RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Trouble in the Empire
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/04/2011 15:54:21
The product description suggests using this soundscape to score battle scenes, and I agree that it fits that purpose quite well. I don't really get a "Greco-Roman" feel from the track, despite the product description, but I don't really consider that a criticism. A bit of "exotic" flavor seems to be attempted with the occasional flare-up of an instrument that sounds to me like a sitar; otherwise, I'd describe the "cultural" tone as more like generic American action movie music. That again is not a criticism, for it makes the track widely applicable to many historical and fantasy settings. Although I like the piece very much, I gave it four stars instead of five because it doesn't loop as well as I've come to expect from Sonic Legends soundscapes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trouble in the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
People of the River Valley
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/04/2011 14:29:53
I could listen to many iterations of this beautiful, non-intrusive piece on "repeat" with no sense of monotony. Consequently, this piece will definitely go into my "background music for work" playlist as well as my RPG playlist. In a fantasy RPG, I would use this track to core the PCs' first visit to a rustic village or their first encounter with a new population in a temperate climate. I might also play it under a scene of exploration in a somewhat mysterious, but not particularly threatening, place.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
People of the River Valley
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Emperial Citizens
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/04/2011 13:54:53
I usually love Sonic Legends soundscapes, but this one just didn't do much for me. The product description suggests a village scene in a Greco-Roman setting, but what I heard did not evoke images of the agora. What I pictured was rather more like soldiers leading captives through the city in a victory parade. I'm afraid that some of the instrumentation in this piece comes across as rather shrill. For me, this will be a special-purpose piece that I won't use very often.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Emperial Citizens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Emperia
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/04/2011 13:10:57
The word "urgency" captures the flavor of this soundscape best. The product description refers to the atmosphere of this piece as "Greco-Roman." I'm not sure exactly what's "Greco-Roman" about it, but I do know that it's a great piece of loopable background music for an RPG. The percussion keeps it up-tempo enough to play under battles; the music slows it down enough that you could play it under non-combat situations to add a sense of excitement or time pressure. I can imagine many possible applications.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emperia
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lonely Graveyard
by Joseph B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2010 12:51:12
Clear recording and sound effects - perfect background noise for creating a spooky atmosphere. After building a graveyard on the front lawn, we played this on a loop over the speakers on the porch this past Halloween for the neighborhood trick-or-treaters and it was well received. I hope to use it in an RPG session some time as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lonely Graveyard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Crone's Army
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/16/2010 20:58:14
Very Dark Knight track starting with the ominous horns and strings. It then builds to nice dramatic heights with pounding drums and blasting horns. This fades to an Arabic sounding horn with ethereal female voices. Finally, it gets loud again to finish out the track. This is great background for just about any battle that is epic in scale especially if there is a big bad army at your heroes' heels.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crone's Army
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Trouble in the Empire
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 21:18:57
I like this track. It really gives the sense that something brewing. Heavy percussion backed up by low horns and strings are appropriate and let your players know it's urgent. This is a great background for any scene where your players are working against a foe, particularly if it's an indirect opposition. It could even be good for the buildup to a large fight with the enemy as the players realize it's going to be one heck of a fight.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trouble in the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Emperia
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 21:13:58
To me, this track sounds like something you could play in a movie where you sweep in over a landscape to see a group of warriors chasing their foes. Mostly quick drum beats, more realistic horns, and the fast plucking stringed instruments bring you into excitement. I think this would be great with an action packed scene or battle. This one will make your players really feel like they are teaching the enemies who's boss.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emperia
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Emperial Citizens
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 21:10:23
Overall this is a decent track. It starts with some Asian sounding drum beats and then transitions in some MIDI horns and trumpets. I'm not a huge fan of those instrument choices as they tend to sound more artificial than others. I think it fits best with a campaign in India or similar culture. At the end, it gets a bit more harrowing with aggressive drum strikes. Just not sure why it takes that turn.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Emperial Citizens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Vampire Court
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 21:06:12
Harpsichord is all I can say. How can that be bad? It starts with the rather typical harpsichord melody you would expect. It brings in some strings and plucking. I actually think it may be better suited for an elven kingdom or some other regal atmosphere over vampires. It does take a bit of a darker turn at the end, so I won't say it's not useful for what it suggests. I'm just not positive I'd come up with the title.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Court
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Trick or Treat
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 21:01:38
This is a rather quiet track filled with distorted sound effects to creep you out. Most of it seems to be sounds in reverse and very distorted chipmunk-esque voices. Not that it's a bad thing. It's reminiscent of little aliens/demons running around in the dark trying to prey on children that decide to follow them on their doomed trick or treating route. It could be used for other scenarios, even a haunted house or representing the players going insane and hearing taunting voices. Nice track.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trick or Treat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Serial Killer
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 20:57:20
This is mostly a guitar heavy rock sounding track with some vibraslap thrown in for good measure. Overall, I'd say it's more appropriate if the serial killer in question is more aggressive and patrolling the streets for victims. It doesn't really suggest a hidden danger or someone trying to lure the PC or PCs into a situation where they will be defenseless. Eventually, it turns a bit more mellow with some keys and guitar and I'm not sure how it fits. After listening a bit more, I'd say the end actually works better for a serial killer if the group stumbles upon the killers abode filled with disturbing remains of his work.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Serial Killer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lonely Graveyard
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 20:51:49
Lonely Graveyard is appropriately named in this case. Very little music in this track. Atonal hums and distortion in the background. Wolves howl. Birds screech. Creatures of some sort cry out now and again. Thunder claps. Finally, the strings begin in earnest as a sense of looming dread sets in. Nice for a dark wilderness trip for hapless PCs who will surely be lucky to survive the night.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lonely Graveyard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Haunted House
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 20:47:43
I would say this reminds me most of a New Wave synth pop version of the Friday the 13th theme. There are creepy laughs and cackles thrown in very lightly in the background. I'm not as big of a fan of the tracks that sound too MIDI, but it gets the job done for sure. The song transitions to some 80s guitar before going to a distorted sounding version of the beginning of the song. The semi-romantic sounding interlude near the end is a bit confusing, but hey, it's kind of an 80s throwback, so it works.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Haunted House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Demented Carnival
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 20:44:11
Ask and you shall receive for this one. I would say it is very Pee Wee's Big Adventure-esque to start with the typical Big Top melodies and odd theremin in the background. It then transitions to a very creepy percussion bell sound with the theremin again. The more classic carnival music starts again before the big finish and final slow down of bells again. Not too bad if you have a need for a creep circus vibe.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Demented Carnival
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 46 to 60 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG