RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Better Than Any Man
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2015 16:24:52
Welcome to a little corner of the Thirty Year War in the sword and sorcery back drop of Better Then Any Man adventure for the Lamentations of The Flame Princess Rpg system. This is a deconstructionist horror adventure with witches, cults, and old school downright nastiness set into the world of a sandbox adventure with plots, counter plots, double dealing, adult situations, and the occult in full blossom around your PC's ears!
This is one of the best adventures to throw the party into the deep end of a horror themed dark survival horror straight out of the 60's or 70's with a dripping helping of dark fantasy via HP Lovecraft spun through the lens of Dario Argento. This sandbox is set in the ruins and aftermath of Karlstalt as the Swedish army coming through on its way for conquest against the Roman Catholic forces. Yes this adventure uses actual history as its backdrop using Catholic against Protestant forces.
From the adventure -
Better Than Any Man takes place in October 1631, in and around Karlstadt, a small town outside Würzburg. Situated in the Holy Roman Empire, both the town and the surrounding area have been in turmoil for much of the past 13 years, caught up as they have in the events of the Thirty Years War. Here are the important background details: The Thirty Years War began almost as a civil war within the Holy Roman Empire. The conflict is often simplified by describing it as a religious war between the Catholics and Protestants, but once foreign powers became involved such distinctions become wholly inaccurate as alliances became less ideologically based.
Add into this mix the Seven, gang and council of witches, wizards, and madmen whose occult power has introduced the Dark Forces into the backdrop of the ruins of the villages and the surrounding countryside.
They've seized control of the locations involved and declared an end to war and it gets much,much, worse. PC's can wander through the landscape and deal with a variety of dark and dangerous NPC's. The machinations of the Seven are at the heart of the adventure but there is far more going on here.
What Better Then Any Man does is introduces several key concepts to the DM from the Lamentations Of the Flame Princess rpg system along with rules for black powder weapons which would be later expanded upon in the hardback rule book. The key adventure location and adventure elements are horrific, dangerous and downright PC tearing. PC's looking to tear across the landscape with guns and swords blazing are going to be dead and that's no lie.
The adventure is a romp through the Thirty Year War and the horrors that echo through history brought to vivid life by the echoes and creatures of occult power throughout Better. This is a completely different take on the pseudo historical elements explored in Chandler's No Salvation For Witches adventure romp.
The darkness here is mankind and the occult forces are working side by side taking every advantage but this Better reaches into the back drop of the soul on a much more personal and intimidate level of play on the horror tradition. This is an adventure that is a piece reaching for Howard and instead finding a splatterpunk aesthetic wrapped in a brutal brick of pulp flavored witchcraft laden piece of weird adventure. In fact this is outlined right in the introduction by James Raggi with the adventure details :
• Anachronistic historical truth taken from other times and places from the Thirty Years War and the early-to-mid 17th century in general, • Historical myth, • Historical detail which is thought to be true by the author, but actually isn’t, • and pure fiction… … and it does not distinguish between them. This is a game book, not a tool for learning or teaching history, nor does it seek to encourage or discourage any real world attitudes or actions other than “Buy more Lamentations of the Flame Princess books because they’re gnarly.”
This will give you a good explanation of what's in store for the PC's and also gives a good benchmark for PC generation.
The PC's should be a very nice cross section of classes from across the Lamentations spectrum to get the best chances of not only survival but profiting from the experience laid out in the adventure.
Better Then Any Man takes the dark and nasty bits of a pesudo historical pulp adventure setting and mixes in the essence of an open ended seven day romp through Germany. This is done with some really nasty adventure elements lurking in the backdrop.
You've got covens,things from outside, the machinations of the Seven, time traveling wizards who murder children, and more.
This module makes Ravenloft look like The Swiss Family Robinson adventures. Seriously its twisted,evil,and darkly dangerous.
Look with everything I've said before this module introduces all of the major elements of horror and depravity set against the events of the thirty year war in the Lamentations of The Flame Princess game line self contained world.
This is an offensive, dangerous, maliciously wonderful little romp through history seen through the fun house slaughter mode of James Raggi, if this sounds like a basic adventure to introduce all of the Lamentations of the Flame Princess rpg line to your players then check this one out.
A quick read through of the Thirty Year War on Wiki can't hurt when running this one. If you want to get in on the ground floor the Lamentations system then this is good solidly done starting place. Its not for the faint of heart and well worth the price of admission with its twisted material and approach to historical detail. Well worth the download in my opinion.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Better Than Any Man
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

No Salvation for Witches
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 13:45:53
Its Friday the Thirteenth and I couldn't have picked a better adventure/source book to take a look at then this one. I'm late to the party on this Lamentations of The Flame Princess adventure. And once again I'm late to the party and asking myself why I didn't get in on the action from the beginning?
No more holding back folks, I haven't devoted nearly enough time to looking into some of the 'E ticket' rides of the OSR. In this case its The Lamentations Of The Flame Princess's Rpg System ' No Salvation For Witches' adventure.
I've been a bit conflicted about this adventure and not because of the 'Mature Content' but because of the background, and setting research I've done. I read through review after review of it and several interviews of Rafael Chandler and James Raggi's on various rpg outlet sights and various internet what not outlets for marketing the game adventure. And the successful Indie Go Go campaign that the Lamentations line has run for 'No Salvation For Witches' adventure. And no its not the MATURE CONTENT that isn't for little kids or the easily offended or the occult powers that the adventure depicts. No, I want to do the damn adventure justice,because its very,very, well done and one of the best things that Lamentations has done to date.
'No Salvation For Witches' takes place in the world and setting of Lamentations Of The Flame Princess rpg's pseudo European London of the early 1620's and the middle of the Price Revolution. You can find out more about that right HERE . The whole adventure is a giant back handed sandbox mini campaign of horror and depravity. Your going to need the right group of players because their going to come into a situation that reminds me of a X ticket Hammer horror fest and something akin to a punch to the gut via a splatterpunk historic adventure with lots of twists and turns.

I've seen this adventure compared with 'Better Then Any Man'; and no this isn't anything like the 'Better Then Any Man' adventure. That's one thing that folks have to understand about the Lamentations line of rpg products. They're all stand alone adventures and have to be taken on their own merits and this was done on purpose. There isn't an over arching meta plot to them except in the fact that Raggi has used his lady adventurers and signature characters as cover connectors for the various products of the line. If you the DM want to connect these products together,well really that's your business. And that brings us right back into the witch coven that centers in London and the deal of the century that they've cut with a really,really alien life form. Rafael Chandler brings his NPC's to life with a flourish and grand gesture or two that gives these poor fools depth but there is an edge of evil here to the situation because once your party is in the middle of this sandbox adventure then all bets are off.
No Salvation For Witches handles the gore and nastiness with the hand of an 80's Italian horror flick spun through the lens of Lovecraft and poured onto a steaming pile of 1600's European darkness. This is the sort of adventure that Ravenloft kinda hinted about and never dared do. Look this is the type of adventure that would be directed by Dario Argento and starring your PC's if he was using a Robert Howard Solomon Kane story as the basis. In other words this isn't an adventure to get too attached to your PC's.They may die rather well and truly in a way that you wouldn't want them to be resurrected. Seriously because that alien god thing at the heart of this adventure is polluting everything in the backdrop of it. And its still out there and dangerous, as well as incredibly weirdly dangerous. But it also doesn't quite understand human beings and its powering the heart and soul of this adventure. That's one of the things about Lamentations of the Flame Princess adventures unique in a sense. Yes there's a greater whole to the sandbox but it doesn't touch any other adventure unless you want it too as a part of your campaign. The locations within the adventure were best summed up by the author in a recent interview in Diehard GamFAN - 'Rafael: This is an open world exploration, but there are certain constraints; the players will be able to explore the setting, which includes moors, villages, and a derelict priory. In addition, there’s a bit of a dungeon, but it’s quite small, and really, it’s very safe. Be sure to go there.'
And its all tailored around the twisted heart and soul of the No Salvation For Witches adventure setting! But wait there's still more.
Within the adventure is a mini source book of demonology and family fun (kidding unless your family happens to be a demon lord & co.) The “The Tract of Teratology” is worth the price of admission alone. The thing is a demon and Lovecraftian generator that gives incredibly weird and highly dangerous insane Lovecraftian horrors as prize winning monsters. Once again I reference The Diehard GameFan interview with Rafeal Chandler and James Raggi - 'DHGF: The Tract of Teratology, a key component to the adventure, is supposed to be able to generate roughly 3.6 TRILLION different monsters according to the campaign page. Can you give us any examples of the fiendish thingies that can be born from this thing?
Rafael: Of course!
“Cube-shaped body with transparent skin showing the internal organs; cold to the touch. Appendages: Glistening trench full of delicate bulbs of tissue. Scent of honeysuckle. Neutral: Acts in its own interests; bears the caster no ill will, but is not favorably disposed towards him either. If the caster makes good fodder for satisfying the entity’s Compulsion, so be it. 15 hit points. Armor class 14. 2 attacks for 1d4 damage. Movement 60′. Morale 10. Knows 1 randomly-selected 3rd level Magic-User spell. Attacks at +3. Compulsion: To consume some of the flesh of those who have fornicated recently. After 2 days, the monster vanishes silently.” "
And you get this sort of thing in spades which is perfect for adding into not only a Lamentations of The Flame Princess campaign but any old school retroclone system that needs that extra demonic kick in the teeth!
The rituals and rites for summoning these horrors from beyond the pale is horrid, nasty, and downright murderous in the highest degree! This isn't stuff that you simply add to a game. Reading through this stuff was like watching Ken Russell's Devils film from 1971. You get uncomfortable and squirm in your seat but you come away feeling that you can actually use this material. This is after all an old school horror adventure and one done in the vein of the Lamentations of the Flame Princess line and venue.
Is it worth the price of admission? Yes and then some the artwork is top notch, the text and flavor of the adventure is up to the caliber that I'd expect from the Lamentations line of product. Grab it and I so want this in print yesterday.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Salvation for Witches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Qelong
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 00:01:10
Imagine your party of adventurers caught up in a blood soaked land of an alternative South East Asia where two armies of incredibly dangerous beings of divine aspect are engaged in an eon old struggle. And your party is caught within the shadow of the forces of these beings.
This is a wilderness adventure in a world torn apart by war, strife, incredible devastation and very deadly forces including mutated horror, terrible monster of inhuman aspect and much,much more.
I can honestly say that Qelong is one of the best setting and adventure books that's come out for the Lamentations of the Flame Princess rpg retroclone system. I don't own a physical copy of this book and only have it on PDF after asking James Raggi for a review copy. I'm not giving the book a good review on that account. I'm giving it a good review because its that solidly well done book. And its certainly not getting enough press in my humble opinion. Kenneth Hite has done a bang up job of fleshing out his setting material for the Lamentations rules set with a variety of factions set against each other's throats and the natives who forced to the edge of existence in this module. The PC's can be part of the solution, the problem, or much more in this adventure.
The basic plot goes something like this according to the Drivethrurpg write up:
Two barely conceivable beings have fought a war for a generation over Sajavedra, a barely legendary land far to the southeast. They wish to claim its rich harvests of souls and fields, its intricate networks of ley lines and temples, for their own. They have devastated it utterly! Now, a forgotten weapon in their war - a neglected sorcery fallen from a distracted archon's attention - lies in the Qelong River valley at the edge of this near-cosmic battlefield, ripe for the taking! A hellish southeast Asian setting by Kenneth Hite, Qelong is suitable for character levels 4-6 for use with LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing and other traditional role playing games.
Qelong takes many of the lessons of Hite's style of writing and design and puts it into a setting that is at once both eerily familiar and utterly alien in the form of the Qelong River valley. There are wheels within wheels within the plot of Qelong. A forgotten item left on the battle field has become the focus for forces beyond the pale of the inhabitants of this world. And that's only the tip of the iceberg. This is a devastated world that has so many possibilities lurking in the background. This is really a thinking man's sandbox adventure. There are rumor tables, things that will each your PC's, nice maps, plenty of factions, and each location is fleshed out a bit with plenty of room for customization. The maps are wonderfully evocative and dangerous locations abound with lots of South East flavored action. And a very nasty piece of magical environmental pollution that is seeping into everything and if your PCs are not careful could change them forever.
This isn't a setting that you can simply drop a party into. Well you could quiet easily do this but with a bit of care Qelong could become a permanent setting for a variety of adventures. There's a dark undercurrent to Qelong and its got a very Conrad's Heart of Darkness vibe running throughout it. And this is part of its strength. There are a ton of new monsters,weird bits of spiritual and physical corruption trickling down into the setting. And that's exactly what this module is part sand box setting book, part adventure, and part all around campaign world under one title.
The book fleshes out an entire sandbox under one heading and gives the DM plenty of bang for the buck. The ideas here are some of the best I've read for a Lamentations book, and if your looking for a book where the PC's are thrust into the deep end ringed into the setting's problems and background then this is it. The magical corruption in this book is harsh stuff and God forbid that the PC's continue to adventure in this world.They're going to run into some major problems just waiting for them to trip into. That leads to some of the factions in this war torn world. None of them are to be trusted and this evens the playing field across the board as far as the PC's place in the war torn world of Qelong. The setting has pockets of oriental and occidental city-states.There are islands of peace among the worn torn South Asian style strife. There are plenty of areas of customization in Qelong for a DM to exploit and the mercenary vibe is alive and well for a party of adventurers to exploit. Will the black powder weapons of Lamentations make any difference here? Not in the least, there are monsters,powers, and horror that will dwarf any advantage that these weapons might provide at all.
Do I think that Qelong is worth your money? Yes every penny for its setting material,epic ideas, and solid writing which is some of the best I've seen in a while.Should you grab this book? Yes if your looking for a setting that utilizes a very different take on the usual tropes of war,fantasy, divinity, and high weirdness in a sand box setting.
All in all I really want and need a physical copy of Qelong. I'm glad I got the opportunity to check this one out. Its possibly one of the essential books for the Lamentation line of products and a great little investment for your old school retro clone dollar.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Qelong
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Frost Doom
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2015 11:47:00
Death Frost Doom is a newly revised edition of a horror adventure. The title very accurately sets the prevailing mood, that's for sure. While written for OSR games such as Lamentations of the Flame Princess, it could easily be used with Dungeons & Dragons (any edition, really) or with your prefered d20/OSR game. With a bit of homework, it could be used with other games as well by tweaking the stat blocks and any of the prompts for saving throws.

It is a 66-page adventure written by James Raggi IV and Zak S. The cover art (in color) was done by Yannick Bouchard and the black and white interior illustrations, cartography and design were done by Jez Gordon. This is a review of the PDF edition.

The writing is conversational and clear. The layout, editing and typography are top-notch, making the text easy on the eyes despite the density of the content. The illustrations are wonderful and eerie: absolutely pitch-perfect for this module. Some of the full-page images slam you like sudden jump cuts in a horror film (the Referee gets an early preview of some of the terror that the players will encounter during the game). The maps are easy to understand and use. Overall an impressively well designed product.

The book begins with two maps: one for an exterior (and a small floorplan) and an interior dungeon map The former is keyed with letter, the latter with numbers (which was a nice idea for added clarity). As already mentioned, these are very well designed and easy to use.

There's a concise table of contents with obvious section headers. While some have titles that are more flavorful than practical, their meaning is clear (eg: "Hell vomits its filth", one of the last chapters before an Appendix of sorts, clearly implies a very messy, grim climax). The headers are each clickable and link to each section. Very nicely done.

We’re given a page of notes about this new edition by the two authors which includes some history of the adventure and insight into minds of its creators. Interesting stuff.

Then there's a page on how the Referee can use this module ("The Approach") which includes a few different possible options on how to get things started. After that, it jumps right into the first encounter with a very memorable NPC.

What I really liked about the structure of this first NPC encounter is that the author gives several options on how to use him (or her). There are roleplaying tips, a random table to dictate what he's doing when the PCs arrive at his home and a full page of "ifs" to cover just about any possible interaction. This approach of handling an NPC is really, really fun and memorable besides being a great method to bring in some ominous foreboding. I'm a huge fan of modules taking a "do-it-yourself" approach. With this sort of tool, one can determine all of the details before or during the game, either randomly or by choice. I like this a lot and I'm very inspired already.

As an aside, the cool thing about this module is the author's inclusion of suggested musical cues. That's a nice touch; I appreciate putting effort into preparing good music for a game session. When I run this, I'll follow this advice as closely as possible.

The first major location is the Graveyard. It is an open-ended and creepy place with all kinds of things that can happen to unsuspecting adventurers. There's a strong hint that bad things once happened there (and are about to happen again). There's lots to find or experience in this awful place: it is a great prelude to what comes next. The Cabin, which is totally an homage to a particular horror movie (three guesses which one), adds even further to the creepiness. There is a lot to find and interact with inside that weird place: players who like to tinker and prod at everything will be rewarded (and/or punished, depending on how you look at it). Really weird and neat encounters here: I would be sad if my players missed some of them. I'd probably include a hapless NPC ally or two as insurance (ie- to trigger some of these cool events if no one else takes the bait). These discoveries are not all negative: there are some beneficial things there too (or at the very worst: benignly WEIRD).

Next we get to the main dungeon, the Shrine, where the proverbial "shit" gets real. This is a very unique dungeon and it's a delight to read, so I'll omit any spoilers.

There are about thirty encounters in the Shrine (but more rooms than that number).

To start off, there's some clear advice on how to run this location: it is not a typical dungeon crawl. First of all, there's a time limit (that is measured in a really awesome and memorable way). A Referee really needs to keep track of this for maximum effectiveness. More on that later.

There are many things to explore and scrutinize here without referring to a character's skills or abilities (except if something triggers a nasty trap or evil supernatural forces). Being careless or reckless will likely spell doom for a PC; being clever and methodical is by far the safer and more interesting way to go about it.

My favorite example of this sort of thing is the Organ. I won't spoil it, but there are some really neat things built into this object. It ties into a feature of many of the other locations to a clever degree; the PCs will have reasons to return to it several times throughout the course of the dungeon. I'll absolutely delight in presenting this device to the players and getting excited trying to anticipate what they'll do. To me, that's a trait of a well-written adventure, right there.

There are so many things to do and objects to experiment with that my mind reels with the possibilities. Admittedly there are a few "gotcha!" moments but they are never dull or straightforward and they always add to the weird horror mood.

Many of the rooms have ominous triggers such as "If the dead have risen" which modify the encounters quite a bit. In essence, the party could go through most of the dungeon, trigger this conditional event and then work their way back through the same rooms very differently. It's a really effective technique.

Some of the key monsters provide fun possibilities for social interaction. None of them, as far as I can tell, are just there only to fight and kill. While interactions with the PCs may indeed lead to battle, this is not a certainty. Again, what a great idea: many undead monsters are not just mindless automatons, after all, but personalities with motivations (usually twisted). Several of these NPCs have had relationships, good or bad, with others of their kind, and if the conditions are right, encounters with them will be greatly affected by the PCs actions.

At last, near the end is the main event: what happens if certain conditions are met and how quickly (depending on that timer mentioned earlier). This is a BIG DEAL, tapping into the third word of the adventure's title (Doom). Potentially, this event could have a huge impact on your campaign whether or not it completely wipes out the party.

There is no happy ending for characters involved with this adventure, really. Even if they do survive, their world will be quite affected. With a bit of tweaking, the Referee could build a really cool post-apocalyptic setting on top of the previous one, though. If I run this with well-liked pre-established character, I may indeed go that route. I'd run it as-is with newly created PCs, though, as a one-shot.

At the end of the book there's a nice retrospective in which the original author (Raggi) talks about the first edition of Death Frost Doom and even includes some of the original artwork and maps. That was a nice thing to include.

Lastly there are a few player handouts, which are always nice to include.

Summary

This is an extremely well-written and fascinating adventure, even though it is quite grim and dangerous. Say what you will about the potentially lethal ending or the horrific themes: Death Frost Doom is the antithesis of boring or mundane. This is a very memorable adventure that oozes atmosphere.

I definitely recommend this adventure: even if you never run it (which would be a shame), you will be greatly inspired by the style and game-writing techniques. It is also a really fun read and the artwork is incredible.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Frost Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lamentations of the Gingerbread Princess
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 19:58:26
Interesting tables and encounters, but the results of some choices and punishments depicted for unhappiness are unsettling, gruesome, sick, and wretched, and my players would not stand this adventure in whole as written, and neither do I.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lamentations of the Gingerbread Princess
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Single, Small Cut
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 19:53:14
This is a good mini-adventure for the price. Unlike many adventures published for use with Lamentations of the Flame Princess rules, I can run this with my group without driving group members away from my table at high velocity. It's what weird fantasy roleplaying was meant to be.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Single, Small Cut
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 06:41:55
This system as an updated, tweaked hybrid of OD&D/BECMI D&D is okay, but the problem is the attitude of referee it encourages. The game promotes Referee inconsistency induces a lack of reason, logic and fact due to referee fiat. My group had to bear with a micromanaging referee who declared we couldn't map because we had no parchment, pens or ink and handed out demerits for mapping, yet he allowed us to write notes without protest. He also assumed we had no pockets in our trousers and said we must possess belt pouches to access our small adventuring effects and firearm/sling ammunition without digging for them in our backpacks. Such things are the initial signs of a jackbooted, blackshirt referee, and evidence of the play style of the creator. I will not engage in this game unless the philosophy of how to conduct this game itself changes, and I don't see that happening.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 06:18:23
Okay, but I don't consider it worth $9. While it contained some good tables and encounter generator guides, it was haphazardly composed and the art was lackluster.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thulian Echoes
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 06:14:32
The adventure is painfully difficult and easily fatal, even for the cautious and bright player. Some consider that a positive, but this reviewer does not agree. I give major props to the Cause & Effect (often drastic) results based upon action & inaction. This is a rare gem, and I personally love such a concept. Zzarchov Kowolski gets beau coup accolades from me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thulian Echoes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Better Than Any Man
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 05:58:45
BTAM was only slightly better than DCOTCHC, but not by much.

I downloaded this based upon the good reviews of one of my fellow gamers and friends, but in the wake of reading it I realize that I can't run it with my group. Many of the elements found in Goblin Hill and in the Insect God's lair would rapidly drive fine members away from the table. A powerful wizard with a number of sexual psychoses and a penchant for repulsive sculpting with corpses and will TPK over a slight or personally perceived insult is an NPC I never want to place in a game session.

You have several days before the Swedish army rolls up on the Germans. If you want to survive the adventure, don't stand in their way, don't get involved; in fact, don't bother playing this adventure. Play a 5th edition game instead. Chances are, you will be significantly happier playing the 5e adventure than this one.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Better Than Any Man
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 05:26:50
I downloaded this adventure out of pure curiosity after I heard good things about the LOTFP's rules, but I soon discovered that the subject matter of this module is so crude, brutish, disgusting, and vulgar that I can't run this with any of the members of my RPG group.

James, you can make a Weird Fantasy RPG that laughs in the face of player knowledge without copious profanity and lewdness, aberrant procreation, and implanting treasure directly into the skulls and brains of innocent minors. You weren't even trying. The lack of effort is obvious.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Monolith from beyond Space and Time
by Daniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 08:02:22
This booklet contains many good ideas, but also lots of bad ones, at least in my view.

A few shining points:
- The Owl's Service - it's an ingenious portable and rather horroristic episode. "Certain Doom" included, but one is free to add a sliver of hope.
- The maze inside the Monolith - Some great ideas here. Also some meh ones (the mechanics of brains and guardians feels extremely overcomplicated), but I generally like it.
- Carter's head - Less hilarious than Vecna's head, but pretty cool still.

However, in its entirety, it's not a very good adventure, and also I think it fell short of its goal as an homage to Lovecraft. While the "being doomed from the get-go" part is definitely there, the way in which the doom is happening is rather blunt, and to be honest, quite silly. The sideshow owls are so much better in concept than anything about the monolith per se. :)
I also have serious problems with most random effects being purely detrimental.

Lovecraft's cosmic horror was rarely about "everything is out to get you". Yes, it did happen, but those were his more inferior writings. Generally, what I see as the staple of Lovecraft is the duality of having the temptation of power, and revulsion at the cost of that power - one's humanity - at the same time. Nota bene, becoming an immortal fish person is not immediately deleterious, except for the knowledge that one is becoming a fish person.

That is mainly what I feel is lacking here.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Monolith from beyond Space and Time
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Red & Pleasant Land
by Daniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 21:04:43
This "module" is beyond description. It doesn't really do it justice to call it a module. It's a world in and of itself, that can house several whole campaigns. The sheer volume of information Zak has put to writing is astounding, especially if I also add the fact that it's quite top notch in terms of quality.

There are several interesting and genuinely great ideas on every single page. The way it approaches Alice and the myth of Dracula is, well, near superhuman. This is what you call a "natural 20". I'm sure it won't be to everyone's taste, but those people wouldn't be buying stuff with "Lamentations of the Flame Princess" on it anyways. :D I personally love it.

The only drawback I can bring up is that the complexity and amount of information is so incredibly high that running a campaign in Voivodia will require extreme preparations from the Referee. The setting will take 2d6 weeks to research, and use up a level 8 spell slot in your brain. :P

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Red & Pleasant Land
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by Daniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 00:17:28
I would call it more of a cruel joke than a proper adventure, but that's part of what LotFP seems to be about. There are dozens of ways the characters can horribly die or become mutated in this adventure, and with precious little pay-off compared to the risk. Added to that the jarring ridiculousness of the "villain", this is truly a mindfuck, and if run honestly, will, in my opinion, with very good chance result in a TPK.

I liked some other LotFP adventures, and this has a lot of good ideas too, but it's still unique among them, and - in my humble opinion - not in any wholesome way. I probably wouldn't run this for a party that's not completely drunk or stoned. :)

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2015 22:43:35
This is my go-to B/X system and here's why:
1) the Specialist class is brilliant. You can have 3 in a party and they will all bring very different things to the game
2) The encumbrance system -- best there is. Very simple, and effective.
3) Ascending AC - not a huge deal but really helps play-ability.
4) Each class is very different from each other, for example, the fighter class is the only class that gets bonuses to hit after 1st level

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 145 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG