RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: Echoes
by Saša P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2015 10:06:53

Short story that should be (by the amount of content) free, as a part of marketing for The Last Parsec products. Can't recommend it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wendigo Tales: The Last Parsec: Echoes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hell on Earth Reloaded: Companion
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2015 06:50:29

SIX POINT SUMMARY:


1) The book is full of things you might want, but don't NEED, making it fill the role of a companion pretty well.


2) If you have struggled with how to handle witches in Deadlands Reloaded (a topic that Deadlands Classic covered but Reloaded has glossed over), witches here can cover that need.


3) Rules for vehicle customization should appease any gearheads in your group, as well as the vehicular combat rules.


4) The random adventure generator is pretty neat, and I'm pretty sure it's unique to this book, not a reskinned generator from another, which has tended to happen a lot.


5) Harrowed have always been kind of a "favored son" in Deadlands, and giving everyone the ability to Count Coup kinda diminished that a bit...but all the extra perks from being a cyborg make that come roaring back (though it is counterbalanced by cyborgs having a extra Directives to follow).


6) There's a lot of recycled art, but that doesn't bother me given how old the original Hell on Earth books are, so the art isn't technically within the same game line, and the using the art to evoke the original line is a nice touch at points.


I would say this is well worth getting for a Hell on Earth Reloaded fan, and might be worth getting in general for ripping stuff out (like Witches or the vehicle bits), if you have the cash to spare and the need to fulfill...but it answers the call of its primary purpose - a companion to Hell on Earth Reloaded - admirably.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadbloge-
ver.blogspot.com/2015/01/tommys-take-on-deadlands-hell-on-ea-
rth.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth Reloaded: Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rippers Companion
by Sabrina S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 11:52:17

Nice Source for the GM. Be careful: If you already have the whole Rippers book this si the second part and not a new one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rippers Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 14:13:54

Perhaps the best "generic" RPG that doesn't use an abstract or "storytelling" system; however it does have a few problems.


Let me say first, Savage Worlds was one of the best gaming investments I have ever made. I really wanted to rate this game a 5; but the "problems" with the book make it a 4, sadly. It is easy to use, yet highly detailed. It is completely customizable without major rules modifications.


In game design, you are forced to make judgment calls and people will not always agree if Tracking is part of the Survival skill or a stand alone one. With SW, the GM uses his "setting rules" to make some of these "splits". My major problem with the game, however, is some fairly "silly" inaccuracies and some holes in basic mechanics.


This may sound very nitpicky; but the rules use a six foot "inch" "to be compatible with 28mm miniatures". Huh!? Even if two companies made the same size 28mm miniatures, 5 feet to would be more correct than six feet. 1/72 miniatures are exactly 1"=6'; but even 25mm miniatures are not 1"=6'. Problem fixed, easy enough, 5 foot or 6 foot squares depending on your miniatures.


The miniature conversion is just an example of some of the mistakes that were made translating "real world" items. Is a 44 Magnum more powerful than a 357 Magnum? Open to debate and may very with setting. At what point does a knife shift from "Improvised Weapon" to "d4 Weapon", the same. When does a Great Sword weigh 12 pounds, cause a -1 to your parry and is usable by a d12 Strength without penalty, only is a very particular setting. While I can "believe" a Maul could way 20 pounds (heavier than a 16 pound sledge hammer), the "core" rule book should not have said "Great Sword". "Barbarian Sword" could be a setting weapon. A Great Sword is real and weighs is at about 8 pounds and is EXCELLENT for parrying.


Again, I am not trying to nitpick. I have lived for years with D&D having a Short Sword, Long Sword and Bastard Sword when a Long Sword is a Bastard Sword; but they have a specific setting for their game. They can call an Arming Sword whatever they want! The core book lists the weight of armor and states that it weighs "much more when not being worn". Many U.S. Soldiers will be grateful that their Flak Jackets are only heavy when they are not wearing them. Well, until they put them on. I understand that listing an "Encumbrance Weight" is different than "actual weight". This is a split the Designer has to make and a "setting" may change it further.


In conclusion, Savage World is a MUST have game. They have even secured the rights to some games that have been "dead" for years and for many of them, conversion to Savage Worlds was a necessary improvement. The mechanics handle man to man and larger battles with the same ease and rules. Character generation is simple; but creates unique characters quickly. The core book is extremely useful in helping create your own campaigns and offers several ready to play.


With only minor adjustments this game could easily become an industry standard. I play in a lot of settings and this will probably become my new game engine for most of them. I just hate making "house rules" where those rules could have been easily addressed in the core book. I don't know if one is available; but it would also be nice to have a Players' Manual with just the character generation and basic rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Creature Feature - La Bruja
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 15:20:05

This is a great add on for the ETU RPG setting. This mini monster book focuses on the Brujah as it applies to ETU. The booklet includes the main write up along with four variations. It also includes four Savage Tales, each one featuring one of these variant Brujah.


The price vs page count is very reasonable and well worth the price. My hope is that we will see more Creature Features for ETU.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Creature Feature - La Bruja
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Last Parsec: Eris Beta-V
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 14:26:52

Eris Beta-V provides a solid solar system based science fiction framework. The detail on each location deliberately leaves a lot of room for GM enhancement, and they all have a hook that's strong enough to make that enhancement easy.


Like most plot-point campaigns, this one is more of a framework to hang player stories on than a fully fleshed out series of adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Eris Beta-V
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Last Parsec: Archetypes
by Carlos M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2014 14:13:39

Great product, easy to use, good characters for quick plays or to use as npcs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space 1889: Red Sands
by Genford B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2014 12:26:29

I got to play Space 1889: Red Sands for the first time at Mace-Con recently. It was also my first Savage Worlds game. As someone unfamiliar with the setting, it was not necessarily the most newbie friendly setting, but it was extremely fun and full of campy steampunk goodness. If you are at all into steampunk/Victorian sci-fi or Savage Worlds, you will no doubt enjoy Space 1889.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space 1889: Red Sands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Redneckromancer
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2014 05:44:45

The East Texas University material is chock full of good ideas for a more small town campaign. Redneckromancer was my favorite if for no other reason than the name. Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Redneckromancer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Redneckromancer
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2014 14:02:45

Used this as a last minute scenario for my Call of Cthulhu game where 2 of my players didn't show. Good for a side trek-it is basically a 2 page description; taking my remaining 2 investigators about 30-45 minutes to run thru (Your group may or may not take longer, depending if your group is larger than 2). I also added some interesting details to the module (ie an alter in Jimmy's trailer, to there being a Moonshine still out by his kitchen window).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Noir GM Screen Inserts
by Dustin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 18:57:08

I currently run a Deadlands: Noir game on roll20


These inserts are a god-sent for that game as they provide a quick reference to material I am other wise unsure of (such as patter and interrogation rules).


While they are over priced (the rules are in the book) I found them useful in keeping pace with my players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Noir GM Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Weird Wars Rome
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 13:20:02

Very satisfied. I started Weird Wars with Pinnacles Weird War II and have almost all the modules and variants. What made me gun shy was when Savage Worlds took over. Quite frankly they have less style and chrome in their World War II meets AD&D style of gaming.
That being said I was pleasantly surprised with their core Roman rules and Celtic, Egyptian, and Germanic Roman modules. The detail is good and historically accurate. AD&D Rome with magic and undead but with nice historical flavor. Highly reccommended by myself and the Samos's Swordsmen Chapter of the Blade & Blaster Gaming Society



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird Wars Rome
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds GM Screen Inserts
by Francisco J. B. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2014 15:06:45

No weapon or edge/hidrances tables, quit only a bunch of illustrations.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds GM Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: East Texas University
by Joseph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 15:23:34

ETU is amazing game with so much random stuff to build your story & campus on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: East Texas University
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Clayton M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 12:22:40

Great suplement! It expands wonderfully on the base rules and allows for fast, easy super hero games. I used it to a Green Lantern session for my friends and it went over very well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 632 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG