RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
City of the Dark Elves
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2010 21:06:42
I love the dissonant piano and creepy chimes in the background. It is more than appropriate for your group as they skulk around the streets of a city in the Underdark or other nefarious place. It definitely conveys a sense of unease and mystery. The only complaint I have is the somewhat techno/computer-y sounding effect that runs much of the track. It seems a bit out of place in a fantasy setting, but can be overlooked. I would recommend this for any night time scenes in a strange place that you want your PCs to be a bit wary of.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of the Dark Elves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient Archives
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2010 21:00:53
This track is top notch. Reminiscent of Harry Potter and other magical films, this arcane delight provides intriguing tunes with quiet whispers and mutterings of ancient tomes. One of the best tracks I've heard from Sonic Legends thus far. This is a great track for an ancient library, mage's guild, or even an elven city during an ancient ceremony. I know I like something when it inspires me to write a scenario to use it. I like the idea of a twilight city of magic where mystery abounds and the party is unsure of it's odd customs and secretive denizens.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Archives
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Reaper
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2010 20:54:02
As always the production values are good. This particular track is somewhat low key compared to what I expected for a battle with a wyvern. However, it is very dark and creepy sounding with impending doom building as the creature approaches. Sounds of wings flapping and angelic choirs pervade throughout. I think this could be used with almost any monstrous encounter with a large roaring creature. It could even be used for a dungeon crawl as the party gets close to their final battle . . . the creature waiting to strike.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Reaper
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

On the Open Sea
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2010 20:47:32
This is a particularly good Soundscape if I do say so myself. It begins with a powerful intro that really inspires a regale vessel beginning its voyage or a camera zoom into a large galleon. The sound effects are of subtle water and gulls. Add in some squeeze box, ropes being run, and creaking wood and you've got yourself some fun on the high seas. I really like this track. It makes me really want to play a pirate session for my PCs. Buy this track if you want to add some atmosphere to your game set on the water.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Open Sea
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

After the Battle
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2010 20:42:38
I like the Sonic Legends line of Soundscapes. This particular Soundscape is an atmospheric representation of the conclusion of a battle. What I like about it is that it could easily be used for background for almost any session. The sound effects are fairly subtle with some vulture or crow shrieks and women crying. It could be any rundown part of a village or just ignore the sound effects for a moody, sullen feel during play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
After the Battle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ruins of Black Spur Keep
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2010 22:58:43
Although the name seems to suggest exploration, this piece strikes me as more appropriate for a battle scene. I find this track especially fitting for a battle scene against a horde of undead brutes defending a boss monster. The track doesn't loop quite as well as some of Lieberman's other tracks; the transition from the end back to the beginning is very noticeable. That only detracts a very small bit from the overall effectiveness of the piece, though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Ruins of Black Spur Keep
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Goblin Encampment
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2010 21:51:01
Percussive sounds that I can best describe as tribal drumming predominate in the first couple of minutes of this track, followed by ominous strings and the sound of high-pitched chittering. For some reason, I can't help picturing an encampment in the forest, but there are no bird calls, crickets, or anything like that to tie you down to any particular environment. This could really just as easily be an encampment in the Underdark as in the wild. The track loops seamlessly, as advertised.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Encampment
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pader Agustus' Plea
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2010 21:00:37
Taking a cue from the title, I picture this track as the score for interaction with an important NPC, perhaps a potential patron or someone who hooks the characters into an adventure. The track would certainly serve that purpose extremely well. The piece opens with long, lush chords; the pace quickens as the NPCs' tale becomes more intense. Light ambient vocals join in a bit later. Everything comes together into a wonderful piece for scoring social interactions. If you get a gap in the music while looping, try setting your music player to start the track about 2.5 or 3 seconds in.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pader Agustus' Plea
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Achela's Ritual
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2010 08:10:55
I'm not sure what ritual Achela is performing, but this music makes it sound like she's in a hurry—or that the heroes are in a hurry to stop her. The tense, fast-paced music with percussion and ambient vocals imply that Achela surrounds herself with competent defenders who can repel the adventurers' attack. This piece will undoubtedly create a heroic, cinematic feel at your gaming table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achela's Ritual
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Reaper
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/24/2010 03:05:30
Defying Blue Öyster Cult, Joe Matzzie definitely wants you to fear the reaper, and he uses low-pitched strings, vague vocals, and sound effects resembling the whooshing of batwings, the stomping of heavy feet, and the roar of a dragon or demon to accomplish all this. I can easily imagine playing this piece while hapless PCs battle Orcus. Unfortunately, this track loops a little awkwardly, and this one respect lags a bit behind some of the other Sonic Legends offerings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Reaper
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Military Base
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/24/2010 03:04:46
This track begins with reveille—which, honestly, would disrupt the looping significantly—and then moves into some ominous-sounding chords with occasional deep percussion. The tempo and tension pick up around five minutes in. That's also when the sound effects—I hear the stamping of combat boots—come in, yielding finally to machine-gun fire around six and half minutes in. You also get some sounds of aircraft flyovers and bombs bursting (in air?), blending perfectly with the music. I could easily imagine this as the soundtrack to a short film. I won't use this track often, since I rarely run modern-era games, but I like it very well. I stopped short of five stars because of the looping issue and because this track is less versatile than some others from Sonic Legends—but it's virtually perfect for its niche.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Military Base
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City of the Dark Elves
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/24/2010 03:03:02
Somber tones, light bells, and vague whispers set a perfect atmosphere for the Underdark. I might be more inclined to use this track for exploring a _em_deserted_/em_ drow city than for a well-populated place like Erelhei-Cinlu. A "thinner" sound earlier in the track adds depth as the piece progresses; this works very well, but allows an attentive listener to detect where the piece ends and begins when looping.

Another reviewer commented the price, and this was something I mentioned in my first review or two of Sonic Legends soundscapes. Yes, at first glance, $2.99 seems high if you're used to paying $0.99 in the iTunes Store. But in the iTunes Store, you're paying $0.99 per track for songs that usually top out at 3.5 minutes long. With Sonic Legends soundscapes, you're getting tracks two or three times that length, and that's before you take looping into account. The price-per-minute stands up exceptionally well against the price-per-minute in the iTunes Store.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of the Dark Elves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient Archives
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/24/2010 02:55:59
As the name implies, this track—in which pleasant harps and strings dominate—would work well under a scene of research or exploration in an old library or scriptorium, or perhaps while shopping for magical components or alchemical reagents. Like all of Christy's contributions to the Sonic Legends library, this piece loops flawlessly, essentially giving you a backing track of infinite length.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Archives
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Derelict Starship
by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2010 14:26:21
Sonic Legends delivers again with another soundscape thats perfect for RPGs. Derelict Starship is a great example of a music file that sets the mood, but is not so busy that is distracts the players from what a GM is trying to do.

Any GM running a Science fiction, space opera style game should have this on his MP3 player. The track is seemless, so it can be replayed over and over with out notice. While there is a melody to follow in the tract, the atonal sounds give it a nice alien feel. Random sound effects enhance the music but dont over whelm the mood.
The price is right for a 10 minute soundscape. I have bought several from Sonic Legends and plan on buying more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Derelict Starship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City of the Dark Elves
by Ben G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/08/2010 11:50:27
When I first bumped in to DriveThruRPG I did not expect to see anything even close to mood music and sounds for RPG settings. When I did, I was at first aghast, thinking I'd stumbled on to some horrible form of Muzak. Thankfully, I did stumble into music here and it is certainly not Muzak.

City of the Dark Elves is a moody, deliberate piece with haunting background vocals (or simulated voices) and carries with it a great, dark quality. It puts me in mind of Mike Oldfield or other "new age" artists I gravitated to in my past.

It's probably not something you'll put in your commuting playlist on your iPod but it certainly works for gaming. It's background enough not to take over but pervasive enough to insert itself firmly in to your game.

My only hesitation with recommending this is the price. When you can get 5 minute songs just about anywhere online for $0.99 or $1.29, the current price of $2.99 seems just a bit high.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of the Dark Elves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG