RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Zombie Bytes: The Anthology
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2012 16:36:45
Not sure what happening to this book. Not much of a fan of Zombie stories.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Bytes: The Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ápocrypha - Myths of the World
by Jimmy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2010 18:41:05
And now Brian Pedersen/Dane of War is lying again with their Publisher's reply.

Dane of War claims that at no time did they claim that it was their original work or substitute the author name, and that it has been clearly stated that it was a work in the public domain, but up until today this product and their other public domain product Book of the Dead had a price tag on them and were not free, the author name was given as Brian Pedersen, and there was no indication that it was a public domain work.

Dane of War, do you really think that by changing the product description you can claim that your dishonesty never happened?

Don't you think Drivethru and OneBookShelf have logs of your product pages? You may have changed the product description here, but I have the PDF file, where you assert copyright to these public domain works, this one and the Book of the Dead. In the PDF you identify yourself as the copyright holder, and you even have the temerity to warn against piracy against your product, which was never yours to begin with.

And do you really think that three (two here, one other for the Book of the Dead) independent customers from three separate places in the world would all cook up the same lie just to discredit your company? All of us have, independently of each other, noticed that your products were marketed as original work, written by one Brian Pedersen. You can't make that go away by changing the author name back to the real author and editing your product descriptions.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ápocrypha - Myths of the World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Book of The Dead
by Jimmy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2010 21:27:04
The reviewer before me has said most you need to know: this is not an original work by Brian Pedersen, it is an old translation of the Book of the Dead in the public domain, repackaged as Dane of War's own product and then sold for profit.

Why I bother writing a review, when that has already been exposed by the former reviewer, is because I would like to inform people that Dane of War has done exactly the same with their other product, Apocrypha. This book was also originally a book now in the public domain, where whoever it is who is responsible for Dane of War removed the original author's name, substituted their own and put a price tag on something that is free.

It is grossly misleading and dishonest, and I will be lodging a formal complaint.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of The Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ápocrypha - Myths of the World
by Jimmy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2010 21:21:20
Considering that Dane of War has done exactly the same with the Book of the Dead, that is taken something from the public domain, exchanged the real author's name with their own, and then sell it as their own property, I think it is safe to assume that it was not an oversight that Apocrypha was presented as original work, as the publisher claims (see the publisher's response to the review below).

Dane of War is a "company" (presumably just Brian Pedersen) of very low morals, and while they may not have done anything illegal, it is certainly unethical and completely dishonest. I am glad that I received this as part of the Haiti relief charity, so that I am at least not out any money for something in the public domain. What burns me the most is that these guys (if there are indeed more than one) attempt to pass off other people's work as their own, and then have the temerity to demand payment and claim that it is their intellectual property.

I will lodge a formal complaint with OneBookShelf, and hopefully they will bar Dane of War from doing their dishonest business here. Again, they may not have done anything illegal, but they are grossly misrepresenting their wares, which is not in OneBookShelf's interest, and OneBookShelf may therefore see the wisdom in banning these con artists.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ápocrypha - Myths of the World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
At absolutely no time did I nor anyone else claim that this book was written by me. It is plainly stated in the book itself as well as on the information page who the original author is. I also do not appreciate your inflammatory comments in the least regarding Dane of War Publishing. However, thank you for supporting Gamers For Haiti.
The Book of The Dead
by Avram S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2010 20:47:38
I cannot in good conscience recommend this book. It is essentially a repackaging of E. A. Wallis Budge's translation of the Ani papyrus of The Chapters of Coming Forth by Day, commonly known as the Egyptian Book of the Dead. It has no commentary. There is no suggestion as to how this material would be useful in a role-playing game. For a product sold on a role-playing site, as an aid to role-playing, this seems an egregious error. Instead, the texts are merely reproduced, inside a cover that has nothing to do with anything relating to these important religious texts.

The tag line on the front cover of this book even comes from the ad-copy on the back of the Dover reprint of Budge's translation. This book is rounded out by a lengthy statement designed to protect Dane of War Publishing's intellectual property rights. There is an irony in borrowing the work of one Egyptology's great (although flawed) scholars wholesale, and then worrying about ones own intellectual property rights.

To be clear I do not believe that Dane of War Publishing has done anything illegal, as Budge's translation is almost certainly in the public domain now--and therefore available on the Internet. This actually brings up one final point--Budge's translation is over a hundred years old, and Egyptology has come a long way since 1895. Raymond Faulkner has a more recent translation, but it does cost more, as it represents current scholarship and is not in the public domain.

This book is the Book of the Dead, as stated on the cover. It is not, however, a role-playing supplement.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of The Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

90 Phenomena in the City of Copenhagen
by Petri W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2010 04:01:24
Very nice, with a strong Unknown Armies feel. I got this as part of the Haiti relief bundle (thanks!), but was very impressed by the quality here. More books in this style would be appreciated (and would go into my shopping cart asap :).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
90 Phenomena in the City of Copenhagen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ápocrypha - Myths of the World
by Jens A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2010 23:58:48
The text of this book is a direct copy of the 1901 "Classic Myths" by Mary Catherine Judd. That book is in the public domain and you can download it free from Project Gutenberg:
http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/world/readfile?fk_files-
=33371

Dane Of War has misrepresented the book by changing the title and author's name (to Brian Pedersen), adding a 2009 copyright date, and appending a really heavy-handed three-page legal document describing, of all things, their "intellectual property" policy.

What they've done is completely legal, of course; you can do anything you want with text in the public domain. It seems rather unethical, though, and there's certainly no reason for you to spend money on it. If you really want a kids' book of world myths written in an amusingly archaic style with words like "to-day" and "queer", you can go to Gutenberg and get the original for free.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ápocrypha - Myths of the World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Once again, I do apologize for the inconvenience with this. I use a standard "Dane of War Publishing Presents" intro page which was not edited completely. As soon as this was brought to my attention the change was corrected, although to be fair, I should have seen it before submitting in the first place. It should be fairly stated that the actual authorship has never been subject to debate where advertised. It was an unfortunate oversight on my part.
90 Phenomena in the City of Copenhagen
by baard e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2009 08:13:58
At heart this is a list of locations and the ghost/creepy phenomena they contain.
Each has a specific "approach" which allows a pc with the right information to gain some benefit if he/she can handle the process of going there and accessing it.

The feel is very Unknown Armies; this stuff is unsettling, irrational and probably only suited for a game where the pcs are already "clued-in" occultists.

Copenhagen itself is under-represented. Most, if not all of these would suit any midsized city the gm wants to use, simply by changing the odd street and shop name.
To me, Norwegian and familiar with Copenhagen, thats a disapointment..
i would have loved something more specific to Copenhagens long, dark history..

But that´s a personal preference.

For a very low price, you get a whole bunch of creepy weirdness, a set of "important supernatural places and how you use them" , suitable for a horror/ occult game.

If that suits your games, i´d highly recommend this.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
90 Phenomena in the City of Copenhagen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG