RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Night Witches
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 03:06:27
Another amazing game from Bully Pulpit...we are currently playing a game that is seeing our only surviving Grey Ranks character turning up as a 'volunteer' at the airbase in late 1944.

Awesome

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Night Witches
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2015 00:58:40
Excellent set of rules with good background material; on a rarely covered World War II subject. Female Soviet Pilots flying NIGHT ground attack missions in military trainer biplanes. Many had hundreds of missions and seversl were awarded Russia's highest award HERO OF THE SOVIET UNION. This was no 25 missions and go home. They fought the entire war all the way from Stalingrad to Berlin The game takes into account both combat and down time. Logistics and maintenance problems as well as political officers of the NKVD. As female unit the 588th was discriminated against and look down upon; but eventually they would earn elite GUARDS unit status
I also like the system that allows for rotating who is game master; frequently; when your pilot would be out of action, do to wounds or discipline problems among other things. You take over as a staff officer or squadron commander. The character creation system allows you to flesh out your character both in the air or on the ground. Sergeants have more skill while officers have more clout. Role Playing and especially military role playing has been predominately male and this gives players a chance to recruit the ladies in a some what nontraditional role as the front line troops not support units.
One last spin off is its compatability with AFTERMATH and TWILIGHT 2000 1st edition. Due to the low tech nature of this unit some its aging veterans could still be flying or teaching others. For instance when out of bombs they dropped railroad ties
Highly recommended; their web site has additional material for air bases, npcs, and decorations in download format. My gaming group The SAMOS SWORDSMEN Chapter of the BLADE & BLASTER GAMING SOCIETY suggests you give it a try.
Survive & Succeed

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Juggernaut
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 11:18:57
This was a huge hit with my group. The dark, paranoid theme is push just right with the card driven "events" from Juggernaut. Can't wait to play again.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Juggernaut
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Durance
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2015 11:30:51
This has no real rules mechanics. It is more a very detailed "what if" scenario. Primarily intended for space games, it could work in other games.

Repeat, no rules mechanics. This is not stand alone unless you want a diceless story telling game with no real rules, just some neat flavor.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Durance
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fiasco
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2014 15:08:02
A really standout game. Fabulous, I'll say - and innovating for sure.

Upon reading about it first, all I noticed was that it was GM-less. Didn't impress me...
When I had read several high praises and gave it a try, Fiasco proved to give me something I didn't have in 'traditional' RPGs.

I feel Fiasco like taking the most memorable episodes of several 'traditional' tabletop sessions, and having played just these in one session. All the not-so-epic episodes just eliminated. Like in cinema, as the creators of Fiasco say: you don't watch every damn mundane thing, likewashing pots and laundry - only the adventurous moments.

The innovative side (in my humble opinion) is how Fiasco manages the creation of characters, plots and outcomes. And - for surprise to those used to roll dice for attacks, saving throws, damage, cure wounds, ad infinitum - no need for any! Outcome voted by others, and it works brilliantly. Perhaps because no one is annoyed for a failure: after all, it's a Fiasco, folks!

One thing I noticed is, that for those playing Fiasco first time it may take more than those 2.5 hours some say. For us it took more than 4 hours. But a pure pleasure nontheless! I felt like we could record the game as a ready-made movie script.

Also I believe that a session of Fiasco can be a funny way to produce possible scenarios for other game systems.

Have a nice Fiasco!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fiasco
by thomas b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 17:35:10
Fiasco is a great pick-up-and-play tabletop RPG that is easily accessible to everyone from casual boardgamers to hardcore tabletop RPGers.
While the simplicity is good, the real draw is the emergent storytelling. No matter how often you and your four friends play The Quest for the Golden Panda, so long as just one of your relationships with another character is different (there's 36 possible TYPES of relationships, not even counting how you choose to define them), the game will play out in an extremely different way. And that doesn't even look at the other 4 relationships on the board, the 36 different types, each, of Needs, Objects, and Locations which drive the game.

Though it may be a standard of emergent storytelling, the replayability is near infinite on each and every module, which is another plus.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2014 17:20:09
A small group party game, Fiasco is the most inviting rpg I think I have played. There are no character sheets and every game is a one shot. It's more a session of structured improv than an rpg in reality.

I have played the game twice. Each time with 4 players. It's fantastic. It's great as a double date activity for us nerdy folk.

The downside to the game is that it is difficult to explain the concept to someone which can make it difficult to convince them to play. That being said it's well worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Climb
by Larry O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2014 13:11:34
Played during a ski trip, so easy to get into the spirit!

Virtually all were newcomers to RPGs and we had a fun time. *BUT* we didn't develop enough conflict: there are only a few secrets/leverage/blackmail points. For instance, the Doctor said one of the "best climber" characters was too sick to summit and when she argued "It's my last shot," we all just said "Well, you're too sick, so no." We ended up cutting back the initial play period because we'd all run out of leverage points. The biggest leverage point -- an affair -- was almost instantly confronted and defused.

The walkie-talkie from Camp IV and the Summit was an excellent mechanic and we came up with a good story. One tip: Maybe have one of the Camp IV team be a "Narrator" to clarify things. For instance, the Summit team had a "carefully folded letter" that we decided resolved a conflict, but instead of narrating "So Susie, *you* had written a letter and put it in Tina's parka, wish she found and read, and now wants to talk to you on the walkie talkie..." we just played it out on the walkie-talkie and Susie was "What letter? What are you talking about?"

One *HUGE* question re mechanics: are the tokens (positive/negative events) chosen *in character* or as *player interested in the game*? For instance, I was the Meteorologist and although I was on the Summit Team, I chose the negative token because I wanted more conflict/intrigue. Another Summit Team member said he specifically chose the positive token because his character felt positive that he was summiting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Climb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Grey Ranks
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 09:58:42
Grey Ranks is an RPG with some story-game elements played in 3 sittings which details the lives of child soldiers in Warsaw in the final weeks of Nazi Occupation. The people of Warsaw lead a revolt against the Germans to take control of their city before Soviet troops arrived to occupy their city again.

Each chapter, the players will be able to participate in a "mission" where each character takes center stage during a scene, and succeed or fail together. Also, each player will be able to call a "personal" scene - which can be a flashback, personal moment, or anything else the player believes will add to the story.

Over the course of the game, characters will "grow up" - as they use their negative traits of childhood, those traits will turn into positive strengths. That "greedy" kid will become "resourceful". That "reckless" kid will grow into a "daring" one.

Characters also have something that they "hold dear", which they will at first call on, then endanger, then destroy as the situation becomes more dire.

This is an amazing game that has changed the way I look at RPGs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grey Ranks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Durance
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2013 22:25:42
This is the next game from Bully Pulpit game after the incredible success of Fiasco, and it's a clear sucess. You play in space-australia-style prison colony, with each person controlling both a convict and a jailer. Over a series of scenes, you focus on characters and try to force them to break their solumn oaths. It's thematic, easy to play and fascinating.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Durance
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fiasco
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2013 11:47:20
Fiasco is a hilarious, fun game to play with a bunch of friends. I've played 4 games so far with different groups and each of the play-sets brings even more replayability to an already varied game. This is enough of a 5/5 for me that I already owned this in paperback - I still bought the digital edition!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fiasco: American Disasters
by Jesse C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2013 12:50:03
Played the office-centric playset and had a great time. Would recommend it. There are others to play besides just that one as well. They also had some pretty interesting trilogy rules that looked fun.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco: American Disasters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Climb
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
A very simple Freeform with a surprising amount of character.

The game is carefully designed to explore the interactions between characters as they try to progress their own personal agendas. Designed to be played as a Live Action game, it doesn't take much to make appropriate props, and to drop the temperature down in a room enough to make it convincing.

All in all, without giving away too much, I feel that this scenario captures the spirit of Freeform quite well, and the use of Walky-Talkies is quite genius and really adds to the suspense and drama. I'm interested in seeing other offerings from this writer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Climb
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fiasco
by Ali E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2013 16:26:37
This is a work of genius. Fast, furious, funny and easy to play. Buy this. You won't regret it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Carolina Death Crawl
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 12:08:55
We played this with 6 (four players, two swamp ghosts) and it was a complete blast. It went into some pretty dark places and the characters paid in full for their crimes against humanity (and themselves) so I would absolutely not recommend this for anyone under 12 or so. The game is not balanced--- if you know the cards you will be able to figure out pretty quick who is going to 'win,' except for the Swamp Ghost factor-- who are the great equalizer in the game in that they can make sure certain player's characters die during each act. Players who end up as swamp ghosts hold grudges and make those players lose, usually in spectacular fashion. What it adds up to is a frantic and extremely engaging mutual story telling experience. If nothing else, a 3 hour session of this will make your players better at all other RPG's in terms of character development and discourse. I cannot wait for more sets of cards along these lines.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carolina Death Crawl
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG