RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Pale Lady
by Pa T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2015 15:22:23

This short adventure differs from some of the more recent LotFP modules in that it is not set in a specific place on Earth, though it does start in a generalized abbey that can be dropped anywhere. The bulk of the adventure actually takes place in a small fairy domain. The adventure kicks off with a raving man in an abbey and a story of coming back from the Pale Lady's hall, along with strange artifacts kept inside the hall.


The inhabitants of this pocket area are the Pale Lady and a race of creepy rabbit-men, along with their kidnapped human slaves. The hall and surrounding area are mapped and keyed, but this adventure is not really a dungeon crawl. There are no gruesome traps as are expected in many other LotFP adventures, and the emphasis is more placed on stealth (or combat?) and social interactions with the strange inhabitants.


There is a strange artifact at the center of the hall, and its general weirdness is alike to the time cube from another Zzarchov Kowolski book, Scenic Dunnsmouth. It breaks the fundamental rules of physics and will affect future games for everyone affected. It even suggests letting the players take time to dwell on the philosophy of what these changes mean for their characters after the event occurs, which is what really helps to sink the other-worldliness of the artifact in.


One of the problems I have with the adventure is that without interacting with the artifact in the hall, nothing else really happens. If the players somehow manage to murder hobo their way through the Pale Lady's domain, they end up missing the best parts (first time I saw this run, the players merely fought some rabbit-men and escaped with a handful of freed slaves). If the players do meet with the Pale Lady and fail at socializing, they end up missing the good stuff again. Even if they succeed at winning her over, they may miss the artifact and accept a different boon from her.


It feels a little bit like a one-trick pony adventure; either you get it or you don't, but if the pieces fall into place, it does make for quite a creepy adventure with far-reaching consequences and even a few morality questions.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Pale Lady
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
by William T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2015 10:59:31

This is a fairly basic RPG, but don't let the simple rules deceive you. Read it. Understand that the rules, themselves, are written to build a horror mindset. Fighters are not noble, but bitter survivors of many battles. Wizards are meddling with things that can unravel reality. Dwarves are a bitter, dying race. Everything is written to create a dark, depressing mindset before you even start playing. Then your game master will send you forth into a terrible situation where things can only go downhill.


This book sets up the mindset of "not quite right, but pretty much guaranteed to go downhill."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Carcosa
by Sven F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2015 04:07:14

Really excellent hexcrawl module, within a dark, evocative setting drawing inspiration from Lovecraft and pulp science fiction rather than Tolkien. If you consider yourself a fantasy and/or RPG connoisseur, buy this for the read alone!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Death Love Doom
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 16:47:35

First, there is a clear warning attached to this product.
It is graphic and is mature content (e.g. Cannibal Corpse, Carcass, Autopsy artwork), if the adventure had a soundtrack it would be old school death metal.
This is a fact.


If you play this style and you aren't a "drama-queen", this adventure is nuts!


We ran this adventure recently. It was heavy and nasty but everyone left talking about what an amazing session we had.
For lack of a better descriptor DLD is very much a modern take on a haunted house.
Gore and horror usurping slamming doors and strange sounds, but they are present nevertheless.
Lets be honest, "your arm hairs are standing on end and it feels like something is breathing on the back of your neck" would get real stale very quickly. We live in a time where horror needs to deliver in a visceral fashion to have a measurable result.


For those that have a problem with that blame your crappy society not Mr. Raggi who is simply providing a product of our times.


I don't really like talking specific details of LotFP materials because it spoils the surprise.
If you like horror, if you really like horror then DLD delivers actual horror for the discerning adult.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Love Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tales of the Scarecrow
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 16:22:54

I have bought and GM'd this product.
I would consider this an elaborate encounter/trap/puzzle.


Simply put we enjoyed the hell out of it.
LotFP does a great job of embodying the spirit of the OSR.
Death is around every corner for those that don't utilize the "old-style of play".
If you are a fan of Raggi's mature themed pulp/occult/horror game you will enjoy this.
If you are not you should move along.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Referee Book (old Grindhouse Edition)
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2015 15:11:42

An excellent read. As an old DM I found this rivitalising!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Referee Book (old Grindhouse Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lamentations of the Gingerbread Princess
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2015 07:48:58

Its just about six A.M. and I'm not entirely sure what the hell Zzarchov Kowolski's fairy tales were as a kid but Lamentations of the Ginger Bread Princess is an inversion of every single fairy tale trope on the books. This is only about twenty pages long yet it can be spread out over at least three or four days of game play. And the PC's are not going to be happy about it at all. I went to James Raggi IV and asked for a review copy of this module with the full understanding of what it is. Well, according to the the Drivethrurpg blurb:
Sometimes you want to play an adventure where you can recapture that feeling of childlike innocence. And, sometimes, wishes do come true.
LotFP presents more hard biting horror: Now with unicorns, gumdrops and rainbows! By Zzarchov Kowolski (Gnomes of Levnec, A Thousand Dead Babies) for character levels 1-4.
This is an interesting gonzo over the top pink laden fairy tale adventure.
Definitely don't believe Drivethrpg reviewer Troy V who describes this adventure as and I quote here, ' Interesting tables and encounters, but the results of some choices and punishments depicted for unhappiness are unsettling, gruesome, sick, and wretched, and my players would not stand this adventure in whole as written, and neither do I.' Excuse me whist I take acceptation to this review and Troy V's reviews on the whole are done with a sense of malice for the Lamentations of the Flame Princess rpg and their product line as a whole on purpose. While, preparing for a Winter Lamentations of the Flame Princess game I came across at least eight reviews of his on Drivethrurpg and found them with all the same opinion verbatim and some of them varied just enough to be vile and on purpose about it. So I'm taking exception to his reviews and I'm going to show you how to run, deal with and use some of the LoFP modules. Is the Lamentations of the Gingerbeard Princess adventure twisted and utterly sick? Yup, it certainly is. I had no idea that Zzarchov Kowolski had written this module but I'm not surprised at all. I seem to be drawn to his adventures. So what is Lamentations of the Ginger Bread Princess? Well, its a fairy tale inversion adventure involving a bunch of factions and hobbits in a mechanically pretty well done style. This adventure revolves around a Dark Woods setting and all is not happy in this fairy tale land. Not because this is a Lamentations adventure but because this adventure touches on the darker, nightmare aspects of a LoFP fairyland. Power gamers are going to be in for a very bad time in this adventure. Because there are lots of pop culture fairy tale high weirdness for the PC's to encounter. This module takes full advantage of that fact;the real reason is that this module is so weird is looking at fairy tales as adults we see the inherit creepiness of them. Yeah, this module takes full advantage of this fact in spades.
This whole adventure centers around the Dark Woods location, the maps fit the adventure, there are at least three or more NPC's that I can see using and without spoiling the demented fun there's lots that can be done with this adventure. One place that Zzarchov Kowolski excels at is taking existing preconceptions about mythology and pop culture legends and twisting them around like balloon animals. No more so then with this adventure and yes this will be your characters if your not careful. Because in fairyland, PC's are in for a very rough time. These will be your PC's bones which will be play things for the Fey.
Do I love this adventure? Yes, I do because last year I actually got a chance to check it out and almost die in it. There are several interesting wrinkles in this adventure because this is a Kowolski adventure and mechanically its a really wild ride to play in. I suggest several read through though before attempting to play. There are two or three major play areas and some very dangerous encounters straight out of the gate. What's going to keep the PC's right in the middle of the action in this module is simple human greed straight out of the gate because from there on out it get's weird in a majorly twisted way. If your thinking that this is a one trick pony like an episode of Robot Chicken, the Simpsons, etc. in the way that it plays with popculture fairy icons? Not a chance, this is a LoFP module that takes those and wrecks them in spades. There are some issues with this module its not perfect by any means, the layout, graphic design, and some other elements leave something to be desired. But that doesn't detract from using the adventure. It not on sale at the moment and runs about four dollars over at drivethru. There will be other sales coming up and I do think its worth picking up.
Eric Fabiaschi
Sword and Stitchery Blog



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lamentations of the Gingerbread Princess
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tales of the Scarecrow
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2015 14:02:31

One of the things that the latest OSR dust up has reminded me is that there are so many great Lamentations Of The Flame Princess titles and I'm not going to go on and on about how wonderful they are. Instead, I'm going to concentrate how absolutely nasty they are. Tales of the Scarecrow is only ten pages long but its the sort of situation adventure that happens unto itself and your adventurers. I've had the adventure for two days and after tossing and twisting in my mind after reading plus doing a bit of research and reading some of the reviews I can honestly say that its very good at what it does. Its a trap waiting for adventurers to happen upon it and spring it.
Try and imagine a pseudo American EC Tales From The Crypt comic through the lens of James Raggi's Lamentations of the Flame Princess rpg. That's how Tales of the Scarcecrow feels to me reading though it. This adventure could be inserted into any old school campaign being run between beginning of the 17th century right up through the the early-to-mid 19th century. Personally, this adventure feels like a love letter to the original Stephen King Children of the Corn set after all of the kids have vanished and only the demon remains. Sort of. The similarities end right about with the cornfield though and the monster.


There is something distinctly early America about Tales From The Scarecrow the names, history, etc all have an American flavor to them. The artwork, maps, and set up are very evocative and well done for the product. Basically all of the events within Tales are a one act play sort of an adventure, all of the events taking place within a valley that can easily be inserted anyplace into a campaign. There is a feeling of almost but not quite timeless dread that hangs around the adventure and it almost feels as if it might be inserted between adventures for PC's who are high off of their latest triumphs with gold and glory. There is a farmhouse in the middle of a field of corn, and then things get interesting. PC's are going to have to deal with Donner party interesting sort of way.
In point of fact I've read through a friend's copy of Tales From The Scarecrow; I have been wanting to do something with the adventure location for a long time now. The abandoned farmhouse could be made timeless and multidimensional to serve as a bridge gap with other times and places why should only regular LoFP parties have all of the fun. This adventure takes the usual Lovecraft tropes uses them and then puts a slightly different spin on them by allowing PC's to make their own mark on the location including their own deaths if necessary. This makes the crossover factor something that can go up by a factor of ten.
For example some of the back history of the farm and the LoFP magic items are steeped readily enough in their own mythology to allow them to have the entire location slip into a timeless other dimensional 'someplace' enabling PC's from a Red and Pleasant Land, No Salvation From Witches, or Scenic Dunnsmouth

This is especially true of Scenic Dunnsmouth which provides a great random generation tool kit for its location, town, inhabitants, etc. The cornfield, house,etc. of Tales of the Scarecrow could all be set within its own section of the world of Scenic Dunnsmouth given a bit of clever DM slight of hand work. In point of fact this is exactly the sort of a task that Zzarchov Kowolski designed for Scenic Dunnsmouth. This can take a short ten page adventure and roll it out into a memorable campaign of epic proportions.In point of fact the monster from Tales of The Scarecrow can easily be back linked into Scenic Dunnsmouth to create a thread of dread throughout. A technique I've stolen from HP Lovecraft and Stephen King.
But, but what about more monsters and horrors between adventure locations? Fear not my friends, you can easily generate a quick three or four horrors with No Salvation From Witches, or Lusus Naturae to generate your bizarre and weird victims of circumstance. Keep the killing level down and amp up the melted face factor though for encounters and victims. Basically this style of LoFP game campaign is a short, overland weird wilderness adventure with some dangerous and fantastic elements to it ripe for expansion into a full blown campaign. Do I think that Tales From The Scarecrow is worth getting? In a word and for the price? Yes, yes I do.
Eric Fabiaschi
Sword and Stitchery blog



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
by ASH L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2015 18:25:03

This book has a ton of good ideas, but the presentation of those ideas was not in a style that I enjoyed reading.
The artwork was also a let-down, it has a very raw 'punk' aesthetic that just didn't appeal to me.
It just wasn't to my taste. I felt like it was trying a bit too hard to be 'edgy' and 'adult'.


It is a pity that the writing and artwork let down the ideas propelling the work; with a little more effort this could have been something truly great.


Still, if you are a fan of random tables and like the particular style of art in the book then the ideas here make it worth the price of admission.
Any one of the pages in this book has enough ideas to become the seed of a memorable session, and it would have been nice to see those ideas expanded upon.


If you are a fan of the anarchic tongue-in-cheek style of books like 'HOL' or 'The Munchkin's Guide to Power Gaming' then you might like this book too, though a lot of the humor is darker.
If you are looking for a similar work but presented in a more readable and enjoyable way I'd suggest 'Your Whispering Homunculus' by Richard Pett (published by Open Design / Kobold Publishing).


In short: fantastic ideas, but the very unpolished raw style of the writing and art doesn't fit my personal tastes.


I didn't enjoy this book, but you might. This one is very much a matter of taste.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Carcosa
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2015 21:30:00

Carcosa is amazing. The art is evocative, and the writing is electric and terse -- giving seeds and ideas rather than spelling out what to do. I love this book.


I would only warn away those who are prone to being upset at fiction about bad things happening to people and children. If you find anything triggering, you will find this triggering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carcosa
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
by Edward V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2015 18:56:42

This module for Free RPG day has really nice art, a really nice layout and map. The module itself deals with what you believe to be an ancient stone, but what is actually some sort of complex alien machine whose purpose is well beyond your knowledge. There is a lot of alien technology through the lens of characters who just can't understand it in this adventure. Some aspects of this adventure are written to be gross and/or offensive, and some people may find that in bad taste. I, however, found the really strange descriptions of things happening in the first few rooms pretty refreshing, because they will evoke genuine feeling in the players.


Lamentations modules usually "go big" and have some sort of lasting effect on the player characters or the campaign, and there's plenty of that here. A series of Things You Want To Touch But Shouldn't will tempt the players. Some of the worst effects are rather benign and up to the Referee's interpretation (such as, "You get cancer.") Overall fun. Very weird. Not recommended for people who are deathly afraid of bodily fluids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom-Cave of the Crystal-Headed Children
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
by Edward V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2015 18:37:59

This free version retains all the rules and layout but blanks out all of the art in the book. It is a player's guide, and all of the mechanics that a player would run into are explained. Lamentations is a re-imagined version of Basic Dungeons & Dragons (very similar to the Mentzer Red Box rules) designed to evoke the feel of gritty pulp fantasy... Clark Ashton Smith, HP Lovecraft, and Robert E. Howard's stories all fit in well here. Combat uses a d20 with ascending AC, with very similar math to D&D 3e and 5e. Skills are resolved using a d6. The spell lists have been mostly re-worked to dump a lot of "magic artillery" spells in favor of illusion and reality manipulation.


Much like Mentzer D&D this is a really polished system for fantasy gaming. The classes are all much more plain than basic D&D, but the stripped-down nature of it makes everything move smooth, fast, and logically. Despite having an 18+ warning on the front, without the art there is nothing too shocking about this game. The shocking stuff is in the art, and other products. There is no implied setting, but most of the published adventures in this line will take place in 1600-1650 Europe, so rules for arms and armor from that period are included (including blackpowder weapons.) For seasoned D&D gamers, this game will be very familiar to you and easy to play and run. Compared to other D&D games on the market, this may not have a flashy intro box, but the rules are solid, easier to work with, and the price is right... both for this free version and other products in the line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Green Devil Face #5
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 19:29:04

This supplement periodical had elements and ideas I found informative, unusual, and interesting, including the new experience mechanic and the new character creation and advancement techniques.


P.S. The following is a shout-out to the publisher.


While some of the system's ideas may be interesting, the referee style and attitude towards players it encourages leaves VOLUMES to be desired. Inserting compulsory "player-f***ers" into the game simply because you can is incredibly perturbing.


A number of my reviews may have been copied. Nevertheless, they are my honest judgments regarding those adventures and the game system, and I am allowed to critique them as I paid for them.


Correct me if I'm wrong, but did not you (or Zak S.) say something in the manner of, "Even bad media is still media?"


I'll admit I was quite annoyed with the system, and perhaps the numerous negative reviews were impulsive, but I made my bed and I will sleep in it. If you have a low opinion of me from now on due to my decision, very well.


Pardon me for my drawn out last words.


I willfully agree to disagree with you, and anyone else who doesn't share my outlook on game theory, development, and execution.


Troy V.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Green Devil Face #5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Monolith from beyond Space and Time
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:50:31

In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Monolith from beyond Space and Time
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
The Idea from Space
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:49:44

In the typical LotFP fashion, the "winning" scenario is damn near impossible, the adventure contains numerous devices which screw player characters royally, and is grimdark to a fault, replacing wit and imagination with tragedy and cruel jokes. Your characters might as well just stay in the tavern, tea house, inn, or drug den. Better yet, tell your referee to lighten up or replace your referee, and stop pulling these tasteless, depressing pranks on you and the rest of the players.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Idea from Space
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'d like to point out that this reviewer has placed this exact review, verbatim, on eight different products written by six different people, including on one product not released by LotFP. You can decide for yourself whether this harms the credibility of the reviewer.
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 187 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG