RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Death Frost Doom
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 20:10:10

Amazing adventure. Very simple to read and get a hang of, and the subject matter is absolutly deadly and brillant. This is one of the best LotFP adventures I've read. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Frost Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of the Lost
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 18:36:19

Hands down my favourite LotFP product to date. Fantastic resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of the Lost
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thulian Echoes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 18:33:12

Excellent setup. Great adventure drawing from some inspired sources. Smart writing. Lovely map.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thulian Echoes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Rules & Magic Full Version
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 16:17:05

As a current Pathfinder player, I found this system surprisingly appealling. Maybe I've been submerged in rules bloat for too long. As others have pointed out, LofFP is essentially a retroclone. BUT they've included some of the better things incorporated in 3.X systems - ascending AC and customizable rogue (LotFP calls it a "specialist") skills stand out. But they've managed to keep the simplicity of old-school D&D.


Perhaps my favorite part is what LotFP has done with Magic-Users. LotFP removes most of the direct damage spells - most notably Fireball and Lightning Bolt (but kept Magic Missile oddly). And it's added some intuitively-consistent utility to spells that had little love before - a "Light" spell can be used to blind an opponent, and "Feather Fall" can be used on a missile fired at you. I'm not a big fan of the new spells - the "weirdness" feels a little forced to me. I'm looking at you "Strange Waters" and "Summon" which is a stupidly-complicated spell for a game that focuses so much on simplicity, albeit there is some inspiration in the way Summon works - it just needs heavy refinement IMO. If it were my system, I would add cantrips and allow magic specialization, but that would undermine their goal of simplicity. The end result is that Magic Users are far darker and less direct in how they deal with problems, and personally, I love it despite my complaints.


I'm out of time to review, so I'd like to comment about a few odds and ends . . . I love what LotFP did with the specialist class (roll d6 to determine success, eight-ish skills to specialize in). I'm torn that LotFP allowed Fighters to be the only class with an increasing base attack bonus and try to balance that by giving Fighters bad saving throws...hmm. I wish they would have given weapons a little more detail - I feel like that's how melee classes distinguish themselves.


On the whole, I love the publication, but it makes me want to tweak it in about a hundred different ways. I know, it's allowed, but I don't like to tinker with base rules too much because you risk all kinds of balance issues. Anyways, I give LotFP rules 5/5 for a refreshing take on the D&D system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Rules & Magic Full Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Pale Lady
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2016 13:29:33

SPOILER ALERT


The good:


-Some good, creepy horror elements. Rabbit-men slavers/underlings led by Pale Lady who gives birth to said rabbit-men given the right kind of mate.


-Great, dark artwork.


-A pretty interesting result if PC's succeed.


The bad:


-The key to success in this adventure requires a PC (specifically, the elf or magic-user) to agree to sleep with the creepy, Pale Lady. IMO, any sane PC wouldn't agree to such a thing. And if you've read much LotFP material, you know this is the exact sort of decision that will get your character unmercifully slaughtered. And, of course, they would be right in this case, as sleeping with the Pale Lady is almost fatal - he ages 1d100 years.


-The location is basically an extradimensional slave plantation, yet struck me as fairly bland.


On the whole, I'm torn as to whether I want to introduce this adventure to my PC's. IMO, the most interesting part of the adventure would likely be bypassed by most parties - as such, I can only give 3 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Pale Lady
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

No Salvation for Witches
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2016 11:04:03

Like most LotFP modules, NSFW isn't a carefully plotted adventure ("this happens, then this happens, then this...") Instead, it sets up a situation, provides a bunch of NPCs and monsters, and then leaves it up to the referee and PCs to wreak havoc. Personally I like this sort of setup, but it does require more work on the part of the referee, so be warned.


Also like most LotFP modules, this one has a really cool concept at the heart of it. Adventures where PCs try to stop a villain from gaining ultimate power are a dime a dozen--but what if the person isn't a villain? What if they genuinely want to fix the world, and might be able to? This is the moral conundrum at the heart of the module.


Of course, there are also lots of horrible monsters, nifty but potentially lethal magic items, and gorey deaths, as one would expect.


Highly recommended for experienced referees.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Salvation for Witches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tales of the Scarecrow
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2016 17:22:59

A classic horror scenario (field of corn, scarecrow, empty farmhouse), some nifty magic items, and a fantastic core concept make this a must buy for any experienced, bloodthirsty gamemaster. Lure your party into the farmhouse, then sit back and enjoy the chaos. I'd say more, but I don't want to spoil it--just buy the darn thing, its well worth the money.


Works particularly well with players who are equally bloodthirsty, though I think even "goody two shoes" parties might find this scenario interesting. And unlike many LotFP modules, this one doesn't encourage / require the players to do anything nasty (unless they want to, of course!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Frost Doom
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2016 14:04:52

This is a very attractive and well-written adventure, but unfortunately I can't recommend it. It's very atmospheric and mysterious, but the mystery doesn't give the players any clues to solve it. In the end, if they do the right thing it will by chance. If they do the wrong thing, it will be by chance. The various atmospheric elements really are there pretty much just to be weird and strange and not to contribute to the overall setting or story. All in all, very pretty, but empty, and it would be frustrating for players who expect to be able to control their destinies.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Death Frost Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by Marcus Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 15:29:55

I had the pleasure of playing this in a one shot with a great Referee. The setting stayed true to the "weird" that LotFP is known for. It was interesting and not so combat oriented. The exploration and puzzles were wild, and the overall experience was a great one. I would recommend this one without a doubt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Squid, the Cabal, and the Old Man
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2016 11:08:33

What you get:
An unstable situation involving three prominent figures of varying wealth and power
3 house maps plus an observatory map
2 dungeons
1 ancient cult
A new spell
Several new monsters
Several new magic and/or treasure items


While written for a semi-historical England in 1684, the basic theme and adventure could easily fit into almost any time period and level of historical or fantastical detail.

However, the adventure contains only a small amount of actual plot or "here's what to do if the players do this..." advice, so I probably would not recommend this to GMs that like to have a lot of plot to work with. Also, there are several LotFP "gotcha, your PC is f*cked for touching a spoon" moments, but they are easily removed if you don't like that sort of thing.

The only thing I really wish would have been included is a basic large scale map of the region for those of us unfamiliar with English geography.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Squid, the Cabal, and the Old Man
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Referee Book (old Grindhouse Edition)
by Zarion B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2016 13:25:05

Well, what can I say? You get a GM guide for free, which is a great help for a "Retro-clone" newbie like me! Now if only the tutorial book was available as well...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Referee Book (old Grindhouse Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

England Upturn'd
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 19:47:56

Blood, thunder, violence, and the nastiness of war explodes across the page as we look into England Upturn'd by Barry Blatt From Lamentations of the Flame Princess.


"The English Civil War was a series of armed conflicts and political machinations between Parliamentarians and Royalists over, principally, the manner of its government." According to the internet and the combatants were simply the Cavalier, & Roundheads


But like many events in history the reality is far more complex especially with your party of adventurers caught right in the cross hairs of history with a dark and dangerous Lamentations twist to the whole affair. This was one of the most dangerous periods in English history and one that hasn't been tackled by too many old school retroclone systems. Like many other Lamentations of the Flame Princess products this is not simply another adventure; here's the thing about Lamentations products on the surface they can appear to be simple adventures when in fact there is a bit more meat on the beast's bones. In this case it's a bloody and quite complex beast of an adventure with the PC's taking part in the back scenes of the events of history & legend. Barry Blatt does an exceptional job created a campaign kit as well as an adventure based around the events of the English Civil War.


Because this is a Lamentations product the political & religions factions of history are tackled head on. These powers and factions are central to the plot of England Up Turn'd as are the supernatural and occult elements of the adventure. This adventure takes the events of history and twists them through the lens of the Lamentations system in such a way as to be both workable and unique in its approaches to the events of history.


According to the author; "While the Civil War changed little in itself, it


marked out the issues that the Glorious Revolution of 1688 eventually resolved. The waves


of emigration immediately preceding, during, and after it exported those same issues to the


American colonies, which had a few rebellions and riots of their own at this time. Lamentations of the Flame Princess does the Early Modern period well enough already, but in the appendices you will find optional setting specific rules to give an English Civil War game a bit more flavour should the Referee


wish to expand on this adventure and run a full blown Civil War campaign. Needless to say the author is not a historian and various small liberties have been taken


with the facts in the interests of fun and not boring the arse off’ the reader with too much


tedious historical exposition. This adventure features real locations in Lincolnshire and refers to real people alive at the time; my fictional depictions are just that - fictional, no offense is meant, and hopefully none will


be taken. This adventure owes an obvious debt to the film A Field in England directed by Ben Wheatley, what with the alchemy, the buried treasure, mud, and hallucinogenic ending. If you haven’t seen it, do so."
Much of the material is both real world and alternative roles in history of the PC's in the adventure set against the events of the English Civil War and it does it very well. The adventure takes great advantage of the usual tropes of OD&D's magic system and spins them into a different occult direction to great effect. But is it worth the download?
Well yes it is and in fact its a damn fine product and here are some of the reasons why :


The England Upturn'd product is a major turning point for the Lamentations line in my opinion it lays out a sprawling LoFP campaign option for the DM.
There are literally several adventures tucked into one book Russian doll style. The adventures are linked via the plot line and have a thread of adventure, blood shed, & politics running through them.
These are quite nicely the age of rebellion in English history with the War of the Roses being a close second in terms of adventure opportunity for a Lamentations style game.
The occult is quite central to the adventures and much of the material revolves around the axis of the first half of the English Civil War. There are plot and adventure hooks that are scattered throughout the text to move things towards the next end of history.

Magical treasures and occult items in England Upturn'd are very in keeping with the times and circumstances of the history of the era. An example of this are as follows; Crocodile boots—made in Amsterdam by a
cobbler with access to exotic Egyptian wares, these fashionable riding boots grant +1 Armour,
and once a day can be commanded with the words ‘Ik denk dat ik moet vertrekken’ (‘I
think I should leave’ in Dutch), to allow the wearer to walk on water for a minute." Its all of the little touches that add up to creating a veneer of weirdness and pulpy strangeness in England Upturn'd that makes this adventure campaign so damn fun to read. It also makes me want to run this adventure and this is the book where factions, weirdness, and history all collide in a more then dangerous mix of the supernatural and adventure. Parties of adventurers are going to hard pressed to not get dragged into the politic of the history of England Upturn'd.
Note that even though England Up Turn'd is steeped in real world history the myths, legends, and mythologies of England the classic literature of Europe is in evidence throughout the adventure source book. I'm sure that some folks might compare England Upturn'd to Dark Albion because of the historical aspects of these product but they are very different animals. England Upturn'd is set in the real world history of the English Civil War with fantastical and occult elements thrown in. Whist Dark Albion takes a much different approach by creating an entire world setting around its own version of the historical events of the War of The Roses even though that book follows the War's events exactly.
England Upturn'd is a party's chance to make their own mark within the campaign world and make it well if they are very lucky and play their cards right. There are lots of opportunities for the forces in this book to quite nicely kill off a party. Between the moments of violence and horrors of the events of England Upturn'd there is a solidly done book with lots of well written bits that will keep a party busy for months and months of play.


Do I think its worth your time and money? In a word yes in spades, this a well written and dangerously devilish designed & will provide a well set piece of weird horror adventure for both Lamentations of the Flame Princess DM's and players. Five out of five for England Upturn'd.


The law locks up the man or woman
Who steals the goose off the common
But leaves the greater villain loose
Who steals the common from the goose.


The law demands that we atone
When we take things we do not own
But leaves the lords and ladies fine
Who takes things that are yours and mine.
The poor and wretched don’t escape
If they conspire the law to break;
This must be so but they endure
Those who conspire to make the law.


The law locks up the man or woman
Who steals the goose from off the common
And geese will still a common lack
Till they go and steal it back.


‘Protest Ballad, Anon. circa 1635’


Eric Fabiaschi
Sword and Stitchery Blog
Want To Read More About This and Other OSR Products
Be Sure To Subscribe To the Sword and Stitchery Blog
http://swords-
andstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
England Upturn'd
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Bartek E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2016 23:11:14

One of my all-time favourite RPG books. I play Savage Worlds rather than LotFP, but I still often read this book because of its awesome flavour and excellent advice for running city campaigns. Vornheim is definitely the most compelling fantasy city I've ever seen in an RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgive Us
by Preston P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2016 18:37:46

Pretty solid adventure with interesting locations, the minor adventures are also golden. Each of the three adventures has an original premise and was lovingly given detail.


My only real complaint is that the stats for things like firearms or the drugs aren't included in the adventure, which is just so damn lazy. It really would have been much more convenient if these things were printed in the book instead of references to where they can be found in other books. I guess a minor complaint is that the art may be too cartoony for some, but now I'm just nitpicking.


The PDF works well and the maps are beautifully done.


Overall a quality piece of work with a funny tone and great ideas-- it's what you want out of an adventure you buy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgive Us
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Single, Small Cut
by Preston P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2016 22:20:33

"A Single, Small Cut" was a pretty neat mini-adventure really meant to be a small side-encounter. Be warned that this -is- very short because you're only paying two dollars for it.


That considered, the illustrations are excellent, as is the writing. While many LotFP products may have pretty questionable difficulty and obscene content (I mean that's half the fun, right?) "A Single, Small Cut" is just the right blend of challenging and is G-rated in case that matters to you. It also has a great magic item and some neat lore that'll spice up your game.


The scan is pretty clean and everything on the technical side is also good quality. 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Single, Small Cut
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 185 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG