RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - SD MIX
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/24/2014 01:45:39
http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/05/24/rezension-apotheosis-
-drive-x-ein-fate-setting/

Machine Age – riesige Roboter gesteuert von auserwählten Piloten. Sind sie die letzte Hoffnung der Menschheit oder ihr unausweichliches Ende? Epische Kämpfe und sagenhafte Dramen erwarten die Spieler in dem Setting Apotheosis Drive X für Fate.

Rezension: Apotheosis Drive X – ein Fate-Setting

Als großer Anhänger des Fate-Systems habe ich bisher die Settings für meine Abenteuer immer selbst zusammengestellt oder die Variante eines sogenannten „Hacks“ gewählt. Dabei wird ein vorhandenes Setting genutzt und die Fate-Regeln daran angepasst. Apotheosis Drive X (ADX) ist das erste fertige Setting für Fate, dass mir in die Finger kam und sicher nicht das letzte. Es ist unglaublich spannend, die Interpretation eines so offenen Systems, aus der Feder von Profis zu entdecken.

Die Spielwelt

Die Erde ist die Bühne für das ADX-Setting, allerdings mehrere hundert Jahre in der Zukunft. Das früheste, spielrelevante Jahr 2397, markiert ein erschütterndes Ereignis. Die ersten Ausläufer des verheerenden vierten Weltkriegs werden erkennbar und bringen große Veränderungen mit sich. Die Akteure versammeln sich und werden später zu den vier großen Fraktionen, welche den Lauf der Geschichte mit Hilfe der Titan-Technologie zu beeinflussen suchen.

Die vier Fraktionen

Die Oya-Nation: Geklonte Elitekrieger, die einst erschaffen wurden, um die Menschen zu schützen und einen Kriegsausbruch zu verhindern. Leider hat ihre Existenz nur für noch mehr Tumult gesorgt. Sie haben die Herzfeuer-Antriebe vergraben und dadurch fruchtbares Land erschaffen. In ihrem Matriarchat werden die gefallenen Titanen-Antriebe wie Angehörige begraben. Ihre Robotertechnologie ist mit Biotechnologie verknüpft, und die Piloten bilden eine Symbiose mit ihren Oya-Klasse-Titanen.

Stratos-Commonwealth: Ehemalige Klontruppen, die auszogen im Weltall zu leben, weil Ihnen auf der Erde gleiche Rechte verwehrt wurden. Sie leben auf Raumstationen im Asteroidengürtel und fliegen vielseitige Titanen. Sie müssen sich widrigen Lebensumständen und Ressourcenknappheit anpassen und ihre General-Klasse-Titanen, später Khan-Klasse, sind (beschränkte) Transformer.

Das Eine-Erde-Abkommen: Die Gesamtregierung der Erde, ein Propaganda-„Staat“ mit seltsamer Moral, der die Klone und das Kollektiv ausnutzte oder unterdrückte. Ihre grenzenlosen Ressourcen und ihre vorteilhafte Position, sind nur mit Hilfe einer Mehrklassengesellschaft haltbar. Sie haben den ersten Titanen gebaut, und die Janus-Klasse ist in jeder Generation das Basismodell für alle anderen Titanen. Die Janus-Titanen verfügen über eine adaptive Erinnerung, die das Kampfwissen der vorigen Piloten speichern und an andere Piloten weitergeben kann.

Das Völker-Kollektiv: Die Unterdrückten und die Arbeiter der Erde erschufen sich ihre eigene Nation, welche eigentlich keine Nation, sondern mehr eine Art „Menschengewerkschaft“ darstellt. Ohne ihre Arbeitskraft kann es keine Erdregierung geben, aber bisher haben sie es nicht geschafft sich vollends zu erheben. Ihre Mythen-Klasse-Titanen sind ehemalige Ernte- und Industriemaschinen, die mit gestohlener Technologie modifiziert wurden.

Der Fokus des Settings liegt natürlich auf dem Konflikt der Fraktionen untereinander und der Bedeutung von Titanen für die Menschheit. Die Zeitlinie wird grob dargestellt und in sieben Generationen aufgeteilt. Empfohlen wird der Beginn einer Kampagne in der Generation vier, da dort die Titanen beginnen, dank Ihrer Antriebe, besondere Kräfte zu entwickeln, welche sich die Spieler zu Nutze machen können. Die Spielwelt an sich wird, wie bei Fate üblich, nur angerissen und mit wenigen Sätzen wird ein Bild der Situationen gezeichnet. Dabei bleibt dem Spielleiter, der in ADX „Director“ genannt wird, maximaler Interpretationsspielraum. Das Setting ist interessant gestaltet und man merkt deutlich, worauf Wert gelegt worden ist. Der Antrieb der Fraktionen, der Charaktere und Gruppierungen wird in den Vordergrund gestellt und jeder einzelne ist sich sicher, dass nur sein eigener Weg dazu führt, die Menschheit zu retten oder zu vernichten. Gut und Böse werden hier nicht definiert, sondern sind, so wie in der echten Welt, nur eine Frage der persönlichen Perspektive. Jedenfalls bietet sich in dem Setting einiges an Möglichkeiten, und Fans von Animeserien oder Mangas aus dem Machine Age-Genre kommen hier auf ihre Kosten. Nicht zuletzt wegen der Fairness des Fate-Systems können Charakterschwerpunkte extrem unterschiedlich sein und doch wird kein Charakter in einer Geschichte zu kurz kommen.
Die zu Grunde liegende Idee ist sehr gut und wenn auch nicht vollkommen neu, dennoch eine Bereicherung für Fate. Die Sonderregeln und Ideen lassen sich auch sehr gut dazu nutzen, um beispielsweise einen Battletech- oder Mechwarrior-Hack zu bauen. Leider ist die Aufmachung des Werkes nicht sehr gut strukturiert und zuweilen extrem verwirrend. Dazu kommen haufenweise Schreibfehler und Seitenverweise der Marke „Platzhalter“, die dem Leser übel aufstoßen: „Mehr Informationen auf Seite: XX“. Am Anfang werden dem Leser zunächst die Generationen erklärt und zwar in Form eines holografischen Lehrers des Eine-Erde-Abkommens. Dabei wird die Erzählung absichtlich mit der vierten Generationen beendet, um dem Spielleiter die Entscheidung offen zu lassen, welche Fraktion den sogenannten „Aufstiegs-Antrieb“ entdeckt hat. Später im Buch jedoch wird sehr oft festgestellt, dass das Abkommen und sein Janus-Titan die ersten waren. Viele solcher Inkonsistenzen fallen während der Lektüre auf und geben dem ganzen Setting ein unfertiges Feeling. Das ist grundsätzlich kein Problem für ein narratives Rollenspiel, macht aber den Vorteil einer vorgefertigten Spielwelt doch ein wenig zunichte.

Die Regeln
Die Fate-Regeln kommen in ADX zur Anwendung und werden um einige Spezialregeln erweitert. Mechanisch basiert das Setting auf Fate Core und sämtliche Regeln, die zum spielen benötigt werden, sind auch aufgeführt und kurz erklärt. ADX bedient sich einiger sehr schöner Kniffe, um dem Setting eine eigene Note und mehr Tiefe zu verleihen. Die Sonderregeln sind speziell mit einem „X“ gekennzeichnet und ersparen einem erfahrenen Fate-Spieler das Lesen der bekannten Regeln.
Als besonderes Merkmal gibt es hier den sogenannten DRIVE-Würfel. Man ersetzt dabei in besonders krassen Situationen einen der FUDGE-Würfel durch einen sechsseitigen. Die Titanen werden über ihre Grenzen hinaus beansprucht und können mit diesem Würfel leicht epische Erfolge erzielen. Dies ist jedoch sowohl an einen speziellen Fertigkeit gebunden, als auch mit der Prämisse einer schweren Konsequenz belegt. Allgemein werden epische, riskante oder coole Manöver besonders belohnt. Die Fate-Punkte fließen bei ADX ebenfalls ein wenig anders. Der „Director“ ist ebenso wie die Spieler an einen festen Pool von Punkten gebunden. Dieser beginnt sogar bei null und wird nur dann aufgefüllt, wenn er die Story anhand der „Direktiven“ vorantreibt. Als Beispiel:
„Ein Titan-Pilot zu sein ist geil!“ Immer, wenn der Spielleiter in der Story betont und hervorhebt, dass Titan-Pilot zu sein, mit einem Rockstar gleichzusetzen ist, bekommt er selbst einen Fate-Punkt für sich und seine Antagonisten.
Fate ist bekanntermaßen ein narratives System und diese, sowie alle anderen Sonderregeln in ADX, unterstreichen das Feeling von Machine Age-Geschichten wie „Neon Genesis Evangelion“.



Charaktererschaffung
Die Charaktererschaffung ist für das Setting geradezu perfekt! Jeder Spieler erschafft nicht nur den Protagonisten, sondern auch je zwei Crewmitglieder bzw. zusätzliche Charaktere. Diese können nahezu jede Art von Beruf, oder Position innehaben und finden dennoch immer einen kleinen Patz in der Geschichte. Sie bestehen am Anfang jedoch nicht aus mehr als einer groben Idee und einem Aspekt. Jeder der Pilotencharaktere muss jedoch zwei seiner drei (fünf, wenn man Konzept und Hindernis hinzuzählt) Aspekte dafür aufwenden, eine Beziehung zu zwei beliebigen Haupt-, oder Nebencharakteren zu beschreiben. Ansonsten folgt die Erschaffung weitestgehend den Fate-Core-Regeln, und jeder Protagonist hat sowohl ein Konzept, als auch ein Hindernis.
Ganz besonders sticht hierbei natürlich die Mechanik der Titanen hervor und zur Steuerung der riesigen Maschinen werden sowohl spezielle Stunt- als auch Aspekt-Vorschläge gemacht. Der Titan verfügt dabei über drei Aspekte zum Angriff, zur Verteidigung und für die Panzerung. Diese werden wiederum mit einer bestimmten Wertigkeit versehen, um damit ihre Kraft zu bezeichnen. Dabei ist es durchaus auch möglich, den Titan zu vernachlässigen und sich mehr auf den Piloten zu konzentrieren, denn alles wird aus dem gleichen Fertigkeits- und Stunt-Pool gespeist.
Die Fertigkeitenliste ist stabil und simpel gehalten. Für jede Fertigkeit werden, wie auch bei Fate-Core, sowohl Anwendungsbeispiele für die vier möglichen Aktionen (überwinden, Vorteil erschaffen, angreifen verteidigen), als auch Stunts geliefert. Das Powerlevel beim Start der Kampagne kann natürlich stark variieren. Je nachdem, auf welche Generation sich die Gruppe geeinigt hat, bekommt der Titan kostenlose Aufrufe seiner Aspekte, als auch zusätzliche Stunts geschenkt. Ansonsten geht man von einer Standart-Vierer-Fertigkeitenpyramide aus und hat zusätzlich zu den zwei Stunts noch drei Refreshs zur Verfügung.
Eine weitere Besonderheit im Zusammenhang mit den Nebencharakteren besteht darin, dass man einen dieser Charaktere, mit Aufgabe eines Refresh-Punktes, zu einer wichtigeren Rolle anheben kann. Dann bekommt dieser ein Konzept einen Stunt und einen freien Aspekt. Wie man in dem verlinkten Spielbericht sehen kann, dauert eine Charaktererschaffung kaum mehr als eine Stunde, abhängig natürlich von der Kreativität der Anwesenden.
Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht
Die Möglichkeiten als Spielleiter sind natürlich unbegrenzt und es werden hervorragende Vorschläge für Geschichten aller Art gemacht. Das Buch ist durchsetzt von „Ingame“-Texten und Abenteuerhooks. Am Ende findet sich sogar ein vollständiges Abenteuer im Fate-Stil. Die vorgefertigten großen und kleinen Szenen erleichtern den Einstieg in das Setting. Nachblättern bleibt natürlich nicht aus, allerdings können sich eigene Geschichten schwierig gestalten, wenn man versucht sich völlig an die inkonsistenten Informationen zu halten. Das Gute ist natürlich, dass man dies in diesem System nicht tun muss und man kann die kleinen Geschichten und Berichte als Inspiration nutzen, anstatt sich über Zusammenhänge aufzuregen.
Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht
Spieler haben beinahe ebenso viele Freiheiten wie der Spielleiter, und die vorgesehene Belohnung von wahnwitzigem Spielerverhalten kann, meines Erachtens nach, nur zu noch abgefahreneren Geschichten führen. Die Spieler und der Leiter müssen sich vor einer beginnenden Kampagne drei Konflikte ausdenken, zum Beispiel:

Der unmittelbare Konflikt: Die Gruppe befindet sich in einem brennenden Raumschiff, das in die Atmosphäre eindringt und zu verglühen droht. Eine Sache, welche die Spieler gemeinsam und schnell lösen können bzw. müssen.

Der mittelfristige Konflikt: Es gilt einen weiteren Krieg zu verhindern! Eine Aufgabe, in welcher die Spieler eine große Rolle spielen, aber die sie vermutlich nicht alleine lösen können.

Der unlösbare Konflikt: Weltfrieden ermöglichen. Eine utopische Aufgabe, die eventuell am Ende einer langen Kampagne erreicht werden kann, in der die Spieler zahllose Verbündete versammelt haben.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis
Für schlanke 10 EUR bekommt man zwar ein nur 144 Seiten starkes E-Book, welches allerdings mit tollen Ideen und Konzepten glänzt. Über die erwähnten Nachteile kann man deshalb getrost hinwegsehen.

Spielbericht
Leider ergab sich bisher keine Möglichkeit für ein Testspiel, allerdings gibt es eine sehr inspirierende Charaktererschaffung und eine kurze Systemeinführung in einem zweistündigen Hangout auf YouTube zu sehen. Es handelt sich zwar um ein Spiel während der Alpha-Phase, allerdings sind die wichtigsten Punkte bereits vorhanden und die Gruppe ist ziemlich kreativ. Allerdings ist die Runde in Englisch, da sie vom Erschaffer von ADX geleitet wird

Erscheinungsbild
Apotheosis Drive X verfügt über ein simples, aber schickes Design und ist sowohl am Rechner als auch auf dem Tablet gut lesbar. Die vorhandenen Illustrationen sind von eher mittelmäßiger Qualität und wiederholen sich stellenweise sogar. Ich hätte mir mehr Mecha-Designs und Bilder von großen Schlachten gewünscht.


Bonus/Downloadcontent
Es liegen leider kein Bonusinhalte oder Downloads vor. Es wurde aber eine erweiterte Variante des Buches während des Kickstarter Prozesses angekündigt.

Fazit
Das Setting wartet mit einigen innovativen Ideen auf. Gerade, was die Charaktererschaffung und das Festlegen von Kampagnenzielen angeht. Auch die DRIVE-Würfel-Mechanik verschiebt das narrative Fate-Regelwerk ein gutes Stück in Richtung episches Drama! Die Freiheiten des Regelwerks werden wunderbar genutzt, um eine lebendige Spielwelt mit nur wenigen Sätzen zu erschaffen. Getrübt wird das Ganze leider ein wenig durch die vielen Rechtschreibfehler, fehlende Seitenverweise, an deren Stelle noch Platzhalter sind und teilweise einfach mal eine leere Seite mitten im Buch. Trotz der Nachteile ist Apotheosis Drive X eine wunderbare Inspirationsquelle für den eigenen Settinghack oder -neubau.
Unsere Bewertung

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - SD MIX
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - SD MIX
by Sean F. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2013 13:41:17
SEAN'S PICK OF THE DAY: Mecha is coming. It's coming in a huge way, back to gaming. This looks to be a solid entry into the Next Generation of Mecha games...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
by Raymond T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2013 18:35:29
This is very well written, and I love the setting. I can't wait to get into it more and play/run a game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Flatpack: Fix the Future
by brianna S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2013 19:10:02
Have you ever wanted to play a game that is different from anything you've ever played before? Do you like the idea of an apocalypse that doesn't mean the end of hope? Flatpack is probably for you! This game is super fun. It's simple to learn, great for all ages, and creates an atmosphere of giddy adventurousness in a world that really needs a fun, happy place. Build your town and meet new people - enter your mutated bug in a beauty contest, and investigate abandoned shopping centers to find flatpacks. But most of all, have fun making a difference!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flatpack: Fix the Future
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
by Jeremy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2013 18:58:37
This book was an absolute joy to read. The authors provide a setting that hits all the high-points you want in a setting: fleshed-out details that make the world come alive, mysteries with competing theories that the GM can make her own, and no mechanical details so that one could run Arduise in a multitude of systems. Part of the charm is that the writers chose to have multiple, in-setting characters speaking and interacting with the material and each other.

The theme of the game is progressive post-fantasy, and this theme emanates from every page. I would describe it as a fantasy game with modern sensibilities when it comes to cultural issues. In fact, it's one of a few games that tackles these concepts head-on.

The system itself shines in the second part of the book. The mechanics are innovative and intuitive, revolving around creative problem-solving based on how your character views the world and what's important to her. The thrust of the game is that the characters are seeking to make the world a better place in some way.

I have been unable to play as of the writing of this review, but I'm looking forward to the opportunity.

The book did have some minor typos and a few editorial fixes that needed to be made, but these detract very little from the overall experience of reading the book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Farewell to Foie Gras: The Food and Drink of Arduise
by Quynh N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2012 00:25:20
Whimsical and delightful. Imagine, if you will, setting foot in Patrick Rothfuss's The Name of the Wind or Tolkien's Lord of the Rings. What kind of cuisine do they eat? How do they make it using a woodburning stove? What kind of things do salt-of-the-earth dwarves like to eat? Wouldn't it be neat if you could make Butterbeer at home? Enter Farewell to Foie Gras.

FFG is set in the fantasy realm of Arduise (for some reason my brain tends to default to Middle Earth when I picture it) and is told from the perspective of Pandan Valdon, a scholar of epicure. He's like the Andrew Zimmerman of the world of Arduise and is documenting "intelligible kitchen practice." Amen. Valdon meanders to the four corners of the world and samples the cuisines, then shares recipes.

I have to admit, I am a nitpicker of the Tolkien variety for detail when it comes to world building. And FFG delivers in spades. Even better, it reads like a fantasy cookbook but is actually a real cookbook in disguise, with recipes ready for the kitchen. So far I've tried making the Effervescent Ginger Brew, Spiced Chicken Parcels in red sauce, and yes, the Dwarven Frycoating. My favorite recipes are from the mythic land of Waarhuise, especially the Spoon Cream with Cinnamon. I can't get over the D&D-fication of recipes. Freaking fun. If all cookbooks had quirky stories describing the origin of the dish, an amusing rundown of how to cook it with both primitive and modern kitchens, as well as a taster's impression of it, I would actually cook more. As a lazy nerd, I am often heavy on the food porn ogling and less so of the actual execution of recipes in the kitchen. These I actually went out and tried. The food was quirky and tasty just like any new cuisine would be, but geek-friendly enough for a lazy nerd to make. I still can't get over how very fun it is to combine a fantasy setting with a cookbook and see what you get. A cookbook that you can read like a novel!

My hangup with this book is largely from a design perspective. The cover you see here previewed is not on the actual PDF book itself. I had a sad because I love ink illustrations and was sorely surprised to see copyright page as the cover instead. Then again, I ended up getting food stains on said copyright page so it's all good. At times Pandan Valdon sounds a little too formal and uses a lot of buffer words, making the text a bit denser than your average cookbook, but lighter than your D&D Player's Handbook. When I get bogged down by the details I make a quick flip to the "modern recipe," make the dish, then read the back story and smile to myself while I eat.

I swear, I'm dead pleased to have a cookbook that features a dish called "Roasted Wyvern" with instructions to "Scale, gut and clean a wyvern chick or simply scale and clean a wyvern flank." The modern recipe follows, "while wyerns are a bit hard to track down in the real world, one can approximate the experience of the exotic meat by using this turkey treated with special brine." I can't get over how fun and imaginative this nerdy cookbook is.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Foie Gras: The Food and Drink of Arduise
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Farewell to Foie Gras: The Food and Drink of Arduise
by Jennifer M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2012 20:45:19
This is a delightful addition to any gamer's culinary collection. My gaming crew and I like to do "in character" meals occasionally, and this fits the bill nicely. The writing style is charming, as are the recipes themselves - "Farewell to Foie Gras" was clearly written by someone with a fine appreciation for both roleplaying and the culinary arts. (The "Dwarven Frycoating" description is really fun.) Highly recommended!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Gentle Ladies Tea and Monstrosity Destroying and Quilting Circle Auxiliary
by Oliver O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 09:54:25
I really loved this product.

I game with several lady-gamers, all in their thirties or forties. These are smart gals, wives and mothers most of them, and they DO show up at the gaming table with knitting projects and their latest baking experiment! I have yet to work up the nerve to show them this, lest I be struck with a rolling pin, but part of me thinks they would get a huge kick out of it.

This product is witty, flavorful, whimsical and elegant in its simplicity. The mechanics are uncomplicated enough to be on par with many board games, and the writing evokes the feel of the game beautifully.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Gentle Ladies Tea and Monstrosity Destroying and Quilting Circle Auxiliary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Gentle Ladies Tea and Monstrosity Destroying and Quilting Circle Auxiliary
by Curt T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2012 14:02:06
The Gentle Ladies Tea and Monstrosity Destroying and Quilting Circle Auxiliary is a 'micro game', a bare-bones RPG using the Fuck Armageddon game rules and setting but with an entirely different tone and style.

Written in a breezy, Edwardian or Victorian lady's voice, the game explains how to defend one's self from the eldritch and possibly demonic horrors spawned by the 'pits' that are bringing about the end of the world. The only thing standing between your homes and the beasts of the pits is the titular group of ladies. The game assures us that even gentlemen can be ladies, because, as our narrator puts it, 'The End of the World is an Equal Opportunity Employer'.

Weighing in at 17 pages, with graphics that range from cleverly apt to quick, dirty and hilarious (the meat monster or Carmilla, for examples), this is a quick reading game, able to be read in a few minutes. The authorial voice works surprisingly well for laying out the rules and conventions of the game, which are quick-resolving and GMless, using a trait-based system where 1,2 or 3 on any given die is success and the maximum number on the die provokes a botch (and the player is expected to declaim 'Oh Fudge!' to let the other players know.)

The layout is excellent, with the information needed to play the game presented in roughly the order you'd need to have it, the rules explained clearly and the various fiddly bits of making player characters and NPCs, the differences between them and how one can become the other presented nicely and concisely. The last few pages are taken up by an optional advancement system and an excellent 'period' bestiary with monsters lifted from classic literature, from the above mentioned Carmilla to the beast from The Murders in the Rue Morgue. My copy had what looked like a formatting error or two, but nothing serious.

Conclusion: Fun, light and quick, The Gentle Ladies makes a great pick-up game for when you don't feel like running a regular campaign or you want something light and fun to introduce new (albeit adult, probably) players to the concept of role playing games. The tone is clever and well-done, faltering a time or two into modernity, but for the most part pitch perfect. Give this game a try.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Yes, but is it Art, a Demo Adventure for Flatpack
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2012 17:33:14
It was fun, let me start off with that.
It ran quickly and easily and as the GM I had fun. I'm sure some of my friends had fun too. The first question I got was about violence (naturally) and I asked them to count how many combat oriented skills there were (there are between few and none here). Next they chose to on the large make themselves as violent a-holes and tried to bash the skulls of small children with rocks.
So a bit of a learning curve for the whole low violence thing.
As demo adventure, it won't teach you how to play. And it covers the basics poorly. As far as we could tell you have to roll a 7 on a D4 or D6 (or if you're really good and spend a spirit point a D8). Which is pretty hard when you start with no bonuses to those rolls. Did I miss something? It feels like I did, but I couldn't figure it out. The demo does give you an idea of what the game will be about and how it will work (for the most part) and that was good. I enjoyed that part and hope to see more. I will definitely give the full game a try.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Yes, but is it Art, a Demo Adventure for Flatpack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Yes, but is it Art, a Demo Adventure for Flatpack
by Aleksandar S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2011 04:30:17
Some really interesting ideas in this one. Rewarding the player that makes the best art work on the spot is just one of them.
On the other hand, you will not learn to play the game from this adventure. Rules seem promising but are too confusing on such a small space. For any real test complete version of the rules will be necessary.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Maschine Zeit and Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2011 12:33:55
Maschine Zeit is a great game with awesome mechanics. It's quick and easy to learn and the mechanics really push the game in the direction it needs to go (suspense-building horror) in a natural way by directly involving the players in the creation of the story.

I've run both the "Radiation Wraiths" and the "Ephesus Abbey" scenarios now. We really loved "Ephesus" and, being the second MZ game we ran, it went better than we expected.

My players left the table talking about how great the game was, how much fun they had, and how I should run it at a Con!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maschine Zeit and Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Amaranthine: Romance, Vendetta, Forever
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/20/2011 08:28:37
Amaranthine – A Review

This is another great game from Machine Age Productions. Despite coming to this game with the expectation of it being rather rules light and being wrong, this game has a lot to offer and a lot to bring to the table.

PROS: The setting is absolutely amazing. The idea of walking around as a closet immortal, only to realize what you are when you run into another immortal, is great fun. The way the Amaranthine remember their past lives makes this game very interesting and very collaborative. I like that. The game also uses a Relationship Wheel mechanic to help track how your Amaranthine feels about the people who are important to him/her. The Relationship wheel is full of narrative interest and is a wonderful tool to know instantly, at a glance, what your character feels about another. The cues it gives you make it so easy to glance at the wheel and run with roleplaying and have the interactions between characters be vibrant and ever-changing. The writing in this book is also top-notch. I especially like the in-character little descriptors for the Maneuvers as they bring a lot of color to the world of the Amaranthine and really make it pop. Amaranthine is also released under the Creative Commons license, so that makes it super easy to share it with your friends and get them excited to play it. And they will get excited. The mechanics provide a tiered complexity so you can choose how much you want them in your game. The mechanics support a narrative style game with minimal dice rolls.

CONS: The book is a bit large, weighing in at 212 pages. Most of the pages are pure text and, while the text is very well written, it can get tiring to read and read, and read. Especially since the mechanics are a bit complex. It took me two reads to wrap my head around them, but once I did, I saw the elegance of the system. I also thought that several of the images were unfinished and really took me out of being immersed in the book. Most of the images look very finished and descriptive, but several were in a loose, watercolor painting style that didn't draw me in.

All in all, I think this is a wonderful game and give it 4-stars! I definitely recommend picking it up and giving it a go with your game group. The game really appears to focuses on inter-character drama and makes it exciting to see what else happened in your character's past. This is a high quality game that you don't want to miss.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amaranthine: Romance, Vendetta, Forever
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Maschine Zeit
by Jack P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2011 19:14:12
It's doesn't happen often enough, finding a game that is designed to get out of the way and let the story happen. But Maschine Zeit is one of them. The game is designed to let each player set a goal and gives them each their moment in the spot light.

The GM (called the Director,) isn't the only one controlling the story, unlike in most games. In Maschine Zeit, the game and rule set encourages the players to help set the momentum and events of the game. Sometimes even making a roll to do one thing may give that player narrative control over something unrelated. Letting even the GM/Director cash in on those unexpected and fun moments.

As a minor warning, this game is not for the feint of heart. The horrific and macabre subject matter of Maschine Zeit simply may not be for everyone, so make sure you know what you're getting yourself into before buying this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maschine Zeit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Amaranthine: Romance, Vendetta, Forever
by Jon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2011 00:05:14
Perceptions
If you are a gamer like myself. The word “romance” almost instantly turns you off from any RPG game. Commonly, romance is considered a side plot element within stories told around the table top. Don’t let the word “romance” though turn you off of Amaranthine. In fact, this is somewhat misleading. The game is more along the lines of an urban fantasy noir than a romantic adventure game. Although, like most games, adventure is one of the key elements in Amaranthine, it might even beat out the competition in this department, don’t believe me. Buy the game.
Another thing that might turn players off is the thought of playing an immortal. Keep in mind though that this game brings to mind series like Highlander, sprinkled with a darker side of Cthulhu mythos. To be honest, who hasn’t wanted to stare into Void, if only for a minute and who hasn’t wanted to play a character that has flashbacks to eons past? In Amaranthine a player can play a character that has witnessed the fall of Rome or even the founding of America. Meaning that in the world of Amaranthine, adventures in the past are just as important as adventures in the present.
Pros and Cons
Machine Age Production has put together a whimsical dark world that is full of psychological estrangement. The artwork is like stepping into a comic book but at times is rough around the edges. This adds to the flavor of its urban fantasy noir feel. The writing is lyrical with a heavy metal beat. Character creation in Amaranthine, directly affects the game in major ways, not just ability wise but story wise and is quite simple to understand. The toughest part might be reading the chapter on character creation which is laid so even monkey can understand it. If Machine Age Productions ever came up with a name for their system, it should be the fast and loose system because not only can you create the character you want but also the resolution system is fast and loose.
My only gripe about Amaranthine and is a minor one, is that the beginning story is riddle with the f word. Machine Age, I realize that this is supposed to be an adult game but even adults get tired of seeing phrases like f&^%, s&*!, god(%^&. I think by using such language, Machine Age really limits their audience and I believe that Amaranthine should be shared with a wider audience, still a mature audience but a wider one.
Conclusion
Don’t be fool by Amaranthine’s out word appearance. It’s a great game that can be enjoyed by just about anyone. It still may not be for everyone, though, but if you don’t buy Amaranthine for the game, buy Amaranthine for the setting or for the beautiful writing or even for the eye catching art that peppers every page. What’s the worst that could happen you end up with a great RPG setting on your shelf.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amaranthine: Romance, Vendetta, Forever
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG