RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Power Pics Heroes 12 -Female Psychic
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/13/2012 09:39:39
A great series of character art and paper minis for a reasonable price. I particularly like how each set includes color, grayscale, and line drawing versions of both the character art and minis. This makes them great for playing RPGs with kids, who often enjoy coloring and customizing pictures to make them their own.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Heroes 12 -Female Psychic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Villains 10- Mad Scientist
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2012 19:39:02
This image, the "Mad Scientist" had exactly the right amount of goofiness for the application I had in mind, and will be used in one of our flagship products. I'm pleased with the product, and I'm hoping I can find additional, suitable clip art in your catalog in the future.

I did encounter a technical issue when attempting to extract the image for editing and conversion to Photoshop, as it seems that there was a layer of several images in the PDF which prevented direct selection of the artwork. The workaround was to open the file in Acrobat Pro and export the page to JPG format and then import it to photoshop.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Villains 10- Mad Scientist
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Heroes 1 -Female Speedster
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2012 16:38:54
Great concept really. Provide the art and a paper mini for the games and let the imagination flow.
You don't even really need or want stats with this since the purpose is fit the character to your game. I found that most of these can be used in every supers game and even some pure sci-fi ones. Well worth the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Heroes 1 -Female Speedster
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Pulp 1- All-Round Hero
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2011 00:42:00
You get exactly what you expect with this one - an illustration of a rugged pulp-hero type brandishing a pistol. The character is horribly cliched, with ripped shirt and a pistol in one hand, knife in the other - which is exactly what you want in a pulp adventurer! I am not a fan of the character's face, the mouth makes me feel like he is grimacing and I would rather a sly grin - but now I am just nit-picking!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Pulp 1- All-Round Hero
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Manga Collection 1
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/15/2010 16:36:08
I normally sit back on art, since my knowledge in that field is mostly technical (I know how to use Photoshop and Illustrator, and a lot of the principles of composition and design), but I lack most any real creative skill, and my drawing of anything more than the most simple object becomes a major ordeal.

However, there are times when I see something that I feel a need to comment on.

I like the art in this. I'm not a "Anime" guy, but I do hang around, and I don't really discriminate based on artistic medium.

Anyway, I got sidetracked. The reason I'm writing this review is to give advice.

1. Bundle in a .zip. You can include a .txt file (or most anything, really), and everyone will be able to read the license, without having to figure out how to get the images from a pdf (since the license does say you can use them in a web application).
2. While I like analog coloring, it should be even, or shaded. White space in an image that has no reason for white space is bad. Similarly, over-bright colors are oftentimes best replaced by a slightly less saturated color (the green as seen on the cover), to look more vibrant (yes, believe it or not).
3. Anime is traditionally associated with computer-based line graphics. This can be simulated easily even in a program like Inkscape (which is free and open source), just by setting the program up to trace the image into a more anime-esque one. It will keep the lines and color, but make it look more like a traditional cel or CGI image. It won't look exactly like it, but instead of looking like it was drawn with colored pencils (Ok, my lack of art lore is showing here, since I'm pretty sure this isn't actually drawn with color pencils, but can't think of what it would be drawn with), it'd look like the sort of thing that you could actually animate, and the lines could be made more crisp.

Of course, remember, I'm trying to give constructive advice here. Now, I'm off to the actual review.

It's some well-drawn images, and you can see from the preview whether or not it'd be useful. I like the persona that these create, if not the actual appearance. The only thing weighing them down is that they are a little pricey for only being able to be used on a character sheet profile image or as a handout. If there were paper miniatures included (basically scaled down versions with an appropriate template for cutting), I'd say that these were a bargain, but as is they're good.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Manga Collection 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Heroes 10 -Strong-Lass
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2010 21:07:43
I got exactly what I wanted at a remarkably low price-point: a single good piece of superhero artwork suitable for a decent variety of characters (most of them of the She-Hulk mode).

You also get a standup paper miniature, which is a nice touch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Heroes 10 -Strong-Lass
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Mecha 1
by Michael W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/18/2010 09:51:50
While it's not very expensive, I hoped this product would contain more artwork. But the preview is basically identical to the final product.

You basically get one mecha illustration in a high-quality full-color and in a b/w variant plus two paper model variants. The product description says that you're allowed to use the artwork in your own private or commercial works, alas no detailed license is given.

If you like the mecha artwork in the preview, and want to use it in your commercial work, this might be for you. Everyone else can probably find free artwork of similar quality on the net.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Mecha 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Mecha 1
by erathoniel w. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/12/2010 13:56:54
This is pretty good art. However, that's about as far as it goes. It's not good, not bad. I do enjoy the template for cutting out paper miniatures, which is useful for those of us who hate buying miniatures. However, they're not in the exact format I'm used to (not that that's bad), and the plain vertical miniatures could be harder to view when surveying a field for a wargame.

All in all, it's good, but you have to need it to get use of it.

Also, the license could be a little less confusing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the imput. Yes the miniature is in an unusual format but I don't remember seeing any more huge sized minis so I had to experiment in the best way to achieve this. Glad you like the art. I've just updated the product so that it now contains the usage license on the front page as with my other Power Pic products.
Power Pics Villains 8 -Huge Robot
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2010 21:21:39
As the saying goes, "It is what it is." If you need a printable miniature of a giant robot for your supers game, you might like this product. You get three page-sized pictures of the robot, one each in color, grayscale, and black-and-white. You also get three smaller versions that you can cut and fold to create a paper miniature. The robot itself is well-executed. I wouldn't pay $2.00 for this product, personally, but $0.99 isn't out of the question.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Villains 8 -Huge Robot
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Heroes 9 -Male Strange Visitor
by James K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2010 09:35:04
Decent image. I love the idea of combining the line art, color, and gray scale images in a package with a paper mini to boot!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Heroes 9 -Male Strange Visitor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Villains 7 -Malign Shapeshifter
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/03/2010 00:35:32
If you use printable miniatures for Mutants & Masterminds or another superhero RPG, and you need to represent a villain similar to Clayface or Sandman, this guy will do the job for you. A large illustration accompanies a printable miniature for each of three color schemes: full-color, black-and-white, and grayscale. The "back" of each miniature is a silhouette, not an illustrated view of the villain from behind. The artwork is nice enough, but when other publishers sell sets of 30+ printable miniatures for $4-$6, I can't get enthusiastic about a product that charges $4 (list price) or even $2 (sale price) for just a single figure, albeit with accompanying full-page art.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Villains 7 -Malign Shapeshifter
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
when i started Mesozic Press single images from other publishers were selling for $4.00 each and i was trying to stay competative. i intend to try and provide affordable and useful items for use in rpgs and so i've taken your comments to heart and intend to restructure my pricing plan. I hope that this is of some interest to you and other gamers.
Power Pics Villains 2 -Greenman
by Andrew L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2009 09:33:02
This four page PDF presents a good quality full size single pose of a fanged, green skinned, pointy-eared humanoid rendered in color, line art and greyscale. Across the bottom of each page is a small copy of the art placed in a two sided paper figure with a silhouette as the back view. "Greenman" as Mesozoic Press call him would fit in as a guest villain in a supers campaign but could equally be a special monster in a fantasy setting or a viable mutant in a post-holocaust scenario.

Having a line art version is handy if you want to create a custom colored version, or even to print a copy off for budding young artists in your family. The greyscale copy has been done well, and produced noticeably better results than my mono laser's built-in greyscale conversion of the color picture did. When printed the lines in the artwork remained smooth with no jagged edges (aliasing) even on high-res color output. The only problem that I found was that the paper figure lies in the non-printing footer area of my laser. This is easily corrected by opening the PDF in the free program GIMP (or similar) and copying out the mini into a separate image.

Using this art is a great way to fire the imagination of the visually oriented amongst your players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Villains 2 -Greenman
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Power Pics Villains 1 -Male Cyborg
by Andrew L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2009 15:04:32
Four pages, including cover, featuring a good quality full size comic book style single pose of a male human with a cybernetic right arm. This is shown as color, black and white line art and greyscale. Each page includes a small version of the art in a two sided paper figure, where the back view is a silhouette. The license allows print or web use, modified and unmodified, but disallows sale or resale.

The package is ideal for RPGers wanting quality artwork for their supers or cyberpunk campaign. Including a line art version of the figure means you're free to make a version colored as you like, or even print one out for the kids to do on a rainy day.

Readers unfamiliar with digital imaging may be unfamiliar with the fact there are a number of ways to convert a color image to greyscale each with their own benefits and drawbacks. Mesozoic's inclusion of one such image with the best conversion for the picture relieves you of this technicality.

When printed in high resolution the artwork shows no jaggedness (aliasing). Though I had to print at photo quality to get my printer to produce the shading in the pelvic area of color copy rather than as a mainly black mass. The same area of the body doesn't work as excellently well as the rest of the picture does in the line art drawing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Villains 1 -Male Cyborg
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG