RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
Five Henchmen
Five Henchmen
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Joshua B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2013 14:11:37
First off, this RPG is amazing as long as you and your players are trying to have fun. It's rules are simple and the gameplay isn't really bogged down by a million rules that everyone is trying to remember. The game engine also leaves everything up to your groups imagination, and willingness to create there own Post-Apocalytic world, it took me and the other GM's a few brainstorming sessions to come up with a few maps of buildings and towns in order for the game to continue without have to make it up on the spot and hope everyones imagination is seeing what we wanted. I did have a few questions, I was just wondering what the "Concept" area on the character sheet was for, and I don't remember seeing a section describing how much Exp. is needed to advance a level. So my group and I have just come up with a very rough outline of leveling as according to Number of times you have played with the character equals your progress to the next level. So you have to play the character three different times to advance from 1-5 and then the number of sessions-to-level up increase. with it increasing every 5th level so 1-5, 6-10 etc. Next, theres no cigarettes, theres whiskey but no cigarettes so we just randomly find them...it's a huge bartering item for our characters. Now, I find that my group of 6-8 have more fun than our 4-5 group. Even though the time may be extended for a group of the greater number, it is absolutely doable. The group has come a long way and has already found a suitable "Home Base" and fixed it up, Complete with Garage for our Greaser, and the Animal Handler has his little farm, while the scavenging team is out doing there thing with the Road Warriors and Drivers earning extra supplies by have a small "mom and pop" style supply distributing company. But, like I said, the amount of fun is directly reflected on your groups willingness to have fun. Whether your group is more walk around a Bartertown and Roll-play, or drive through a Metropolitan Wasteland area looking to fight Raiders or the Hostile Muties that have been harassing the supply lines; Your insured to have a good time. I hope you have as much fun with Atomic Highway as we have, and I'm sorry for the run on paragraph, I couldn't make it format into separate paragraphs. Thank You.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by william w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 19:51:55
I love this game I can not remember where I got my book copy from but had it a while. A friend borrowed it and well he really like it too. Needless to say I don't have my book. He's a good friend so I don't mind he still has it. Any ways I saw that I could now get a free pdf and so down loaded it. I can read it on a computer but it won't load on my droid phone I've tried this with three different droid phones to no success. I hope one day to read it in my phone. Thanks r.a.d. for one heck of a engine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Aaron R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2013 19:46:40
Love this! I have been telling my kids and their friends about Car Wars, but I can't find my old books. This has them (and me) entertained just as much as I remember from olden times. I would recommend this game to anyone who was looking for a new RPG to try, whether they've played old-school Car Wars or not!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by ashley t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2012 02:30:29
Possibly the best money I never spent. A good solid simple system with great adaptability. Combat is a bit lethal, but easily tweaked for those who prefer more forgiving combat rules. . Recommend it to any gamer who wants a fun game that can be set up in an hour.

I look forward to future supplements.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2012 06:02:58
A supplement designed to mimic space-faring heroes, especially the Green Lantern Corps. The serial numbers have been filed off, but barely. There is also a not subtle adaptation of Galactus and his heralds. I bought the supplement as I was running a space-based BASH! mini-campaign at the time. Unfortunately I did not find enough material in the text to help my game. This is an Ion Guard supplement, and not a "supers in space" supplement. But if you plan on using the Ion Guard organization (or the Green Lantern Corps), then by all means pick this up.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The concept was to deliberately make a very clear and heartfelt homage to the source material it was based on, source material that had, quite frankly, not been touched on in supers supplements much at all. This issue is specifically advertised as being about the ION Guard organization itself and their key foes, not a generic "supers in space" supplement. I'm sorry it didn't help your game, but it is very much what it was intended and advertised to be.
Irradiated Freaks
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/20/2012 01:49:39
WHAT WORKS: Well, it's all completely optional, but this and the main book gives you almost a complete replacement for the After the Bomb RPG with better rules for $5. The mutations are divided between "sensible" and "completely crazy", depending on your tastes...and humanoid plants are included. And charts. Random charts.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: If you didn't care for Atomic Highway, this isn't going to be much use to you.

CONCLUSION: Was Atomic Highway too "safe" for you? This will completely blow it up. It's completely optional, in no way invalidates anything in the assumed Atomic Highway setting and can even take a lot of the guesswork out of it for you with the random roll charts. Do you need it? No...but it sure does up the zany fun factor playing a mutant humanoid Venus Flytrap Bounty Hunter that can burn things with his mind.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/07/tommys-take-o-
n-irradiated-freaks.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Irradiated Freaks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/19/2012 01:01:42
WHAT WORKS: It's free and well-written. What more do you want? For a change of pace, it's lower powered and less "out there" than most post apocalyptic settings, though there is a supplement that can help you change that if you like. The vehicle emphasis makes for a nice change of pace as opposed to other post-apocalyptic RPGs. Oh...and random tables. I love random tables.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Again, it's free and well-written. What more do you want? I'm really not a fan of the Health system, personally, and some folks disliked the lack of gonzo, though that's what Irradiated Freaks is for. All those random tables and no adventure generator?

CONCLUSION: It's free and well-written. What more do you want? For a more "grounded" post-apocalypse setting, this gets you there without having to any dialing down of elements, as that's the default. There's one supplement out, and another still supposed to on the way, adding in zombie apocalypses, alien apocalypses and machine apocalypses. It's worth at least the download, though, because it's free.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/07/tommys-take-o-
n-atomic-highway.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Dannie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2012 21:16:10
I have read the book from cover to cover. I can't wait to play this game! Very well written, and set up for an RPG!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2012 14:55:08
If you looking for a Mad Max meets Fallout, freeways of doom RPG then this is your game. The rules are simple, character gen is quick, and the game doesn't bog you down with minutia.

This game is excellent for all kinds of world gone splat game settings, and the rules system has so much potential for a multi genre game system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Hans H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2012 04:52:29
For once the best things in life are free.
This is THE game of post apocalyptic mayhem capturing the feel of the old movies 100%.
The V6 game system is simple to learn and versatile enough to use in other settings as well if you wish and also lends itself to easily house rule although for those who wish to go for a Gamma World-esque high sci-fi, very wierd mutant world this might not be the thing.
Good work and a pleasure to play.

P.S I wonder how it will work with zombies.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/29/2012 16:32:42
If you're looking for a definitive, gritty, post-apocalyptic game that's not filled with fantasy-type mutants and other nonsense, this is it. Neatly fills the void of a Car Wars/Mad Max RPG.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2011 15:12:43
Atomic Highway was meant to be a Mad Max type of post apocalyptic RPG, but it has proven to be much more versatile than its early concept. Not to be pigeonholed into a single stereotype Atomic Highway is capable of being tailored to run just about any kind of post apocalyptic game imaginable. The freebies and new books from the publisher as well as the games community make tailoring even easier. The game has an easy learning curve and sets up extremely fast as well making getting started a snap even on short notice. The game is easily tweaked for everything from hard science type apocalypses like in The Morrow Project or I Am Legend or as far out there as Aliens, Zombies, or Fallout 3. A game to be added to any serious post apocalyptic RPG collection. I myself am a game master of many games from many genres including sci-fi and post apocalyptic and I play with a veteran group of players who have strong opinions about what games they enjoyed or didn't. Based on our group experience with Atomic Highway it gets a rating of awesome!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Terry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2011 02:11:02
First, I want to say, Thank You, to the Guys at Radioactive Ape Designs, for creating a game that feels lovingly crafted by Post-Apoc movie fans. Gamers around the world have been waiting for this since The Road Warrior hit theaters in the 1980s.

The ruleset is easy, and quick to learn, without 500 charts to check each turn, or after every roll. The vehicular combat rules are very cinematic in scope, and feel, as well as intuitive. The only time a chart should be checked is during scavenging.

The games setting is really a large sandbox full of Post Apocalyptic toys. Anything you feel plausible, or implausible in your game can either be added or taken out. You want mutations, they're in there. If you don't, just ignore them.

I look forward to future supplements to this game. So keep it coming guys.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
by Sebastian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2011 11:44:47
I´m one of Peter Holthauses Victims aka players and from the other side of the Gamemastersscreen this game can be popcorn RPG or deep as hell.
And yea in Atomic Highway is a deadly game; the 'cover is your best friend and you qill never pity some body with a knife!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/05/2011 23:01:51
If you need a reason to buy BASH then this is it. At just about 60 pages this supplement presents the Intergalactic Ordinance Network Guard or ION Guard, an intergalatic police force defending the universe from all sorts of bad guys. Yes we have seen this before, but the the presentation in this book is so enduring you ignore the obvious DNA of this product and just pull on your ION Fist, say your Oath and protect the Galaxy. NPCs are detailed as well as bad guys for you to fight. The layout of the book is awesome and I honestly can't say enough good about it.

Like: Everything about it really.

Dislike: would have liked to see more bad guys.

Want: The same book for other games! Icons (which is has) and Mutants and Masterminds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG