RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vampire Castle
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:34:16
Nice track - I love ambient music. I don't think I would have paid $3 for one track though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Castle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pirate Ship
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/03/2010 06:49:28
Evocative sea sounds (surf and seagulls) open, with a beautifully-menacing theme that sets everything on edge... no pleasure cruise or innocent fishing trip here.

Then accordion music reminiscent of a sea shanty and deep male singing, is this the pirates at a moment of leisure? The menacing theme blends back. A drum beat - perhaps to keep oarsmen in time. More menace, then the accordion is back, with the surf lapping against an anchored ship, his bell ringing in the background. But more pulse-racing music, perhaps an attack on a ship at anchor is planned?

And all the while, in the background the seagulls cry on.

If your adventure takes place near or on the sea - particularly in the days of sailing ships - this would make fine background music... perhaps not as peaceful as some people find the sea, but this IS adventure we are talking about. As always, I find myself coming up for ideas for events inspired by the sounds, rather than thinking of events that the sounds would fit!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Ship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Degenerate Seaside Town
by Nathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2010 07:34:32
Nine minutes of cinematic background music-- it's a nice add to an adventure, but could have been better. It has a warm intro and out, which I thought wouldn't loop well, but it does a good job. They didn't over use the sea gulls, but some of the music does hit some high points that could be distracting in a game.

My two complaints are that the ambient noises disappear and are reintroduced as somewhat of an after thought. The second is that the music itself has points that are not low key enough for background. Overall I think it's a nice track to have playing at low volume. A price of $1.99 would have been more to my liking though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Degenerate Seaside Town
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Attack of the Wyvern
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 21:00:25
Some DMs and players might find the roars, screams, groans, clashing swords, whooshing arrows, and other sound effects in this track to be over the top, but I rather like them. The music alone would certainly sit well under any fight scene; the sound effects tie the track down somewhat to an epic battle against a large monster (the titular wyvern, a dragon, or something similar). I used this soundscape recently during a party's confrontation with a dragon, and I felt that it fit in perfectly. The only down side, I would say, is that the track eases in and eases out, producing a sort of gap in the action when you loop the track.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Attack of the Wyvern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wonders of Space
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 19:38:45
With airy vocals and xylophone accents (both synthesized, unless I miss my guess), this track could easily infiltrate any New Age music library. This is the sort of track you want to play when the PCs are traveling aboard their starship through a nebula or observing some other phenomena best described as unusual but not threatening—when the spaceport turns out to be a giant space jellyfish or some such, much to everyone's amazement. If you're playing a fantasy game, "Wonders of Space" could just as easily be "Wonders of the Astral Sea," making this track adaptable to any genre despite its name.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wonders of Space
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alien City Ruins
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 16:55:33
This unobtrusive track plays perfectly under any role-playing scene where characters need to explore an unfamiliar or alien environment, with a sense of suspense but not necessarily immediate danger. The title and some of the electronic, pulsing sound effects suggest an alien cityscape in a sci-fi game, but I would not have to stretch much to use this track to score exploration of some mysterious corner of the Underdark, especially one with lots of crystals or other such features. This track really does loop seamlessly; I've let it run and run and been unable to tell when it looped if I wasn't watching the scrubber. Some of the higher tones might grate on some listener's ears, but otherwise, this track can find a wide variety of applications at your gaming table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien City Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Zombie Apocalypse
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 16:31:42
An eerie ethereal beginning soon gives way to a driving beat overlaid with sound effects like sirens, helicopter rotors, police announcements, groans, growls, and screams as the zombies overwhelm an urban center. With electric guitars, a strong beat, and all the sound effects, this track could threaten to overwhelm your game if used injudiciously. Also, you won't want to overuse this very distinctive track. This track does not loop as well as most of Sonic Legends' offerings, because it starts slow and soft, and ends similarly; you can loop it, but you'll get a brief "down time" at the beginning and end of each loop. If you play zombie apocalypse games set in modern urban areas, I think you'll want to check out this track. Whether you want to use it at your gaming table depends on how much you think it will distract players from their in-game activities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Post Apocalyptic City
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/29/2010 21:38:01
Electric guitars and a driving drum beat tie the feel of this track to the modern era, and perhaps beyond. As I listened to this track, the images that came to mind were actually more of a stylish detective drama than of post-apocalyptic urbanism. Also, parts of the track seem to me more like a theme song than like background music, which some GMs or gaming groups may find distracting. However, I could easily imagine using this music in a game of Mutants & Masterminds, Gamma World, or any Lovecraft mythos game set in the modern period or the future. The track is all music, no sound effects, so there's nothing to stop you from placing it under any scene where you think the music would enhance play. In my opinion, this track doesn't loop quite as well as some of the others Sonic Legends offers, but it's not jarring by any means.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Post Apocalyptic City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Zombie Apocalypse
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2010 13:55:32
I'm amazed at how good this is. I was expecting some weak crap that sounds like it came off an 80s video game soundtrack, and it was quite good. I could really see myself breaking this out for a night of All Flesh Must Be Eaten. I enjoyed it enough that I just let it run while I was working in my office.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Police Precinct
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/28/2010 21:13:55
The sound effects and background dialogue (some of it by the K-9 unit) in this track can really bring your gaming table alive if you have scenes that take place inside any modern (1920s and forward) police station. I could easily see playing this track under an appropriate scene in a Thrilling Tales, Call of Cthulhu, or Mutants & Masterminds game (just to name the games that would most interest me). However, I must confess that I don't really enjoy the jazz riffs that much. It's actually quite appropriate for any of the relevant time periods, just not to my personal taste. I think this track has narrower applicability than the fantasy or even more generic sci-fi tracks that Sonic Legends produces, and that's why I gave the track only four stars instead of a perfect five.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Police Precinct
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forest Skirmish
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/28/2010 18:45:42
Dramatic music and driving percussion combine seamlessly with shouts, groans, and metal-on-metal sound effects to make this track ideal for scoring almost any outdoor battle scene. Birdcalls and sounds that might be associated with wild animals mark the location. The track really does loop seamlessly, as the product description claims.

The Sonic Legends track "Forest Journey" by Erika Lieberman makes a perfect companion to this one. Play "Forest Journey" until the ambush, then break out "Forest Skirmish," and go back to "Forest Journey" once the carnage is over.

Don't let the $2.99 price tag scare you away from this track. If you like to score your D&D battle scenes with background music, this will make a great addition to your library.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forest Skirmish
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Degenerate Seaside Town
by Sonja J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2010 13:23:52
This was a great product - I am running a game now (January 2010) that involves a certain feel of desolation and mystery, and with this soundscape in my "arsenal" I feel ready to put my players through a session that I hope will scare their socks off! Great quality, and really just everything I'd hoped for. It evokes a spooky, strange, seaside town without any need for explanation of any kind; the music brings imagery to mind without need for hints.
Very pleased with this! I'll be back for more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Degenerate Seaside Town
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Police Precinct
by Justin M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/19/2010 19:40:07
A nice combination of ambient sounds and jazz will provide good background sound for 20th century crime games. It provides a good aural sense of place, moving between murmured conversations, wailing sirens, and possibly someone getting their face tossed into a wall.

A good choice for scenes set in cop shops in Call of Cthulhu, Mutant City Blues, or Dark Champions.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Police Precinct
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forest Skirmish
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/19/2010 11:29:02
Launching in a somewhat disturbing and ominous manner, there's a combination of what might be considered 'jungle drums' along with dark chords, and other rather threatening sounds. Sticks bang together amidst unsettling chords and the odd grunt.

Even the birds sound rather perturbed and one hopes that the frog did not grunt like that because some careless combatant trod on him!

Overall it's a bit jumbled, but for those who have ever fought in a forest (perhaps in a LARP or a military exercise) it does make a kind of sense. This might be a good one to spook your players wherever they get ambushed, forest or not.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forest Skirmish
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Desert Battle
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/18/2010 02:59:11
A sombre opening, with Arabic overtones, sets the scene... hints of drumbeats accelerating into full-blown action.

This work shows a good understanding of the structure of Arabic music and uses it to good effect (I must confess I happen to listen to this genre quite a lot!). There are hints of hoofbeats and the clash of swords, but while these suggest combat they are not intrusive and will serve as a backdrop to what is happening in your game rather than dictate the course of the conflict in which your characters are engaged.

While you may have many suitable encounters in your games, I'd particularly recommend it for the Pathfinder Adventure Path "Legacy of Fire" if you happen to be running that. And of course, it serves as good inspirational music as you plan desert adventures for your players.

Overall, this captures the feel of 'desert' and 'conflict' exceptionally well and is recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Desert Battle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 130 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG