RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
City of the Dark Elves
by Ben G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/08/2010 11:50:27
When I first bumped in to DriveThruRPG I did not expect to see anything even close to mood music and sounds for RPG settings. When I did, I was at first aghast, thinking I'd stumbled on to some horrible form of Muzak. Thankfully, I did stumble into music here and it is certainly not Muzak.

City of the Dark Elves is a moody, deliberate piece with haunting background vocals (or simulated voices) and carries with it a great, dark quality. It puts me in mind of Mike Oldfield or other "new age" artists I gravitated to in my past.

It's probably not something you'll put in your commuting playlist on your iPod but it certainly works for gaming. It's background enough not to take over but pervasive enough to insert itself firmly in to your game.

My only hesitation with recommending this is the price. When you can get 5 minute songs just about anywhere online for $0.99 or $1.29, the current price of $2.99 seems just a bit high.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of the Dark Elves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Palace of the Galactic Emperor
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2010 17:49:38
"Palace of the Galactic Emperor" by Christy Carew does a great job of evoking a cinematic sense of epic power. It's not necessarily the music you want to play when the PCs are fighting the big bad; it would probably work better under a social encounter with a major authority figure. Although the piece makes a wonderful addition to Sonic Legends' sci-fi line, as the title suggests, this soundscape doesn't contain any sci-fi sound effects as such. There are no bleeps or whooshes that suggest any particular technology. Therefore, you could easily use it in a fantasy or modern setting as well as a futuristic one. I could have this track looping all morning while I work. One minor complaint: the ID3 tags have the track name as "Galactic Emperor," while the product description page calls it "Palace of the Galactic Emperor." That glitch is slightly annoying, but doesn't detract from the ambience this soundscape creates.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Palace of the Galactic Emperor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dwarven City
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2010 17:42:40
"Dwarven City" is another good offering from Randin Graves, who also contributed "Dark Ritual" to the Sonic Legends line. Take everything you stereotypically think about dwarves—a little harsh, preferring underground or undermountain dwellings, working in forges—and translate that into music. That's what Graves has done for you in this track. The music and sound effects evoke that "dwarven feel" very well. However, the track exhibits a greater volume range than most of the other Sonic Legends soundscapes, making it a little more difficult to use; also, after a while, the instrumentation chosen for the melodic line might start to grate a little. Also, the ID3 tags, which give the name of the track as "Dwarf Mountain," don't match the product description, which calls the track "Dwarven City." Even so, I'm glad to have this soundscape in my collection, and expect to use it later in my current campaign when the PCs visit an underground colony of dwarves.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dwarven City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Village Inn
by Rafael M. E. d. l. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2010 09:56:34
Este sonido es más propio de una sesión "chill out" que de un elemento ambiental para una partida RPG. Hay muy pocos elementos que hagan "útil" este sonido para la partida.
Por si fuera poco, la música, que es omnipresente, se oye más fuerte que los pocos sonidos realmente ambientales.
Y este comentario puede extenderse al resto de sonidos, aunque en este se nota más.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Village Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Big City
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/07/2010 14:54:09
This soundscape is very well executed and displays exceptional production values. However, it seems to me rather limited in its scope. As the name "Big City" implies, the sound effects include passing cars, muffled conversations, police sirens, and the like. This limits the applicability of the piece, of course, to a modern setting that has such things. The music, performed beautifully, has a jazz feel to it, and this further narrows the range of situations in which you might use the soundscape. The music very much makes this soundscape feel like a 1920s period piece to me. This soundscape feels right to me for pulp-era games such as Call of Cthulhu (with an American 1920s-1930s setting), Spirit of the Century, Thrilling Tales, and so on. I could also imagine it working well with a more modern noir detective setting. Other soundscapes from Sonic Legends have wider applicability, and that's why I gave this soundscape only four stars instead of five. Everything else about it is superb.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Big City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wild West Saloon
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/07/2010 13:19:48
This soundscape by Jack Walker delivers exactly what it promises: the ambience of a stereotypical Western saloon. The melody is carried primarily by a piano player (or player piano), and is enhanced with the sounds of glasses clinking, people talking and laughing, and even heavy footfalls a time or two. The saloon sounds like a very busy place. This piece is great for a Deadlands, Sidewinder, or Boot Hill campaign, or even a modern game that takes the PCs to a dude ranch, an Old West reenactment, or something like that. The piece won't see much use at my table, because I run a fantasy game, but I will definitely keep this piece close by in case I ever run a Western RPG.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild West Saloon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Prosperous Tavern
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/07/2010 07:29:27
What fantasy role-playing game does not at some point end up with the characters in a tavern? If you like to set the scene with background music, this piece is ideal.

There is a busy hubbub of voices and clinking glasses and somewhere a minstrel is playing. I need to recommend this to one of my DMs who is forever trying to get ME to sing just because I like playing bard characters... they can listen to some gentle instrumental folk instead! When the music ends, there's a generous round of applause and some renewed chatter before different instruments begin to play.

On the whole it sounds like a good-natured and busy tavern, with conversation and ale flowing well. Don't play it when your characters go into the sort of inn where all the locals stop and stare at the newcomers or do something unsocial like speaking a language that the characters don't understand. This is the sort of tavern that you will enjoy a friendly evening in... even if there is a bit of good-natured teasing at times. In fact it quite reminds me of some good local folk nights that I've been to here in Cheshire!

At times there seems to be some kind of uproar and spectator comment. While the notes provided by Sonic Legends suggest a brawl, you may prefer to describe a pub game in progress - shove ha'penny, bar billiards or maybe darts.

Technically, it runs for nearly 10 minutes, certainly long enough to set the scene and with enough going on that if you decide to loop it and leave it running throughout the time your characters are in the tavern it will not be noticeable... provided you clip off the voice at the end inexplicably saying that the track was purchased somewhere else than where it did come from! Easy enough to do, if you are of a mind!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prosperous Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arabian Bazaar
by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2010 13:07:29
This is a very nice sound scape for RPG games or just causal listening. The music is quite nice and the added sound effects enhance but do not distract from the mood of the music.

The middle eastern sound is great for a lot of settings and loops very well.

My crew likes these music interludes and I believe these soundtracks will enhance your game.

Minor criticisms, I would have liked a higher bit rate, like 320 or so, but I understand that such a rate would make the file much larger. I would pay a bit more for a FLAC or OggVobis format, but thats just me.

I will buy more of these when the budget permits, and at the price, I think I can afford them soon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arabian Bazaar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Imperial City
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2010 18:51:47
Exotic without necessarily suggesting a specific culture, this track could lend an air of mystery to any urban setting that's outside the PCs' norms. To me, the music seems to blend Middle Eastern and South Asian themes into a whole that transcends both. Okay, so that previous sentence sounds a bit pretentious; perhaps I should have said, "Think belly-dancing to the sound of sitars." The piece also features pan pipes, light vocals, brassy percussion, and even the sounds of horses running by. It's a very evocative track, it loops seamlessly, and it belongs in any DM's music library.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Country Village
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2010 16:15:11
Lull your players into a false sense of security with this lush, gorgeous piece from Erika Lieberman. The music and sound effects evoke a beautiful meadow full of blooming flowers, chirping birds, and playing children. There's even a light, almost comical interlude, and the cows and pigs come out to play a little over halfway through the piece. Play this track while the PCs rest in a country village (in any time period, as the music and sound effects are thoroughly genre-neutral) or stroll across a lovely hillside—then cut to an action-oriented soundtrack like Erika's "Attack of the Wyvern" and hit them with a dreadful monster. I would certainly have scored the early scenes of "Feed the Dead" with this soundscape if I'd had the chance. It's a great track to play during game breaks as well, and it's even non-intrusive enough to play while you work (if you have an office job).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Country Village
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arabian Bazaar
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2010 14:37:12
Music, sound effects, and subtle lines of dialogue blend perfectly in this soundscape with music by Christy Carew and sound effects by Erika Lieberman. You can hear the shuffling of animals, the haggling of customers with merchants, the exchange of coins—all carried along beautifully by an exotic melody. Adding value is the fact that nothing in the sound effects requires any particular time period—as long as your RPG setting involves the use of coins as money, you can use this soundscape with absolutely no fear of "genre seepage." It's perfect for historical, fantasy, steampunk, pulp, or modern games, and even sci-fi games (within the one limitation mentioned above regarding coinage). Any GM who uses musical backing and whose adventures might take the PCs to a Middle Eastern type setting should definitely add "Arabian Bazaar" to his or her soundscape library.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arabian Bazaar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Asian Dreams
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2010 13:24:40
If you use background music at your gaming table and your game involves any type of calm oriental setting—from Rokugan to Chinatown—you'll want to add "Asian Dreams" by Jack Walker to your soundscapes library. Notice that I said "calm"; you won't want to play this track as backing for combat or action scenes. However, it would be great for a peaceful trip through an Asian countryside or a visit with an elderly Zen master—or a million other things. Nothing in the audio imposes any genre limitations, either, so this track would work just as well for a peaceful moment in a modern horror game with an Asian flavor as for a fantasy game set in the Far East.

As of this writing, there are some problems with the ID3 tags and with an audio addition at the end of the file, which makes the file unloopable "out of the box" (unless you want a "This book was downloaded from" message in the middle of your gaming session)! Since this seems to be a technical issue introduced in the DTRPG "watermarking" process, I have ignored it for rating purposes. In iTunes, you can fix the problem by setting the track's endpoint to eight seconds before the actual end of the track. If you are comfortable editing MP3 files using other software, you can split the track on silence to trim out the intrusive audio. In either case, you'll need to edit the ID3 tags by hand until DTRPG technical support addresses the issue.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Asian Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The ID3 tag issue has been fixed. Thanks for bringing it to our attention! cheers, Sonic Legends
The Otherworld
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:48:50
I found this one rather dull, I'm pretty sure you could find generic electronica like this on the interwebs for free. I prefer the ones with sound effects in. And I agree that the Sonic Legends products would really benefit from some consistent ID tagging.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Otherworld
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Zombie Apocalypse
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:41:22
Oh, I really like this one. It's pretty subtle for a zombie apocalypse and manages not to be cheesy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Police Precinct
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:37:50
Smart. I particularly like the sirens and the ringing phones. I do wish these mp3s were tagged properly, though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Police Precinct
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 130 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG