RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Death Phrogg Attack
by STEVEN R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2014 17:59:42
I won the battle at entry 14, and was directed to go to entry 29. There is no entry 29, as this adventure has only 28 entries. I'm not sure if this is due to the author's perverse sense of humor (which I generally appreciate) or a proof reading error. I am however grateful I could try a free solo adventure for this game system.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Death Phrogg Attack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art Collection 3: Alchemist Shop
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2013 15:29:59
You should know by now that, having been a fan of Jeff's amazing and weird art, I was fortunate enough for the World's Greatest Blind Artist and me to become friends. So take this with a grain of salt, since I am his friend.

BUY THIS COLLECTION!

It's really that good and the illustrations are really that useful. I find myself using them in correspondence, on player handouts, on mailing packages, and probably more than I can think of. They do not have to illustrate only an alchemist shop; as I said, they work in many different settings and projects.

My only complaint (and I should downgrade this and hold my breath 'til I turn blue) is that there aren't ENOUGH illustrations. Thirteen is plenty for what we pay, but I'd pay much more for many more drawings. Literally, I cannot get enough of Jeff's work.

You may not become as big a fan as I, but I have the feeling you'll be very, very happy with this package.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art Collection 3: Alchemist Shop
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Beans In Space!
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2013 15:04:15
Outstanding, Fun, Easy, Great art work, Takes me back to the good Ol' D&D days, not the 3rd or 4th edition stuff, but the Good Old stuff where the Gaming was left up to the Players, not pages and pages of rules...

Loved IT !!!!!!

p.s. What would be really great is something like the Old Deiities and Demigods for D&D for BEAN !!!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beans In Space!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Beans In Space!
by Tavernmaster G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2013 12:06:43
I have already put in writing my unbounded enthusiasm for the rules-lite roleplaying game Bean! There really isn't any setting or genre that it cannot be adapted for and Beans in Space just goes to prove this.

The bulk of the material in this supplement comes from the incredibly fertile mind of 'Mad' Roy Cram. Combine this with Jeff Freels' stunning artwork plus a good job of editing, for which I can claim some small personal credit, and it all adds up to a truly epic piece of work. I cannot wait to get my son exploring the final frontier with the Beanfolk from Terrafavus. If you have downloaded any of the previous Bean! supplements or you are someone who enjoys role-playing and you're looking for a fun game that doesn't keep you bogged down in rules, then this is the game for you.

Sid Orpin

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art Collection 6: Monsters 2!
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2013 21:04:07
Y'know, I've been looking for JUST the sort of vampire that has posed so nicely in the file labeled 'Nosferatu.' It's not a clone of the original movie's character - nor is it imbued with the humorous that Jeff can and does give to some of his art. No, this one is VERY serious, very sad in some way, and very, very threatening. I can use this. And shall.

Again, the VERY inexpensive price includes not only this illustration, but a whole fistful of others (13 in all? Forgot to count. No pun intended.) and each one of them as good as this. And license to use them (credited properly) in one's own story, game, or novel. Jeff is practically giving these things away. And they're way too good to go at these prices.

Take advantage of Jeff before he comes to his senses!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art Collection 6: Monsters 2!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BEAN! The D2 RPG
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2012 10:37:20
An absolutely great system. Light, flexible, playable, and easy to get into. Written in a humorous tone, but could be used for any sort of campaign setting. Kind of feels like a streamlined "Tunnels and Trolls" set of rules. Very much recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cellars of Castle Cassoulet
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 13:24:49
Lots of puns, dastardly creatures, a couple of "thinking person's" traps, and real plausibility for your character to go wandering in these cellars. Playable over and over, and with a sequel available. This is the kind of solo for me! Sid Orpin (writer) and Jeff Freels (artist, editor, publisher, and he sweeps the place out at night) can do no wrong as far as gaming is concerned!

This is for the people who say "Well yes, Bean is easy to play, but can you really have a complex adventure with it?" The answer is a resounding "YES!"

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellars of Castle Cassoulet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art Collection 2: ZOMBIES
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2012 20:17:27
It is no secret that I find Jeff Freels to be one of the best artists to come out of the rolegaming community. He could and should go farther than our little niche community, as his work can be - at the same time - funny, exciting, and downright creepy!

Case in point: Stock Art Collection 2: Zombies. I'm not fond of zombies, at least since they ceased to be zombies (see original sources in Africa and Haiti, and pre-Romero zombie movies) and took on the characteristics of ghouls. So they're flesh-eaters, and fairly boring plot devices now.

Despite my antipathy towards the modern zombie, I'm absolutely in love with Jeff's versions here. They are scary, some of them are almost funny, and any of them could be used in a professional publication. Jeff gives such rights to any purchaser, as long as they meet the minimal requirements of crediting, etc. (Read the text when you buy it.)

Frankly, I've seen no better art for gaming or other publication. I shall certainly use some of Jeff's work in the future, and I only wish he could do a LOT more of it!

Imagine, for instance, a Jeff Freels Lord of the Rings portfolio. Mmmmmmmmm!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art Collection 2: ZOMBIES
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Tomb Of Tokirah
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2012 20:29:28
It's an exciting swashbuckler with tongue firmly in cheek! It's small in page numbers, yet high in amount of playing time. It also has great replay value. It's a contradiction in terms and the most fun I've yet had with Bean!

And with that wonderful Jeff Freels artwork, topped by a cover of brooding horror and anticipation.

WARNING!NOT for boring gamesmasters or players, especially for those who do not enjoy combat, jumping, running, thinking fast, and swinging from chandaliers!

(Well, MY version has a chandalier. Pencilled it in myself.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Tomb Of Tokirah
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
World Of BEAN! Sourcebook for BEAN! The D2 RPG
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2012 22:16:11
One would think that Bean, the D2 RPG, would be prone to adventures and background which were or was skimpy on the details and purely cartoony in nature. You would be as wrong as I was.
There are plots and hooks throughout this world/sourcebook. I'm delighted how much is packed into only 90 pages! If you can't set up a quest based on, say, "the Elder Gods" section - or if you can't cause a lot of fun (for you and your players; your players' characters may be miserable) then a random encounter with a few Pokos could certainly make them a little crazy!
Remember that the inhabitants of this world are - well, BEANS. That means you might meet up with a werebean or a bhoul. Or even a beanpyre! Stop for a snack at Lizard On A Stik & Pickled Treats! Don't tell the late Dave Thomas or his heirs, please!
And oooooo, that Jeff Freels art!
In short - and I regret that this must be short - Bean is almost the most fun you can have with tongue firmly in cheek, but it may well have the funniest and one of the most exciting of milieu in which to play! But it before the price goes up! I'm not at all sorry to have bought the PDF and the softcover!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Of BEAN! Sourcebook for BEAN! The D2 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
East Of Fabassea
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 20:19:30
Not many sequels match the first in any series. Delightfully, EoF not only performs this feat, it actually surpasses it!
The NPCs are well rounded, and feel very (you should pardon the expression) human. Nor did I feel railroaded as I played this. And I shall surely play it again.
It's fun to play and the art is a feast for the eyes. This is one of the greater solos which will be remembered long after you've played it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
East Of Fabassea
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2012 09:56:37
Not going to write a long review.
Would defeat purpose of this elegant game.
Want to know lots about Bean? Read other reviews. Game is almost shorter than reviews.
Quick to get into, simple to run and play, abke to concentrate on role play.
Only one thing to say about Jeff's art and his game:

MORE!

-------Herbie Popnecker

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
World Of BEAN! Sourcebook for BEAN! The D2 RPG
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2012 12:46:12
This sourcebook strikes a great balance between "detailed" and "open to player/GM input." There's a ton of info here, and the world is very well established, but the opportunity to mold the world and to let the players discover it is not stifled by reams of overly specified minutiae. The World of Bean is fun, creative, and best of all, inviting to both players and GMs alike. Excellent work all around.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Of BEAN! Sourcebook for BEAN! The D2 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gone To The Dogs
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2012 15:32:06
This is another fun, well-written adventure that should really let your players give the Bean! system a nice workout. There is a fairly strong element of railroading involved, especially in one major plot element, but if the players are willing to go along with in the light-hearted spirit of this game, that one element should make things even more fun than usual. I am really anxious to run these adventures with my group, and I am starting to get the itch to write some of my own!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gone To The Dogs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Princely Ransom
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2012 15:27:50
A fun, well-written GM adventure that does a great job of giving players a chance to test out many aspects of the Bean! system. So far, I've only read it, but I plan on running this (and Gone to the Dogs) with some of my friends soon. There is some mild rail-roading that is written in to part of this adventure, but it's nothing that I think would ruin the overall fun playing through it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Princely Ransom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG