RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2014 00:44:06

at least 30% of this book is just reprints of the supers book. very few new abilites or rules. The setting is nice, but the reprinting of stuff from the supers book is NOT ok.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Texter
by Jason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 12:32:38

This concept is interesting and for the most part works at the beginning. The way the story is told through the texting seems fairly natural and not forced and the story unfolds in an intriguing way. However, the mystery of what is happening is fairly transparent early on even if the reason is covered up for a little while. But that too becomes fairly obvious so that when the full scope of the event that triggers what is happening in this story is revealed it isn't that amazing. Plus, the wrap up seems completely unrealistic considering how much effort and thought went into to whole event happening in this story that a simple foolish mistake as a single text undoes everything. This may not make sense but I'm trying not to give spoilers. In the end, for a buck it is worth reading to see how this concept is handled.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Texter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Texter
by Ria H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2014 23:08:27

This is a really quick read, but it's just the right length, I think. I like the format; the texts seem natural, right down to cursing the autocorrect and that one person who insists on abbreviating everything. I really liked the way that as the texts progressed, you got a sense of what was going on underneath it all. In a way, I thought the implications were actually better than the reveal at the end, and the ending did seem a little sudden to me. It did all fit together really well, so I might just be nitpicking.


All in all, excellent story, quick read, and I highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 13:21:45

Admittedly, anything Savage Worlds doesn't have to try too hard to make me happy.


This companion is a little light in the edges / hindrances / powers segment, but great in the pregen-npc's, mechanics, world creation, and creative-encouragement departments.


If you are doing something Sci-Fi with your campaign, having this companion allows you to make it more believable, more alive, and generally more thought-out than it may have been otherwise.


Great work, thanks, team!


SKS



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 08:58:34

excellent rulebook for those wanting some comic book style action for Savage Worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by Mike W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:13:47

Tremendously useful and crammed with information from building races to starships to Star system generation. Given the player friendliness of the Savage Worlds system this was a long overdue supplement that is adaptable to any campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Murder on the Hellstromme Express
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/03/2014 00:36:39

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Murder on the Hellstromme Express is packed in with the Deadlands Reloaded GM screen, but is also available separately in PDF. It is perfectly suitable for use as an introductory adventure, but can also be dropped into any campaign in which the posse has a need to take jobs for money. The adventure is designed to run from Chicago to Dodge City, with the PCs serving as escorts for a Mad Scientist on a train full of 'em, each trying to impress a Hellstromme Industries auditor and earn points for the big Kansas Scientific Symposium. Wackiness ensues as the agendas of the various scientists bubble to the forefront, intersecting with a raid by a vicious Indian War Party. Assuming everyone makes it to the Symposium itself intact, one of the scientists has a final surprise for the posse...and the amount of help they have in that final battle relates directly to how well they managed the personalities on the train.


WHAT WORKS: All of the scientists on the train are interesting and were a blast to play as GM. Having the posse's interaction with them factor into the end game was a great touch. It makes for a good introductory adventure due to the mundane beginnings that help introduce more arcane elements of the setting.


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Might not be enough action for some posse members in the early going. When I ran it, I did have one player get very restless waiting on a fight. It is, literally, a railroady adventure, what with most of it taking place on a train.


CONCLUSION: I wouldn't recommend buying the PDF unless you are completely unable to find the GM screen. Buy that and take this as the extra included with it instead. When I ran the adventure, the mad scientists thoroughly exhausted my players, and - as noted above - one of them got really restless with the lack of action, though that was due in part to the posse averting one issue with intimidation, and another through the well timed use of explosives. Definitely recommended if you need an excuse to get your PCs to Dodge City, or if you just want to show off the mad science in the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Murder on the Hellstromme Express
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2014 12:44:25

The price was fine. The changes from the first edition though were pretty small and I didn't see any that made me want to adopt them immediately.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
by Jason F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:34:34

Die-hard, (ancient) Dungeons and Dragons 2nd Edition fanatic here.


That said, I bought and learned (and taught my preteen children) Cubicle Seven's Doctor Who relatively simplistic RPG in 2013 . Savage Worlds is incredibly similar to this mechanism (enough to where I am assuming at this point that Cubicle Seven was HEAVILY influenced by this product, but I could be wrong), and once I obtain their "Space 1889" (of which I have been a huge fan for over 25 years), I plan on spreading the good word, so to speak.


I believe that this system is a must-have for RPG aficionados, especially for those who are looking for a rules system that provides an incredible range of flexibility for the Game Master - story telling versus rules lawyering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe: Explorer's Edition
by Heath D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 17:17:11

Having already owned the hard copy of this, I saw the sale you had and snapped up a digital copy for use on my chrome book where I use roll20.net to manage my campaigns. Ever since a friend of mine introduced me to this system, I have been hooked. I now use this system pretty much exclusively.


The PDF quality is good. No scanning errors detected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2014 00:47:17

I've always had a thing for Supers games. Because of that, when I heard that Savage Worlds was coming out with a new Super Powers Companion for the latest edition of Savage Worlds, I had to check it out.


My experience with superhero systems have ranged from the extremely detailed with the HERO system, to more narrative rulesets like the recent Marvel Heroic Roleplaying game. Unfortunately with my current state of life as being more busy with work than ever before, getting a rule system that will deliver the kind of granularity I was used to without the time investment necessary for HERO was hard to find.


Thankfully PEG has managed to knock this one right out of the park. The Super Powers companion is a lean volume of less than a hundred pages, but one that manages to stuff nearly everything you need into it.


The Super Powers Companion establishes four different levels of power for a campaign, ranging from Pulp Heroes to Cosmic level, with each of the campaign tiers giving a pool of Power Points which the players can spend to buy their powers. There is a power limit of 1/3rd of the total Power Points per campaign that can be applied to each power.


New Hindrances and Edges are also introduced, covering a wide array of superhero tropes from Alien Form to the ever popular Dependent.


One of the more interesting things introduced is a Defeat Table, where the fate of a fallen hero or villain is randomized in an amusing table that covers a wide range of comic book comebacks (and changes) to the character.


The next section details the various gear available for the super powered sort. Ranging from the ubiquitous grapnel gun to more interesting weapons, there's enough here to keep a game going without it devolving to hours spend shopping for gear.


The Powers Construction System is perhaps the very meat of the book, and details how players can put together their character's powers. The system itself is relatively painless, with picking a base powers and applying various modifiers that will either increase or decrease the power point cost.


The complexity of the powers you can generate are admittedly fairly good, and this powers creation set can easily match Mutants and Masterminds in terms of ease of use.


The last creation section of the book involves the building of HQs, including a few examples that can be used by the GM when he needs something right away.


Nearly a good half of the book is taken up by a large rogues gallery for all of the power levels discussed earlier in the book. The villains all have a full treatment, with a short biography and their statistics and powers listed in an easy to use fashion. Definitely a plus for a busy GM like myself.



PEG is one of the few companies that can do no wrong, and their latest offering of the Super Powers Companion lives up to that reputation. Creative, useful and fun, this supplement is a must have for GMs looking for a rules-medium supers game that's easy to get up and running with a minimum of GM prep time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds: Test Drive 2012
by Joel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 16:55:35

Ironically, I was in the process of outlining an adventure inspired by "The Most Dangerous Game" when I happened upon this nicely designed gem. It's got a good back story, well drawn characters, and enough action and mystery to engage even the most jaded player. Very little actual plan time on my part as a GM, but with plenty of room for expansion. My little group had great fun with it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds: Test Drive 2012
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Dime Novel 01: Perdition's Daughter
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2014 19:13:25

I liked it and was disappointed at the same time. I was looking for a supernatural western to read when this series popped up. We are given ex-Union soldier and now gun-slinger, Ronan Lynch, who is hired, along with others, to find a man’s son who has disappeared to join a church-cult run by a suspected witch.


Ronan is killed only to reappear out of nowhere at the conclusion of the story with no explanation. The final line being: “to be continued.” Yes, it is a hook to buy the next in the series but I feel cheated in a way. I know nothing more about how Ronan becomes the feared supernatural bounty hunter badass he was advertised to be. I signed up expecting to find out this guy’s origin, and if I like what I read to continue on with his further adventures. What I get his Ronan getting killed off before anything even remotely “supernatural” happens. The bulk of the story continues about his companions on a grand adventure where they eventually find the son and take down the witch.


I signed on to read about Ronan so I feel a bit cheated by having to buy another installment to find out what happened to him and how he returned from the dead.


All supernatural aspects aside, the story is well written with interesting characters—just not enough about one particular character.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Dime Novel 01: Perdition's Daughter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Figures: Horrors of the Weird West
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/03/2014 01:29:02

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: The companion product to Cardstock Cowboys, this 8 page document covers pretty much everything from Rascals, Varmints & Critters 1 & 2, including nosferatu, Dracula, demons, the five unique Hangin' Judges, automatons, Paul Bunyan, Pecos Bill, John Henry and more.


WHAT WORKS: A really good selection, covering the bulk of the remaining official monsters.


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The same limitations of being designed for a print product hinder the PDF of this as well. Running Night Train and want a legion of Nosferatu? Get ready to print page 1 - including trade dress that covers a quarter of the page, as well as a bunch of creatures you don't have an immediate use for - over and over again. You're also going to get a lot of dead space on some of the pages, which is doubly annoying when it's your ink and paper going into printing these.


CONCLUSION: A more specialized selection than the first set, combined with a sub optimal set-up for home printing, and my recommendation for this set is even more lukewarm than for Cardstock Cowboys. Right now, this is as good as it gets for Deadlands fans, but I would love to have newer sets that took advantage of the advances in technology. It wasn't a waste of money, but it wasn't my wisest purchase, either.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Horrors of the Weird West
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/03/2014 01:28:34

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: This is a printable PDF ($7.49) for figure flats covering most of the major Deadlands needs: Gunslingers, Texas Rangers, Men in Black Dusters, Blessed, Hucksters, Natives of all stripes, shysters, bandits, desperadoes, cultists, most of the previous also on horseback, walkin' dead, Hangin' Judges, wendigos, devil bats, Los Diablos, Mojave Rattlers and even Maze Dragons.


WHAT WORKS: This'll cover most of your Deadlands stand-ups needs. One of the biggest pains we've had is one PC that is a Native who has been Deputized...we managed to find a standup that did a pretty decent impression of him as well. It's cool getting different varieties of the same archetypes. Especially so I don't have to resort to, say, using Necessary Evil figure flats in a Deadlands game. You get 16 PAGES of printable flats, of various sizes as needed (the Prairie Ticks are tiny...the Maze Dragons are massive).


WHAT DOESN'T WORK: This was originally a print product, and the first page has a large trade dress/sidebar that you can't work around if you want to print that first page off. A lot of the art is good, but a bit too small, especially with the color, and it loses something. I've seen smaller images on printable figures that were just line art that printed better because of it. No Harrowed.


CONCLUSION: A really good purchase for a Deadlands fan that uses minis but needs something cheap and easy to fill up his battlefields (i.e. me). I would love a more fully featured product with clearer art and customized printing (like being able to select the figures you want to print off, instead of printing off three separate pages to get to the three figures my players were using, as I had to). I probably would have LOVED this in print, but working with a cheap printer, it is a less than optimal product...still a good purchase, just not a GREAT one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Figures: Cardstock Cowboys Starter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 611 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG