RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Red & Pleasant Land
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2015 18:15:35
1st) Why only 4 stars? It ended. While it has a high page count, many are wasted with useful information and not describing the setting. The setting is plenty detailed. If you buy it, you will understand.

2nd) It was worth every cent of $15; but, for gamers on a budget, it is a little pricey. If you can afford it, it is some of the most interesting work done in gaming.

3rd) Which rules? LotFP is a retro clone. The art is amazing and the flavor unbelievable. This module/campaign would play out in many game systems. I hate to say "better"; but I will. The grit of Warhammer 1st or 2nd could really work. Oddly, First Fable came to mind first. Maybe for kids, probably not.

AR&PL reminded me of the Ravenloft setting. It could easily fit in as a realm there; although it would be the cool one. It also could fit as "behind the hedge" for Changeling or the other White Wolf games.

Bottom line, it is genius.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Red & Pleasant Land
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 11:57:45
I like this a lot and find that it's full of interesting ideas that I can use. I don't think $9 is expensive considering the amount of usable ideas in it. I liked "A Red and Pleasant Land" very much, so this author seems to be creating product that I enjoy. It'll be interesting to start creating various cities (or even just one!) using "Vornheim". It works for me, that's all I can say. I also think the artwork is cool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Red & Pleasant Land
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2015 11:49:25
This is very, very impressive. It's full of information and great ideas. I didn't have the money to buy the print version, which looks amazing, so I got the PDF version. The collision of worlds between Alice in Wonderland and vampires appealed to me. It looks like it would take quite a time to run the whole campaign, which is excellent, but there are also lots of ideas to take and use elsewhere. I have no idea how long it took the author to create this, but I'm glad they did. First class work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Red & Pleasant Land
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Frost Doom
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2015 13:29:02
I approached James Raggi IV for a copy of this pdf about two days ago and downloaded it prepared for something of a total party kill adventure. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is a stone cold horror adventure done in the round robin way of isolated Heavy Metal album covers and European myth & legend. Where as the first Death Frost Doom was a scattered tapestry of horrific elements, Zak Smith has rewritten the entire adventure from the ground up to weave every morbid facet of this adventure as a whole. And its done very well. The cover art (in color) was done by Yannick Bouchard and the black and white interior illustrations, cartography and design were done by Jez Gordon. These elements are all done very, very, well. From just a look over of the material we're plunged into a peusdo European world of horror and twisted dark mythology with an entirely new take on the undead. Everything in this module echoes so far the charm of a romp through the darkest corners of imagination with bits of Lovecraftian adventure throughout out the first couple of pages. To get into the ins and outs of this module is like looking at a horror film with a subplot that runs through it in a smart and very well way. There is the feel of European legend here mixed in with horror films then set on high and poured into a setting waiting to spring on the PC's. And I'm not talking about a total kill straight out of the gate. Instead what we're looking at is an adventure that takes full advantage of the horror tropes in well done but different way. Ways that actually fit into a wide variety of old school quasi- historical backgrounds and setting for which Lamentations of the Flame Princess is well known. This adventure can not only seamlessly fit into the back space of existing campaigns but can be used to generate entire local sub spaces for such. The adventure elements add an entire sub mythology and myth to the adventure. This is something that Zak Smith has done before as an author and designer. I see this all of the time on his blog but to see it done in an adventure using the old Death Frost Doom material is something else entirely.
Straight up this is a very well done adventure and I'll get more into it in the second part. My intial impress is that not only can this adventure work for Lamentations of the Flame Princess but I would use this adventure for other old school rpg's as well. I'm thinking here of OD&D with a dark horror theme or even Cthulhu Dark Ages. The conversion would be quite painless and easy to accomplish. Death Frost Doom is an adventure of supernatural horror and intrigue with a veneer of OD&D. This is not a light weight adventure but one that needs far more attention then it has been getting. Please remember these are only my initial impressions of the adventure. But for those DM's already running a LoFP campaign who bought the original adventure, go back and grab this one. This is a completely different animal then the first adventure and be prepared for that.
Death Frost Doom is an adventure that literally draws you into the center of its world like a black hole of wintry death. This is a place that has gone beyond the pale of mere myth and legend into a world of all its own. And the adventurers are drawn up into the module's magick and malevolence. This is a horror movie starring your PC's and the situations described are ones with an internal world all their own. You've just stumbled into the world of Death Frost Doom. So what the hell is it about DFD that is so intriguing? The writing, the plot, or construction of the adventure or perhaps Zak Smith's writing? Maybe the artwork? None of the above really. There's an internal mechanism of menace to the adventure that makes it part investigation, part dungeon crawl, and part monster menace all rolled into one package.There's a nice quality of high weirdness and depravity to the events of DFD that give the DM plenty to work with. And if played correctly with a solid group of players will have them experiencing something akin to Evil Dead part two and some dark twisted European fairy tale on steroids. Adding to mix is the cover art (in color) was done by Yannick Bouchard and the black and white interior illustrations, cartography and design were done by Jez Gordon. All of those seem to add to the total feel of the adventure and it can be added straight into a pre existing LoFP campaign with little issue. Heck this could be added straight into any horror themed campaign. There are reminders and echoes of old Gothic European, Romanian, and Russian legends in DFD. This is adventure that Ravenloft wouldn't have the balls to pull off, and yet the horror elements bring some new stuff to the LoFP. There is a totally new take on the undead in this adventure that has some very cool implications for your LoFP adventures if you decide to take this option on board your campaigns. Lots of miliage of this adventure if you decide to adopt some of the ideas, mythology, and high weirdness that lurks between the pages of DFD. As a frame work to me at least this adventure has a ton of potential to take your adventures in some dark and dangerous directions!
This is an adventure that pulls heavily from the legendary roots of its own mythology and deals with its encounters as a series of events set in motion with balance and terror all in one. Something that really well done horror movies try to do. But be warned this is a horrific module that can and will wreck PC's if dumb decisions are made.
So is Death Frost Doom worth the price of admission? Yes I not only think so but I actually one of the essential LoFP books because of the way that it handles the game's material. This is a solidly dark and disturbing read,run, and rabble through the underbelly of the Lamentations universe for characters. I'd put this adventure high on the list of runs for a mid level group of LoFP adventurers. Five out of five for a reinvention of a fantastic adventure.
Eric Sword and Stitchery and The Dark Corner Blog

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Frost Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Love Doom
by Niles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2015 17:33:39
This product is sick. Sick and twisted. A nightmare vomited forth onto the page by a diseased mind. I am a kind hearted GM and if I were to unleash this product upon my players they would run screaming from the room and would never return. And with good reason.

But I can do better than them anyway.

This product presents a world where even love can be corrupted and mutated by evil. A world where the kindest of gestures can lead to gory slaughter. It is awesome and awful in that it inspires awe. It is terrific in that it creates terror. Buy this product only if you dare.

As for my players, I hold the threat of this product above them like the sword of Damocles. I can reskin this product to any system and setting I choose. If my players cross me then it will be the next adventure they play. The last adventure they play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Love Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scenic Dunnsmouth
by Benjamin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2015 10:29:30
This product is amazing and beyond the pale. It takes the random generation mechanic from AD&D Ravenloft and pumps it up to 11. I cannot too highly recommend this product, as it is vivid, deep, and replayable. A few more stats here and there would have been helpful, but in the age of Google finding a pregen 4th level fighter is no great hardship.

Furthermore, generating the town of Dunnsmouth is the most fun I've had prepping a game in literally decades. Dice are rolled on a paper. The dice become your Dunnsmouth, with each number having a meaning and significance for the town.

Get this, read it, and run it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scenic Dunnsmouth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by jay m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2015 08:17:41
I had no problem stripping out some of the more lurid facts of the setting and using this module in my S&S campaign.

I didn't have to use much of the module as its awesome creepiness made the PC's leave after only briefly exploring some of its rooms and halls. A success by every measure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Better Than Any Man
by James Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2015 01:39:57
I started my campaign with this and it's been going strong since.
I don't know what else to say beyond "it's really good and free", so here are some tips when running it.

Start your players off in one of the dungeons (Goblin Hill or the Abandoned Farmhouse) rather than the suggested "wander in from a map edge" opener. Starting players off in a dungeon is the best.
Make sure they find out about the invading doom army fairly soon. It's the timer ticking down for the region. I had them as farmers who woke up in the cannibal cult's torture chamber, so they already knew.
Print out the area map. The original publication had a pull-off cover with an interior map, so being able to lay that down on the table and say "you are here" was real useful.

You don't have to use it in its actual historical context. As explained in the opening blurb, real history is used for easy reskinning. I replaced the Swedish with demons, for instance.

If your players are new to old school play, they may be surprised to find that there is no such thing as a balanced encounter. They should be treating combat as a last resort, and only attacking if victory is certain. The best way to teach them this lesson is to let them die.
If they still don't grasp it, give them the Quick Primer for Old School Gaming and find that old "Combat as Sport vs Combat as War" post. Just google them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Better Than Any Man
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

No Salvation for Witches
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/02/2015 13:15:07
I picked up this Lamentations of the Flame Princess adventure based partly on the name (how could I refuse? I also bought it because I am a fan of Rafael Chandler and his Teratic Tome. While this adventure uses the LotFP rules, it can be easily adapted to just about any OSR/Old School game. It is also set in James Raggi's pseudo European setting which also makes it easy to convert to just about anything if you don't mind ignoring some of the history presented.
As the title implies, NSFW is not for everyone. It is no worse or no better in terms of art than anything else in the Lamentations catalog or TT. I will give Raggi credit, he springs for some quality art.
The adventure itself is weird, bloody and full of body horror. It is also a race against the clock. IF you go with the idea that Woolcott is a witch (and not a LotFP magic-user) and evil then the PCs have something to work for. Otherwise I can't see how the world they create in the end is all that bad? I am kidding, a little. For me I think it would be interesting that if in their goodwill to recreate a better world they made it more horrible.
The adventure is a combination of Eurotrash occult horror, Lovecraftian style outsiders and creepy history. There is also a splash of 80s slasher flick in this. It is a heady brew of horror tropes in the guise of an adventure. The Tract of Teratology featured in this adventure is almost worth the cover price. The listed monsters are also really cool and unique.
It can be hard to judge power level of this adventure. But I am going to say high level at least.
The book is 68 pages with covers, maps and OGL. It is also full color.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Salvation for Witches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fuck For Satan
by Pa T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 22:50:59
This is one of the dumbest adventures I have ever read.

The "plot" of the adventure is to find some missing children. The adventure starts off with a three page long read-aloud text of an old coot rambling about children and marital sanctity. It continues with 15 pages of a dungeon that have no relevance to the adventure, yet the "plot" cannot advance until you return from it. There is a complete meta-game effect that happens at the beginning that does not influence this adventure, but the next one you run. Monsters inside the dungeon include an animated stick figure, a centipede that farts, and your own feces and urine (yes, you have to fight your own waste materials if you travel down a hallway). There is also no reward for "finishing" the dungeon, it is pure filler.

The "plot" later takes you to encounter a penis-monster that is turning straight men gay as they Fuck for Satan. After the encounter, you will still not have finished what you set out to do, nor have you advanced the search at all yet. It is another red herring. To finish off what you set out to do, you must rely on a random wandering monster roll to encounter the creature stealing the children. This means there is a 10% chance you "solve" the mystery before you even set foot in the dungeon area. Meaning every page and hour that passes before is pure filler waiting for one roll to come up positive.

As a piece of shock literature, this would be at least passable as a short story. It would bring out the inner Beavis and Butthead in the reader more than actually shock anyone. As an adventure module, this is just downright awful.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fuck For Satan
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Seclusium of Orphone of the Three Visions
by Aaron Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2015 00:07:55
The core issue I have with this product is that it's a supplement for Dungeon World paid for by Lamentations of the Flame Princess fans, who in good faith put money in the hands of the author to write a LotFP supplement. He didn't.

It has extremely limited use to those of us who play LotFP, and because even now it's marketed to the wrong audience continues to be bought by those who can't use it or get very limited use out of it as merely an absurdly-specific idea mine, instead of a proper supplement for the roleplaying game it pretends to be a supplement for.

Purchase if you enjoy the author's works, play Dungeon World, and are interested in the subject matter. Avoid if you are looking for a LotFP supplement on the subject matter.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Seclusium of Orphone of the Three Visions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Rules & Magic Full Version
by MARC G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:42:18
Awesome game. It has refreshed the dungeoneering experience for me! :D

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Rules & Magic Full Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Frost Doom
by MARC G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:41:29
Great module it redefines the concept of undead! :D

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Frost Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Love Doom
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2015 02:07:13
I could never run this in my circle of players, and I would never want to subject them to this tripe. The malicious artifact central to the adventure is just cheesy and designed to be a huge extended middle finger to the adventuring party. The fights with Grandma, Dad, Mom & Baby, and the Nanny are TPKs/permanent disfigurement and damage waiting to happen, and only designed to screw with the heads of players and butcher their characters. Players may think they can rescue the family and resolve the situation. I hate to break it to you...you are virtually unable to do anything, besides rob these poor accursed people and flee, and let Scotland Yard investigate and burn down the house to save England from the curse...for the time being. Play fifth edition. Save your patience.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Death Love Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Sven F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2015 02:39:52
Great resource! And I don't need to study the book before using it - as long as I've flicked through it before a session, I have plenty of tables and inspiration for any city adventure. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 149 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG