RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CORPS v3.0 [augmented pdf]
by russ b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2013 13:10:05
The original conspiracy RPG is back, and like wine and whiskey has improved with age.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CORPS v3.0 [augmented pdf]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA v2.01 [augmented pdf]
by Andrew N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2013 07:24:59
EABA v2.0 is one of the best universal rpg systems on the market. My bias is for systems that are holistic (everything ties together), just use 6 sided dice, the use of building points to create characters/things, the metric system for measurement, is somewhat realistic but can handle most anything. EABA has all that packed in 380 pages. The system is not simple but you can pick and choose how much detail you wish to add. The new (from EABA v1.x) charts help a lot with this. I am not a fan of the universal chart (a la GURPS) but it does put critical information all in one place. The rule book is even better than EABA v1.x. There are more examples, more advanced rules and better explanations. It is the best organized rules manual that I have ever seen and the most comprehensive since the HEROes version 5 tome. The EABA system takes some effort to learn but you can use for any and every campaign you run.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v2.01 [augmented pdf]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Aethos v1.0 [augmented pdf]
by Steve W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 16:23:57
Aethos is a hard SF world with the overall trappings of fantasy. What does that mean, exactly? It means that aliens are really fraking ALIEN. It means that magic really is kind of scary. Finally it means that you will feel like you just stepped into a Larry Niven’s novel with a hint of Clive Barker and a smattering of Orson Scott Card. I really like this setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aethos v1.0 [augmented pdf]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA v2.01 [augmented pdf]
by Steve W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 16:22:33
I have been playing Blacksburg Tactical Research Center (BTRC) games for nearly 20 years starting with Timelords, Macho Women With Guns, and CORPS. When the first edition of EABA hit the streets I balked at going to a new system. CORPS was awesome and I looked at all of the dice and screamed at the world for a few weeks. I couldn’t believe that Greg Porter had killed my favorite game. Some years later I broke down and gave EABA a try and discovered that I had misjudged this beautiful game.
In Greg Porter’s own words, “EABA (pronounced ee-buh) is simple and to the point. Once you read the rules, they should come naturally to you, and most of the info you will need will end up on your adventurer sheet. You can use EABA like you would any generic system, or you can modify it to fit any genre you want. It will play modern espionage as well as high fantasy or superheroes. Larger than life characters can play in the same world as those only slightly better than the average person, and both can have a good time.”
Now, many years later, Greg Porter has released EABAv2. I am always skeptical of new systems but this is not a new version of EABA but rather a more streamlined rules set that takes many of the best elements of EABA while improving the few things that snagged a game up. One of the greatest strengths of EABA is that is a semi-realistic game system. You can make up modern characters and feel like you are living in the world of Rainbow Six and then skip over to Warehouse 13 and on the way home visit Gotham and fight a masked vigilante. The game has a realistic feel while letting you feel like you are the hero. It is not as lethal as CORPS but it is still pretty damned lethal. Quickstart rules are available for free but you will want the whole game.
As a lover of BTRC’s Timelords, I like a setting that lets me visit alternate timelines and dimensions. EABA lends itself to allowing me to play in ancient Sumer, renaissance Italy, a modern X-files world, Gibson’s cyberpunk, and the far future of Robert Heinlein’s Starship Troopers. Every element of the game allows you to convert each of these worlds into a single streamlined system.
EABA is a roll and keep game not unlike AEG’s 7th Sea but in many ways superior to 7th Sea. You can roll as many dice as you desire but will never keep more than 3. This grants a limited range of possibilities and makes skills and attributes shine as they climb in value. A beginner rolling 2d+2 will average a 9 on the dice rolls but his buddy, a professional, with her 4d+2 will average a 16. As you can see, the beginner can’t ever make the roll that the professional makes on average. Every skill works in this manner and it makes for an easy transition from world to world, whether you are using guns, knives, or bare hands in a fight.
Powers are a bit scary to look at but like all BTRC games, once you try it out a couple of times, the system is quite natural and easy. I like the fact that you can play an average Joe and go up against a super powered man who has the reflexes of a spider. He will almost certainly defeat you but you will feel no sadness in the loss because you fought a real honest to god super villain or hero depending on your point of view.
With the release of EABAv2, BTRC has also released a new setting. Aethos is a hard SF world with the overall trappings of fantasy. What does that mean, exactly? It means that aliens are really fraking ALIEN. It means that magic really is kind of scary. Finally it means that you will feel like you just stepped into a Larry Niven’s novel with a hint of Clive Barker and a smattering of Orson Scott Card. I really like this setting. Check out an intro to Aethos here
I found a couple of things that bothered me as I delved into this new yet old game. The first was that the files are augmented. This means that they are set up to help you with their use and they have many functions to make GMing and playing easier. I am an old guy and prefer to do this stuff with pen and paper. The augmented files where a nice addition that seems to work well with tablets but for me they are a waste. My tablet was stolen by my wife and that means I will never really get to use these enhanced functions. So while this is bad for me it is great for you. If you own a tablet you will love the augmented functions and I shall remain jealous of you for your good fortune.
The second bother, and it really is the big one, is that the book appears to be available only in electronic format. I want to hold the book in my hands. I want to smell the paper, take notes in the margins, and have something that I can read while in the bathroom. No physical book means I have to print pages and then worry about losing one or getting them out of order. I want a book and will not be happy until I get one.
Overall EABAv2 was a joy to read. The artwork is fantastic, the new setting is awesome and I really mean AWESOME, and the streamlined combat makes this a game that will be used by my crew for many years to come. I will be chomping at the bit waiting for updated rules for Timelords and CORPS but I will simply convert the many settings from EABAv1 for use in EABAv2.
You can find EABAv2 and Aethos on Drivethrrpg. They cost $20 and $15 respectively and are worth every penny. If you like your games to be cinematic with a realistic edge, then you will not want to miss out on this game. Just remember that all BTRC products are designed by a technical genius and as a result, the rules can appear intimidating. Don’t get scared by them. Delve in and try them out. Once you see them in action, you will see that EABAv2 is a game for every player that prefers skills over classes. On the off chance Greg Porter reads this, thank-you. Your games have been the inspiration and setting for more than half of all of my 35 years of gaming. BTRC’s Guns, Guns, Guns was and still is the ultimate source for streamlined weapons in any game. EABAv2 is the ultimate streamlined source for all of your gaming needs. You really gotta play this game to understand the quality and genius of the rules. It truly blows away everything else on the market. Hell, everything BTRC makes blows away most of the role playing world

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v2.01 [augmented pdf]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA v2.01 [augmented pdf]
by russ b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 06:32:11
A full and complete RPG construction kit that can construct damn near any genre, any characters, any powers, any equipment, etc. you can build whole world's with what's in this PDF. it has rules to create vehicles, weapons, superpowers, magic, etc. you can run any genre with a little effort.

there's a really revolutionary new turn system that's unlike anything I've even heard of. it combines faster play with gritty, detailed combat in a truly ingenious new way.

this book does what gurps and hero system claim to at a fraction of the cost.

get the quickstart to explore the new combat system, and if you like it get the whole thing

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA v2.01 [augmented pdf]
by Santtu L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2013 11:31:01
Call of Cthulhu? Works. Hard SF? Works. Zombie killfest? Works. Dungeon crawl? Works. Steampunk? Works.

Genre-specific rules often produce best results, but so far EABA v2 has been pretty accommodating, no matter what I've thrown at it. It can be quick, fast and cinematic or it can be detailed, gritty and realistic, or quick, gritty and loose, or... And it comes with its own powers/gadgets build rules. Want to design a main battle tank? You can. Magical greatsword? No problem. Powered armour with six different weapon suites, kinetic shielding and limited AG? Go right ahead.

I can only recommend you to buy it. Even if it is for the power design...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA v2.01 [augmented pdf]
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2013 08:15:53
It's one of best ever used.
Generally useful for all kind of roleplaying. Even to combine with other worlds and Settings.

If someone searching for the general roleplaying system, then from my opinion, it's the best.

All parts you need are inside.
Easy Charakter generation. Fast traits, skills and soon into playing.
Precise if needed and fast in the normal manner.

Parts for every kind of lifetime. I use it in SF universe and in a Fantasy universe, but it works for so much more.
Included so much experience of Roleplaying Game Design, to make it the best possible at present, from my opinion.

It is worth the price it costs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABAnywhere v1.0
by matthew b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2012 21:40:08
This is a fast flexible system that can easily be used for table top or LARP gaming. It is so light and easy to learn that it may even appeal to a more softcore gaming demographic of party games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABAnywhere v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABAlite v1.0
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/27/2012 07:00:52
Great little system that is easy to learn and fast to play. Has one of the neatest looking character sheets I have ever seen.
The free version has me very curious about the full version and I have already picked up Verne (Victorian Fantasy for EABA).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABAlite v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA Verne v1.0
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/24/2012 14:03:39
Verne is a useful resource for anyone planning a steampunk or Victorian inspired game, especially if you are using the EABA system, but much of the information is just information on the era. It provides a solid framework for Victorian adventuring and worth taking a look at if you are thinking of a campaign in that era.

Verne v 1.0 “not your grandfather’s steampunk . . .” is a 218-page PDF (215-pages if you remove the cover and EABA OGL pages) for the EABA RPG written by Greg Porter and published by BTRC (Blackburn Tactical Research Center). It is nicely book-marked for easy accessibility.

Verne has mostly a traditional two column layout and is easily readable, though it is a very contemporary layout and font which I found slightly distracting considering the subject. The art is mix of black and white and color including many period pieces.

Verne is primarily a sourcebook for a fantastic Victorian era, providing information and tools to run anything from glittering high adventure to darker stories. It is a toolkit providing information on the period, containing good introduction to the politics of 1869 (the default starting point of Verne), conflicts, law and order and much more -nearly 40 pages worth- neatly divided by nation and ending with a timeline that runs from 1800 to 1906. This is useful for anyone thinking of running a Victorian-era game giving a good basic overview of the period and its structure.

It has an extensive technology section (incorporating information from the EABA Stuff supplement) for mad steampunk, clockwork, vril and Martian technology and more. Including designs for cavorite flyer, coal powered battle suits Martian tripods and other such wonderful and weird technology. The statistics are for the EABA systems but adaption should be possible with a little work.

The character creation section is, naturally, for the EABA systems but has useful advice -such as national and religious stereotypes- for creating Victorian characters and includes an interesting discussion of status in the period. Seven example characters, all drawn from Victorian fantastic literature, are included. This is followed by a selection of organizations and non-player character for the Great Game of rivalries between various occult and weird science groups.

Lastly there is campaign advice using historical expeditions for inspiration. Six adventures are presented, ranging from Java to the frozen vastness of Siberia. A collection of brief character sketches, some fictional some historical and recommended sources: books, comics, movies and shows that are good inspiration for the genre.

Lastly, a selection of equipment, of the more normal sort, is provided including short description of things such as the difference between the various horse drawn conveyances (surprisingly useful for this era).

There is also a free character creator program available to aid in character design.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA Verne v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA Verne Maps v1.0
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2011 19:50:44
There are 17 maps in this product, not the 20 advertised. However that in itself is not the reason for the three star review. What is disappointing to me is the fact that only about 70% of the given maps are actually useful. One map, the map of New York, is not a map at all and is instead an advertisement for a department store. There could have been more thought that had gone into gathering the collection, and some of the maps can be useful for your Verne or other Victorian campaign.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EABA Verne Maps v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA Verne character creator v1.0
by steve s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2011 12:40:46
Not bad, some intresting concepts. I would of liked more coverage of the victorian era.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
EABA Verne character creator v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA Verne character creator v1.0
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2011 15:54:24
My initial review for this product was very harsh. I tried to use the character sheet twice and it failed twice after lengthy periods of question asking and answering. I tried the sheet again the next day and followed the instructions completely. This time it worked as advertised. I am sure that the first series of problems were my own fault.

I do have one complaint. The sheet is an ink hog. If you try to use gray scale to cut down on color ink cost forget it...you won't be able to read 20% to 25% of the sheet. In newer versions I would heartily recommend that the sheet background be simplified to make it easier on our printer cartridges.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Posturing and Pretensions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/29/2011 16:05:45
Sort of a party game, sort of an RPG, but neither of each.
Hard to describe this one. It is the cheapest (free) and the smallest (1 page, and barely that) game I have reviewed. All I can really say it try it out for yourself.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Posturing and Pretensions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
EABA Verne character creator v1.0
by russ b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2011 21:24:07
An excellent little program, Greg Porter seems to be a real Renaissance man now that he programs too. Creates a beautiful, stylish, atmospheric character sheet with important bits marked in color for easy understanding.

I recommend using this program to run it as it's a free pdf viewer that lets you save characters made with this:

http://download.cnet.com/PDF-XChange-Viewer/3000-10743_4-
-10598377.html?tag=mncol;1

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA Verne character creator v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 172 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG