me how a particular spec ops unit should be kitted out, providing many NPC examples.

That said, as a supplement for minitaures gaming using the Savage Worlds rules as a base, the product succeeds very nicely. It's just another example of how diverse Savage Worlds can be. Many real-world spec ops units are fully detailed as extras, both friendlies and enemies. There are several new vehicles and a host of new guns. Sadly, not a lot is said about them. Included is a mission generator and eight Savage Tales (with more promised on the website). If I used miniatures, this would be invaluable. Unfortunately, I don't.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Ops
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

12TM: Last Rites: Savaged edition
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2017 15:46:44

I got it for Halloween and it did not disappoint. The plot is based off of a Nazi dying of old age - that was much more plausible in 2005ish when it was written than now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
12TM: Last Rites: Savaged edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:41:10

If you are looking for a simple yet not simplistic universal rules system that gives you plenty of tactical crunch for you combat; this is it. If you love using polyhedral dice definitely the game you want. If you are tired of getting stuck in a class based advancement system this is worth the price of admission.

This game system came out of a mix of the very detailed Deadlands and a table top game called the Great Railwars. The designers used the experience gained from the above mentioned games and came up with a streamlined rules system that covers a lot of ground and presently has dozens of settings.

This game is for gamers who like to push miniatures around on the table top, but don't want to spend an hour fighting a battle between a half dozen figures. I have consistenly been able to run combats with in excess of 2 dozen figures in a half hour or less. The action is Fast, Fun, and Furious. A great game for grognards and neophytes alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savaging Your Favorite Rifts Ideas
by Jeffrey A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 08:31:14

Meh.

Realisiticly this entire product could have been presented in one sentence:

"The math to do an actual translation into our system would be insane, so take your best guess - good luck!"



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savaging Your Favorite Rifts Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Nawaf M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2017 11:02:39

If I hadn't gotten my hands on this pdf per a forum where someone had posted the file, I wouldn't have given it a second glance. One would've thought trying to mesh a rules-light system such as Savage Worlds and a messy rules system would end in a catastrophe... but somehow the end result is far greater than the sum of it's parts. I've never played Rifts before, because someone always simply quit during character creation. Now I've had a chance to and I have to say I'm impressed with the Savage Worlds version. That being said, it is somewhat on the short side with 146 pages.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Nicolas A. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2017 14:08:31

My expectations were maybe too high, but this book is overpriced. The content of the book is good but it is only setting history and character creation rules. If you want the officials monsters you will need another book same thing for vehicles and weapons.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by mark m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2016 13:06:16

Wow, this is a great book, with this book they have not only replicated the feel of rifts but have given you the ability to add any power, edge, and hinerance to create your own occ.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Contamination Principle
by Patric R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2016 19:24:38

This was a fun read. The layout is clean, and the editing is solid. The story is coherent, and has some nice ethical twists, with actual long-term consequences for the group campaign based on player decisions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Contamination Principle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Weird Wailin's Soundtrack
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2016 12:23:08

The soundtrack is quite okay but compared to the intense atmosphere of Deadlands i consider it too boring. A mixture of western scores and horror scores will definitely do a better job.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Weird Wailin's Soundtrack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird War I: British Archetypes
by Nicky G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2016 22:34:47

These are really nice pregens, but the description says they come with a printer friendly version and a regular version, as well as both Novice and Seasoned versions of the characters, but the download only comes with a regular version of each pregenerated character at Novice rank. I assume either something is mission from the file or something is lost in translation. Either way, just be aware of what you're getting when you buy this product. The characters themselves are both memorable and look correctly and effectively built. Would be happy to up the review once the download is corrected.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Weird War I: British Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by Philip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2016 15:27:26

So far, in a read-through only, this is fantastic. I wish I had this several years ago, but I'm glad it's here now.

In particular, the vehicles/robots/starship sections - beautiful. Looking forward to trying it out in these worlds:

Stars Without Number/Ashen Stars BattleTech Warhammer 40K

And, in some of them, in conjunction with the Gumshoe (Ashen Stars) investigation motif.

The cyberware rules sound a lot like Shadowrun - which might be a good alternative for those who disagree with the current licensor's handling of the IP & business practices.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Archetypes
by Gary M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2016 12:27:05

Great resource for making characters quickly for etu. Money well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 671 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG