RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Sixth Gun: Circle the Wagons
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 18:38:50

Being a fan of the established Comic series, I absolutlely loved how the marriage of the comicbook and the rpg came together. I ran this adventure and my players were instantly hooked into the Sixth Gun world. I would definitley recommend it/

Ron



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sixth Gun: Circle the Wagons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2016 23:55:03

I GMed the first adventure, Maiden Voyage for a total party kill. However, we were new to Savage Worlds, so many mistakes had been made, and the players very much wanted to try again--as soon as possible.

At novice level very few of the set adventures are safe for the characters, but the players can opt to engage in trade, smuggling, pirating, exploring, or--when they get enough money--privateering.

The campaign has a main arc, a secondary arc, a tertiary arc, and there are disconected adventures as well.

I have read through the book once.

  1. The interconnection between the adventures is non-obvious, except for the main arc.
  2. The adventures tend to be starter kits, inviting substantial preparation except for the most experienced GM.
  3. Despite point #2, the author's intention was that characters can wander and discover as they will. Also, see point #1 where the sequence of adventures is non-obvious, and without an overall chart.
  4. Suggested character levels for adventures are only indicated sometimes. Savage Worlds is also a pretty leathal system, so good share of many adventures available should have non-violent, role played solutions. 50 Fathoms is pretty combat oriented. Characters are going to die. Hopefully the players do not induce a TPK, since continuity is crucial to the campaign.

Despite the above, the campaign setting looks like it will be great, and much fun is expected to be had by all.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird War I: The 13th Warrior
by Rich E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2016 00:00:18

This fine adventure places the players in the role of British Royal Air Corps pilots (with Extra observers) in B.E. 2c biplanes flying several sorties against the bosche.

Through the adventure of several scenes, there are dogfights and missions galore (many using the really suitable Chase rules) that give quite a good feeling of WWI aircraft and combat. The Chase rules and new aircraft combat rules in this book really give a feel for piloting skill and positioning, range and poor early machine guns.

Ultimately of course there's romance and a bold rescue mission resulting in the discovery of the truly strange horrors lurking in the Weird Wars.

Being a well laid out, linear adventure, matching it with the pre-generated Airman from the British PreGen character pack, the entire book will last one long session or two short ones (about 4 hours).

Highly recommended. Especially since it keeps you out of the muddy trenches.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird War I: The 13th Warrior
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
by jonEthan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 11:26:56

Another offering another great product! I am very happy with the way the GB came out. It keeps the tremendous fire power and combat ability and reinforces the piolets dependence on the armor. It dosen't mean the piolet is helpless ....it just means he's a specialist. I dig this because it forces the person play a Glitter Boy to be wary when out side of his armor. I mentioned this in a previous post, the combat machine that is the GB remains with a bit more emphesis on working with others. I have 2 players alreay fighting over who's going to play a Glitter Boy first!!!

J.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by jonEthan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 11:17:11

The Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide is an outstanding first run product. I am amazed at how well both systems have been blended togeter and have kept the feel of both. Having read the Guide through I can't say enough good things. The excellence of the Players guide makes me all but drool in expectation for the rest of the line to be released! The art work is flavorful and feeds the imagintion wonderfully. The lay out is clean and easy to follow. The system just screams "make a character and play". The initial character creation steps are staright forward and fun (Personally, creating the character and building a back story has always been half the fun). It lends itself to complex and flavorful character creation which in turn leads to great role-playing. The combat system...works!!! It has blended the Savage mechanic with the Rifts MDC flavor in such a way as it makes sense and works!!! It's fast, simple and neat and is just cool to see in place with the Rifts tech.

Kudos to the team! My 2 favorite sytems blended as one...it's like chocolate and peanut butter all over again!!!

J.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Character Sheet
by Tony M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 02:18:32

I was so impressed by Jeff C's entitlement that I just had see what he was missing.

Nice sheet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by jonathan m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 17:56:41

SEems like what ive been waiting for since 1990. CAnt be sure till the other to core books are out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Erik B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2016 08:44:52

This is a review of the early draft of savage world's rifts player guide so be aware there is a lot of errata to be addressed. That being said this book allows one to use savage world to play over the top characters in the over the top world of rifts earth. The player guide has many of the iconic character classes associated with the Rifts universe. Reading the book provides so many cool characters to play no one will be wanting for an uber awesome character to start applying two fisted justice with. Overall I'm extremely happy with this book. If I had to pick one weak points it would be the equipment section. There is a plethora of body armor, vehicles, weapons, power armor, ect but very few illustrations making everything just a stream of numbers with no personality. Outside of that small caveat, this book is going to be the cause of many gonzo adventures for you and your group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Russell L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 21:12:22

I was so excited when I heard of the RIFTS setting moving to another system, if for nothing else but verriety. Unfortunately I dont think this was the right system for it. What used to be a massive magical tome for castors with spells that could take you to the stars and beyond, make magic scrolls, drop a meteorite on a demon, feed the hungy or drop into the astral plane, was replaced with a pure combat spell book. Palladium combat did need speeding up and it does this well, the mdc (heavy armor) md (heavy weapons) works well, the bennies and shorter ranges not so much. Launching heavy missiles hundreds of miles is gone, but sdc damage actually has a place now. Not a fan of juicers extremely shortened play time to as low as 10 games either, 5 years is a far cry from that. The MARS system is good as it cuts down on the 100 plus occs it covers. Wish the techno Wizards were still full casters, the couple items they make doesn't feel at all the same more of an after thought to making a full class .

To me this take on RIFTS fell short, fast furius and fun is a good tag line but the game seems like its better suited for one shots and short campaigns. When the gm book and the foes book come out my table will be trying it out as a full game. (Little disapointed some of the kick starter stretch goals like the cs field guide wont be in print. )

Minor note that im not a fan of the new art, but thats purely taste, its not skimpy it just not my cup of tea, to clean I suppose.

If you are a fan of RIFTS get the book, maybe you will like it more, its to diffrent for my tastes in flavor, setting, and appearance.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 15:51:34

Savage Rifts: the Tomorrow Legion is the translation you were hoping for, Savage players.

Here we have the classic classes, reimagined for Savage Worlds, in all thier glory. Combat Cyborg, Headhunter, Burster, Ley Line Walker, they are all here. The only missing classes from the Classic Rifts book (Sorry Ultimate Rifts fans, no Fusionists or other Ultimate classes.) is the Summoner. Everyone else is here, translated into the Savage Worlds engine.

MDC is handled with the Heavy Weapons rules in the core Savage Worlds rules. In short, much like in Rifts, if you dont deal MDC then you can not harm that item/armor/creature. Aside from that the damage code is the same, so a missle that deals 6d6 MDC does 6d6 to anything, even MDC structures.

With the Savage Rules intigrated, combat is faster and deadlier, as there is not hundreds of points common in Rifts and Palladium games. With MD weapons being much less common, and harder to get, a lot of things just boince off MDC favored armors and creatures until it something MD comes to bear, then things get real and get real FAST. The default setting also discourages letting heros get killed by a bad roll, so while getting incapacitated is bad its not as bad as it could be.

The setting rules also support going to 11 on the dial, which can be very cool when your trying to play the mage in a group of cyborgs and glitter boys. Trappings have some amazing new options, special shout out to the Mystic only trapping that lets them bypass armor(!!!!) and makes the class go from a neat idea to as powerful an option as the Mind Melter and Cyber Knight,

I am currently using the Kickstarter version of the book, so as corrections are made and typo's defeated the copy will get better but I have found that this is a very worthy conversion that keeps the spriit of the crazynes of Rifts and the faster nature of Savage Worlds without insulting its roots. There will be, no doubt, fans of both types of games but this is an amazing conversion, well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2016 03:52:31

I wish I had known and had money to throw at this Kickstarter. It seems the publisher has more regard for the Kickstarter backers than us regular consumers. I understand being nice to the backers, but what about the rest of us? The backers got their pdfs two weeks ago and it still isn't available to us peasants. Why? I've been a Rifts fan from day one and a Savage World from Deadlands first ed. But, between the way this Kickstarter was handled and Pinnacle's seeming disregard for regular fans, I don't know if I can buy or recommend the finished product (if/when the rest of us are deemed worthy to see it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Glitter Boy Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Making Of 3
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 15:23:44

The Savage Rifts previews are getting me really excited about the upcoming product. The third 'Making of' was especially informative, discussing the thoughts behind what period of time to set the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Making Of 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Making Of
by Remi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2016 00:48:26

Loved the insight into the reimagining of Rifts using the Savage Worlds game system. To Shannon who also wrote a review, the heavy armor/weapon mechanic haven't changed. Pinnacle just changed the name to MDC to give it that Rifts flavour. Otherwise, it functions exactly like the Savage Worlds core rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Making Of
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Rifts: Making Of
by Shannon J B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2016 20:29:15

Too bad you didnt stay with the SW Heavy Weapons/Heavy Armor, I would have purchased SW Rifts for sure.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Core
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 12:41:16

A Savage Worlds fairly by -the-numbers science fiction setting with the usual assortment of aliens,hyper ftl spaceships,robots and all that. The deaders are one example-worms that attach themselves to the recently deceased and use the bodies in a parasitic /symbiotic manner. Support includes short fiction and the one story I read involved a Deader who avenges its host's recent death so a bit too like Dax from Deep Space Nine.

I wonder whether the pitcher has been to this well too many times



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 660 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG