RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Worlds Sci Fi Gear Toolkit
by John P. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2012 21:09:42
For the price I was happy with this product, but I was hoping for a little more crunchy-ness. The rules for creating the various kinds of gear are very, very lightweight and, in some cases, amount to little more than "hey, it's your game; make up whatever you want." Also, while there are numerous examples of vehicles, ships, mechs and robots, the section on personal gear contains only a handful of weapons and a few other items.

This would probably be very helpful for a beginner, but is less so for an experienced GM.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Sci Fi Gear Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/26/2011 16:48:04
WHAT WORKS: As noted, I largely prefer the Super Powers system to the Power Point System. The campaign is one of my favorite pre-written campaigns, even if it is very "directed" (by Dr. Destruction, of course), because basically everything has to be done by the PCs. The campaign has a couple of nice twists, one being the origin of the V'Sori and the other being Dr. Destruction's true plan. I am truly disappointed we never reached that point, because my players were WAY off base.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: My only real gripe is that while I prefer the powers system in this book, it just never felt as flexible to me or my players as the Powers system in other supers games. If you have the Super Powers Companion, I did provide a solution to this on my blog. Some of the powers, namely Decay, come across WAY too weak to actually be worth buying, in our experience.

CONCLUSION: One of my favorite Savage Worlds releases, due in no small part because of the sheer amount of fun we had with the campaign. The PCs experienced rousing success, crushing defeat and even heartache, a range of experiences that I have been told are impossible with both Savage Worlds and supers RPGs...and yet, here we are. If you already own the Super Powers Companion, and you don't want to make your own campaign, I am very fond of the provided campaign. If villains vs aliens doesn't sound very good, then you might just consider getting the Super Powers Companion instead.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/12/tommys-take-o-
n-necessary-evil-explorers.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2011 19:21:44
I think I could run a Savage Worlds game just fine, so long as no one chose anything from the "Powers" section of the rule book ;)

The reason I say this is not because the powers look all that difficult to grasp, but for someone that grew up on D&D and the like, it's a whole new language to learn. I think the next time I get to play in a SW game, I'm going to play a Powers user so I can get a hands on feel for the system.

Now that that is out of the way, the powers section looks really nice. Powers are initially broken down by Arcane Backgrounds - Magic, Psionics, Weird Science, Super Powers and Miracles. Trappings and Effects allow powers to be tweaked and individualized, so no two fireballs (or anything else) will necessarily be the same from different casters. I like the ability to individualize powers while still keeping to a defined list. It's a pretty neat system, I just need to get comfortable with it.

I really like the total package that is Savage Worlds Deluxe - I just need to spend some time as a player before trying to run a game with it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

12TM: Bloodlines--Savaged edition
by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/03/2011 06:24:18
Bloodlines is a fun and interesting, modern day ghost story which is among my favorite adventures from 12-to-Midnight. While it's explicitly written for Savage World (and decently so) I think the story and adventure is interesting and generic enough that it could be easily converted to other investigative-type games like GUMSHOE's Fear Itself or the Dresden Files RPG, making it worth considering by anyone interested in some inspiration for their modern investigative game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
12TM: Bloodlines--Savaged edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Horror Companion
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 13:16:53
A well rounded companion for those desiring to run a horror game. Most of the major bases are covered and elements from books and film are present (there's even a puzzle box resembling the Lament Configuration from the Hellraiser movies). The only thing I'd like to have seen are additional rules covering zombie apocalypse type settings. I'm not sure if this was omitted because of a perceived redundancy with the Zombie Run book but it's a sub genre that would have given the companion a more complete feel.

As it stands this is a great book and a valuable addition to the Savage Worlds line.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Horror Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: For Whom the Whistle Blows
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/30/2011 03:30:40
This is a fine example of genre-blending that has been the hallmark of the entire Deadlands game line. There are a number of iconic Western elements here from bandits to steam trains and frontier towns but all with a healthy (or not so healthy for the characters) dose of the supernatural.

The backstory for this module gives the entire product a great sense of consistency. The premise for the game is that the posse is hired onto a steam train for a simple job, but there are greater machinations at play here. Whilst the story elements and the ideas are quite straightforward, I found them novel and engaging. I'd firmly believe that players would react in the same way once they figure out the story.

As such, it is very difficult to give too much detail without some major spoilers. That said, the writing is of a high quality, the scenes compact and easy to run and there is scope to have this run over two or three sessions. I would recommend this for any group with a few games under their belt as this does require a bit of knowledge about the game world to grasp fully.

The only criticism is about the train diagrams. There is a note in the text indicating that the Marshall can visit the Pinnacle website and download the maps of the train scaled for miniatures. I really don't see why they couldn't have been included in the product and saved the Marshall the extra step to acquire them.

Overall, this is easily of the same standard I fondly recall from the older Dime Novels and should give a few sessions of enjoyable play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: For Whom the Whistle Blows
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Dime Novel 01: Perdition's Daughter
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/18/2011 06:45:59
Deadlands, the very name speaks of dark tidings and sinister shenanigans. For those unfamiliar to the setting, Deadlands is an Old West role-playing game that was initially released in the mid-90′s. It met with quite a bit of success and has recently been re-released employing the Savage Worlds system. Both games were written excellently by Shane Lacy Hensley and I was quite happy to see my beloved game in print once more. With Deadlands, Shane transports us to the spaghetti westerns of Sergio Leone and Clint Eastwood where he mixes it liberally with horror. He then throws in dashes of Steampunk and science-fiction to make it one of the best genre spanning settings. It can be dark, irreverent, gritty, and surreal all in the same session without a pause.

While Deadlands was good, Deadlands: Reloaded is better. Shane took a rather fine system, trimmed it, and then sped up the play so enjoyment was exponentially increased. This isn’t a review of Deadlands though, but some knowledge of the setting does help. In the world of Deadlands all is not quite right. It is 1879, evil is lurking, and the United States is still reeling from a Civil War that didn’t quite end. Most people turn a blind eye to the ‘stories’ they hear from travelers to keep their minds safe and secure. But, the stories are true. The dead are walking the earth, it’s just not all of the walking dead are bent on foul deeds. New creatures roam the land and magic is quite real. Science, both natural and unnatural, is making leaps and bounds pushing the imagination of what is possible.

It is here, in this twisted landscape, that Perdition’s Daughter takes us through Shane’s writing. We start off following Ronan Lynch, an officer in the Union Cavalry, during his final battle of the Civil War. We witness a veteran and competent commander that only lost his nerve when faced with overwhelming odds and a terrifying new weapon. He is, of course, deemed a coward and drummed out of the service to humiliating anonymity. Several years pass and Ronan travels the west as a gun-for-hire that harbors deep resentment to all things Southern. He eventually ends up in Denver, a city entirely too Eastern for his taste, and is approached by a mine owner to do a job. Ronan knows that there is only one job anyone would want him for: someone needed someone else dead. He is then introduced to those that will be his associates, both hail from the South. Velvet Van Helter, originally from New Orleans appears to be a dandy more interested in fashion and cards than anything else, while Betty McGrew is a rifle-woman out of Texas. Ronan gets along with them as well one would hope. His surly demeanor and openly hostile attitude towards the pair of them fosters a tension that plays out with entertaining results.

The short story unfolds as the mine owner admits he has a son that has fallen pray to the wiles of a seductive woman, and has been led astray. The woman heads a strange cult and the group left Denver a while ago. The father, quite naturally, wishes for his safe return. He offers them the tidy sum of $250 each for his son to be brought back, and $500 if his son is returned and the woman denounced as a fraud. Ronan inquires about what he might have to face and then doubles his price. He wants $500 for the son and $1000 for the son and denouncement of the woman. Such gall embarrasses Velvet and Betty and the mine owner asks if he is to pay such an amount to the others. Ronan shrugs and replies that he was only negotiating for himself.

They leave in the morning to find cult and while en route they witness Ronans blinding speed as he kills two highwaymen. The group dynamics do not change when they hit the next town and Betty refuses to even sleep in the same building as Ronan after he makes another crass remark. The trio is soon embroiled in the meat of the adventure. They discover truths and secrets, fight side by side, and even ‘bond’ as friends.. ok… they’re sort of friendly. I won’t reveal too much of story other than it was almost a road map of what a Deadlands game should be.. well.. what a game session could be if the party doesn’t try to annihilate one another (as can often happen).

With Perdition’s Daughter, Shane introduces fresh minds to his game. Hucksters, harrowed, the politics of the age, and darker magics are all touched upon with hints of broader wickedness afoot. I found it to be the perfect initiation to Deadlands, and with further installment’s on the way the background information will simply become richer. It was fantastically woven story, and I look forward to the future Dime Novels. The possibilities for future use of this short story is only curtailed by the imagination of the game master.

There was little to not enjoy about Perdition’s Daughter. It was a glorious tale in which the characters were all decently built up with quirks, the story moved at a steady pace building momentum till a climatic battle, and the over-all layout helped reinforce the ‘old west’ feel. Dialogue between characters was natural and avoided being stilted or dull. If future editions of the Dime Novel’s are as good as this one then I am sure they will be a huge success, a success that will catapult the Deadlands setting into the minds and greedy hands of gamers everywhere. My only hope is that in the following Dime Novels, that we discovery the histories of Velvet and Betty as the trio continues to romp through the west.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Dime Novel 01: Perdition's Daughter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Horror Companion
by Craig D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 12:45:10
If you want to run a horror adventure using the Savage Worlds system, this item is like a pile of golden coins in your coffer!

Every horror element is covered, with a host of new Edges and Hindrances that are perfect for this genre.

There is also a vast collection of gadgets and baneful beasties with which to torment the minds of your players.

Excellent setting rules are included for Doom and Dread, Sanity, Forbidden Lore, Rituals, Signs & Portents, Wards & Binds, and an extensive section on Magick that extends the basic Powers into the horror realms very effectively.

The latter portion of the book is filled with sage advice for the GM on all aspects of how to include horror in the narrative flow of a Savage Worlds game.

Buy it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Horror Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 19:34:41
Not a bad addition to the Deadlands mythos, but I just can't shake the feeling that this was written by someone just going through the motions. This feels more like a generic Halloween adventure template with some Old West/Deadlands paint liberally applied to it. There's none of that old school "holy sh-t!, only in Deadlands!" appeal to this adventure. As a huge Deadlands fan, I really miss that.

I understand this is a free product, but I am a bit bothered by the fact that this seems to be little more than an ad. "The Coachman," a major villain in this adventure, is not even given game stats. Instead, the very last sentence of this adventure reads "The statistics for both the Black Coachman and the hell hounds can be found in the Savage Worlds Horror Companion," followed by a full page ad for that book.

I've been a Deadlands fan from the beginning. I've followed Deadlands through the original and revised classic editions, watched as they ground the game to a halt with the D20 conversion, and I am now essentially being asked to buy even more books which contain largely the same information as the dozens of books I already own. Kind of a slap in the face when what I was told I was getting was a free Deadlands adventure.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Fathoms Figure Flats
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 15:48:26
There are a LOT of figures in this set.

The artwork is very good, and if you want triangle flats, then I recommend this set.

If you are looking for more miniature-style figures, then this will miss the mark.

Also, there are MANY duplicates of the various flats. If you want to print out full pages of one figure flat, this is good. If you only needed a couple, then not so much...

I have mixed emotions over this set, but without a doubt, there is a lot of nice artwork contained in this set.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Horror Companion
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2011 11:27:20
There is a lot of meat here (145 pages). There are new Hindrances and Edges for heroes (though a lot of the horror standards are in the main core book) There are even ways to make monsters into friends (to quote the late, great Joey Ramone) or rather to make monsters into Player Characters. I particularly like their Dhampyr and might yoink it for Unisystem. There are new weapons, not as extensive as the listings in some other games, but still fine, though if you wanted to do "Savage Ghostbusters" or even "Savage Blade the Vampire Hunter" then everything you need is here. There is an obligatory section on sanity. It is better than most, but I still don't like it (AGAIN that is more about me as a former QMHP than as a gamer). There is a good section about Rituals and one about Magick (with a k) that does much in strengthening what I have always perceived as SW's greatest weakness, it's magic system. Lots and lots of great monsters too, much more than I expected. So this is a huge plus. The book falls down a bit at the Game Mastering Section. But in it's defense what it does cover is perfectly suited to a Savage Worlds game. So SW Gamemasters can start here and then move out to other sources to get more info. All in all this was a good purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Horror Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2011 07:36:02
So it's free and it's seasonal. It offers some reasonably forgettable business leading up to (on the last page) the suggestion to buy Savage Worlds Horror Companion to get the stats for the final encounter. If you have that work, you may find this a useful adjunct.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirates of the Spanish Main RPG
by Vic G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2011 06:15:08
Pirates of the Spanish Main RPG, is an awesome book and game. The system rules are simple, easy and fast to learn. It is quite fun to play and to run games in this setting. Who hasn't pretended to be a pirate as a kid, at one time or another? Well here you go, now you can do it as an adult without people looking at you funny! Ok, so they will still look at you a little funny, but it is hard not to when you yell out "ARGH! Avast ye matey! Answer true or I send ye to Davy Jones Locker!" LOL But it is definitively worth the price of the book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of the Spanish Main RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Zombie Pirates Plus [BUNDLE]
by Vic G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2011 06:13:10
I am not much for writing reviews, as I never read many myself preferring instead to make up my own mind. I have read many a review in days gone past, some bad and some good. The good ones got me to buy what, in my opinion, were horrid things that I didn't like at all, or didn't understand in the slightest. Bad ones caused me to not take a second look at, what I would usually later find out, were great and wonderful things. Of course, that was not always the case, but it was the usual and more common case. So I never bothered to write many either. As a result, I never quite learned really how to write a decent review, good or bad.

But in this case I feel I must make sure people know a small fact about this bundled set.

Pirates of the Spanish Main RPG, is an awesome book and game. The system rules are simple, easy and fast to learn. It is quite fun to play and to run games in this setting. Who hasn't pretended to be a pirate as a kid, at one time or another? Well here you go, now you can do it as an adult without people looking at you funny! Ok, so they will still look at you a little funny, but it is hard not to when you yell out "ARGH! Avast ye matey! Answer true or I send ye to Davy Jones Locker!" LOL But it is definitively worth the price of the book outside this Bundle.

Zombie Pirates? Collectors Edition or Regular? Not off this site. Or any other that delivers you a activation code. The codes won't work. The DRM servers are gone and you won't be able to register the game to play it. I got this line in a message to the developers: "I'm afraid the development team for Dust Devil is all gone." Now they also said they are going to work with DTRPG to get my money back. So good there, but it took over a month to get a reply from them. If you bought this and are 'waiting for the DRM servers to go back up' don't. The DRM servers won't be back apparently. How's the game? Beats me. I played the demo and it seemed good, pretty good in fact for a top down shooter style game. I am glad I will get my money back, but an very disappointed and a bit angry that I can't have the game I wanted. I want the game, not my money back. But if I can't have one, I'll take the other. From everything I saw in the demo, it looked like a great game I would have enjoyed a lot for years to come...

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Pirates Plus [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Horror Companion
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/27/2011 00:21:53
WHAT WORKS: The updated Bestiary, the swell new powers and PC Monsters. Yes, it may not be your cup of tea, but I love-love-love-LOVE seeing that in here. The fortune telling rules also look great (and simple), as well as the ritual rules.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The GM section is nothing special, and nothing we haven't read before. The cover is another cheesecake scantily clad cover like the other companions, which is kinda disappointing.

CONCLUSION: Probably my favorite companion thus far, as I felt like the Fantasy Companion kinda lost something from the Toolkits and I like Necessary Evil and its plot point campaign more than I like the Super Powers setting rules and slew of NPCs. This one, on the other hand, felt packed full of goodness and whatever it may have lost from the Toolkit PDFs, it more than made up for with better organization and the monster races. Best companion by far, in my book.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/10/tommys-take-o-
n-savage-worlds-horror.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Horror Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 569 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG