RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
[PFRPG] The Clockworker
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2011 09:48:09

This pdf is 20 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1/2 a page editorial, 3/4 of a page SRD, leaving 17 3/4 pages of content, so let's check this Clockworker out, shall we?

This base-class is interesting in that it not only makes for an interesting addition to the Mor Aldenn setting ( I wasn't aware of steam-punkish elements until now), but also in that it provides an alternative to the Summoner that features a different approaches to the base mechanic utilized by the Summoner.

The Clockworker gets d8, 4+Int skills per level, 3/4 BAB progression, good ref-saves, arcane spell progression up to the 6th level from his schematics portfolio (like a wizard's spellbook), the ability to cast with spell failure in light armor, spontaneously convert his spells into mending spells and trapfinding, making the Clockworker a valid replacement for the rogue with regards to traps and the disposal of them The Clockworker has two true signature abilities, though - the ability to create drones and a servitor.

Drones are disposable, small constructs that can execute a limited amount of commands depending on the level of the Clockworker before becoming inert after 0.5 times Clockworker level charges are spent. The Clockworker can deploy these drones 3+ Int modifier times per day as an AoO-provoking full round action. Starting with utility drones, the Clockwroker gets subsequent access to drones that may fly, use evasion, shield allies, carry spells and fight via crossbows. There are some problems with the drones as written, though: Combat Drones don't get proficiency for their crossbow attacks and only get a +4 boost to Str, meaning that their rather low Str-score evens out a now bonus to hit at 10. They come with a basic Dex of 14 that, as written, cannot be upgraded easily, granting the drones a +2 to hit with their crossbows, resulting in a penalty of -2 due to non-proficiency. The melee attack in contrast to the ranged attacks, is a claw-attack dealing 1d2 damage. In melee, the Drone uses either the Clockworker's Dex or Str-modifier and BAB to calculate their attacks. Due to no Str-score-bonus on part of the drones, this is the netto-bonus, officially making the drone-attacks in melee about as efficient as a ray of frost and economy-of-actions-wise, a very bad idea.

Add to that the fact that the drones don't get rapid reload, and, while their damage-dealing capacity in ranged combat are better than in melee, they hit terribly at -2 the Clockworker's BAB for negligible damage and take a lot of actions and we're in for a waste of actions in ranged combat as well. As written, it is not clear whether they carry their own ammunition or whether the Clockworker has to hand them their ammunition, eating up even more actions and making them even less useful. I'm sad to say it, but as written, the drones are utterly, completely USELESS apart from their first level utility functions, minor AC-bonuses (+ 2 per drone, similar bonuses don't require a full round action from other sources like clerics and hold up longer and the drones only get accessible at 9th level) and the high-level spell-channeling powers.

Servitors are the Clockworker's equivalent of a Summoner's eidolon and in stark contrast to the drone-rules, the servitor rules provide the possibility to create small, medium, large and even huge servitors. They also come with 4 different basic forms, quadruped, biped, wheeled and serpentine. The wide variety of different innovations (ranging from 1-point to 4-point innovations, analogue to the evolutions of the eidolon), the innovations enable you to truly customize the servitor, enabling you to create serpentine, breath-weapon using horrors or even you very own siege tanks. To add even further options to the Clockworker's arsenal, he can construct a mechanical harness to benefit from such innovations himself at the cost of his servitor's available innovation pool. The servitor has one MAJOR downside, though: When dismissed by the Clockworker, they collapse into themselves - one well-places charm spell and that's it - the Clockworker has to spend 8 hours reassembling the servitor. 8 hours! While I'm always for classes with some kind of Achilles heel, this particular one is far too easily exploitable and should be errataed/house-ruled, especially with the upkeep cost of the drones and servitors being already a minor drawback.

The pdf closes with mending spells to repair the servitors and other constructs and the Clockworker's spell-list. Unfortunately, the list is VERY blast-mageish/ evocation-heavy. While I do get the idea of the Clockworker creating electric bolts, acidic blasts etc., I think that a class like the Clockworker probably should do such things via his servitor/drones, not his spells, as I do have to admit some balance-concerns here - there's a reason for the Summoner's rather defense-focused, limited spell-list after all and adding Sorceror-style blast capacity to the servitor class-feature might prove unbalancing, depending on your game/players.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful b/w-two-column standard that is more printer-friendly than HHG's old standard and even surpasses it in beauty. The interior artworks of clockworks are stunning and of the highest quality, again, Kudos where Kudos are due! The pdf comes with full bookmarks, making navigation of the pdf easy.

First of all: I love the idea of the Clockworker - it's a complex, versatile class with interesting mechanics and great ideas - in fact, I prefer it over the Summoner. Or rather, I would prefer it over the Summoner, were it not for 2 essential problems that drag down what would otherwise be a 4, 4.5 or even 5-star-pdf: The signature abilities just don't work as they should. The drones remain mostly useless things that consume horrendous amounts of actions until they gain access to spells and even then their usability is rather limited. The servitor can be easily dismantled by one botched will-save and seeing that the Clockworker gets bad will-saves, that's a likely thing to happen. Add to that the spell-list that might lead to balance-concerns when the two signature abilities are hand-waved to work and we unfortunately get a class in severe need of a revision. Don't get me wrong, the Clockworker is far from unsalvageable, in fact, the contrary holds true - with a revision of at least the drone rules and the collapsing servitor-problem, we'd be looking at a high score of 4 or 4.5, perhaps even 5 stars instead. As written, though, my final verdict for the Clockworker, as much as I hate giving it, has to be 2.5 stars, rounded down to 2. I really hope the class gets a revision soon so that I can scale up my review to reflect the ingenious ideas herein.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] The Clockworker
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] The Clockworker
by thomas c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 12:26:53

Excellent and highly reccomended. I like the charecter concept. Kinda like an alternative summoner. Perfect for steampunk oriented campaigns and would also work well in eberron or the new Zeitgeist settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 8
by William P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2011 07:17:29

This is the second FF art pack I have purchased and both have been terrific. Great art at a great price. I had trouble with the .rar format and the folks at Headless Hydra emailed me back almost immediately with a solution. Thanks, kudos, and I will be buying more from this collection!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 8
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

HHG Free Clip Art 4
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/05/2011 07:02:11

Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/05/the-night-gallery-volume-i-issue-i/

Now for our final drawing. Drake Disk Ornament is free from Headless Hydra Games. And what do you get for free? A surprisingly well drawn and detailed ornamental piece. With drakes on it. (the lizard kind, not the bird kind) The piece has a nice pseudo-celtic/nordic theme with two large drakes prowling around the border. In fact, they look suspiciously life-like, as if this was a piece of treasure you’re not certain you want to keep.

As I mentioned above, I think good art should mean good storytelling. In this simple piece, you have several possibilities, from a simple bit of clip-art for theme, an intricate ward or lock, or even a missing piece of a larger whole, the beginning of an epic quest.

And all this for the stately price of nothing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HHG Free Clip Art 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Revised Mor Aldenn Map Pack
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2011 13:22:11

Originally Posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/02/the-gazetteer-volume-i-issue-ii/

Man, this is our second Mor Aldenn map review in as many days. We kind of like Headless Hydra games here, don’t we? Although I gave a “thumbs in the middle” to The Wizard’s Staff map, here we are getting four maps for five bucks, which is a nice deal. Where The Wizard’s Staff was a map for a single location within the city of Mor Aldenn (although it could be apply to many fantasy campaigns), the Revised Mor Aldenn Map Pack covers the actual city or Mor Aldenn itself.

Like other Mor Aldenn maps, this is NOT for use with a miniatures based campaign. These maps are either for DM reference or to hand out as a prop to your players. All four maps show the city of Mor Aldenn, but in different ways. The first map is a beautifully illustrated .tiff image showing the ley lines around the city. There are eight different sections, but I have no idea what they mean or how they can be used, so to find out you’ll either to have a Mor Aldenn sourcebook or a strong imagination. The second map is a full color map of the side from an overhead perspective. This, too, is beautifully done, but you’re getting an overview of the area rather than a street side view of the city, so if you are looking for something that gives you an exact layout of Mor Aldenn, you’ll want to look elsewhere. This map does have a handy legend pointing out all the important parts in the island city and its surroundings, so if you are thinking of running a campaign in this setting, it would be very handy to have. The third map is the same as the second, but it is in grayscale instead of colour. The fourth and final map is the same as the second one, but without the legend or location numbering.

Basically you’re paying five bucks for a ley line map and three versions of a second map. That’s not too bad, but compared to several of the other maps we’ve looked at over the past two days, it is a bit pricey for a single map.

The Revised Mor Aldenn Map Pack is a must have if you are planning to use this campaign setting, but it’s only useful for that specific niche of gamers. Everyone else has no real need to pick this up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Revised Mor Aldenn Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wizard's Staff Cartography
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2011 07:21:03

Originally Posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/01/the-gazetteer-volume-i-issue-i/

This is an odd duck. On RPGNow.com’s website it says you’ll be getting a pdf, but what you download is actually a jpeg. As well, unlike the two previous maps we’ve covered in this column, this can’t actually be used with miniatures. It’s just too small. As such it’s a map that works best as a DM reference for campaigns that don’t use mini and instead visualize their entire adventures. I do both, so I’m fine with that, but due to the size it does limit who can actually use this.

Although this map is designed by Headless Hydra Games, it isn’t specifically designed for their Mor Aldenn campaign setting. It’s is a location in the city of Mor Aldenn, but it is designed to work in any fantasy campaign for any rules system. You might also think from the name that The Wizard’s Staff is going to be a magic oriented dungeon or a keep for a high level mage, but in fact the map is meant to be an inn. That’s kind of a neat twist name-wise.

The inn is three stories and there is a little guide to the various rooms, but there is no actual detail to the map. It’s a bare bones grid based diagram and it feels as hollow as it looks. For example, the kitchen is completely empty. There’s no pots, shelves or tables. It’s just an empty room. Same with the bedrooms. There aren’t any beds! Again, due to the lack of detail, this map really should only be used by a DM who wants a specifically visual guide and who is creative enough to fill in the little touches on their own. It’s by no means something that should be handed to the players. It’s a nice layout (even if the structure wouldn’t support itself in real life), but it needed to be fleshed out a bit more.

For a dollar fifty, this is still a pretty decent by in theory, but it really pales in comparison to Warlord’s Watchtower that we covered above, as it has more detail and it is a lot cheaper. It’s also hard to think of when you’ll need a highly detailed map of an inn, but it’s nice to have one on hand it case it comes up in a campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard's Staff Cartography
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2011 07:03:09

Originally Published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/07/22/tabletop-review-mor-aldenn-creature-compendium/

There are a pretty wide variety of RPG books out there. There are core books and modules, setting guides and splatbooks. My favorite, though, has always been the monster catalog. The Monster Manual, the Fiend Folio, these are the books that I covet. I will even horde monster catalogs for games I have no intention of ever playing.

A well constructed monster catalog has a variety of creature types, descriptions with plenty of adventure hooks, and challenging encounters for a spectrum of player levels. There are only so many mindless animals and filth covered goblinoids a party can face before a party gets bored. The creatures included are: Arachnus, Black Glass Undead, Blacktalon Lizardfolk, Marsh Dragon, Gaiant, Bog Giant, Gold Cap, Hag Spider, Leyspinner, Mahr, Manifest Child of the Ether, Marshling, Mirejack, Mythraven, Plaguecrawler, Portune, Puppet Imp, Spell Pike, Stiltskin, Tuskbeast, and Veraxar.

The Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium is intended for use with the Mor Aldenn: City of Mages Pathfinder setting, but all 21 of the included monsters are suitable for Golarian campaigns. The implied setting is a swamp, so the monsters tend to be more swamp appropriate than anything else. Certain creatures, like the Portune, could have an impact on an entire campaign and not just an encounter.

For example, the Bog Giant could be a central figure in multiple adventures as a party advances in level. The Bog Giant is described as looking like a ‘walking boulder’ but is Neutral Good and prone to assisting lost travellers in the marsh. A low-level party encountering the kindly Bog Giant could be startled and inclined to violence, but ultimately helped by the large stranger. Perhaps they could stumble upon a wounded or trapped Bog Giant and earn a favor by helping him. A higher levelled party could be called upon by a Bog Giant to help fight an even larger monster, even a dragon. A sample scenario could go something like this:

A merchant hires the party to enter the marshes to recover items from a caravan that has been lost. The party hears the sounds of battle, but they arrive to find the caravan smashed to bits, most of the guards dead, and a giant, filthy man charging into the brush. The lone survivor of the caravan ambush is delirious and only recalls the attack coming out of nowhere, being knocked unconscious, and awaking to see a giant standing over him. The party could track the Bog Giant and find him battling any number of foes, even a party of humans. Maybe one of his opponents is using a weapon or equipment from the caravan. There could be a superhero team-up comic misunderstanding, with the party taking the wrong side and chasing off the kind Giant and helping the bandits or the party might be able to deduce that the Giant is a good guy. If you are using the Mor Aldenn setting, the enemy in question could even be a disciple of the Hag Witch. This could lead to an alliance with the lone Bog Giant or even with a small tribe or to an enduring friendship with the few good creatures of the marshes. Since the Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium has such a large number of swamp creatures, the whole campaign could lean towards cleaning the swamp of the evil presence within.

The cover art is a good indicator of what to expect inside – first party quality from a third party publisher. Each creature, except the pretty self-explanatory Spell Pike, gets a black and white piece of artwork. These pieces are universally high quality, with the style varying from 1st Edition D&D to the more modern Paizo style.

One thread that is woven throughout the book, and I suspect the entire Mor Aldenn setting, is the relationship between the supernatural and the common man. There are references to fairy tales and folklore, which help people remember the rules of conduct when it comes to dealing with the fae and supernatural. The use of rumors and hearsay in the descriptions makes it much easier to think of reasons for your players to use their Knowledge skills and get to know their creature biology.

At 35 pages for $4.99, the Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium packs a high usefulness to cost ratio. Even for Pathfinder GMs not intending to use the Mor Aldenn setting, there is much to love in this bestiary. The breadth and depth of certain monsters in this compendium justify the purchase on their own. Even the more esoteric creatures have a purpose. Yes, that does mean I am planning an adventure centered around the Spell Pike. Anyone have a Fishing Rod +2?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Mor Aldenn Creature Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Eldritch Secrets, Vol 1
by Paco G. J. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/17/2011 11:11:49

This review was written by Thilo Graf and first published in GMS Magazine

This pdf from Headless Hydra Games is 106 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page header, 1 page editorial, 1 page back cover, 2 blank pages inside back cover, 2 pages of advertisements, 1.5 pages of SRD, leaving 95.5 pages of content, so let’s check out this spell selection.

First of all let me say that I LOVE the beautiful full-color artwork – the full color artworks spread throughout the book rank among the most creepy, evocative and cool I’ve seen in any 3pp’s book out there. Unfortunately, the file does not come with a printer-friendly version, though, so prepare your printer to be challenged. The result is worth it, though! Secondly, you’ll realize that this book offers full-blown support of the APG, including spells that have been specifically designed for the new classes and even features some new alchemist’s discoveries in a side-bar. Which brings me to my hallmark for great spells, Rite Publishing’s awesome 101 spells series, which as of the writing of this review, does not feature this support. (Though it is in the process of being added in the upcoming compilation!) Thus, Eldritch Compendium gets 2 plus points. What about the spells, then?

They are interesting, that’s sure. Ever wanted your death to trigger the arrival of a terrible bird that carries your corpse away to have it resurrected? Create mirrors to show other places? Conjure up terrible silent, disturbing entities of pure magic (that come with awesome artworks – the Ether Child ROCKS!)? What about a spell for each school of magic that can be considered the epitome of the respective school, making you temporarily a tremendously powerful incarnation of the respective force of magic? A spell to make a ship fly for a limited amount of time? A spell that synesthetically exchanges two of your opponents’ senses, thus confusing him/her? A spell to summon tiny, disturbing stick effigies to obey your command? A spell to add magical blades to the sides of horses, making for an even more deadly charge. “Ladder of Tresses” lets the hair of the target grow long and makes it climbable. There’s also a cantrip that makes regular surfaces temporarily a mirror.

There are also “Quintessential” spells for each of the schools of magic – these spells are 9th level and are the epitome of the arcane power of the respective school, making e.g. the necromancer an avatar of death. While powerful, I can see them being a great high-level-reward or even the aim of a caster’s whole career. While some side-boxes acknowledge their power, personally I don’t consider them OP. Among the rather story-centric spells, we also get a ritual to restore a ruin to its former state. A spell I considered interesting, but potentially unbalancing, is “Spellbreaker” – it works on another spell and makes it automatically bypass spell resistance.

We also get 6 new feats, 7 new magic items and appendices of spell-lists by schools, use, descriptor and author, helping to find the spells you’re looking for.

Conclusion:

Editing is ok – I noticed less than 10 glitches on 106 pages and none truly impeded my enjoyment of the spells. Layout and full-color artworks absolutely rock – this is one of the most beautiful 3pp-books I’ve seen out there. On the downside, though, there’s no printer-friendly version and this book extols a heavy price from your printer. The pdf is extensively bookmarked and in contrast to other spell-books, features a lot of spells with a story/non-combat usage, which is awesome, at least in my opinion – it means that the book serves rather as a complimentary book to e.g. the 101-series by Rite rather than being a direct competitor. The book is so different in focus and tone from RiP’s stellar series that I’ll be using both. Where the RiP-series is rather focused on mechanics and encounters, this book does not offer as many brilliant rules as RiP, but it has some story-heavy fluff that immediately makes you come up with cool ideas to use them. On the downside, though, some of these spells suffer from their rules being not as clear as they could be. While the book is stunningly beautiful, not having a printer-friendly version hurts the usability of the book. In the end, my final verdict will be 4 stars – if you’re looking for an old-world-style spell-book, this is a great, albeit not perfect buy. If you’re looking for some spells that feel different or some APG-support, this might even be 4.5 stars for you.

Source: GMS Magazine (http://s.tt/12PRU)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Eldritch Secrets, Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] Moon's Folly
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2011 03:43:45

Moon's Folly by Headless Hydra

This product is 28 pages long. It starts with a cover, credits, and overview. (2 pages)

Moon's Folly (4 ½ pages) Moon's Folly is a town that grew out of a lumber village and has since become a way stop for caravans. This first section talks about the history of the town, map of the area, map of the town and the locations around town.

Notable NPC's (3 ½ pages) Here it has a section on the NPC's in and around the town of note. Three of them have full stat blocks and twelve more just have paragraph writes up about them.

New Rules (3 pages) There is 4 new traits, 5 new feats, and 4 new equipment items. Two of the feats I thought where to strong. One is only for were creatures but it ups there DR to 10 and the other grants a DR 2/cold iron. The others where ok, some of the traits are for were creature PC's as well, but where I thought ok. Assuming you are ok with such PC's in the first place.

New Monsters (1 page) Stiltskin – A type of fey, CR8, a subterranean creature that collects secrets. I thought it was very interesting new creature with what they do.

On the Road from Mor Aldenn (2 pages) This section talks about traveling from the nearest city, travel times etc. It also has 9 suggested random encounters. There is no random table just nine suggestions. Some are combat and some are not. I do have one critic about the combat ones, I would they would have added a page number to the monster in question as there is not stat blocks. There is also 11 rumors one might hear about Moon's Folly.

Secrets of Moon's Folly (4 pages) In this section is five adventure idea's. Each is about half a page long or longer. They are fairly interesting and well thought out. Though a DM would need to flesh the idea's out themselves.

It ends with a OGL, campaign notes pages and a blank page. (7 pages)

Closing thoughts. The art is black and white, ranges from meh to fair. Layout and editing is pretty good. I didn't notice a few mistakes here and there but not to bad. This is a basic location book with some adventure idea's. With the OGL, notes(and I am not sure why there is 5 pages of campaign notes pages to be printed it, it is a PDF the page could be printed as much as wanted) The book is only 21 pages long with only 19 of that actual content. The book is pretty decent but feels incomplete. It could have really used a few more pages honestly. It's a nice start all and all though, so maybe they will do a follow up product on it. So what's my rating? Well for the 3.99 price I am going to have to give it a 3 star. If you are looking for a basic setting and adventure idea's it's not bad.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Moon's Folly
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Foes Clip Art 4
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2011 09:52:18

12 excellent pieces of art to use as monster or character art or use in your own products with included license. All are black and white, but have a feel about them like you are reading a high-end bestiary. These are more inline with the classic monster books of the 1980s. The quality is great and the monsters/characters are good fantasy fare. Includes a PDF for easy viewing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Foes Clip Art 3
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2011 09:50:59

14 excellent pieces of art to use as monster or character art or use in your own products with included license. All are black and white, but have a feel about them like you are reading a high-end bestiary of some really alien looking creatures. Includes a PDF for easy viewing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Foes Clip Art 1
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2011 09:49:15

12 excellent pieces of art to use as monster or character art or use in your own products with included license. All are black and white, but have a feel about them like you are reading a high-end bestiary. What would be nice if someone came up with stats for these for their own games. Includes a PDF for easy viewing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to review one of our Clip Art packages! Actually, these illustrations were used and is featured as Pathfinder monsters in Tricky Owlbear's Forgotten Foes! - Axel
[PFRPG] Moon's Folly
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2011 00:13:56

I love little towns with a lot of mystery. I love weird, freaky cults and weird, freaky goings on. And I love material that I can use in any setting, especially my own. So I snatched up Moon's Folly in a hurry. So take a town, plant it near a pre-historic megalithic structure. Fill it full of humans, elves, fey and lycanthropes and all peacefully worshiping the Moon Goddess, add your PCs and I am sure something is going to happen. But in case you are at a loss for ideas, there are plenty in this book. Did I mention that there some lumberers wanting to cut down the forest for profit? Yeah they are there too.

Reminds me a bit of the Village of Hommlet, if Hommlet was in the Scottish Highlands surrounded by dryads. There are plenty of other secrets and plenty of NPCs to keep a Game Master occupied.

The one thing it is missing though is some sort of threat the Characters can solve the old-fashioned way, with sense violence. Not a requirement mind you, but players do enjoy a good combat session. The Keep had the Caves of Chaos, Hommlet had the Temple of Elemental Evil and Moon's Folly could do with something similar.

All in all, an enjoyable work and a great starting place for a group of new adventurers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Moon's Folly
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[PFRPG] At the Heart of Evil
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2011 15:20:26

At the Heart of Evil by Headless Hydra Games

This product is 16 pages long. It starts with a cover and Credits. (2 pages)

Introduction (2 pages) This is a background to the adventure, overview and some plot hooks.

The Old Keep (11 pages) There is a map of all levels of the keep, there is a total of 12 encounters in the keep and room for some RPing even. It is mostly a fairly straight forward “dungeon crawl” where the PC's go and explore a old keep to defeat the evil that is rumored to be their.

It ends with a OGL. (1 pages)

Closing thoughts. The artwork is simple black and white, the maps are simple but well done. The encounters could be very dangerous in a couple of spots, which makes this adventure possible very hard. Or things might be very easy depending a bit on the makeup of the party. The adventure is undead heavy. Really there is two parts to this adventure and this is only the first part. I am assuming their will be a followup adventure to this free adventure for the next part. All and all this is fairly well done, there is not bookmarks or statblocks. I did have one critic, there is a woman the PC's can save and if they do they can earn a reward. Only it doesn't say what or even offer suggestions what the reward should be. I think it should have offered suggestions. The adventure could be used stand alone with out the second part fairly easy with only a few minor tweaks.

So what's my rating? Well it is free, but it is a fairly simple straight forward adventure. I recommend picking it up, but I am going to rate it with a 4 star review. A nice but pretty simple straight forward adventure that could have used a little more polish.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] At the Heart of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Headless Hydra Clip Art 10
by Creighton B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2011 10:42:11

This is a great image by Marc Radle. I love the artist's style and the image itself is very evocative of Old School type gaming. When I first saw it, I immediately thought of the Moathouse from Temple of Elemental Evil. Well worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Headless Hydra Clip Art 10
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG