RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
RAWR! The Monstrous Adventure Game
by James F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 13:14:07
RAWR! is a fun little RPG. The rules are simple to read through and the cartoon monsters aren't distracting. Character generation is straight forward as are the dice mechanics. There are plenty of pre-generated monsters to play if you don't want to roll up your own to begin with. I will be running this soon. :)

At FORGE in Lexington I bought the softcover, pdf, dice bag and some logo dice for only $30.00 Such a bargain!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RAWR! The Monstrous Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
RAWR! The Monstrous Adventure Game
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2012 11:41:53
RAWR! is a colorful, energetic RPG that would be an excellent choice as a first RPG for any young people who are fond of monsters. In this game's setting, monsters were once close friends with children, and would play together every day - but over time, children grew afraid of them, and no longer desire their company. The player characters are creatures from the Land of Monsters who are drawn into a quest to save King Snarlblat from an evil plot concocted by Nightmare and his nasty minions.

The game mechanics are rather simple, and cover most of the basic concepts of RPG rules - players assign fixed numbers to a set of four attributes, use points to buy skills (like Run, Jump, Scare, etc.) and abilities (Claws, Fire Belching, Eye Lasers, etc.), and calculate four derived stats from their attributes. Some younger players may need help from more experienced players, if they choose to make their own character. Characters then receive 30 drolblats (monster money) that they can spend on equipment.

The core mechanic is a base 2d6 roll, plus skill modifier, versus a difficulty number assigned by the game master. As with all RPGs of this type, I personally recommend using dice with pips for younger players, and giving them the chance to "count the dots" of their roll. (In this method, I give them a D6 of a different color, and tell them to put it on the table with the face with their skill level facing up. Then I have them roll 2d6 and add all of the dots that they see - this helps them understand how higher skills help their roll.)

This game is filled with fun elements - monsters can regain wound levels by "having a snack," for example, and the entire book is filled with vibrant illustrations that are reminiscent of the Tim Burton animations, Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends and other cartoons - all of which make the game more fun overall.

RAWR! is a perfect choice for young people who love monsters, and would enjoy the opportunity to have some monstrous adventures - it's quick and easy to set up and play, and comes with a great starter campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Laughing Horrors: A Fantasy Quick Adventure (PFRPG)
by Abdullah A. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2011 16:36:01
Now, yeah this is fast. So fast that, noone will ever see it played, I hope. Because it is so fast, not for another reason. Idea is not bad, but not applicable too. If I want my guys to fight against lots of undead and make lots of perception checks, I may give them stats and dices, and go to play some JRPG in PS3 to have the same taste they feel.

You are helping a town with some kind of... problem... a zombie problem. Why? Because, well, GM may decide details. Also GM may decide where to play, town layout, NPCs except one. So that, this guy says to all designers and GMs, I'm giving you nothing to you to create a game to enjoy yourselves. Also you may look PRD, so that you can get stats, since I didn't bother myself.

Well, I may say this is not an adventure, not even a creative work. You will need this if and only if you are a newbie, so newbie that a 6-year old(or namely my nephew) could teach you something about DMing.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Laughing Horrors: A Fantasy Quick Adventure (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Orc Hunt: A Fantasy Quick Adventure (PFRPG)
by Abdullah A. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2011 15:27:39
This one may be the greatest example of slothness. They give you an orc hunt, they hope you are a munchkin party who likes to slay enemies put before you, go sleep and slay more without any interaction. But, sorry that is wrong, they give you a woodcutter to oppose, who tries to get rid of you, even he says "see you again!". What a badass character, I've never seen this much of half-heartedness in my life, and I'll not tolerate it.

Sure if you are a hack'n'slash group, you will enjoy this 3-page there-are-more-orcs-than-it-should-be-lets-kill-em-ture.

This thing has a good layout, it deserves 2 stars but nothing else.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Orc Hunt: A Fantasy Quick Adventure (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Monkey's Key - A Treasured Maps Adventure (PFRPG)
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/30/2010 07:17:56
Everybody likes a good treasure map, and particularly the player characters in a GMs campaign. There can be a lot of excitement if they find one hidden in a secret compartment or as part of some long lost creature's treasure hoard. The Monkey's Key is the first adventure in a new series of 'Treasured Maps' adventures from Tabletop Armory, each adventure designed around a particular map and aimed at being a secondary or supplemental adventure to the main campaign, a side-trek if you will. This adventure sees the player characters navigate treacherous jungle terrain to find a sacred relic, the Green Monkey, in a lost tomb. The adventure is for the Pathfinder RPG and suitable for 5th level players characters.

The Monkey's Key is a fairly straightforward adventure, really. Characters discover the map (the means of this is left to the DM), prepare for the expedition (and meet some useful NPCs related to the map in the process, if they so choose), and set out to conquer the Monkey Totem and recover the blessed artefact. Over the course of the adventure they encounter fiendish creatures and cunning traps, with the odd roleplaying encounter strewn in. I wish there had been more opportunity for roleplaying - having a local jungle tribe and then not using them for something really interesting is a bit of a shame. The adventure caters well mechanically to the rules of getting lost in the jungle, and guidelines in following the map and the locations marked there-on. The maps and handouts provided are fairly rudimentary, as is the overall presentation, but everything required to run the adventure is in the product. I think this is a fair adventure - I think it could've been made more interesting than just a straightforward trek through the jungle and exploring the Monkey's totem. A few conundrums for the players, opposition, roleplaying opportunities and the like would've filled it out nicely. As is, it's fair, with some challenging encounters and a little bit of thinking to avoid some traps and cunning guardians, but average overall.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Monkey's Key - A Treasured Maps Adventure (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
$1 Adventures - Dead Tower Island
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/24/2010 17:23:30
Nowadays, when so many different fantasy RPGs exist side-by-side, systemless adventures should prove very attractive. "Dead Tower Island," though unimaginatively named, offers a substantial session of gaming for just $1 and some investment from the GM in pairing appropriate stats with the enjoyable (though not blazingly creative) storyline. A GM can use this with any system—D&D, Pathfinder, any old-school clone—and with any level of characters (if applicable) just by pulling out the correct numbers for his or her system. Less than a full-blown module, but more than a mere adventure seed, "Dead Tower Island" is worth the $1 pricetag.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
$1 Adventures - Dead Tower Island
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Orc Hunt: A Fantasy Quick Adventure (PFRPG)
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2010 07:06:39
Orcs breeding on a few hills outside of town, needing some culling? Okay this does not take too much imagination, but I am beginning to appreciate this sort of gaming. Grab a warhammer, find a group, and charge!

4 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Orc Hunt: A Fantasy Quick Adventure (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
$1 Adventures - Lords of Nightly Grace
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2010 03:56:44
I am of mixed opinions about this product. The generalized, unspecific nature of it is both a strength and a weakness.

I like that it is system agnostic. It can slide into any system that has a vampire or similar creature-type, and makes a great 'intermediate' point in a campaign while the GM works on the next major story point.

I especially like the 'Action Points' throughout the adventure. Rather than a simple list of plot hooks, which I tend to find little use for, it actually gives you options the players might avail themselves of, and paths to follow if they do. It's not too specific, so it doesn't force you down a particular path, but it does give you multiple ideas of where to take things. It leaves most things up to the GM and the players, but it does provide actual structure, so that you don't have to do too much of the work yourself.

However, it completely lacks any real guidance on important characters or threats. What I would like to see would be a page at the end listing all significant characters, with salient personality and background points. It does mention that one of the main characters is an expert swordsman, but says almost nothing about the other characters except a brief physical description. Something like, "This character is very physically strong, this character is a talented acrobat," and so on, would make it easier to draw up NPC stats quickly for named characters. And the rest of the slots can be filled with basic antagonists without too much trouble. A suggestion of other suitable character archetypes to insert into the adventure would also be great.

The story itself is pretty good, though, which makes up for a lot of minor flaws.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
$1 Adventures - Lords of Nightly Grace
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Figure Flats: Volume 1, Fantasy Villains
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2010 03:30:47
A good collection of standard monsters. The art work and image quality are excellent. My only complaint is that all the images only have a single pose. Fine for a bunch of mooks all with the same stats, but not very good if you want to have, say, multiple groups of different types of zombies. Some small, but noticeable variation in a few of the models would be appreciated.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Figure Flats: Volume 1, Fantasy Villains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
$1 Adventures - Night at the Expo
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2010 09:48:00
Night at the Expo is one of those adventures that could fit in with just about any setting or system you would want to use. When I read it, I thought, "Wow! This would be a great intro for a Call of Cthulhu campaign!" Then, I was reading through Dark Heresy by Fantasy Flight Games, and thought, "Well, if I change up the antagonists and local, the structure would work for this setting, too."

Honestly, that's the draw of all the 1$ Adventures by Tabletop Armory: they're useful anywhere. You've got a session coming up, and zero time to plan? Pick it up and tailor it to your needs. You want to run a campaign, but don't know where to start? The adventure hooks in each one give you enough information to at least get the story moving.

And the price? I know several companies that would expect you to pay 10$ for the materials here. Paying just a tenth of that? I'm right there, and I can't wait to read the next one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
$1 Adventures - Night at the Expo
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
$1 Adventures - Dead Tower Island
by Derek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2010 21:02:03
Some people will hate this product for the same reasons I love it.

1. It's system neutral: no stats, no mechanics. I end up converting most products like this to my system of choice anyway. I find it easier to convert material like this, but it's not really converting. It's just assigning stats as needed. If you play a system with cumbersome character creation rules a not a lot of shortcuts for NPCs, that could be a problem. It works great for me.

2. It doesn't railroad you. You know those collections of plot hooks you can find in this price range? This reads like a collection of plot hooks organized into a loose but overarching metaplot. There's a ton of things that CAN happen if it works for you and your group, even multiple paths to the few encounters/scenes that pretty much have to happen. There are things presented here as simple one or two sentence asides of how things COULD pan out that with a little imagination could launch a full campaign. My group never lets me run anything exactly as written. So if those optional encounters or plot hooks were fleshed out in full by the author, I'd end up having to treat it as a basic outline anyway. Some groups don't play like that and some GMs like to have a very clear path to follow. There's nothing wrong with that but if you fall into that camp then this product might not appeal to you.

3. It's nearly genre neutral. It's presented as a fantasy adventure, but really any setting with a port town and a cosmology that allows for undead would work. You could run it as modern pulp with a little work. Maybe instead of a magical source for the undead on the island (which may be a spoiler, but the title pretty much gives that away) it's a science experiment gone wrong. You could even go space opera with it if you really wanted to. Again, not all GMs are into this sort of conversion. But I do it with stuff like Dungeon Crawl Classics all the time, so I find this aspect appealing.

4. Replay value. Because it's mooshy on all fronts, I could see running this as a demo game in a local store or at several different cons of whatever and never experiencing the same game twice. It really allows the GM freedom to let the players guide how the story develops. In light of all the different ways I can monkey with the details, I honestly think I could run this past my regular group of players twice without them noticing.

I think you'll either feel cheated or inspired. If you're still not sure after reading those points, then you'll only risk a dollar to find out for yourself.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
$1 Adventures - Dead Tower Island
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG