RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Headless Hydra Clip Art 2
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2013 12:23:59
Fantastic art. Dead Goblin games is glad to have included this in our latest module, "The Slaver Caves of Dorden". Well done..this is an awesome illustration.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Headless Hydra Clip Art 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] The Wasting of Duny Slough
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2013 08:56:31
The first installment of Headless Hydra Games' Viridian Legacy AP for the Mor Aldenn campaign setting is 40 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 36 pages of content, so let's check this out!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

All right, still here? The pdf kicks off rather interestingly, with a narrative that gives one great insight into the last days of Huansol, one of the legendary Exalted Champions, a legendary adventuring group that once were the celebrated protectors and scions of the City of Mages Mor Aldenn. If you're GM planning to run the AP, be sure to check out the FREE Viridian Legacy GM's guide, for the AP centers around the fate of said legendary group and the intelligent magic items that are their legacy. While most of the AP will be focused on Mor Aldenn (more on that in the excellent city-setting, also by Headless Hydra-games), this module is set in a more rural environment, to be precise, the peat bog harvesting town of Duny's Slough, located in the outskirts of the dreaded Spindleflow Marsh. To get the PCs to Spindleflow Marsh, multiple hooks are provided, but what are they supposed to do there?

Well, Duny Slough has had an alliance with the local kobold population of the swamp for quite a while - mutually beneficial and all, but things have changed and the changes started with a small discovery - an ancient tomb was found in the bog and opened by a group of halfling explorers. Inside rested the remains of aforementioned exalted champion and the breaching of the ancient seal alerted the legendary Wyrmmother to the potential that the cloak of one of her ancient foes might fall into the hands of others. Her spirit reached out across the swamp and when undead rose and forced them to retreat from the site. Worse, the spirit reached to one particular disgruntled hag-servant of the legendary Night Hag and touched here - inspiring a plan to send her coven to sleep never-ending and bewitching K'Tchak, kobold druid and erstwhile ally of Duny Slough's residents. Erstwhile, since he is driven by the enchantment to get the cloak of the Exalted Champion and incite his people into confrontation with the excavators and by proxy, Duny Slough. Worse, not content to let them survive, the bog hag enacts a cursed disease on the halfling explorer, sending them into a mysterious spiral of plague-ridden decline. Enter the PCs.

Duny Slough, the halfling village with its bridges, erected in the middle of the marsh in need of heroes and a full-color map as well as extensive information for researching the recent troubles. Now what the PCs don't know is that the clock is ticking down...FAST. They only have 3 days before the encampment of the remaining halflings is overrun and 6 days to prevent utter failure from striking! They better hurry along the wicker paths and towards the kobold encampment, hopefully not resorting to overt violence versus the small reptiles. If they get lured into the swamp, they'll lose precious time and indeed, each encounter has some option to gain haste points - by not pursuing fleeing foes, by not falling for a clerverly set up false path, by defeating an encounter (like an immature assassin vine or a bog ooze) in less than 3 rounds, by marching through the night etc. Depending on the Haste Points they have accumulated, the PCs will have a different situation on their hands when arriving at the tomb: Besieged by 16 kobold marhsrunners, the encampment at the tomb could still be remaining firmly entrenched by the kobolds - or even ablaze, for K'Tchak plans to ignite the bog and smoke out the halflings. And bog fires are hard to put out... If the PCs are particularly fast, they may even have the time to talk to the halfling explorers and explore the tomb prior to the kobold siege. Speaking of interesting territory - the sludge-covered tomb is haunted by disturbing effigies that guard the place and if the PCs manage to overcome these, they may actually get their hand of the mythic cloak. Sooner or later, the PCs will find the poor shaman K'Tchak, inflicted with the same wasting sickness as the halfling gleaners and might follow him to the bog hag and perhaps determine that he's under an enchantment - to the lair of mastermind Caragma, a huge bog willow. Exploring the tunnels in the larger than life tree and vanquishing its guardians (including more bog oozes, a pugwampi, a giant leech, marshlings, flying infernal kobolds and finally, the bog hag herself. The PCs get a chance to end the plague she's conjured from her cauldron, end the threat of her sleeping sisters -well, and have a nice cliffhanger, for when the hag dies, the Night Hag herself possesses the body of the traitor bog hag and utters some cryptic revelations and threats before letting the meat puppet slump to the floor.

Having saved Duny Slough from plague and conflict with the kobolds, the PCs have thus a chance to solve the module without killing K'Tchak and his ilk before they return to Mor Aldenn to research the strange magical cloak they've found...and that's only the beginning, with two of the most powerful threats of the city watching them...waiting. For now.

The module also provides a short gazetteer of Duny Slough and stats for the new monsters featured, these being: The CR 4 Bog Hag, the CR 1/3 Flying Kobold (called Kuba) and the CR 1 Marschlings -all with beautiful b/w-artworks.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. The module's layout adheres to HHG's beautiful 2-column standard in full color, with the 3 also rather beautiful maps coming in full color as well. The artworks are b/w and universally belong to the higher tier of artwork-class, i.e. they are beautiful to behold. Not all is great in the area of formal criteria, though: We get no keyless maps of the adventure-locations to hand out to the players, which is a dman pity since the maps are aesthetically pleasing. The second major gripe I have with the module is that is has no bookmarks - at this length, this is simply not up to standard and makes navigation unnecessarily hard on the DM. Also, you should know that at over 50 mb, this file is not particularly tablet-friendly and that we get no printer-friendly version sans background/borders, which is yet again a minor detrimental factor.

Lack of bookmarks, no player-friendly maps, no printer-friendly version, large file size - come on, Headless Hydra Games! You can do so much better than that! This, honestly, pisses me off. Why? Because this is a great module. Seriously, it has an awesome wilderness trek, diplomacy, a unique village and a cool, iconic, exciting final dungeon as well as the cool haste-mechanics. The author-duo Ron Lundeen (of Run Amok Games fame) and Thomas Baumbach have created a stellar module that would score easy and glowing 5 stars + seal of approval, but the sloppy formal criteria make it impossible for me to give the rating that this awesome module deserves. Instead I have to grit my teeth and acknowledge all those minor gripes accumulating to the point where I can't rate this higher than 4 stars. Please, HHG, update this module. I want to give it the glowing recommendation it deserves.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] The Wasting of Duny Slough
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] Libris Monstrous, Vol 1
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 09:59:01
This pdf is 25 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page foreword, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 20 pages of content, so let's check this out!

This monster-pdf has an interesting concept - one monster for each type of creature, so let's take a look!
-Demon,Baphomian (CR 11): Bovine-skull-headed demons with greater rage. Could have used some rage powers in my opinion, but its write-up specifies at least that they often take barbarian class levels. Also nice: This beast comes with sample treasure.

-Dinosaur, Saurolophus (CR 5): Aquatic bipedal dinosaur, comes with animal companion stats, but sans signature ability.

-Dinosaur, Styracosaurus (CR 7): Quadruped huge dinosaur with protective spikes and also animal companion info.

-Carnelain Dragon (CR 3, 7, 11 and 16): 8-legged, wingless, orange lesser dragons whose breath weapon deals non-lethal starvation damage and str-damage. The great wyrm gets a cool deadly cloud but their artwork inspires less than awe.

-Giant Earwig (CR 1): Powerful pincers and sickening spittle make these cool. The CR 3 Earwig Swarm lacks a signature ability - come on, why not give them a body-invasion-type trick? That's why they're called Earwigs, aren't they? (And yes, scientifically they don't do that - come on, this is fantasy!) And the cool side, we also get information on other earwigs of varying sizes.

-Triune Giants (CR 12): Thought ettins were bad? These giants have three arms, three heads and three elephant-like legs and come with sample treasure and a short list of bag contents.

-Bloodstone Golems (CR 9): Essentially stone golems charged with negative energy and death throes. Ok, I guess. They come with means of construction and a sample treasure as well.

-Horada (aka Pyromancer Scarab) (CR 7): Immense beetles with cascading fire emanations and a searing hot carapace? Yes please! The first beast in the book that really excites me.

-Lililapai (CR 8): These Lilypad fey are another winner: Froglike humanoids with poisonous tongues and the ability to turn those kissed into frogs, these beings make for cool tricksters and twists of the "Frog Prince"-myth. The entry also comes with full stats for Fey Frogs, but these latter stats omit the CR-rating.

-Fans of Lycanthropes get the werecrocodile and it hits a pet-peeve of mine. I HATE, with a FIERY PASSION, Lycanthropes sans signature abilities. How hard is it to slap an additional power n their bite? Increased threat range? Barrel-rolls? Something like this? I am aware that the standard lycanthrope-build does not necessarily need these, but come on! At least we get stats for both human and hybrid form.

-Lyskar (CR 6): Also called Matron Ghouls, these undead come with stench, a signature ghoulish plague and the ability to use disguise self. But not at which CL the effect works. Nor is there any information on whether the ability masks the nauseating aura of stench. Lame since essentially their twist is thwarted by the lack of information (and said twist has been done a gazillion times....)

-Ooze, Molten (CR 6): Burning ooze that may erupt when slain. Nice one, though "burning ooze" has also been done a couple of times.

-Sanguine Naga (CR 10): These nagas come with negative energy affinity and the power to drain victims of their blood to power their metamagic. Now this one is interesting in that it makes for a great "false vampire"-set-up in an investigation scenario. Neat idea and sound signature abilities.

-Rust Vine Creeper (CR 4): Metal-detecting creepers that rust your equipment. Nice and a cool alternative to rust monsters!

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to HHG's two-column layout and can be considered beautiful. Each monster gets its own artwork and the artworks can be considered passable for the price-point, though not up to the stellar art we usually get to see in HHG-products. A MAYOR downside for this pdf is the lack of bookmarks - at this length, they are not optional, but expected and required.

This offering of monsters can be deemed solid in almost every way: The ideas run the gamut from lame to neat and 3 of the creatures herein can be considered definite winners. However, there also are multiple creatures whose themes have been done multiple times - and unfortunately, some of them have been done better. Multiple creatures also lack unique signature abilities, which is monster-design-wise a big no-go in my book and adding minor glitches like the Lyskar's unspecified disguise are problems. This is an ok purchase, but with the lack of bookmarks and aforementioned problems, I feel I can't go higher than 2.5 stars on this one, rounding up to 3 due to the low price.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Libris Monstrous, Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] At the Heart of Evil
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 06:13:30
At 16 pages, 13 1/4 are the adventure.
This appears to be a simple enter the keep, and defeat the undead adventure.

It doesn't appear as well polished as Spindle Wood Marsh, or Gallery of Dreams, but it has some promise.

A puzzling thing: at E18 (prison cell), if the PCs rescue the woman, they will be rewarded, as her family are quite wealthy, but there is no mention of the reward. Rather incomplete.

Conclusion: for free, it's worth getting, but in my opinion, it does need more work; especially at E18 (prison cell).

Download it and fill in the gaps.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] At the Heart of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] Death in the Spindlewood Marsh
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 05:55:10
An 11 page scenario/adventure, of which 6 is the adventure/scenario.

The pages include how to scale and expand the adventure, there is also one page detailing some unpleasant diseases.

A very informative and enjoyable swampy/marshy adventure.
Yet another excellent Headless Hydra adventure.

Well worth obtaining.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Death in the Spindlewood Marsh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] Gallery of Dreams
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 05:45:33
A 7 page PDF with 3 1/2 pages as the scenario/adventure, but those few pages are enlightening.

I found it a very interesting read.
The end/reward, can lead to further adventures.

Well recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Gallery of Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] The Ruins
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2012 05:33:03
An enjoyable short scenario at 7 1/2 pages out of 11.
The artwork is good, and the maps nicely laid out with keys.

I found the front cover rather inviting to explore the adventure/scenario.

And considering it's free as well, all I can say is go for it.

Definitely recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] The Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] Viridian Legacy GM's Guide
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2012 16:01:32
Detailed background with rich cultural detail and fey colour.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Viridian Legacy GM's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 9
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2012 10:20:09
The artwork is ok greyscale artwork. This pack is one of my least favorite of the Forgotten Foes line. However, the License is quality and you get ALOT of artwork for the price. So I would call it worth it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 9
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 1
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2012 10:17:11
The artwork is great B/W inked images with greyscale shading. The License is quality. You get ALOT of artwork for the price. A definite buy, in my opinion.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 8
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2012 10:15:16
The artwork is good (not great) B/W pencil sketched artwork. If you hoping to colorize it, that is not really going to be possible (or easily doable) with this. The License is quality. You get ALOT of artwork for the price. It is worth it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 8
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 11
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2012 02:01:42
The collection included in this set ended up more cartoony than I would have liked, although it is hard to argue with the price, as the first image is a fairly good one of a pair of skeletal warriors.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 11
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] Viridian Legacy GM's Guide
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2012 09:27:25
This free GM's Guide for Headless Hydra Games' upcoming Viridian Legacy AP is 23 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving a total of 19 pages of content for this guide, so let's check this out!

The pdf kicks off with a short discussion on how the AP will work - the AP will span 12 adventures, each covering one level - chapter 1 for level 1 and so on. Additionally, the AP uses story-leveling, i.e. at the end of one of the modules, the PCs gain a level - interesting decision and I look forward to seeing how that works out. Also, the individual adventures could be shorter than usual in an AP, but I'm speculating on that one. What somewhat jarred me was that, if I'm not mistaken, the final battle and hooks to continue the AP will be separate release - that better be one hell of an epic final conclusion!

The three central themes of the AP are discussed: Legacies have power, Past actions have repercussions and allies abound - interesting selection of leitmotivs, especially the latter - I wholeheartedly appreciate the sentiment, so let's hope the allies don't hog the spotlight in the campaign like in some of the early short fictions by HHG.

After that, GMs are introduced to the legendary adventuring group "Exalted Champions", their history and ultimate downfall as well as a key-element of the AP - 6 intelligent magical items are their legacy, all containing fragments of their personalities - cooler even, the respective write-ups come with a background for each of the champions, a typical story of adventuring exploits and each of the items gets its own, beautiful artwork. Nice! have I mentioned that they become more powerful with the levels, akin to legendary items?

After that, prospective GMs get 4 sample statblocks for goons of the primary antagonists and 4 sample encounters that reflect the tactics of these foes. Finally, fey influence, dominant and enchanting and one of the reasons Mor Aldenn has such a distinct feeling, is also covered and will resurface throughout the AP and the first fey-influence in the person of a corrigan (with full statblock, a new type of elixir and a full-color artwork) is also included in this GM-guide.

The pdf closes with a beautiful map of Mor Aldenn, split between two pages.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column standard and the full-color artworks are awesome. The pdf has no bookmarks, which is slightly inconvenient, seeing that DM will have to check back regarding the intelligent items. It should be noted that both this pdf and the player's guide are rather big files (~40 Mb), so both are not exactly tablet-friendly.

I am looking forward to the Viridian Legacy-AP due to a variety of factors: First, I really enjoyed the campaign setting book, a fine piece of city-sculpting indeed. Secondly because the format and its story-driven leveling and its leitmotivs are simply interesting and thirdly, because e.g. Ron Lundeen is involved with the AP and I enjoy his work. However, there is also potential for stumbling stones: I hope the individual adventures don't end up being too short, that the climax in its separate pdf will be sufficiently epic, that NPC-allies don't hog the spotlight... We'll see how the authors of the AP manage to portray all of that. What I was missing apart from the bookmarks in this pdf was a comprehensive outline of the AP for the DM, an adventure to adventure break-down, which would be immensely helpful if the concept of "Actions have repercussions" is to be maintained - I hope the modules will include notices for the GMs so we only have to track the significant interactions. That being said, this GM-guide is still a very cool, free offering and provides a neat sampling of what to expect. Were this a commercial file, I'd perhaps go lower, but since this guide is free and professionally presented as well as well-written, I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars nevertheless.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Viridian Legacy GM's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/15/2012 14:31:58
New monster books are always fun, as they add more critters that you can throw at your PCs without worrying that they’ll have its abilities memorized. Weighed against that, however, is the question of whether these monsters – even when CR appropriate – will fall into that careful middle ground between “cakewalk” and “TPK-maker.”

The Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium seems to manage that balancing act, though it wobbles slightly along the way.

Thirty-five pages long and presenting twenty new monsters, the Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium presents itself fairly well. It allows for copy-and-paste, but has no bookmarks, something which was frown-worthy. The book comes as a single PDF, having no files for Mac-compatibility or e-readers.

The book’s artistic presentation eschews ostentation, having no page borders or fancy backgrounds, instead focusing solely on the artwork. In this, it does quite well, having a single black-and-white image for each creature it presents. This was very wisely done, as monster books virtually require each new creature to receive a visual depiction. It helps that the illustrators uniformly did a good job, presenting each monster with a grim seriousness that undergirds their presentation.

Like monster monster books, the majority of the monsters fall into the single-digit Challenge Ratings. While there are a fairly diverse range of creature types presented, from plants to fey to humanoids, there is an underlying theme to most of these monsters – a large number of them are based around a swamp/marsh environment. This isn’t coincidental; as the title suggests, the book’s writing is specific to the Mor Aldenn campaign setting, and the flavor text for the monsters often discusses them in the context of where they are found in the game world. As the Night Hag who dwells in a certain swamp appears to be a major antagonist, a large number of the monsters are based around that environment.

In regards to the monsters themselves, most seemed to be at least somewhat creative in their powers and abilities. The marsh dragon, for example, has several powers based around creating and controlling shambling mounds. The portune is a “classical” fairy that can be rebuked if you say its name (and can be an improved familiar). The most interesting monster in this regard is the manifest child of the ether, which has a number of powers based around its strange connections to magic and being from beyond known reality.

There were a few issues that came up with some monsters, however. A few had an armor class that was far too low for a creature of its CR. The arachnus, for example is a CR 11 creature with an AC of…16. No damage reduction, either. It’s the sort of monster that, due to that quite literally fatal flaw, won’t last long in melee combat. The hag spider has the same CR, and has AC 18. It’s little things like this that can undermine otherwise-great monsters. I’d recommend looking these creatures over with a critical eye before using them.

Having said that, these are creatures that should be used in your game. The level of innovation here is a cut above the norm, and this is reflected in the monsters descriptions and abilities. Even if you don’t play in Mor Aldenn, there are a lot of interesting creatures here that can help to liven up your game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
[PFRPG] Viridian Legacy Player's Guide
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2012 02:21:24
This player's guide for Headless Hydra Games' Viridian Legacy AP is 28 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving 24 pages of content, so let's check this one out, shall?

There has scarcely in my opinion been a 3pp that has undergone such a radical change as Headless Hydra Games - from beginnings that could be considered to be fluctuating in quality at best, the company has grown to produce a stellar city campaign setting with their Mor Aldenn supplement - one that actually made my personal Top-10 of 2011.

The City of Mages came to life and identity in a rather glorious pdf that is not only cheap for the amount of quality, but brims with imagination and its very own identity. Now, the Viridian Legacy AP finally looms and Ron Lundeen, mastermind of Run Amok Games and author of two stellar adventures published by HHG as well as his own superb Run Amok adventures presents us, along with K. Axel Carlsson and David Nicholas Ross with the free player's guide to said AP - but is it enticing? Let's see!

The pdf kicks off with an introduction and brief overview of the city's history before we delve into the topic at hand - characters and how to fit them in the upcoming AP. The discussion kicks off with an overview of the races available - all the basic races get an additional racial trait astute players may use to further customize their characters. It should be noted that the races peculiar to Mor Aldenn, centaurs, Gaiants and Sprites also are covered, though they get no new racial trait. A bit of a pity, but okay, I guess.

Next up is the discussion of classes, including a list of domains and subdomains for divine casters, sorted neatly by belief as well as a new oracle mystery, the legends mystery. This new option allows an oracle to channel the stuff of legends and aspire to become one herself by gaining lucky rerolls and similar destiny-themed abilities. The mystery seems well-balanced, if not too exciting and again, classes peculiar to Mor Aldenn like the troubled Clockworker and the excellent Spellwarden-class are covered as well. It should be noted, though, that while gearworks play a role in Aldenian economy and life, no black powder-or eastern-related love can be found herein, i.e. the gunslinger and samurai/ninja-classes can be found herein. While some may mourn this decision and I particularly am a huge fan of the gunslinger, I think a slightly restrictive decision like this keeps the focus of a setting tighter.

A total of 17 traits are included in the player's guide as well and can be considered welcome additions, doing what a trait does well indeed - anchor a character in the respective campaign setting, providing minor angles and associated bonuses to explore in the character's development while providing minor bonuses. A total of 16 feats are also part of the deal: From the ability to temporarily making your melee weapons or projectiles deal fire or cold damage to reserve-feats: Essentially, these let you choose a physical or mental ability score and add bonuses/rerolls to checks a limited amount of times per day to the ability to ask rivers or trees for answers and even some feats that will help agile swashbuckling bards and similar characters. All of the feats are interesting enough to be taken and none of them felt unbalanced or off to me.

A total of 8 new magic items and a peculiar table is given - since Mor Aldenn is the City of Mages, it is suggested that player characters start play with a minor magic item and thus, the table is provided, should you wish to randomize the process.

The final section provides us with 20 different spells taken from the neat spell compendium "Eldritch Secrets".

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a two-column, full-color standard with a beautiful border and awesome illustrations. The pdf has no bookmarks, which is a minor bummer. When all's said and done, I'm glad to report that this player's guide succeeds at what it sets out to do - provide the tools for a player to create a character invested in protecting the city of mages (that's about the only requirement) and a whole neat slew of customization options. The new crunch is solid and thankfully, SPOILERS are absent from the pdf - One thing I'd urge prospective GMs to do, though, Is print out the sections on the Spellwarden and some of the legends/festivities of the city to enhance the immersion of the players in the setting. That being said, since this pdf is free, achieves what it sets out to do and is professionally presented and makes me look forward to the AP, my final verdict will be 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Viridian Legacy Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 65 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG