RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
by Joseph V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 14:50:07

Awesome!


Nice work Matt Cutter, anther super cool supplement. Keep them coming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
by Donald T. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 12:28:20

There wasn't enough of the book provided in the free version to get an idea of whether or not it is worth purchasing.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
by Joseph T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 12:17:38

Fantastic supplement for an amazing game! It offers some interesting clarifications and expands on some already impressive systems from the core book. Great fiction and clearly written rules make this an awesome addition to Deadlands



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Coffin Rock
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2015 11:26:12

Coffin Rock is a great entry point for marshals and players into the Deadlands setting. The module is quite well contained and doesn't have you diving headfirst into a sea of Deadlands canon, so you have the opportunity to focus on theme and the town's (Coffin Rock's) individual NPCs and locales. There are of course connections to wider events, but you won't miss out if you happen to forget them during games play. This is the first official adventure for Deadlands Reloaded, and was probably designed as such.


The small town is detailed down to the dwelling, with various events corresponding to the various fear levels for each dwelling noted, along with the town's immediate surroundings. This design gives a large variability on the amount of play you can get out of this 30+ page product, and will work if you want a really quick two session adventure or a mini-campaign. As for the plot, there's nothing trying to be clever, but it won't feel dog-eared cliche either. If your posse succeeds they'll be able to pat themselves on the back and have something to show for it in the papers.


My one gripe is a technical one. Many official products have PDF layering, where you can disable images, txt etc at your own discretion. However this product unfortunately does not support that feature. I like to print and markup documents, and this saves on ink and writing space.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Coffin Rock
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place
by Benjamin E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2015 12:49:14

On its own, this is a good Plot Point Campaign. However for old wolves like myself, there are a few glaring weaknesses.


The Good


They added a good deal to being Harrowed to make it comparable to other arcane backgrounds. The harrowed mischief table also adds a bit of fun for ideas on what to do when the manitou is in charge. Hexslingers are back and have an interesting mechanic as well as two nice powers.
The campaign itself starts out good, putting you straight into the action next to major historical events. The surprise ally is a wonderful idea and very open to customization!


The Bad


However the campaign quickly goes downhill in terms of quality. Without too much spoilers, the heroes survive several encounters with Stone, who this book itself hails as the assassin of the Reckoners. Most unlikely. Surviving the first because, they're not worth the lead is fine, but soon afterwards it seems a bit deus ex. There are also quite a few plot holes and loose ends.
The Savage Tales are also quite shallow, mostly just about quickly killing or even minimally interaction with the PCs.


The Ugly


And here's where the old wolves will howl. While I can see while they are killing off so many old canon characters to make room for new writers, the Weird West is big enough for them all. I can even understand this sort of loss in a campaign dealing with Death, but having it occur off screen with no player interaction enraged me to the point where my cats went scampering at the noise.
The other bit that is very thrown together is the story behind hexslingers. While the idea of them as runecasters could work, the way in which Doc first learned it seemed very half-hearted.


Parting Shots


There's a lot of potential in this book, but also a lot that needs to be re-written. Overall, it's worth the buy and for those who are new to Deadlands probably won't find most of my complaints objectionable. But for those of us who've been around since classic, this is a Hard Place to go, but if you want to keep the story going there's ghost rock here, just needs some work to get to it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
There was an update after this review that alters a few of the points you've mentioned. Thanks! Shane Hensley
ETU: Class Ring
by Roger (. L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/11/2015 03:12:59

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2015/03/11/rezensio-
n-east-texas-university-class-ring-geisterjagd-fuer-anfaenge-
r-savage-worlds/


Das Studentenleben kann sehr hart sein. Neben zahllosen Parties, langweiligen Vorlesungen und endlosen Seminaren stehen regelmäßige Klausuren an, die es zu bestehen gilt.


Als sich die Lerngruppe der Spieler zu einem spätabendlichen Treffen im Lansdale Language Arts Center der East Texas University zusammenfindet, ahnen die Teilnehmer jedoch nicht, in welche Schwierigkeiten sie dies bringt. Wird es den Charakteren gelingen, einen Geist zur letzten Ruhe zu betten? Oder werden Sie ein Unheil entfesseln, dass Ihnen alles abverlangen wird? Und werden sie ihre Klausur bestehen?


Inhalt


Achtung! Die kommende Rezension enthält Spoiler!


Class Ring ist ein klassisches Teenie Horror Abenteuer. Die Lerngruppe der Charaktere erregt die Aufmerksamkeit des Geistes einer jungen Frau. Ein alter Jahrgangsring ist aber das Einzige, was den Charakteren als Anhaltspunkt zur Verfügung steht. Gehen sie diesem Hinweis nach, führt er sie nicht nur zu einem jahrzehntealten Verbrechen, sondern konfrontiert sie mit einem jahrhundertealten Übel, das nicht nur die East Texas University bedroht.


Das erste Kapitel fasst das gesamte Abenteuer in wenigen Seiten zusammen und erklärt den modularen Aufbau der einzelnen Kapitel. Anschließend wird der Einstieg in die Handlung für die Spieler beschrieben. Sie erhalten darüber hinaus noch einige über das Gebäude kursierende Gerüchte. Einige davon taugen selbst als Ansätze für neue Abenteuer, andere sind komplett erfunden. Insgesamt beginnt das Abenteuer sehr vielversprechend, durch die Geschichten rund um das Zentrum und die eingeführten Charaktere erscheint das Umfeld lebendig.


Im zweiten Kapitel werden die Möglichkeiten der Spieler beschrieben, ihre Ermittlungen aufzunehmen. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Übersicht, welche Information sich an welcher Stelle verbirgt. Auch die Nichtspielercharaktere werden beleuchtet. Wer weiß was? Wie ist das grundlegende Verhalten den Spielern gegenüber? An dieser Stelle wird auch auf kampagnenrelevante Persönlichkeiten eingegangen, die für das Abenteuer wichtige Spuren liefern können. Eine Kontaktaufnahme ist aber nicht zwingend notwendig und eine Einführung durch das Abenteuer geschieht nicht. Die für das Abenteuer relevanten Charaktere und Spuren liefern genügend Informationen, das Puzzle zusammenzusetzen.


Haben die Charaktere alle Rätsel gelöst und sich einen Aktionsplan zurechtgelegt, können sie mit der eigentlichen Geisterjagd beginnen. Dieses Kapitel ist das Ausführlichste des Abenteuers. Es enthält eine vollständige Beschreibung des Universitätsgebäudes und unterschiedliche Spukszenen, die von gruseligen Erscheinungen bis hin zu klassischen Poltergeist-Attacken reichen.


Eine Besonderheit von ETU ist, dass die Charaktere Techniken einsetzen können, die auch von realen Geisterjägern eingesetzt werden. Zum Beispiel können sie ein Tonband laufen lassen, um geisterhafte Stimmen aufzunehmen, oder sich mit Fotos und Kameraaufzeichnungen auf Spuren ruheloser Geister zu machen.


Dieses Kapitel steht und fällt mit dem Spielleiter und dem Willen der Gruppe, sich auf das Abenteuer einzulassen. Die dargestellten Situationen können unheimlich intensiv sein und auch die geforderten Furchtproben sind gerade für Savage Worlds Verhältnisse nicht ohne. Ohne Einsatz von allen Seiten kann dieser Teil aber auch sehr schnell zu einer lahmen Schnitzeljagd werden, der praktisch jeder Nervenkitzel fehlt.


Haben sich die Charaktere gegen die Heimsuchung des Language Centers gestemmt und den Leichnam zur Ruhe gebettet, ist der Spuk aber noch nicht vorbei. Die Charaktere haben mit ihren Nachforschungen ein uraltes Übel entfesselt. Ein erfahrener Geisterjäger kontaktiert die Gruppe und sucht ihre Unterstützung, den wortwörtlichen Teufel wieder in die Kiste zu packen. Genretypisch kommt es während eines mächtigen Rituals zum letzten Gefecht, das den Charakteren alles abverlangen wird.


Das Abenteuer schließt mit einem Anhang, der Stat-Blöcke und Handouts enthält. Leider sind die Handouts nicht grafisch aufgehübscht, sondern einfache Textblöcke. Möchte man seinen Spielern also einen authentischen Zeitungsartikel liefern, muss man leider selbst Hand anlegen.


Das Abenteuer ist sehr gut strukturiert und bleibt trotz fehlendem Inhaltsverzeichnis übersichtlich. Um die wichtigsten Punkte der jeweiligen Kapitel zu unterstreichen, schließt jedes Kapitel mit einer Checkliste für den Spielleiter. Diese dient der Übersicht, welche Erkenntnisse aus der Szene gewonnen werden können, und ist gerade für neue Spielleiter ein wertvolles Werkzeug.


Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis


Für den stolzen Preis von USD 19.99 erhält man einen sehr schönen Band mit einem klassischen Teenie-Horror Plot. So hübsch das Cover auch ist, der Inhalt rechtfertigt diesen Preis leider nicht. Selbst der Players Guide des gesamten Settings kostet weniger. Allerdings ist das Abenteuer momentan für knappe sechs Dollar zu haben, was es zu einem echten Schnäppchen macht. Angemessen wäre ein Preis zwischen zehn bis zwölf Dollar.


Erscheinungsbild


Das Abenteuer im PDF-Format weist eine hohe Qualität auf. Das Layout ist ordentlich gewählt, der Seitenhintergrund interessant, ohne das Schriftbild dabei zu stören. Die PDF ist in Layer eingeteilt, um einen druckerfreundlichen Ausdruck ohne Hintergrund zu ermöglichen.


Das generelle Schriftbild ist sehr gut, die Kontraste ordentlich. Ein paar Schreibfehler stören allerdings das Gesamtbild.


Das Abenteuer verfügt über kein Inhaltsverzeichnis und auch Lesezeichen sucht man vergebens.


Das Artwork ist sehr gelungen und die bereit gestellten Lagepläne überzeugen durch eine übersichtliche Gestaltung. Leider sind in den Plänen auch Spielleiterinformationen eingezeichnet, was die Verwendung als Handout ausschließt.


Insgesamt hinterlässt das Abenteuer einen guten Eindruck.


Fazit


Class Ring ist ein spannendes Abenteuer für ETU. Die geschilderten Spuk-Szenarien reichen von leicht verstörend bis absolut angsteinflößend und sorgen bei richtiger Vermittlung unheimliche Spielmomente mit Gänsehautgarantie.


Das Abenteuer verknüpft mitunter aber sehr viele kleine, nicht miteinander in Verbindung stehende Elemente zu einem Ganzen. Der Hauptplot ist interessant, wirkt aber etwas dünn geraten und durch zusätzliche Geistbegegnungen in die Länge gezogen.


Da ein großer Teil des Abenteuers investigativer Natur ist, hängt es auch von der Kreativität der Spieler ab, ob und wann die Charaktere an die jeweiligen Informationen kommen. Die in Deadlands Noir vorgestellten Sonderregeln zur Recherche können sich auch für dieses Abenteuer als nützlich erweisen.


Es existieren auf jeden Fall unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten, sich Zugang zu wichtigen Informationen zu verschaffen. Trotz des modularen Aufbaus des Abenteuers besteht aber gerade für Neulinge die Gefahr, das Abenteuer sehr sequentiell ablaufen zu lassen. Proaktive Charaktere sind für dieses Abenteuer ein Muss. Sind die Spieler nicht an dem Abenteuer und der merkwürdigen Schönheit interessiert, wird es für den Spielleiter schwer, die Spieler wieder einzufangen. Der investigative Einstiegsteil kann, bedingt durch eine fehlende Zeitkomponente sehr schleppend verlaufen, insbesondere wenn die Spieler in Richtungen ermitteln, die nicht beschrieben wurden.


Insgesamt ein gutes Abenteuer, das aber aufgrund der angesprochenen Schwächen zu Längen neigt.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Class Ring
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Fiction Anthology 3: The Good, The Bad, and The Dead
by francesco b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2015 20:02:03

The third in the trilogy, it is the same fun and light reading as the first two. knows what stories it is trying to tell and tells them briskly. this book is a great light read and perfect for Deadlands players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Fiction Anthology 3: The Good, The Bad, and The Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Fiction Anthology 2: For a Few Dead Guys More
by francesco b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2015 20:00:39

One of a trilogy, I loved all three. Pulpy horror steampunk fantasy western. The stories are fun. I would highly recommend this to anyone who plays Deadlands or is interested in any of the above genres.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Fiction Anthology 2: For a Few Dead Guys More
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/17/2015 07:39:02

SIX POINT SUMMARY:




  • I would love to hear the rationale that led to the Decay power costing MORE in this edition, when we found it to be completely worthless in Necessary Evil.




  • Power Stunts are a MUCH needed shot in the arm to this system. I devised a house rule for this a while back, but it never should have needed it. A rigid supers system just cannot accommodate anything more than a specific setting built around that conceit.




  • Going from "maps of supervillain lairs and the Lair power" to "full blown HQ section built by the team" is a massive improvement.




  • Power Tricks, Synergy, Combined Attacks and The Defeat Chart are all great flourishes that improve the supers experience in Savage Worlds.




  • While non of the supervillains included in the book screamed "USE ME!" to me, being able to see how multiple character types are modeled is hugely beneficial in a system like this.



  • Power Levels are another great addition, one that acknowledges that MOST (not all) supers stories don't have steep power creep.


I was not a fan of the original Super Powers Companion. When the subject came up, I resoundingly pushed everyone to Necessary Evil instead. When they announced the second edition of this book, I was underwhelmed.


I was wrong. I wish I'd had this book when I ran Necessary Evil, because my thought process on Savage Worlds as a supers system might be radically different. I will never choose Savage Worlds as my default supers system, but with this book I would no longer dismiss the idea out of hand if my players wanted to do it.


I still want to know who thought Decay was too cheap of a power, or just what I'm missing, because that one boggles my mind.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.-
blogspot.com/2015/02/tommys-take-on-savage-worlds-super.html-



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: Echoes
by Saša P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2015 10:06:53

Short story that should be (by the amount of content) free, as a part of marketing for The Last Parsec products. Can't recommend it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: Echoes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hell on Earth Reloaded: Companion
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2015 06:50:29

SIX POINT SUMMARY:


1) The book is full of things you might want, but don't NEED, making it fill the role of a companion pretty well.


2) If you have struggled with how to handle witches in Deadlands Reloaded (a topic that Deadlands Classic covered but Reloaded has glossed over), witches here can cover that need.


3) Rules for vehicle customization should appease any gearheads in your group, as well as the vehicular combat rules.


4) The random adventure generator is pretty neat, and I'm pretty sure it's unique to this book, not a reskinned generator from another, which has tended to happen a lot.


5) Harrowed have always been kind of a "favored son" in Deadlands, and giving everyone the ability to Count Coup kinda diminished that a bit...but all the extra perks from being a cyborg make that come roaring back (though it is counterbalanced by cyborgs having a extra Directives to follow).


6) There's a lot of recycled art, but that doesn't bother me given how old the original Hell on Earth books are, so the art isn't technically within the same game line, and the using the art to evoke the original line is a nice touch at points.


I would say this is well worth getting for a Hell on Earth Reloaded fan, and might be worth getting in general for ripping stuff out (like Witches or the vehicle bits), if you have the cash to spare and the need to fulfill...but it answers the call of its primary purpose - a companion to Hell on Earth Reloaded - admirably.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadbloge-
ver.blogspot.com/2015/01/tommys-take-on-deadlands-hell-on-ea-
rth.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth Reloaded: Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rippers Companion
by Sabrina S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 11:52:17

Nice Source for the GM. Be careful: If you already have the whole Rippers book this si the second part and not a new one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rippers Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 14:13:54

Perhaps the best "generic" RPG that doesn't use an abstract or "storytelling" system; however it does have a few problems.


Let me say first, Savage Worlds was one of the best gaming investments I have ever made. I really wanted to rate this game a 5; but the "problems" with the book make it a 4, sadly. It is easy to use, yet highly detailed. It is completely customizable without major rules modifications.


In game design, you are forced to make judgment calls and people will not always agree if Tracking is part of the Survival skill or a stand alone one. With SW, the GM uses his "setting rules" to make some of these "splits". My major problem with the game, however, is some fairly "silly" inaccuracies and some holes in basic mechanics.


This may sound very nitpicky; but the rules use a six foot "inch" "to be compatible with 28mm miniatures". Huh!? Even if two companies made the same size 28mm miniatures, 5 feet to would be more correct than six feet. 1/72 miniatures are exactly 1"=6'; but even 25mm miniatures are not 1"=6'. Problem fixed, easy enough, 5 foot or 6 foot squares depending on your miniatures.


The miniature conversion is just an example of some of the mistakes that were made translating "real world" items. Is a 44 Magnum more powerful than a 357 Magnum? Open to debate and may very with setting. At what point does a knife shift from "Improvised Weapon" to "d4 Weapon", the same. When does a Great Sword weigh 12 pounds, cause a -1 to your parry and is usable by a d12 Strength without penalty, only is a very particular setting. While I can "believe" a Maul could way 20 pounds (heavier than a 16 pound sledge hammer), the "core" rule book should not have said "Great Sword". "Barbarian Sword" could be a setting weapon. A Great Sword is real and weighs is at about 8 pounds and is EXCELLENT for parrying.


Again, I am not trying to nitpick. I have lived for years with D&D having a Short Sword, Long Sword and Bastard Sword when a Long Sword is a Bastard Sword; but they have a specific setting for their game. They can call an Arming Sword whatever they want! The core book lists the weight of armor and states that it weighs "much more when not being worn". Many U.S. Soldiers will be grateful that their Flak Jackets are only heavy when they are not wearing them. Well, until they put them on. I understand that listing an "Encumbrance Weight" is different than "actual weight". This is a split the Designer has to make and a "setting" may change it further.


In conclusion, Savage World is a MUST have game. They have even secured the rights to some games that have been "dead" for years and for many of them, conversion to Savage Worlds was a necessary improvement. The mechanics handle man to man and larger battles with the same ease and rules. Character generation is simple; but creates unique characters quickly. The core book is extremely useful in helping create your own campaigns and offers several ready to play.


With only minor adjustments this game could easily become an industry standard. I play in a lot of settings and this will probably become my new game engine for most of them. I just hate making "house rules" where those rules could have been easily addressed in the core book. I don't know if one is available; but it would also be nice to have a Players' Manual with just the character generation and basic rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Creature Feature - La Bruja
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 15:20:05

This is a great add on for the ETU RPG setting. This mini monster book focuses on the Brujah as it applies to ETU. The booklet includes the main write up along with four variations. It also includes four Savage Tales, each one featuring one of these variant Brujah.


The price vs page count is very reasonable and well worth the price. My hope is that we will see more Creature Features for ETU.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Creature Feature - La Bruja
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Last Parsec: Eris Beta-V
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 14:26:52

Eris Beta-V provides a solid solar system based science fiction framework. The detail on each location deliberately leaves a lot of room for GM enhancement, and they all have a hook that's strong enough to make that enhancement easy.


Like most plot-point campaigns, this one is more of a framework to hang player stories on than a fully fleshed out series of adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Eris Beta-V
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 611 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG