RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2012 06:02:58

A supplement designed to mimic space-faring heroes, especially the Green Lantern Corps. The serial numbers have been filed off, but barely. There is also a not subtle adaptation of Galactus and his heralds. I bought the supplement as I was running a space-based BASH! mini-campaign at the time. Unfortunately I did not find enough material in the text to help my game. This is an Ion Guard supplement, and not a "supers in space" supplement. But if you plan on using the Ion Guard organization (or the Green Lantern Corps), then by all means pick this up.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
The concept was to deliberately make a very clear and heartfelt homage to the source material it was based on, source material that had, quite frankly, not been touched on in supers supplements much at all. This issue is specifically advertised as being about the ION Guard organization itself and their key foes, not a generic "supers in space" supplement. I'm sorry it didn't help your game, but it is very much what it was intended and advertised to be.
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/05/2011 23:01:51

If you need a reason to buy BASH then this is it. At just about 60 pages this supplement presents the Intergalactic Ordinance Network Guard or ION Guard, an intergalatic police force defending the universe from all sorts of bad guys. Yes we have seen this before, but the the presentation in this book is so enduring you ignore the obvious DNA of this product and just pull on your ION Fist, say your Oath and protect the Galaxy. NPCs are detailed as well as bad guys for you to fight. The layout of the book is awesome and I honestly can't say enough good about it.

Like: Everything about it really.

Dislike: would have liked to see more bad guys.

Want: The same book for other games! Icons (which is has) and Mutants and Masterminds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - ICONS Edition
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/05/2010 14:49:26

The Good: A great homage to the cosmic comics that have come before. without veering into ripping anything off. Jam packed with usable information for the page count.

The Bad: The page count may be a tad low for the price...but it is a densely packed, readily adaptable book.

For my full review, please visit: http://bit.ly/aj5eIL



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - ICONS Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ION GUARD - ICONS Edition
by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/04/2010 13:48:26

ION Guard is a setting/organization supplement for the ICONS game that presents a new intergalactic organization of heroes. All of the ION Guard’s members wear a golden ION Fist, which provides them with a suite of superpowers including flight, blasts, a force field, and life support. This will sound very, very familiar to most of you (and if not, just wait for a certain movie coming out soon…), and there’s no question that the organization is a tribute to the Green Lantern Corps. The focus is on the intergalactic organization itself, but you could also use it to build an Ion Guard character who just adventures on Earth. The 58-page pdf is heavy on flavor and light on rules elements, so it will easily translate to other superhero systems. (In fact a separate edition is already available for BASH!) It provides a wealth of detail on the history, goals, resources, structure, and enemies of this organization – although, this being a supplement for a supers game, fortunately not excruciating detail. The story elements are solid and definitely fulfill (my) comic book expectations – it includes elements like the ION Guard Oath that add simple, but crucial, flavor for your character. The crunch is rather light, but it does provide information on some of the equipment and (most importantly) rules for generating ION Guard characters. The latter obviously dispenses with the default random character generation in favor of powers and statistics appropriate for an ION Guard. Personally I would have preferred more room for customization; prerequisite ability scores and an (almost) fixed suite of powers make these characters too homogeneous, so a group of ION Guards would really need distinct personalities to maintain their uniqueness. There are no fixed qualities or challenges, but the example characters still have almost identical choices there (all tied closely to the Guard). The most interesting section for me describes several villains: a former ION Guard corrupted by his own power; a race of sorcerers who exploit the ION Guard’s weakness against magic, and a monstrous world-eating being who is essentially unstoppable without trickery (think Marvel’s Galactus), although his superpowered minions are at a more normal level. These villains are well-tailored to the ION Guard and all have a lot of potential for classic comic-type stories. All in all, this is a solid supplement full of good flavor, and I recommend it if you are looking for an interesting intergalactic organization for your ICONS game – complete with a solid history and some great villains. Personally I would prefer more varied characters, but it certainly works fine for a player looking to fill the Green Lantern archetype. The low level of crunch also makes this attractive for conversion to other systems. However, if you are going to convert the rules elements that are already there, you may just want to research the Green Lantern Corps itself!

Note: I received a free review copy (in pdf form) of this title through RPGNow.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - ICONS Edition
by Eli A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2010 11:04:37

I will start by saying that I am a big fan of cosmic settings in superhero comics. Very few product lines seem to have tapped into the vein of the genre quite as nicely as ION Guard. continuing with the simple yet elegant feel of the ICONs rpg, this book successfully presents the genre it represents as well as offering players and GMs plenty to work with to make a successful campaign.

One of the particular strengths of this supplement is its ability to present enough information on the setting to make it vivid while maintaining a healthy respect for the broad concepts of the genre. This allows players and GMs to know where they are and what they should be doing while also allowing them plenty of room to make the universe their own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - ICONS Edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/10/2010 22:07:42

If you need a reason to buy ICONS then this is it. At just about 60 pages this supplement presents the Intergalactic Ordinance Network Guard or ION Guard, an intergalatic police force defending the universe from all sorts of bad guys. Yes we have seen this before, but the the presentation in this book is so enduring you ignore the obvious DNA of this product and just pull on your ION Fist, say your Oath and protect the Galaxy. NPCs are detailed as well as bad guys for you to fight. The layout of the book is awesome and I honestly can't say enough good about it. While designed for ICONS I can see this being used in any Supers game or even some SciFi/Space ones.

Like: Everything about it really.

Dislike: would have liked to see more bad guys.

Want: The same book for other games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - ICONS Edition
by Russell B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2010 14:42:28

There aren't a lot of cosmic superhero books, and a lot of those that exist are more devoted to character writeups than settings.

The ION Guard setting gives you powers and structure for a Green Lantern Corps type campaign. You get the billion year history, the power writeups, and even the rhyming oath.

You also get writeups for a Galactus-style planet eater and his thralls, a rogue Guard called Maniacus, and some Sinister Sorcerers.

The content is all solid, and the art and art direction are top-notch.

Highly recommended. I'm looking forward to more ION Space supplements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2010 22:29:57

This is an exemplary product. It is a source book on bringing the ION Guard to your BASH UE game. The ION Guard is a pretty close analog to DC's Green Lanterns or Marvel's Nova Corps. The book includes a history of the guard, a description of their hierarchy, their rules, and their unique piece of equipment, the ION Fist.

Everything about it is top-rate. The art fits the tone of the book perfectly, the formatting and layout is fresh and easy on the eyes, and the words read as though written by one with a true love and passion for the subject matter.

I can count the number of times I've read through a rulebook or supplement in one sitting. This is one of the 2 that I've ever been so compelled to finish without a break of any sort (Day After Ragnarok is the other, in case anyone's intersted). The author loves his characters and the game universe he's placed them in, and it shows. After reading it, there's a vibrant world of adventure that screams to be played in - with ample descriptions and motivations for the organization, the home-world, the mission, the adversaries.

I've never been a huge 'Lantern' or 'Nova' fan, but after reading ION Guard cover to cover, I'm excited to play a Supers game in space. I couldn't be happier with the purchase, and would happily buy a print edition should it come out later. It's that slick.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ION GUARD - BASH! edition
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2010 14:13:53

An excellent start to a promising new series of sci-fi themed super-hero books for the BASH! Rpg line (though easily converted and used for other supers rpgs as well). Strong production values, top quality cover and interior art, solid writing (though a few too many exclamation points in some places), and plenty of places where the players/game masters can add their own details. Ideal for anyone looking to add Lensman/Lantern/Spaceknights to their campaigns. Looking forward to the next book of the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG