RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
HHG Orc Clip Art [BUNDLE]
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 09:22:52
Out of the six pieces included in this bundle, the three black and white individual orcs far outshine the color piece and the two filler pieces of art. Not to say that the filler art was not extremely useful, and a good usage of a bundle to include thematic pieces for a PDF project, as the filler items being cohesive to the main theme is always nice to see in a bundle, and the artwork was very good for the necklace and sword. And whereas the color piece is not bad, it feels very out of place with the style of art the B&W pieces are done in, which is itself very very good.

All in all, you can't argue with the price if you are needing some orcs that are a step away from just the ordinary greenskin.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HHG Orc Clip Art [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Headless Hydra Clip Art 15
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2012 02:33:22
A fairly well done greyscale illustration for a rust monster with a pretty straight forward license regarding commercial usage. A deal at the price for a publisher needing to add art for this particular creature within a PDF publication, or on a website. Perfect for home GM's as well.

Can think of only two things that would have made me happier. The background being on a separate layer to give the option to not use it, and a copy of the image in color, but color would have raised the price, so that one I can understand.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Headless Hydra Clip Art 15
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Foes Clip Art 5
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2012 06:11:33
An excellent collection of B&W artwork, bought it for the Formians included within, might have been happier without the main focus of this book being dragons, as I truly didn't need a few of the dragon varieties included, but the art is of exceptional quality.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Forgotten Tower Cartography
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/24/2012 14:19:58
These maps were apparently designed by Jonathan Roberts to accompany an adventure called “A Trail of Poison.” I don’t know anything about that adventure, but it doesn’t matter. Any fantasy setting can use a generic, three-level tower. The artwork is well done in Roberts’s signature style (distinct black outlines with a hand-drawn feel). The layout is well-conceived and leaves everything but the walls and stairs to the DM’s imagination, giving it very high replay value. There must be dozens of towers dotting your fantasy landscape that could be represented with this layout. The download includes both gridded and non-gridded versions, in JPG format, and this brings us to the products big downside. Each map is 15" square, so unless you’re printing direct to poster-sized paper, you’ll need to slice up and tile the maps yourself. A pre-tiled PDF or even JPGs would make the product much easier to use. I would give the product 5 stars for quality, but only 3 for ease of use.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Forgotten Tower Cartography
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Eldritch Secrets, Vol 1
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/04/2012 11:13:41
This extremely attractive book is full of all sorts of new spells, feats and magic items for all the spell-casting classes in Pathfinder (or the 3.x product of your choice).
The vast majority of this book is devoted to spells and there a spells here for every need and situation. There a few new feats and some magic items, but the spells here are the main course.
There are several useful Appendices including Spells by Descriptor, School and use.

At 12 bucks this product is not exactly a steal, but really, really close. The art and layout is fantastic and you get a printer friendly version as well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Eldritch Secrets, Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] The Ruins
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2012 09:23:20
This free web-enhancement to the city of mages is 11 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page advertisement, 1 page SRD and 1/2 page editorial, leaving 7 1/2 pages of content, so let's check this one out!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players, please jump to the conclusion.

Still here? This latest little supplement from Headless Hydra Games features essentially a mini-dungeon, the ominous ruins. Legends of a breed of elven giants and a legendary centaur-civilization in the primal woods of Ossindrillion abound and these little ruins actually represent the true ruins that may prove or disprove the validity of the thesis. The part of the ruins that is detailed herein is above ground, 3 levels long, provides 15 rooms/locations and turns out to be challenging - rust monsters, invisible stalkers, army ant swarms and worse have made the place their home. The best part about the ruin-exploration, though, at least in my opinion, is how languages and deciphering ancient scripts is made a rather intriguing, complex task that can actually bring excitement to the game. While here, it is via skill checks, I look forward to seeing Headless Hydra Games come up with more complex rules, as announced on their blog.
The potential to actually decipher the ancient script in the ruins (potentially even IRL would be a great idea for a longer adventure, perhaps even with glyphs or a full cipher...) enhances the excitement of finding ancient scripts can add a sense of wonder to an exploration, that, while certainly not bad, would otherwise not be half as intriguing. Once the PCs have found their prize, perhaps a map of ancient magical gates, the short sojourn ends, leaving us wanting more and opening some neat options and hooks for the DM to develop.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a full color, beautiful version of the HHG-layout and the two pieces of b/w-artworks and 2 pages of b/w-maps are of a higher quality than one would expect from any free pdf. The pdf does not come with bookmarks, but at this length, that's ok. The content and writing of this mini-adventure/location are very good and concise, though not as enticing as in Gallery of Dreams. Nevertheless, The Ruins is well worth the space on your HD and giving this away for free makes getting this pdf essentially a no-brainer: A neat little location, some fun with linguistics and coherent enemies make this a 5 star-pdf.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] The Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Storage Vault of Alantes
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2012 07:00:26
This pdf is 10 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial and 1 page SRD, leaving 7 pages of content, so let's check out this 3-room dungeon!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS, so potential players might wish to jump to the conclusion.

Still here? Ok! Alantes was a weird fellow, even for a wizard - supposedly mad and eccentric, the mage dabbled in biomancy and other strange pursuits and is rumored to have constructed several hidden storage vaults. This takes the PCs to one of them, in which a fabled golden apple, supposedly being able to restore one's youth, lies.

Konwledge DCs to get additional information on the fabled apple and some myths are included in the deal and, with a bit of foreshadowing, a DM can easily insert these prior to the adventure, making it more rewarding, as there are two "Press 3 buttons in the correct sequence"-puzzles/traps guarding the vault and separating 2 of its rooms. While a rogue could still disarm them the traditional way, solving the puzzle in the case of the second one is much more rewarding. Why the first of the 3-button-puzzle features no way for the PCs to find out the solution, I don't know. The inside of the vault is covered in elaborately-crafted high-reliefs and provides the first combat challenge, a gray ooze cleverly hidden in the scenery. The true climax of this short delve, though, is the new creature - The Golden Apple Guardian (CR 4). An utterly disturbing magical plant emitting hallucination-inducing pollen and featuring deadly spores comes with not only cool signature abilities (one is optional for evil DMs like yours truly!), but also with a beautiful b/w-artwork by Richard Chaplin, a weakness to exploit and an option to get the apple without killing the deadly plant. However, making the plant immobile is a downer - PCs will snipe it till it's dead. Several trapped boxes and full stats for the apple are also included for your convenience.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, though something is a bit awkward with the read-aloud text in the module and I'm not sure whether that was intentional or not: The read-aloud text features sentences like "According to the information the party received...", which feels a bit odd and is not something I'd encourage, as it detracts from the otherwise very good writing of Ian C. Hagan. Layout adheres to HHG's 2-column standard and features a beautiful b/w-illustration as well as a nice piece of isometric, full-color cartography by Justin Hernandez. The pdf is fully bookmarked. I did like this little, very affordable adventure, which provides you with an awesome sidetrek for less than a buck. However, as mentioned, there are some minor blemishes that keep me from going all out on this one: First being the lack of options to pass the first puzzle and secondly, the inconsistent quality in the fluff-text. As written, this is still a very interesting sidetrek for a very fair price and thus I'll settle for a final verdict of 4 stars.
Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Storage Vault of Alantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Mor Aldenn Setting Guide
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2012 04:44:52
Mor Aldenn setting guide opens with a piece of fiction, a short story set within the city of mages, that serves as an excellent introduction to the feel of this city. Operating as a perfect vessel to immerse the reader in the culture of the setting as far as how the lower class folk live, view their situation living in the shadow of spell crafters, and the drastic differences in how the different social castes view each other. It is within this story that perhaps one of the better “sound bytes” (if you will forgive its usage in this form) can be found. Here's the scene, apprentice mage, barmaid and mercenary are thrown together by circumstances, and investigating a prophetic dream that the barmaid has had that seems to be unfolding around them. They are on their way to the ruins of an ancient battle that now serves as a magical prison for a demon when they come upon four bad guys (the attire gives it away, trust me, when you actually read it yourself, you'll understand) surrounding a small girl who the mercenary had rescued from a fire earlier in the evening. Now, here's where this excellent quote comes in, the type of quote you wish, as a player, you had said.......”They hurt that girl the day after I can't swing a sword, “ Zeldan growled, and charged forward. OK, Zeldan is our grumpy mercenary, for clarification, and is that not a great line? I mean come on, who hasn't wished they had a great line like that to utter before combat with a character?? By the time it's all over....oh, you'll have to read for yourself, there's a bit of a twist, lol. My point being, as has been proven time and time again, give us a story, with characters to connect to, and we're going to read it, we're going to invest, and that helps make a setting all that much more real. It was just a handful of pages, but it was enough, enough that I want more stories, and that's when you know a setting is going to work..

Mor Aldenn, being a city of mages, and ruled by mages, enjoys a certain level of luxury that could be construed as reskin...but it works. By this I mean the streets are lined with streetlights (globes with a continual flame spell sitting on poles) or water founts comprised of decanters of endless water to guarantee fresh water for all. As most cities are, this one is segregated by class and industry as well,with sections bearing names such as the Grand Market, Tower Hill, and the Northern Docks, the atmosphere of the city changes as you traverse from economic neighborhood to economic neighborhood. Southside of the town one finds the Horse Downs, wherein live the centaurs..wait, centaur? Yes, there is a large enough population of centaur as to necessitate an area of town for them. By far the largest concentration of anything architecturally within Mor Aldenn would be the mage towers, they tend to dominate the skyline of this city. The majority of the town resides upon an island resting in the fork of a river, which is depicted very well on the two page map included within the book (albeit in B&W, its still of pretty good quality).

Where this product excels, and I mean really excels, is in the details. It is one thing to state “Its a city run by mages.”, and quite another to actually detail that out. We are given laws pertaining to registry for the usage of magic, licensing for the rights to sell or traffic in bat guano (it is the primary component for fireball after all), a perfectly viable explanation of how a school of necromancers would appropriate the amount of bodies they would need to be able to continue their craft within a society, legally. We are introduced to bar games for the magically inclined (including a variation on darts that amazes me no one ever thought to design before, it's so obvious its brilliant), as well as more magical variation to cock fighting. There are breakdowns of punishment and fine levels for violating any of the laws pertaining to magical usage, as well as a rather amusing take on the very laws themselves, in that many of them were formed to handle case by case situations, and are only still on the books because, lets face it, every society has a collection of odd laws that are on the books simply because no one has ever removed them. In short, where this city guide really impressed me beyond anything else, and there is a great deal of impressive material here, was in the small things. The things that could have easily been overlooked, and by a lot of companies and guides, would have been overlooked. Little details like the necromancers school using their undead to aid during fires and floods to search for and rescue survivors, the fact that the mayors family have let his power and position go to their heads, or that centaurs who embrace the gods of their humanoid neighbors are looked at as sell outs by their more traditional kin. Local holidays, and how the townsfolk celebrate them, including Spirit Eve (Halloween) with an excellent illustration of children with candy bags in costume. These types of things all build, and add up to a thriving, breathing setting that draws you in, and makes it easier to believe, and want to visit a setting.

As with any true setting guide, you will discover new playable races (centaur, Giaint, Sprite), Classes (Spellwarden), feats and spells, alternate racial traits, and new archetypes. I could go into these, I could. But as I stated, you will find these in practically every setting, so to me, as long as the design is consistent and good when it comes to these things, when presented in a setting guide, this is one of those times when crunch takes a backseat to fluff. For in the end, setting guides are all about the fluff, and this product delivers in truckloads in that regard.

There is a great deal of material to discover within this book, and whether you are looking for a full setting to base your adventures, or merely a city for your players to experience upon their journeys, you can do a lot worse than Mor Aldenn. I personally have added the city of mages to my own campaign world, and have begun spinning the tales that will draw my group to this city, as I know they will be just as impressed with it as I was.

Artwork wise, you're looking at B&W, with most of the illustrations being very good, some only OK, and a few that are not so much. Formatting follows the dual column approach with artwork embedded. There are several locales fully mapped for interior layout and detailed as to be usable for running encounters within many of the locations within the city. I did find the occasional stumble in editing, the usage of “\with when the sentence calls for within, or a missing space between words. They were minor mistakes, and I truly only counted three.

The setting book does borrow heavily upon material already released in other products, or perhaps it is the other way around, as I am not positive on release schedules. The Giaint race for example, have their own book, but are presented here as well. Many, if not all of the creatures presented within this guide are in the Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium, and several of the magical items I recognized from other PDF offerings from this company. Where as that is a disappointment, it does have it's positive side, as for those who have not purchased a great deal of books from this company will find enough within this book to be able to tun a full setting from this material alone. On the other hand, for those who have picked up a handful of Mor Aldenn books, there is a great deal of repetition going on, and that would tend to make one question the value, and leave a customer wanting new, fresh material.

Loving the setting, and the ideas behind its design, that becomes my one true complaint and dislike of this product, the sheer amount of material presented here that is also presented within other books. If the material was first presented here, and then recycled to other books, it invalidates this material as being unique. If, on the other hand, this book is indeed the borrower of said material, it mars the design originality of the work presented here. Either way, it ends up costing this book a full star from me, as this setting has room for more growth, and I feel there should have been nothing within the pages of this PDF that had already been covered extensively in another book.

My final rating will be a 4 star for this excellent setting, and I recommend you take a look through this city setting, and consider introducing it to your players, as it is a unique and interesting locale.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Mor Aldenn Setting Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] 15 Specific Weapons, Vol 4
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2012 03:42:39
The latest installment of Headless Hydra Games' "15 specific weapons"-line is 12 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving 9 pages of content, so let's check this one out!

In contrast to most introductions to the topic of weapons, this pdf actually starts with an interesting introduction - advice is provided to DMs who seek to insert weapons into their games and the cultural perspective that led to the development of these martial instruments of mayhem is taken into the focus. While not providing earth-shattering insights, the thoughts that are conveyed are something to keep in mind when inserting a new weapon into your game.

That being said, we get, apart from the new specific weapons, a new weapon quality (that adds sonic damage, a reprinted table of the basic weapon stats and a table to roll for them, if you're so inclined.

Headless Hydra Games are great at making magic feel...well, magical. uncommon. Strange. Distinct. And the same can be applied to the weapons herein. You won't find a single weapon in these pages that only has some weapon qualities stapled to a name and instead are provided several interesting items that may open up whole new tactics. Take the large adamantine warhammer "Earthwrack" - by pounding it on the ground, the wielder may create difficult terrain. Or the backwatching boar-spear, which is a twist on the dancing weapon - instead of attacking, the spear literally watches your back and can brace itself against attacks and defend you. There's also a modular repeating crossbow with a bayonet and on the iconic side: "Impact Storm". This lucerne hammer can be held to the sky and, after a battle-cry by the wielder, he is struck be lightning for damage, but also damage surrounding foes with a sonic blast that doubles as a bull-rush. If you don't consider that metal and awesome, I don't know what would be.

However, there is one particular weapon I have a true gripe with: Assassin's Mercy. A keen kama+2, this weapon may maximize his/her sneak attack damage, but only once per victim. That's the only restriction. Other than that, it can be used unlimited times per day. On a crit, sneak attack is added to the damage, even against targets usually immune to sneak attack. This is broken in two ways: Immunities are not called immunities, because they can be offset by a 24800 GP-weapon. An artifact? Ok, I can get behind that. But a weapon in this price range? Worse, imagine warfare: A camp of low-to mid-level soldiers. A high-level assassin. Guaranteed death, all around. Replace that with a squad of assassins with blades like these and we have a death-squad par excellence. Don't fear the next orc-invasion. Two flanking rogues can break the whole mob. Not gonna happen in my game.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a book-style 2-column standard and is nice to look at. the artworks for some of the weapons provided herein is of high-quality and the pdf comes fully bookmarked. All in all, I really enjoyed this installment of the "15 specific weapons"-line. Apart from the one item I consider broken, I had a lot of fun with the iconic weaponry herein and look forward to inflicting them on my players. The price-point practically can't be beat and, while I'd usually go 4 stars for this pdf due to aforementioned gripe, the low price makes me settle on 4.5, rounded up to 5 instead.
Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] 15 Specific Weapons, Vol 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Storage Vault of Alantes
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2012 04:29:09
The Storage Vault of Alantes from Headless Hydra Games, is a perfect one nighter, a way to handle your party turning left, when you spent all week planning for them to turn right. In short, it's a perfect fill in for those nights when your plans have fallen apart. But, to leave it there would be a disservice, as this small unassuming mini dungeon is in all reality quite capable of sparking a much larger, and more developed adventure.

Alantes, the dottering old wizard who's vault your players will be raiding was not known for his memory, and had a tendency to create forget where he put things, and by things, I mean everything. It is hinted that he has built a multitude of these micro dungeons and vaults, they simply have been forgotten to time. This particular one houses a golden apple rumored to have the power to heal, and return youth to those who eat it. A handful of options are given to entice your players, one being rather amusing and involving a stolen goat (OK, I thought is was funny).

I guess, I really should point out at this stage....THIS IS AN ADVENTURE!!! If you are a player looking for spoilers, I will be telling your GM on you...go on, I see you trying to hide behind the closet door....OUT.............ok, just us GM's here? Good, now continuing............

With 10 pages (3 given up to Cover, OGL and credits), this mini dungeon actually comes through with a solid little design. The 3 rooms is questionable though, as the first room is a well entrance and then the climb down. The cartography is fantastic, a full color iso map being a nice change of pace from the typical bird's eye view mapping. Filled with puzzle traps, this adventure lends itself more towards a thinking group in my opinion, and that's a good thing. Not everything should be solved by breaking down the door, although if your players are dead set on doing just that, the stats are given to allow them to.

With two monster encounters, one with a grey ooze, and the other with a new creature of a plantlike nature, a playgroup of 3rd - 4th level characters should be able to handle this adventure with little danger of death, unless of course they insist on not working through the puzzle traps with intelligence, lol.

As an extremely affordable mini-adventure this product excels, between the excellent cartography (yes, I am a sucker for maps), and the new creature (horrible name, cool critter) complete with illustration, I can see this entertaining a playgroup for a one off evening as it is written. I can also see a GM using this as a jumping point to further expand upon the storyline introduced here, and as such, this takes on the life of more than just an adventure, but possibly a hook as well. Giving this one a 5 star stamp of approval, as it more than succeeded in what it set out to accomplish.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Storage Vault of Alantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Gallery of Dreams
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2012 02:56:49
The Gallery of Dreams, a free web enhancement to the Mor Aldenn setting is exactly the type of freebie I love to see companies pass out. 7 pages (Front, Ogl, Ad leaving 4 ½ pages) following the dual column format with embedded artwork (that's right, artwork in a free product). The art is a B&W piece, and of very good style and quality.

Introducing an inter-dimensional locale that constantly varies where it's entrance point surfaces, this PDF details a “museum” of dreams. The manner in which this is described is quite elegant in design, and really speaks to what one can expect from the setting of Mor Aldenn. As well as an interesting locale, that any GM worth their dice could use as an interesting story driven method of information delivery to their playgroup, we are also given a fully developed NPC in the form of Temarath Grigspotter, the ghost curator of this museum. You can not help but instantly like this NPC, as he comes across as a kindly old grandfather, aware that his “condition” as a ghost might be unnerving to folks, so he tries his best to be cordial and friendly, and leaves folks alone until he feels they need his assistance with the dreams displayed under his care.

Not one to overlook grammatical hiccups (even in a free product), I will mention there were two such missteps that I noticed, and they were the usage of an is where an are would have been more appropriate, and a forgotten the.

Ending with a hook that offers up a potential boon for the group that reminds us, as GM's, sometimes its not all about the money, and groups deserve rewards that bring more to the table.

Having myself been recently introduced to Mor Aldenn, I can say, that this is a perfect example of what to expect, and if you haven't yet given Headless Hydra Games a serious look, you are doing yourself a disservice, as their products repeatedly show through with excellent design.

Going with the 5 star for this, and highly recommending, as this locale is an excellent addition to any setting, let alone as a taste of what's to come.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Gallery of Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Storage Vault of Alantes
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/03/2012 19:57:59
I’ve always been on the proverbial fence about “set pieces” – small locations that are written apart from any greater context, allowing them to be dropped into a campaign as a sort of mini-adventure location. In some instances they’re a lot of fun; a quick little adventure that’s easy for the GM and fun for the players. That can be difficult to pull off, however, as they need to have enough context to make sense unto themselves but not so much that they feel too “heavy” to be dropped into an ongoing game. Likewise, they need to have enough of a challenge to be worthwhile, but not so much that they become a killer encounter.

Happily, as far as set pieces go, Headless Hydra Games’s Storage Vaults of Alantes is one of the better ones.

The book’s technical presentation is strong. Having only ten pages (really just over seven, given the cover, credits page, and OGL), you’d think the book wouldn’t be too concerned with how it’s put together – not so. Full nested bookmarks are here, a pleasant surprise, and copy and paste is enabled.

The book has borders along the top and bottom, along with alternating sides, of each page. There’s only a single interior illustration, a black and white image of the new monster found here. The preceding statement is notwithstanding the map, which was actually quite a treat, visually. Done in full color, it’s presented in an unusual, but not unpleasant, isometric style. I’m quite surprised by how well it makes this sort of map work – for a larger area, this perspective would quickly become cumbersome, but here it’s actually very nice to look at. I should also mention that it takes the details of the area descriptions into account; images described as being on the walls can be seen here, which only contribute to the map’s charm.

For a dungeon with only three rooms (more like two, in all honesty), there’s a surprising amount of flavor text here. There’s a background given for why this particular vault was constructed and why it holds the treasures it does. There’s also a motivation given for the PCs to go looking for it (although I found it slightly silly, as well as a bit too vague for my tastes – if the Sultan’s son has been cursed by a witch, why aren’t normal magical remedies working? Perhaps I’m over-thinking such a minor background detail, however), and a sidebar covers what the PCs know about this vault’s particular treasure. The sidebar struck me as slightly odd, as it segues into why the treasure is here in the first place – given that there’s nothing to lead the PCs to this being the treasure’s location in the first place (the scenario makes a lot more sense, I think, if it’s something you have the PCs just happen to stumble onto), this seems somewhat unnecessary.

For a location that has only three rooms – or, more specifically, one hidden entrance and two underground chambers – the more specificity each location has, the better. For the most part, this book does a good job of presenting a large number of details for each location, particularly as the two doors between the three rooms are each set with a puzzle-lock and trap combination.

It’s in regards to these traps where I felt that the book fell down the most. The issue isn’t that the traps are bad; quite the contrary, they’re quite good. The problem is that this is really the same trap, done twice. In the first case, there’s really no good way besides guessing to solve it, which strikes me as slightly unfair. The second iteration of the trap is somewhat less punishing, as there’s a clue given.

There were also some additional details that I felt could have been provided. For example, the last door notes its break DC, but what about simple hardness and hit points? There’s no description of light sources in the main underground chamber, so is it pitch black? A lot was done here to approach these challenges in multiple ways, but while it covered a lot of ground, it could have provided us with more.

My last complaint about the book is with the new monster found at the dungeon’s end. The author made the critical mistake of giving it a movement rate of 0 feet, something that insofar as I’m aware most plant monsters don’t have in the Pathfinder RPG – this is because it encourages the PCs to (once they realize the nature of the threat) back up and pepper it with ranged weapons and spells until it dies. It’s a critical flaw in an otherwise excellently-designed monster.

Of course, there are a few other surprises to be found in the vault, as it houses more than just one treasure. There’s also a suggestion for what to do if you want to have this be the first part of a larger series of adventures, but that, to paraphrase an old axiom, is a tale for another product…

Overall, I thought that this was a very well-done set piece. It had its flaws, both in design (a knock spell can bypass a significant portion of the challenges here) and in presentation (the same trap twice), but it hits far more often than it misses. The traps are designed to be more than just stat blocks, and the manner of overcoming them requires intuitive thinking by the players, and not just their PCs. Likewise, the creature encounters look like a lot of fun (just give the last monster a movement rate), and nicely counterbalance the use of traps. And of course, the treasure at the end makes it all worthwhile. Whether you want to start a new chapter in your campaign, or just want to take a side trek for an evening, you’ll have fun looting the Storage Vault of Alantes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Storage Vault of Alantes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Headless Hydra Clip Art 7
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/02/2012 08:34:21
Two humans - one male, one female - appear to have stepped out of the safety of the inn to confront something in the evening fog. This full-color image is a bit creepy and atmospheric, and would make a good choice for a full column (or "skyscraper") illustration in an RPG book or supplement.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Headless Hydra Clip Art 7
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Headless Hydra Clip Art 8
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/02/2012 08:31:44
Two halflings - one male, one female - look as if they're expecting some trouble. The dimensions of this full-color image would make it a good full-column (or "skyscraper") illustration for an RPG book or supplement.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Headless Hydra Clip Art 8
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Headless Hydra Clip Art 5
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/29/2012 11:32:23
Two excellent pieces of grayscale fantasy art, great for using as spot illos in an RPG manual, or as visual aids for your next fantasy campaign. Includes JPG and PNG formats.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Headless Hydra Clip Art 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 65 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG