RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Cast of Cards: Orcs Galore Extras (Fantasy)
Cast of Cards: Orcs Galore Extras (Fantasy)
$3.95









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Inn on the Bridge
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/07/2013 04:42:03
This is a delightful product, an original inn presented in considerable graphic detail all ready to be dropped in as appropriate to your campaign world. All you need to find is a bridge substatial enough to add the inn as a bridge pier extension.

Travellers can access the inn from off of the bridge or by mooring at a landing stage. Then you have various ways of presenting it to your players. There's a glorious sketch of what it looks like to show them, or you can show plan views - either as a single sheet floorplan or as a miniatures-scale battlemat (should someone order milk...).

The plan views are provided in both GM and 'player-friendly' versions, the latter with anything they have to discover rather than see at a glance removed. A nice touch is that the fall of light from ground floor windows is shown, neat for those who like sneaking around unobserved. There's plenty of space for the GM's own notes about the place, but of the 'print out and write' variety, no facility to make notes electronically.

The drawings are all clear and neat, nicely-coloured and ready to use. The inn comes complete with a cellar, stables, and an upper floor with several bedrooms available for rent. There's also one room which strangely contains only a plant in a pot. There's a good kitchen area and plenty of storage space behind the bar, and plenty of doors - enough to stage a classic farce!

This is the kind of map that cries out for an adventure to be written around the place it portrays. Maybe I will once I've finished the review...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inn on the Bridge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Tower
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 21:11:07
Where to start on this one? First this is a crazy huge file; 100 megs. OF course you will be happy it is because the art is so crisp and clear in this one. At almost 90 pages you get an overview of the tower levels and the lower levels, players maps and the print and use floor plans for your favorite minis and version of the World's First Role Playing Game.

You are given the rooms, you have to decide what is in those rooms. It works great as a tower /base of operations for the players, the tower of the mad archmage you need to defeat or a ruin that might not be so abandoned. The choice is yours, but the stage is set and ready for your printer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Tower
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Tower
by Christopher K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2011 18:26:42
This is a massive undertaking, and it is fantastic. Gorgeous art, multiple levels, and an intelligent and clever layout. Totally recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Vampire Sanctuary
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/23/2010 00:27:37
"Vampire Sanctuary" is an ambitious project, weighing in at 71 pages of dungeon maps and miniatures-scale tiles. The first nine pages present overview maps, some with space reserved for notes. The rest of the product consists of miniatures-scale maps that you can assemble to lay out the dungeon on your table. Alternate versions that hide or show secret rooms and passageways are included as appropriate. The artwork looks good, though I do wish that Candarin Fall Productions had taken a hint from Empty Room Studios, and had optimized the layout so that, as much as possible, rooms printed out on single pages. Several of the pages sport 67 empty squares and only three illustrated squares, which equates to a lot of wasted paper. Otherwise, though, this is a great product for a predesigned, battlemap-scale dungeon.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sanctuary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Vampire Sanctuary
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2010 17:48:25
I picked this one up as part of a bundle for use with Call of Cthulhu (I was really interested in the "Barrow Tomb"). Of the three, this one would be rated number two in my book. The layout is intriguing and there are a lot of halls and tunnels that interconnect in unexpected ways -- excellent for my purposes in that it gives the bad guys multiple escape routes and the good guys lots of opportunities to stumble upon the bad guys unexpectedly -- with the ensuing opportunities for mayhem for everyone.

The product is stunning graphically, though, of course, it's merely a set of pregenerated maps you can use to show an area in your world. You, as the GM will find you need to do almost as much work as if you drew it yourself in terms of filling in the details of what's in the rooms, what the corridors look like, etc. However you are provided with the overall map showing everything in the area, a players version that is more limited in what it depicts (e.g., no hidden doors on theirs) and a blown up version that you could either reproduce for miniatures use, or use to show exactly where everything in a give room or hallway was in excruciating detail.

The pdf is the usual high quality we've come to expect from DriveThru RPG and I had no trouble whatsoever reading the material or seeing anything in the reproduction. Overall, I'll give this one a four since it's more in the "nice-to-have" category than it is either necessary for play or exciting TO play. If you, as the GM, need someplace relatively quickly you can drop into your world (but still have the time to flesh it out), this can work quite well for you. And at least you have really high-quality maps to work from!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Sinister Ruins
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2010 17:36:30
I picked this one up as part of a bundle (I was really interested in the "Barrow Tomb") for use in Call of Cthulhu. Generally the quality of these products is simply outstanding. They are well laid out, the graphics are incredible, and they present the material in several different ways, including for the GM, for the Players, and in a blown-up view that makes it very easy for the GM to reproduce the layout for miniatures, or, if not using miniatures to set down in excruciating detail where everything in the place actually is. There is, of course, no content -- the GM must take the maps and fill them out.

I found the "Sinister Ruins" to be the least interesting of the three that came in my bundle, seeming somewhat derivative of the old "Keep on the Borderlands" from back in the late 70's or early 80's. Still, as noted, the graphics were amazingly well done, and there is plenty of space for the clever or evil GM to put some surprises in place for the unwary player. Personally, I think I'd find this one more interesting for a Fantasy Campaign than for Call of Cthulhu, but still, I may find some use for it if I can think of a reasonable plot line to get my players to it.

The pdf was the usual excellent quality that we expect from DriveThru RPG, and I had no trouble reading or seeing any part of this document. Overall, I'm rating it a four since it is a "nice-to-have" kind of thing and not really necessary, but if you need something for your players to explore and have enough time to flesh it out (even if not enough to design it yourself), then you'll find this a useful and worthwhile addition to your game -- especially your fantasy game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sinister Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Barrow Tomb
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2010 20:43:04
I actually purchased this for use with "Call of Cthulhu" and it is perfect for that game. It is easily able to serve as the archetypal archeology "dig," or the secret lab buried out beyond the old Curwen Farm, or even, in a pinch, some handy ghoul tunnels beneath the rotting, gambrel-roofed houses of ancient Arkham. Be warned though -- this is not a standard CoC supplement -- it's simply a set of maps and layouts with places for you to note things and describe the rooms, halls and tunnels in more detail. It's a major time saver for the Keeper that needs something now and doesn't have a lot of time to make it up himself, but it will still require some work to be useful.

The production quality of the product was outstanding, and the reproduction quality from DriveThru RPG was excellent. I actually purchased this as part of a "bundle" including "Vampire Lair," and "Sinister Ruins." Of the three products, this one was the best for my purposes, though all were well done and potentially useful. Overall, I rate the "Barrow Tomb" as a solid five.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barrow Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Vampire Sanctuary
by crayon t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2010 19:01:28
If you wanted a bare bones map for your module, this is a good product. This a simple yet proffessional looking map. Worth the money, however, the download size is far larger than other maps available. Good: There is an overall map, a Detail map, and a map you can give the players as they go along. The players map tries to show only what the party can see before they enter. Some of the players map gave a little more information than what they would see, but this is a very minor issue.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sanctuary
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Barrow Tomb
by Joe K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/26/2009 06:45:35
Barrow Tomb is an interesting product. For myself, I've been messing with doing up some kobolds in the style of the old Necromancer's Legacy product from 3.0 and needed something like this. Unfortunately, as noted on the product description page, the map files aren't really made for miniature use. Now note the product does say you can copy them and enlarge them and that the resolution is high enough but that's a little too much work for a lazy bastich like me. However, at the product price point, this is a solid value if, like me, your mapping skills can best be described as... managable. Barrow Tomb includes a player version, GM version, slanted version, as well as up close versions of different sections with room to write down the encounters.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Barrow Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Candarin Fall Productions
Candarin Fall Productions
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Other products (8)
 Hottest Titles

Barrow Tomb

01.Barrow Tomb
02.Sinister Ruins
03.Vampire Sanctuary
04.Dockside Tavern
05.Arcane Tower
06.Inn on the Bridge
07.Map Pack: Undead Skirmish [BUNDLE]
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG