RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Astrozombies Must Die!: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2013 04:16:47
Astrozombies Must Die! provides a quick fix adventure for someone looking to fill a single session. I ran a game of it in about 2-hours with some snipping of the content, so you could easily make it 3 - 4 hours - which makes it perfect for a convention demo. While written for the Fate driven Bulldog! system, the adventure will work with any flavour of Fate (or Fudge for that matter) - I used Fate Accelerated.

The adventure presents a premise and a loose structure of how the player characters can get from the start, out to the stranded ship, then slowly uncover what happened and the threat standing between them and returning the cargo to it's rightful owner. The game includes stats for the Astrozombies, their Captain and Engineer - in four different flavours of increasingly power and difficulty to handle. I ran with the Fresh Meat (the lowest), but would have opted for Trouble or greater if I had more than 2 hours to spare. It means you can adapt to your group size, expertise with Fate, and desire for challenge.

One added bonus - I found the cover illustration really handy as a prop. I printed it out, used tacky glue to apply to cardboard (from a cereal box) and then cut it out as a standee. When the Astrozombies reveal themselves to the characters for the first time - voila! - you have a visual reference so that they know what they're up against (though the descriptions in the text reverse the way the image works - with a coloured skull inside a roiling black flame).

Great and FREE! What more can you ask for?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astrozombies Must Die!: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stormy Weather: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
by Martijn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2012 16:02:45
Nice scenario!

Could do with a bit of editing though. I noticed an "it's" that should be an its ("its security"), but what really bothered me was Javal Kran switching from male to female and back. Mostly she's female, but "his guards", and "He's already talked to his superiors". Likely the trace of incomplete editing after a gender change.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stormy Weather: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ports of Call: The Frontier Zone
by Markus S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2012 16:28:56
While the Bulldogs! RPG rocks, Ports of Call does not. A collection of anthropomorphic animals whose society and fashion exactly resemble their clearly recognizable models on Earth. Nothing alien or futuristic about it, a large part of PoC feels like bad persiflage. Not what I want my Space Opera game to be like. There are a couple of cool things in the book, too, but not enough to make it worth buying.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ports of Call: The Frontier Zone
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kingdom of Nothing
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2012 16:53:14
Kingdom of Nothing is not your typical RPG: for a few examples, Players don't make their own characters--at least half of a player's character is generated by the other players and the Narrator of the game; there are No dice--challenge results are decided by tossing coins (which integrates with the themes of the game in a most impressive manner); though still open ended as most RPGs are--there are some defininte win and lose conditions for the characters which act as rewards and punishments for them.

The rules are a little sparse in areas, but I regard this as an invitation to write my own. I'm intent on e-mailing my rules to Galileo Games--maybe they will be included in a future edition.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kingdom of Nothing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Redwing's Gambit
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2012 10:04:50
Redwing’s Gambit is a pleasant mix of science fiction action and suspense. Valentinelli deftly weaves her narrative through the corridors of the Haldis. Traditional sci-fi tropes such as the mysterious ship saboteur and disappearing crew members fit well for the story that Valentinelli is telling. As someone who had no previous exposure to Galileo Games Bulldogs setting, the use of these traditional tropes helped to keep me in the story as I built my understanding of the universe.

The aspect of Redwing’s Gambit that I enjoyed the most was the characters. Every last character has memorable in his or her own way. Each had just enough personality and individualism to stand out, but with none of the seemingly forced quirkiness that plagues some authors. Another sure sign that Valentinelli was successful with her characterization, I found myself wanting to know what happens next to the three main viewpoint characters Marrl, Xax, and Fang. Of the three I was particularly fond of Fang.

As a whole I found Redwing’s Gambit to be an entertaining novella, and a pretty good introduction to the Bulldogs universe. I would certainly read more stories set in the universe. If you’re into sci-fi stories I don’t think you can really go wrong giving this a read.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Redwing's Gambit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bulldogs! (d20 Edition)
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2012 15:48:05
A must-buy for anyone wanting sci-fi for their D20 games.
Good background.
Artwork is ok.
Some interesting races (the Templari look a little drow-like).
Also has a race creation section.

The only niggle: a thick black border on every page (this will drain the ink quite a bit.
A print-friendly version would have been nice.

A good buy for £1.26

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs! (d20 Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bulldogs! (d20 Edition)
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2012 21:52:53
An awesome book! Somethng every player should have. Even if you don't plan to play a D20 sci-fi game this has some awesome content. I've used the race creation system in most D20 games I've played sense finding this book and several of the classes can easily fit in other systems! BUY THIS BOOK!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs!
by Leonardo P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 22:49:18
Looks: The art is simple, but good. Liked a lot the layout and format of the book, keeps it easy and quick to read and find stuff.

Writing: The writing is good, it shows the FATE system very well and it has nice explanations.

Content: Now, I think this is the best Sci-Fi FATE implementation out there. The organization of the book is very good, the FATE system rules are well presented and all the sic-fi stuff is pretty nicely done. It has some standard species (or races) and a great ruleset and guideline to create your own races, also I really like the way they incorporate races into the FATE system. Most parts of the contents includes guidelines to creating your own stuff with some really nice rules. You can create starships, weapons, species and stunts that match your scenario with ease and not worry about them being unbalanced. It also has some rules to work as a crew on your spaceship, you assign positions and responsibilities for the crew members and they act different in space combat, for example.

Awesome book! When I'm creating my own FATE games and settings I mostly use this book as a reference.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stormy Weather: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
by Gary T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2012 03:20:37
Excellent adventure ... similar to the other convention adventure ... the players have to side with one of 2 opposing forces.
This means the GM can have too much to do/think about at times.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stormy Weather: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bulldogs!
by Emlyn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2012 02:42:29
As a lover of the FATE system, I bought this game mostly for the sake of completeness, but was pleasantly surprised to find a fun and whimsical universe (cigar-smoking, homicidal teddy bears are a core player race) backed up with an innovative take on the FATE rules. Races, a question often make difficult in FATE games, are clearly laid out and seem well-balanced. The skills have abandoned the "trapping" mechanic used in other FATE games (particularly Strange FATE as shown in the also-excellent Kerberos Club) for a system that lays out how each skill can be used to "overcome obstacles," "make declarations," "attack," and a handful of other categories. I find I still prefer the trappings concept for my own use, but the Bulldogs! system is well-thought-out and may simplify things for many players. There is just enough information on the various organizations, planetary systems, etc. in the game universe to help lay out a game (backed up by aspects and suggests on how to use them), without overwhelming us.

There is a core conceit assuming the PCs will work for the "TransGalaxy Corporation" as high-risk freighters, which is fun and sets the players on a clear path right away, but there is also a section laying out alternative campaign setups, with the rules to support them. I question the balance of the weapons system, as it seems overly deadly for space opera, and more rules-heavy than FATE usually uses, but this is a minor quibble. The ship combat takes the chase rules from Spirit of the Century, a fun system in itself, and adds some meat to make starship combat look like a lot of fun and definitely the right mood.

The game is also pretty as hell, with lovely art and layout making each page a joy to read, and look surprisingly professional for a $10 purchase.

I have a FATE game already running, so I'm not planning on actually running Bulldogs! (at least not at present), but I found the cheap $10 price tag more than worth the ideas I can steal for my own FATE hack, and just for the fun of reading it. And it looks like there's a bunch of free adventures available for download, allowing players to easily go out and kick ass!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Bulldogs: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2012 02:47:21
You probably don't want your players to read the title of this one .. Scenarios for this setting might start to fall into a pattern - casting, as it were, the PCs as the chumps being sadly underpaid to deliver ridiculously mislabelled consignments to deplorably ungrateful and unethical clients - with some rather obvious player responses, so it would behoove the GM to change it around a little in different sessions and not insist too much on players following the frankly not-in-their-best-interest instructions that they'll get as written from their employer.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Bulldogs: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Bulldogs: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 13:26:03
I've been an avid fan of all of the Bulldogs adventures that Galileo has put out, through the Kickstarter and otherwise. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Bulldogs! is no exception. One of the things that has stumped me so far with regard to coming up with my own Bulldogs adventures is how to spice up the get-a-cargo-and-deliver-it trope in new and engaging ways. As with other Bulldogs! adventures, the crew of your ship has a cargo to deliver, but here Clark Valentine comes up with a novel twist. A fine product, and probably useful story ideas for most any game. Even so, a good solid entry in the Bulldogs! catalog.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs!
by Tim R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2011 09:55:18
For those of you who may have missed it originally, Brennan Taylor of Galileo Games pushed out Bulldogs! earlier this year through Kickstarter. Bulldogs! (yes, the exclamation point is part of the name) is self-described as “Sci-Fi that Kicks Ass,” and I’m happy to report that boy howdy does it pay off.

The book is a gorgeous hardcover that clocks in at about 120 pages that are crammed full of great information and beautiful illustrations by Jaime Posadas and Kurt Komoda, and I want to give a big hand to the editing crew Amanda Valentine and Ryan Macklin who very much succeeded at making sure that every piece of text contributes to the “Sci-Fi that Kicks Ass” tagline.

Let me start the review of the actual content with an anecdote. I used to run Star Wars, as it was one of the few RPGs I could get my wife to play (sucker!), and after experiencing how troublesome Jedi are to run in the context of a full party, I opted to run mine as an all-scoundrels game (Scoundrels being the DnD Rogue-like character class). Sure, some folks still had some Force-powers in play, but having a crew that was largely free from the otherwise overriding Jedi vs. Sith / Rebellion vs. Empire constraints was very freeing and we were able to rock some awesome stories of my players being largely on the run, cashing in when they could, and in all ways running a story of “Sci-Fi that Kicks Ass.” In terms of the game mechanics though, it took a metric ton of extra Star Wars sourcebooks and system hacking to push the d20 revised rules set to customize relatively basic things like races, equipment, ships, et al.

I wish to hell that I’d had Bulldogs! for that game. This one single book contains information on how to work the Fate-based system to create entirely customized races / equipment / ships / skills / stunts without any overhead. It seriously blows my mind at how sleek this writing is, compared to how many books I used to have to look through to puzzle out how to morph one of the NPC races into a PC race or how to cost a +1 damage upgrade to someone’s blaster pistol.

The only tricky thing I ran into during my read-through of the book is that Bulldogs! uses a single stress track, which I hadn’t expected; but then I also have relatively limited experience running Fate system games - and looking into it, all of the individual games seem to have evolved their own specifically tailored versions of how Stress is applied.

I’ve grown to really appreciate the way the Fate system helps drive games in terms of the play style, and how much depth it adds to the game for the relatively small amount of actual work you have to put into it. And I think that this is part of what makes Bulldogs! great. Fate’s Aspects versus d20’s neutrality-of-character are something that I find inspiring.

I’m going to be running Bulldogs! for a home campaign in the near future (when I can get people over here), and I’m really looking forward to it. Thanks a ton to Brendan, Brian, and everyone else involved in putting this great game out!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bulldogs!
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/05/2011 16:45:35
I'll preface this by saying I love space opera. I love stories like Elizabeth Moon's Vatta's War books. I've wanted to play a game, for so long, of a spaceship crew, going from place to place, looking for work and dealing with the problems they invariably get themselves into. I think I've found that game. Bulldogs! appears to be, in every way that matters, the game I have been looking for. Halleluiah. I cannot WAIT to play this game with my group!

To start, this version of the game runs on FATE. According to the book, there have been some changes made from core FATE, but as I'm not an expert on the system, I don't know where they are. But I will say that the system, as presented, seems to support fast paced action. There is a bit more crunch when dealing with things like combat, so I expect that the game will slow down a bit during combat. This is generally the case in most systems.

The presentation of the setting for Bulldogs! is a quick read and fun to go through. There is an interesting mix of scifi races and racial tension already built into the game. This should make for some wonderfully tense scenes, as the group of characters consists of individuals from every race. The characters in the game are all down on their luck spacers, who've joined a freight company and are running ships through the galaxy that really shouldn't be running at all.

The book also has a wonderful section for the GM, giving advice on how to set up adventures, create conflict and all the other general bad-assery that should be in a GM's toolbox. The book is organized and well laid out. It's a very fun read.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Three Black Crows, Three Dead Men
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2011 04:06:32
This is an almost pure story-telling game, competitive and collaborative at once. It relies on the players ( no GM ) to improvise a narrative and invent details that support or challenge it until a set of three storys are agreed, the player who has the most storys accepted "wins", (but really 'the play is the thing' ). The use of dice is extremely limited and nearly irrelevant.
I shared this game with a non-gamer friend and he and his creative writing course are amazed by it. If you know some of those sort of people this would be a good introduction to the world of RPG as it goes straight to the heart of the matter- adopting a role within an invented wolrd and working together with your friends to make interesting stories.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Three Black Crows, Three Dead Men
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG