RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par cet éditeur:
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
par Customer Name Withheld [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 09/23/2016 16:50:18

Only got it for savage rifts sorry no opnion on its own.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

50 Fathoms Figure Flats
par Gary M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 09/23/2016 12:14:39

Not the greatest artwork.... But they'll do in a pinch.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
50 Fathoms Figure Flats
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
par Customer Name Withheld [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 09/01/2016 21:40:57

This is an excellent product for folks looking for miniatures for their deadlands game on the cheap. It was originally a print product, sold in cardstock that you cut out and made little triangle shape, with one side being a back and the other two being the front sides. For larger minis, you had a smaller back tab that was supposed to go on the bottom.


I personally reccommend printing it out on one-sheet label stock, then cutting them out and placing them on cardstock, such as box tops or something similar.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
par Peter S. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/29/2016 23:10:34

It's a great book if you're a player, if you're a GM then most of the stuff in here is already in the Coalition Section of the Savage Foes of North America book. There are a few additions however like the big nasty bot on the cover of The Coaltion War Campaign, the Super SAMAS and I think a few new weapons but the rest is stuff you've already got.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
par John P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/29/2016 13:56:25

I wanted to wait until I had a chance to play the game before I rated it. Now that my gaming group has six sessions under their belt, I figured it was a good time to chime in. I too played Rifts in the 90's and a bit after. I have a wall full of books that I just love. However, I've not really played much in the last 15-20 years simply because I couldn't get past the power creep and I couldn't find a group that wanted to deal with some of the older-style rules. No more! This has become a favorite of my group and they've already forgotten the last campaign we left so we could try out Savage Rifts. This book kicks it all off and in great fashion. I'll do my best to summarize what you get with this book.


Chapter One Characters: The creating of a character is slick and easy. The inevitable support from Hero Labs and similar is likely coming and will turn a half hour process (once you know what you're doing) to about 10 minutes. They have it all from the Classic Core Book and a few different takes to keep it interesting. Iconic Frameworks (think classes) are introduced and help to guide your character creation. Juicers, MOM’s, Cyber-Knights, Ley Line Walkers, etc., still feel like the classes that you hoped you were making. Some classes are more powerful at certain times than others, but not obnoxiously so. My group likes that the Scholar and City Rat can still be viable on the battlefield without becoming a red mist on the first stray shot. The races make sense and easily meld with the classes.


Chapter Two Gear: As has been mentioned in other reviews, they took the MDC concept and used their Heavy Weapons/Armor rules. This has been a boon as instant death isn’t your first worry. Sure, a hard hit and terrible rolls can happen, but not so much. Going from wearing your MDC suit of personal armor to an instant death penetration isn’t as fearful now. The gear is a pretty good mix of old and new equipment and the explanation and use of Techo-Wizard items fits pretty logically. Power Armor is treated exactly as its name implies; heavier, stronger, faster, and more powerful versions of body armor. Robots and Vehicles share their own realm of being separate from the pilot and passengers; just like you’d expect logically. Cybernetics feel like meaningful improvements to the human/D-Bee body and share similar Strain and cost rules as enjoyed in the well-loved Sci-Fi Companion. Rules are introduced to convert most gear to Techno-Wizardry if desired.


Chapter Three Psionics and Magic: This section will look very familiar to those already comfortable with Savage Worlds. A few extra powers and then Mega Power equivalents for most standard powers are found within. This allows for fantastic feats to be accomplished via magic/psionics. Utility powers are limited, similar to what is found in other Savage Worlds products. Most of the powers are combat related and a couple of them don’t translate very well. Summon Ally (Force Multiplication), for example, doesn’t translate as well as could be hoped. You’re in a gonzo, over-the-top battlefield and still summoning the exact same lower power allies you would in any other standard setting. The Zombie Power isn’t even listed and seems to be reserved for the bad guys. That’s too bad as your gaming group will likely be made up of Feral Dog-Boys, morally naïve Dragon Hatchlings, power-driven Mind Melters, psychotic Crazies, drug-dependent Juicers, and thieving City Rats. But heroes don’t summon supernatural allies or raise zombies?


Chapter Four Setting Rules: This chapter does a great job of explaining how to deal with death. Death & Defeat (a chart similar to the Super Powers Companion Defeat Table), Extra Effort (another way to use Bennies), and Technical Difficulties are introduced. These are all loved by our gaming group and keep some of the “feel” of the original Rifts games we played years ago.


Chapter Five Rifts Earth: This chapter takes a few pages to explain the world, the history, and some of the players from around the globe. It takes an extra bit of time explaining North America and Castle Refuge.


Chapter Six The Hero’s Journey: Here we find options and charts to get your players hooked into the main story. It also helps characters start off with things different than each other so that two of the same Iconic Frameworks won’t usually start the same. Twelve new charts using the d20 for randomness help to round out or advantage your characters in hundreds of different ways. It really helps speed along the character creation instead of going through 35+ skills like we used to have to do in the old days with almost everyone taking the Physical Skills only for the clear advantages that they gave.


I’m in love with Rifts once more. Pinnacle has done what I thought was impossible and melded their system to one of the most challenging yet well-loved settings of all time. If you like fantasy and magic, Savage Rifts might be fore you. If you like high-tech and cybernetics, Savage Rifts might be for you. If you like psionics and mutations, Savage Rifts might still be for you. If you like to play in a future where anything is possible and anything can be found yet do so in a balanced, entertaining, and easily played way, you would do well to check out Savage Rifts.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
par John P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/29/2016 09:52:51

It's my opinion that GM Guides are usually the toughest products to write. You've already shared everything to play the game in your Player's Handbook and the monsters are going to be found in your Monster Manuals. So exactly what do you put in this sourcebook? Here’s what Pinnacle did:


Chapter One: The Walk Around the Block. Here we are shown a snapshot of the world and its major players with some guides on how the average person lives. We’re given a one page chronology all written in an information dump without any real crunch. Its fine, it works, and it sets up much of the attitude and groundwork of the key factions your group will likely see.


Chapter Two: Meet the Neighbors. Pinnacle gives us greater detail of the Tomorrow Legion and all of its movers and shakers. Who will your group report to? This can be found in addition to some simple maps of the grounds. The Coalition States are also detailed a bit more with a couple paragraphs given to each State. The Federation of Magic is given similar treatment with each major city and the Magic Zone receiving its own couple paragraphs.


Chapter Three: Running Savage Rifts. Most of this is fluff and really goes into the way you might present general life and some of the fantastic things your players will see. They do a good job of telling a new GM and Player what to expect if you haven’t played Rifts before. They have a great write-up on how to reconcile some of the common difficulties of combining magic and technology.


Chapter Four: Crunch Time! For those that were hoping for some crunchy parts will enjoy this chapter. A random encounter generator mostly intended for Tomorrow Legion patrols can easily be made for any group to enjoy. I’m not sure how many variations those charts can give you for encounters, but it easily numbers into the hundreds, perhaps even thousands of ways to make a new adventure/encounter. Contacts are greatly detailed with random charts also given to create them in detail. Appreciated is the Rewards section explaining salvage, ranks, and mercenary options. The last part of the chapter details rifts and gives charts to create random ones throwing in characteristics to make hundreds of different ones. I really enjoyed the random location/time you might go to if you were to journey through one. Some seed ideas are given, but the GM should be prepared to fill in the details on his own. Lastly, they give some guidelines on how a magic user might alter and affect the ley lines and rifts encountered. Something that we know players will inevitably attempt.


I really thought this book was excellent. Considering the challenge of what to put into a GM guide that doesn’t waste the time of the reader, I think they did a good job. Much of it is fluff and setting feel, but Chapter Four gives more than enough to work with for those looking for numbers and adventures.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: Archetypes Set 2
par John P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/29/2016 09:21:30

What more can I say? These are exactly what we were promised and they look great. Will be easy to hand these out to new players or use as prepared NPC’s. The picture for each one Archetype is welcome as well. Nothing quite captures the “feel” of a Framework like a picture. I appreciate that they mixed in some races as well that many would not normally try out.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: Archetypes Set 2
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: Archetypes Set 1
par John P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/29/2016 09:20:32

What more can I say? These are exactly what we were promised and they look great. Will be easy to hand these out to new players or use as prepared NPC’s. The picture for each one Archetype is welcome as well. Nothing quite captures the “feel” of a Framework like a picture. I appreciate that they mixed in some races as well that many would not normally try out.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: Archetypes Set 1
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
par John P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/29/2016 08:53:41

This is exactly what I was hoping for. I even like the way they partitioned the book so that you had the big players and their stats for the most common troops. These include The Coalition States, The Federation of Magic, The Black Market, the 1st Apocalyptic Cavalry, the Pecos Empire, and Atlantis. They even took the time to stat out the leaders of each of those organizations (though I can't imagine letting my group take a crack at those guys anytime soon).


I was most surprised and impressed by the addition of the Mercenaries & Specialists section. Here you will find most of the classes built and ready to go. These can be used to give a new player a class to play with or just create an instant opposing or ally group.


The monsters section was a little light, but very similar to what you get when you purchase the Rifts Ultimate Guide and Sourcebook One from Palladium. The best part of this section is the random creature creation guide. You can create most creatures just using those charts and even use it as a sort of conversion guide for your favorite ones. Give yourself about 5 minutes and you can have a fully random or handcrafted creature/encounter interesting enough for most Savavge Rifts groups.


A final touch that wasn't necessary but appreciated, was the addition of 5 ready to go adventures using these new creatures and troops. These combined with some of the Random Creature/Encounter Generators mean many great and interesting hours of play in the future for my gaming group. It's my opinion that Pinnacle has done an outstanding job with this "Monster Manual" of theirs and the extras they included in a reasonable page count is exactly what we needed to help bring Savage Rifts alive.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
par John P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/29/2016 08:35:14

I'm a little on the fence on this one. First off, it's great to get some of the new gear for the Coalition. The most common gear is detailed and given to us. However, it was smaller than expected/hoped for, but still useful. I got it as part of the Kickstarter and frankly, I really wasn't expecting a lot. Impressions are that I think they're holding out the rest of the equipment upgrades for a future sourcebook. And also frankly, I'm ok with that. After all, it took 224 pages for Palladium to do the same.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: Coalition Field Manual
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
par Patrick G. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/28/2016 14:01:26

Rifts has always been asetting I loved. The rules system was always clunky and slow.
When I heard Rifts was made using another system I was very happy to say the least!
I had always heard good things about Savage Worlds. Ihave to say, I'm less than impressed with the system so far. Maybe the system works better than it seems to read. But I've never liked the exploding dice mechanic.
The art is decent. The tomorrow legion is a good setting hook.
It gets three stars until I've had the chance to play the system.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
par James C. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/28/2016 06:58:43

The savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook does a good job exploring and describing various characters of note, factions, motivations and goals but for me, it really shines in the actual rifts section, detailing the numerous Ley Lines, nexus points and other rift variables found randomly generated across several tables. The SR:DMH also includes the full color map of Rifts North America and the map of Castle Refuge so if you are considering buying the $3.99 PDF of either of those maps, I highly recommend you buy this book instead.


The only negative for me is the lack of artwork and battle maps. What is there is beautifully rendered in full color but it would be great if Pinnacle released images of all the races, power armors, robot vehicles and weapons found in the world of Rifts. Hopefully we will get to see more of these items in upcoming releases.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
par Customer Name Withheld [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/17/2016 22:07:42

I was on the fence about getting a book for a setting I had no personal connection with, but I regret nothing. I'm not sure if I'll be running Rifts, but it's contents basically make it one of the must have books for Savage Worlds, just like the Sci Fi Companion and the Fantasy Companion.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: A Clear Understanding of Honor
par Peter C. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/17/2016 08:20:43

If I wanted to gain an idea of what The Last Parsec setting was all about from reading this short story I would conclude that this was Pinancle's attempt to do a bad Star Trek rip off and I would probably avoid TLP like the plague..
TLP is not a Star Trek clone although I suppose if you really want it to be it couold work like that.
It needs to be its own setting though and this story does not help.



Classement:
[2 sur 5 étoiles!]
Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: A Clear Understanding of Honor
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
par Ismael A. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 08/08/2016 01:44:41

I have to say, I was skeptical. I stopped buying Rifts books at the turn of the century. I stopped playing shortly after that. I don't know what Savage Worlds is, and I haven't really given Rifts a second look in over 15 years. And yet... something about this kickstarter really got me wondering. And so I bit in for the miminum level to get the player book, and I have to say that I am impressed. It seems like this book is an update to every gripe and quibble that I ever had. I am still learning Savage Worlds, but the system seems really impressive and robust, and the people who put this conversion together love Rifts just as much as I once did, which almost rekindles something in my cynical heart. It might be a while before I can free myself up to actually play this, but I am eager and hopeful that I can make it happen, and relive the magic that led me into role playing in the first place. That magic exists in this book. I kind of want it in print now, too...



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 1 de 15 (sur 650 critiques) Pages de Résultats:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Prochain >>] 
0 article
 Derniers Produits
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG