RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2015 16:07:31

This is a fantastic game that has stood the test of time through its various iterations. The Weird West just keeps getting cooler and cooler.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2015 16:04:56

This is a great product, full of story and everything that makes Deadlands an interesting setting. My gaming group easily stretched this into two gaming sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
by marcel e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2015 09:12:24

A fun Deadlands module, love the section on the Harrowed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ETU: Redneckromancer
by Daniel G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2015 12:48:16

Great adventure very clever. I have not ran it yet but I want to and it actually made me want to purchase the East Texas University source book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: Redneckromancer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lankhmar: Archetypes
by Franz A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2015 11:30:00

These are the same pregens found in 2015 Test Drive Rules (description and pictures included) http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/157207/Savage-Worlds-Test-Drive-2015?term=test+drive

I suggest you to get those for free and save the money instead of this redundant product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Lankhmar: Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Necessary Evil: Alien Update
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2015 20:02:21

The Alien Update was a great Sourcebook for use with the Necessary Evil game. The additional details about the races, technology and personalities are a very useful addition to the World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil: Alien Update
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Noir: The Case of the Jumbo Shrimp
by Joel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2015 12:54:52

The story here is reasonably good and interesting, the problem I have with this is that there is as little ambiance as possible. The reason you purchase a pre-made module is probably because you are new to the system. You read it through learn how the characters speak, learn how the locations are described get a feel for the genre and the ambiance of the game. This is absolutely not present. Rather than quoting the pitch from the fellow hiring the group there is a guideline for the type of person that the employer is as well as what his goals are. Rather than describing what the locations that the group explores are it instead tells you what information they can gather there. If this were a $.99 one pager, I would be satisfied with an overview but since this is, at least theoretically, a 46 page "complete" adventure I would think that some descriptive text would be a minimum. Instead I find myself writing more than a page of description for every page of the module. If I knew this is what I was purchasing, I would have saved the money and wrote my own from scratch. All of that said, the maps are good, the art is good, the module is well laid out and the story idea is good. Two stars, this is an excellent story idea but not a complete mission.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Noir: The Case of the Jumbo Shrimp
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Noir: The Tenement Men
by Joel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2015 12:13:02

Though this is listed as a game supplement, do not get suckered in. This is a short story, it has no gaming connection at all.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Noir: The Tenement Men
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands: One Shot
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2015 06:57:10

While I was aware of the Doomtown CCG and the Deadlands RPG back in the '90's this is my first product that I have purchased in the setting. As my introduction into the world it is both a satisfying comic and satisfying world guide. My desire to read more comics in the setting and to try the game is evidence of its' successful execution.

The art is good, though some of the characters do look a like. The tone is enhanced by both the moodiness and vibrancy of the colors. The Horror and Western genres are simultaneously showcased by art that is both creepy and full of action. I very rarely find two different genres blended as seamlessly as they are here.

From a technical standpoint the scan is decent but not without flaws. Some pages have white edges while others do not. There are some dialog boxes that are clipped by the edge of the page. It's a reasonable recreation of the original comic.

Overall, I am excited about looking further into the setting and catalog.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: One Shot
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds: Test Drive 2015
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2015 21:40:10

a first class way to introduce the game system. It gives all the basic rules, only needing the core rule book to add advanced and option. And individual world books to do the individual campaign. The art is a step up from the core book as more of it is grungy looking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds: Test Drive 2015
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hell on Earth Reloaded
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/23/2015 04:14:59

The cover art, which depicts a less-than-thrilled Templar getting religious with what I assume to be Bloats (thought they could be one of the other harrowing horrors of HoE), is indicative of what readers and gamers can expect inside the covers. The two-column layout looks like it is etched out on layers of metal (street signs, grating, and so forth). I like that the former street signs are put to the good use of chapter headers (every other one is shot up for good measure).

The font is typical for a Savage World book, though some variations exists for block toppers and icons (nuclear symbols are used for Wild Cards). The artwork feels like it comes from a multitude of inspirations. I see hints of video games like Fallout and Bioshock, sci-fi flashbacks from pulp comics, and more. These are great things to mesh together and it relates to a fantastic looking book.

For those players who only read the section of the book they are supposed to, HoE gives them 70 pages against the usual 30-40 pages. There is a lot of material for players though beyond just their character options. There are devices and weapons to consider, the known troubles of various areas of America (for creating a good backstory), and so on. The Marshal lucks out though because their half of the book reveals a great many secrets about the ripped-up world.

I’ve always appreciated the writing on the main Savage Lines books. HoE obviously received much support in its creation because the end result is excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth Reloaded
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Marshal's Handbook
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2015 13:25:30

This is a very handy guide for Marshals covering the game master's side of Deadlands newest iteration (well, as much as you can call it new at this point). Once again, this game brings so much story to the table it is hard not to have a good time. This particular book is a great resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Marshal's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lankhmar: Savage Tales of the Thieves Guild
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/15/2015 04:23:20

Lankhmar: Savage Tales of the Thieves Guild is one of the best city adventure supplements I've read, and can be used in any high-magic city. I think my only criticism of the adventures is that they don't expose the gamemaster or players to anything particularly unique to Lankhmar or Nehwon. Still, not only does the supplement have a good variety of tales, but the adventures should give a gamemaster an idea of how to use a player's guild to hook the party into a scenario, as well as what subterfuge various city factions can engage in -- with the player characters as pawns and peripherals. Several of the adventures include additional mechanics for various thief and city situations (eg. heists, demagoguery). The supplement itself is about one-hundred pages long, with fourteen scenarios. I liked three of them in particular.

The Crimson Barge: The supplement calls The Crimson Barge a "sandbox". Specifically, the Thieve's Guild has declared the luxury ship's maiden voyage fair game to guild and non-guild thieves, as an demonstration to its owner of how valuable the guild's "protection" would be. The adventure presents several very colorful characters -- including other thieves -- leaving the players to plot and plan their way to riches, mischief, or even hobnobbing with nobles and merchants. A rather unfortunate event occurs (hint: maybe the ship's owner should have sailed the ship on a test run), adding a bit of chaos to the players' plans. As a one-shot scenario, though, a game master may have the players play the colorful NPC's instead of their own characters. Also, this scenario is suitable for players as nobles and mercenaries who have been hired for the night. Depending on the demands of his players, a gamemaster may need a fair amount of preparation, or can improvise much of the adventure.

Hammon Heist: More than an adventure, this scenario contains useful rules, guidelines, and advice to a GM running a heist scenario, where the characters gather information to break into a stronghold, as well as the actual break-in -- and things that can go wrong! Additional rules add the "Heist Benny" to reflect how the characters may be prepared in ways the players overlooked (eg. spend a Heist Benny to have some meat to distract the guard gods!). The scenario itself has a magical McGuffin that's an amusing plot twist in its own right.

Scrolls of Eximir: Less of a Guild assignment than an adventure, Scrolls has the players encountering Eximir, a slightly batty old wizard who thinks he's already hired the party to retrieve a set of scrolls from his own temporality-displaced wizard's tower. The tower consists of several rather creative and dangerous encounters, implicitly encouraging the gamemaster to add his own strange ideas to the adventures. Amusingly, Eximir comes off as a bit scatty, yet is as powerful as Sheelba and Ningauble. He should make an amusing (if unwanted) patron!

The adventures are remarkably concise -- no encounter padding here -- but the limitation of space means many of the adventures are pretty linear. Players may need to spend bennies to succeed in a roll or the adventure halts. The gamemaster should expect to improvise to guide the players back to the adventure, or develop any alternate plans the players come up with.

Often, an adventure will have the players make a roll to see if they recall a rumor or other important streetwise information. One suggestion for these adventures is that, instead of this, the gamemaster prepares rumors or whatnot during one adventure that will be useful in another. The PDF format of the book allows a gamemaster to print out whatever pages have a rumors, cut out this information, glue them to index cards, and hand them out during the campaign.

Also, just for fun, if some players are running late, the gamemaster can roleplay out a prologue. Players act out the Guild higher-ups deciding among their guild members whom to select for a task. They eventually settle on the player characters (particularly those associated with the players who are late), citing notable qualities such as "expendable", "owes me money", and "stingy with donations to private funds".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lankhmar: Savage Tales of the Thieves Guild
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lankhmar: City of Thieves
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/15/2015 04:21:53

Lankhmar: City of Thieves is a 98-page supplement for the Savage Rules game system, adding new rules for Lankhmar roleplaying, as well as an overview of the city Lankhmar and the world of Newhon. The supplement includes additional rules for general city adventuring. The source material can be changed to suit the GM's needs.

Introduction: The introductory chapter provides an overview of Fritz Leiber's Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser series.

Characters: This chapter starts off with a description of the archetypes in the City of Lankhmar, most of which, of course, can be used in any large city (eg. bandit, explorer, guard, noble). The chapter then reviews character generation, with race, new hinderances, and new edges. Races are limited to humans, ghouls, and ratlings, with humans culturally divided into Lankhmar, Kleshite, Northerner, and Mingol. Most of the new hinderances and edges can also be used in generic fantasy roleplaying.

Gear: This chapter begins with short rules for selling "acquired" goods (hint: take Streetwise), then goes into detail of various adventurer's equipment, weapons, tavern costs, and vehicles. This section works quite well for city-based generic fantasy.

Setting Rules: These rule modifications reflect Lankhmar stories, but can also be used for more heroic and thief-based adventuring. Characters can be knocked unconscious, recover wounds faster, and even have bonuses for eschewing armor. Rules are provided for shadowing other characters. Also, an overview of Guilds is discussed.

Sorcery: Lankhmar's Black, White, and Elemental magic system is entirely different from the conventional generic fantasy magic of Savage Worlds. This chapter, then, provides a detailed, alternate magic ruleset to reflect the magic in Fritz Leiber's stories. Savage World players who want to use magic should be aware of these rules changes (including the absence of offensive magic).

Adventures: LCoT comes with two city adventures. While they show the callousness of Lankhmar towards human life, these adventures could have just as easily taken place in any large city. I didn't get an impression of how these adventures were uniquely Lankhmar.

Gazetteer and Nehwon: Both of these sections provide an overview of the city Lankhmar and the geography of Nehwon, with the Gazetteer being player knowledge, and Nehwon for the GM. Details will be needed to be fleshed out by the GM.

Heroes and Villains: Savage World stats for Fafard and the Gray Mouser, at various stages of their lives, are provided, as well as NPC stats for various city archetypes, and Newhon races. Fafard and Gray Mouser's patrons, Ningauble of the Seven Eyes, and Sheelba of the Eyeless face, are described. (No stats are provided as befits their alien and strange natures.)

Conclusion: Lankhmar: City of Thieves does a good job summarizing Lankhmar for Savage Worlds play, as well as providing rules and source material supplements for any large city. The source material are conventional high-level descriptons, which rules changes are specific. If the GM has a copy of this supplement, and, for whatever reason, doesn't wish to adhere to the Newhon world (eg. wishes to use a different magic system), the material can be easily adapted to their needs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lankhmar: City of Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lankhmar: Savage Foes of Nehwon
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2015 17:53:53

This is an excellent product for any Savage Worlds GM hoping to run a campaign in Lankhmar. After going through the list of NPC "friends and foes" I actually changed when my campaign was running to before Swords of Lankhmar so that I could use more of the NPC's and creatures detailed in the product as I had forgotten so many of them over the years since I had read the books (which I'm now planning on re-reading). The Bestiary is also extremely helpful and well done and offers some great challenges to players.

One thing that I found very interesting and fun was the Adventure Generator - with a few die rolls and a bit of quick writing it was possible to easily make some simple adventures for my group that really had that 'Lankhmar' feel to them. It also opened some great opportunities for the players to meet more of the denizens of the city and even leave it.

I highly recommend this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lankhmar: Savage Foes of Nehwon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 666 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG