RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Asian Dreams
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2010 13:24:40
If you use background music at your gaming table and your game involves any type of calm oriental setting—from Rokugan to Chinatown—you'll want to add "Asian Dreams" by Jack Walker to your soundscapes library. Notice that I said "calm"; you won't want to play this track as backing for combat or action scenes. However, it would be great for a peaceful trip through an Asian countryside or a visit with an elderly Zen master—or a million other things. Nothing in the audio imposes any genre limitations, either, so this track would work just as well for a peaceful moment in a modern horror game with an Asian flavor as for a fantasy game set in the Far East.

As of this writing, there are some problems with the ID3 tags and with an audio addition at the end of the file, which makes the file unloopable "out of the box" (unless you want a "This book was downloaded from" message in the middle of your gaming session)! Since this seems to be a technical issue introduced in the DTRPG "watermarking" process, I have ignored it for rating purposes. In iTunes, you can fix the problem by setting the track's endpoint to eight seconds before the actual end of the track. If you are comfortable editing MP3 files using other software, you can split the track on silence to trim out the intrusive audio. In either case, you'll need to edit the ID3 tags by hand until DTRPG technical support addresses the issue.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Asian Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
The ID3 tag issue has been fixed. Thanks for bringing it to our attention! cheers, Sonic Legends
The Otherworld
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/23/2010 11:28:37
8:32 of eerie ambient music to make you feel like you're not in Kansas any more. There are no tonal or tempo changes, it's just a constant low-level weird. You could put this on loop and never know it ended or restarted. Good background music if you need to explore a haunted house or an alien dimension.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Otherworld
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Degenerate Seaside Town
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/23/2010 11:26:30
This 9:08 track is fun. Gulls squawking, the bell on a dingy clanging in the distance, a heartbeat-style drum. It's got a slow, methodical buildup. The early part feels like a travelogue, walking through the town and seeing the sights. Then it gets dark, and weird, and evolves into thriller/chase music.

We all know what degenerate seaside town they're talking about, of course. I could see the beats of that story unfold, almost scene by scene, in the movements of the piece. My only downgrade is that sometimes the accordion feels a little too "French
cafe" rather than "sea shanty", but that's minor.

Very well done, and this has gone onto my soundtrack playlist as music to just listen to, not just to use a game soundtrack.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Degenerate Seaside Town
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Otherworld
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:48:50
I found this one rather dull, I'm pretty sure you could find generic electronica like this on the interwebs for free. I prefer the ones with sound effects in. And I agree that the Sonic Legends products would really benefit from some consistent ID tagging.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Otherworld
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Zombie Apocalypse
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:41:22
Oh, I really like this one. It's pretty subtle for a zombie apocalypse and manages not to be cheesy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Police Precinct
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:37:50
Smart. I particularly like the sirens and the ringing phones. I do wish these mp3s were tagged properly, though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Police Precinct
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Vampire Castle
by Helen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 11:34:16
Nice track - I love ambient music. I don't think I would have paid $3 for one track though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Castle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Pirate Ship
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/03/2010 06:49:28
Evocative sea sounds (surf and seagulls) open, with a beautifully-menacing theme that sets everything on edge... no pleasure cruise or innocent fishing trip here.

Then accordion music reminiscent of a sea shanty and deep male singing, is this the pirates at a moment of leisure? The menacing theme blends back. A drum beat - perhaps to keep oarsmen in time. More menace, then the accordion is back, with the surf lapping against an anchored ship, his bell ringing in the background. But more pulse-racing music, perhaps an attack on a ship at anchor is planned?

And all the while, in the background the seagulls cry on.

If your adventure takes place near or on the sea - particularly in the days of sailing ships - this would make fine background music... perhaps not as peaceful as some people find the sea, but this IS adventure we are talking about. As always, I find myself coming up for ideas for events inspired by the sounds, rather than thinking of events that the sounds would fit!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Ship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Degenerate Seaside Town
by Nathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2010 07:34:32
Nine minutes of cinematic background music-- it's a nice add to an adventure, but could have been better. It has a warm intro and out, which I thought wouldn't loop well, but it does a good job. They didn't over use the sea gulls, but some of the music does hit some high points that could be distracting in a game.

My two complaints are that the ambient noises disappear and are reintroduced as somewhat of an after thought. The second is that the music itself has points that are not low key enough for background. Overall I think it's a nice track to have playing at low volume. A price of $1.99 would have been more to my liking though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Degenerate Seaside Town
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Attack of the Wyvern
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 21:00:25
Some DMs and players might find the roars, screams, groans, clashing swords, whooshing arrows, and other sound effects in this track to be over the top, but I rather like them. The music alone would certainly sit well under any fight scene; the sound effects tie the track down somewhat to an epic battle against a large monster (the titular wyvern, a dragon, or something similar). I used this soundscape recently during a party's confrontation with a dragon, and I felt that it fit in perfectly. The only down side, I would say, is that the track eases in and eases out, producing a sort of gap in the action when you loop the track.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Attack of the Wyvern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wonders of Space
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 19:38:45
With airy vocals and xylophone accents (both synthesized, unless I miss my guess), this track could easily infiltrate any New Age music library. This is the sort of track you want to play when the PCs are traveling aboard their starship through a nebula or observing some other phenomena best described as unusual but not threatening—when the spaceport turns out to be a giant space jellyfish or some such, much to everyone's amazement. If you're playing a fantasy game, "Wonders of Space" could just as easily be "Wonders of the Astral Sea," making this track adaptable to any genre despite its name.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wonders of Space
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Alien City Ruins
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 16:55:33
This unobtrusive track plays perfectly under any role-playing scene where characters need to explore an unfamiliar or alien environment, with a sense of suspense but not necessarily immediate danger. The title and some of the electronic, pulsing sound effects suggest an alien cityscape in a sci-fi game, but I would not have to stretch much to use this track to score exploration of some mysterious corner of the Underdark, especially one with lots of crystals or other such features. This track really does loop seamlessly; I've let it run and run and been unable to tell when it looped if I wasn't watching the scrubber. Some of the higher tones might grate on some listener's ears, but otherwise, this track can find a wide variety of applications at your gaming table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien City Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Zombie Apocalypse
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/01/2010 16:31:42
An eerie ethereal beginning soon gives way to a driving beat overlaid with sound effects like sirens, helicopter rotors, police announcements, groans, growls, and screams as the zombies overwhelm an urban center. With electric guitars, a strong beat, and all the sound effects, this track could threaten to overwhelm your game if used injudiciously. Also, you won't want to overuse this very distinctive track. This track does not loop as well as most of Sonic Legends' offerings, because it starts slow and soft, and ends similarly; you can loop it, but you'll get a brief "down time" at the beginning and end of each loop. If you play zombie apocalypse games set in modern urban areas, I think you'll want to check out this track. Whether you want to use it at your gaming table depends on how much you think it will distract players from their in-game activities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Post Apocalyptic City
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/29/2010 21:38:01
Electric guitars and a driving drum beat tie the feel of this track to the modern era, and perhaps beyond. As I listened to this track, the images that came to mind were actually more of a stylish detective drama than of post-apocalyptic urbanism. Also, parts of the track seem to me more like a theme song than like background music, which some GMs or gaming groups may find distracting. However, I could easily imagine using this music in a game of Mutants & Masterminds, Gamma World, or any Lovecraft mythos game set in the modern period or the future. The track is all music, no sound effects, so there's nothing to stop you from placing it under any scene where you think the music would enhance play. In my opinion, this track doesn't loop quite as well as some of the others Sonic Legends offers, but it's not jarring by any means.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Post Apocalyptic City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Zombie Apocalypse
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2010 13:55:32
I'm amazed at how good this is. I was expecting some weak crap that sounds like it came off an 80s video game soundtrack, and it was quite good. I could really see myself breaking this out for a night of All Flesh Must Be Eaten. I enjoyed it enough that I just let it run while I was working in my office.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG