RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Flynn's Guide to Magic in Traveller
by SIMON E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2016 03:01:17

Excellent rules that should save referees a lot of work, if they want to explore a fantasy setting using Traveller's core rules. If the author feels any revision is needed for the new edition of Traveller, I'd be at least one definite buyer! (I love the choice of illustrations, too.) I would have preferred it if magic had been integrated with psionics as the default, to make it more compatible with the existing Traveller universe. It's easito imagine a remote planet of low technology, where psionic powers are amazingly refined! But the rules are readily adaptable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flynn's Guide to Magic in Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cepheus Engine System Reference Document
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 17:06:44

Really nice book. Basically Traveller but friendly to the OSR community. Get it; enjoy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cepheus Engine System Reference Document
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cepheus Engine System Reference Document
by Dalton C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 09:02:47

This is an excellent resource for anyone who wants to get the original feel of Classic Traveller without all the 3I material packed into it. Build your own future and this package gives you the tools to do so which has not existed since the original LBB's from the early 80's.


Being OGL and presented as a complete package vs a hodgepodge of rules that are missing key bits, this allows for those who want to customize for thier own furture universe to do so with ease.


Well worth the money and this product will have me looking for other products by the same publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cepheus Engine System Reference Document
by P-O B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2016 16:09:34

The Cepheus Engine. What is it? It is a new set of Traveller rules from Samardan Press that doesn’t say that it is Traveller. (But it is Traveller.)


The rules look very much like a cleaned up version of Classic Traveller, book 1-3 plus supplement-4 and selected parts from book 4 (PGMP and FGMP) and 5 (small ships). You can also find some bits of Mongoose Traveller in it. So far there is no setting except that a few aliens are named as an example.


You know what this could be? The perfect proto-Traveller rules.


Since the Cepheus Engine is a refined set of CT rules, you will recognize most of the rules and can quickly start using them.


First, the character generation and skills are similar to what you already know. Then psionics (important to us at the Zhodani Base) is also what you would expect.


Next in the equipment list you find a tech-level overview table, with the same tech-levels as in Traveller. The currency used is Credits. You can find familiar Traveller items like Fast Drug, TDX, and Air/Raft. The first internal book ends with a combat chapter.


Next book is about Starships, Travelling, Trade and Space Combat.


The Final book is the Referee’s book. In this book are the rules for generating worlds. (It is interesting to see that hydrographics is generated as in CT book-6. That is the same as in MongTrav.) There are rules for all sorts of encounters, including the familiar animal encounter tables from CT. There are also some short help about refereeing and adventures.


This is really the new rule-set we didn’t know we needed. This is proto-Traveller Deluxe.


Review first posted at the Zhodani Base.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flynn's Guide to Magic in Traveller
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2015 17:49:23

Clear rules but other than the fact that it uses Traveler's skill system there's really very little that links it to the Traveller universe. I had hoped for something that might have suggested ways of actually incorporating magic into Traveller.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Flynn's Guide to Magic in Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Flynn's Guide To Alien Creation
by Matt W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 13:16:00

Great product with a straightforward, easy-to-follow process for generating interesting sapient alien species for your Traveller setting. Includes clear examples. It references a few things in the Mongoose book like the Behaviors subsection in the Encounters chapter, so you'll want that handy. It only took me a few minutes to randomly create an interesting alien for the setting I'm putting together for my next game.


The only thing I wish it had was a printable worksheet, because I'm unorganized, but that's a pretty minor quibble. In all, highly recommended if you want to freshen your game up with a few new species.


p.s. The author also has a great blog over at his site and happily (and quickly) answered a few of my questions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flynn's Guide To Alien Creation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Flynn's Guide To Azri Drakara: Rodan Subsector
by Brett G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2011 23:03:34

Whether this product is for you depends largely (as usual) on how you intend to use it.


Although superficially similar to the old GDW sector booklets, Flynn's Guide To Azri Drakara: Rodan Subsector concentrates on one subsector but does so reasonably well by providing quite a bit of additional help to a GM than just a starmap, some UPP codes, and a brief encyclopedia. Samardan Press also provides expanded world codes that are more readable than the intentionally brief UPP codes, a rumors table, and several patron encounters. These additions can be helpful to a referee both in terms of time and in background/atmosphere. There are also entries for sports, the location of a military academy, and several alien species are noted (but not elaborated on) including one very interesting space jumping life form.


I wish the publisher would release a slightly more detailed survey of the Dracosian Republic as that would make a few things more clear. The encyclopedia offers some help in that direction but a 10-20 page primer regarding the Republic, its rivals, a brief historical sketch, etc. Heck, even five pages that organized the pertinent parts of the encyclopedia would be appreciated! A lot of that information is there but the fragmentary arrangement of the encyclopedia makes it work to tease out.


This is NOT the OTU so the setting vagueness is not necessarily a bad thing if one plans on using this book to start a classic Traveller game without all the burdens of the OTU Canon (may it live and be published forever). But the lack of a basic overview would seem to caution a referee from adopting this as a starter with the intention of expanding it as new materials come online for the milieu. I can recommend this book as a sandbox platform but with caveats about tying it with future products as there are no real hints as to the direction the publisher is going. Such tie in may work but it remains to be seen.


One of the things I love about the setting is that it uses no special rules. The core rules are quite sufficient. Jump drives work just as they always have and there is no FTL communications. Consequently, importing other published material should pose little mechanical problem leaving the referee to rework background material for the most part.


I really like the setting. It is for the most part what I have been wanting...something not bound by the OTU but still holding to the classical feel. The referee has considerable freedom to swap out or add planets, cannibalize parts of various settings, and do a host of other things without worry about how it plays with the very detailed OTU Canon. Of course, referees have always been able to do that but "Flynn's Guide To Azri Drakara: Rodan Subsector" greatly simplifies the process. The only people likely to be disappointed are those referees that like to drown themselves with minute details. The rest of us, GMs and players alike, should find the setting quite fulfilling.


Production values are as good as most PDF based gaming material. Outside the cover and the starmap, there are no illustrations but the product is well laid out and lovingly appointed by the author. I know where my next Traveller game will be set. Rodan Subsector here we come!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flynn's Guide To Azri Drakara: Rodan Subsector
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hammersong's Legacy
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2010 18:50:30

Skilfully files the numbers off more recent games and settings for the basic rule set to produce what ought to be a compelling and dangerous field for adventures, as well as a wide-ranging system update. Well bookmarked, but I felt the need of more maps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hammersong's Legacy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MyD20 Lite Player's Guide
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/29/2010 11:35:23

There’s an old adage about slapping lipstick on the bed and making a beauty queen. I would hardly call the successful d20 system a pig, but MyD20Lite Player’s Guide certainly does not add much more than a variant d20 system that is no lighter than Fantasycraft or Trailblazer.


Do not be confused, MyD20 adds a few interesting new variants to the d20 world and is a nice little system if feat customization is as made you a bit drained. But you will be greatly disappointed if you are looking for the second coming of the light d20 RPG.


Md20 Lite has marketed itself in a corner. If you claim to be a light RPG, you have to greatly decrease the amount of time everything in the game takes. Scouring the 113-page, Samaradan Press publication, you will recognize familiar customer creation with some slight modifications.


Instead of a chart that displays the formula for saves, each class receives a specific bonus to saves that accumulates with their level Instead of feats, players select talents from a limited pool for their class. Instead of races having ability bonuses, players receive the same amount of points to put into their abilities, but each race has a minimum score that certain abilities may be. Skills are slightly reduced and combined to 15. Combat is suppose to take less time, but they simply do not use a tactical map, an alternative for most systems.


For the DM
There are some major changes that adds an identity to MyD20 Lite as not another system clone. They are one of the first variants to have a working easy to use spellpoint system. Which is long overdue in the mainstream d20 world.


The Iron Word
MyD20 Lite is a nice alternative system that creates a self contained system free from tactical maps, feats and the Vatican spell system. However, it not quite the lite RPG system it claims to be. I have never been supportive of the excuse of “d20 glut”, which the writer says is the inspiration for MyD20 Lite. If there are too many options in the d20 world, limit those options. Myd20 Lite tends to rename or readjust part of the system, not quite limiting any time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MyD20 Lite Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you, sir, for your review. When it comes to specifics in regards to the system itself, I think you have pointed out a number of the elements I've added to make the system lighter than 3E. I realize that it's not light enough to meet your definition, as your words seem to indicate. During the development of the Player's Guide, I received feedback that many people enjoyed what I've created here, finding it a nice retro-variant that implements some of the features of the D20 System without being too burdened by the excess. I think more of its lightweight nature will be revealed in the Referee's Guide, and I look forward to your review when I post that in the next few months. I realize that MyD20 Lite isn't going to please everyone, and I hope that you find the game you're looking for. Thank you and good luck! With Regards, Jason "Flynn" Kemp
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG