RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
by Elizabeth R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2018 16:07:37

I bought this decades ago when it first came out. I never used it as intended, but more as Dungeon Master's inspiration, at which it was a phenomenal success. I'm very glad to have a PDF copy now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Map 2: Barbarian Altanis
by Barton W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 12:01:35

This product arrived as a password protected PDF. since I dont know the password I have not recieved what I paid for.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Map 2: Barbarian Altanis
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2018 16:45:03

(I bought the 12 issue bundle which is excellent value).

This really is a trasure trove of ideas.

Highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
by Donald K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2018 15:15:11

As others have noted, a bit spendy for a single map. However, it is a must have for any JG fan.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderlands of High Fantasy - Map Pack
by Nate F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2018 19:11:24

The quality of the PDF is very good. Each of the maps is available both in a one-page version and a 4-page version for printing on 8.5x11 paper and taping together for a nice 17x22 version. These are clearly not scans, they're digital files that were put into PDF form, so there's no scan problems at all, basically pixel perfect.

Note that they are black and white.

I knocked off a point for the content... mostly because whoever drew the maps made the really bad decision to make the water light gray and the forest dark gray. Maybe the originals were in color, so the blue vs. green made it look fine? I don't know, but in these, it took me a long time to realize the "ocean" I was looking at was labelled as a forest. It's really unfortunate, since this is a cheap way to get all 18 huge maps of the wilderlands.

Also note, since you can't see in the preview, these are updated maps, not the old-school maps. This is unforunate, since I think the old maps had a lot more character... but obviously weren't available in any kind of digital form in 1978 or whenever it was they were published.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy - Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Ruins (1981)
by Elizabeth R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 14:28:50

Great resource for legacy role-players. These ruins are perfect for off-the-cuff sessions, or to demonstrate to a newbie--yes, they still exist--what the game is all about before joining a full campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Ruins (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure Map 9: Western Karak
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:56:08

This map provide a bit more detail on the Western Karak than the Rhadamanthia Continental map, but nowhere near as much as the level found in the original Wilderlands sets. It does provide a geographical framework for the GM to extend the wilderlands world to the east of Tranatnis and the maps to the sout on the eastern edge of the original widlerland series. Be advised this is a map and only a map, there is no description (villages, lurid lairs, islands, etc.) like is propvided in the orognal Wilderland series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure Map 9: Western Karak
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:48:42

This provides a great deal of information on the overall world layout, and how the better known maps of the wilderlands fit into the rest of the world. Due to the scale, there is a diminished level of detail. That being said the map still provided an excellent contect for the main Wilderland maps. It also allows the GM to handle the situation where the player travel off the edge of the known world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure Player’s Guide #1: Tharbrian Horse-Lords
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:40:56

This is a very detailed view of the Tharbian culture. It is a must for anyone intendng to play characters in the Wilderlands and within that culture. I could see this adapting easily to any nomadic horse based culture as well. I don;t see this as a game aid in the sense of an adventure, unless you were to have your players encounter a tribe of Tharbians in the wilderness, and ther eit would probably take some special circumstances to prevent a brawl to the death. Being a huge fan of the Wilderlands series I found this added depth to Tharbian race and I am now applying some of this even to the city dwellers of Tharbian decent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure Player’s Guide #1: Tharbrian Horse-Lords
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castle Book I (1978)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 10:36:07

Honestly, if you're thinking of getting this book, get "Village Book 1" instead. Most of what is covered in here is covered there, but more in depth. I will be honest, I was tempted to rate 1 star.

If you want a bunch of castle maps then maybe this might be useful for you, but they honestly aren't that detailed.

The only real redeeming feature for me was the "Random Follower Chart" which is interesting, but you probably have a usable table for this already anyway.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Book I (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tarantis (1983)
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2016 14:04:17

This is the last of the City States by Bob Bledsaw. Judges Guild retreated from the hexagon system used by The City-State of the World Emporer, returning to the City-State of the Invincible Overlord's style of mapping. It comes off a bit more rigid and more mechanical looking than CSotIO, but seems to have retained much the same high-fantasy vibe.

If you are wondering why it didn't do as well or have as much fan-fare as the previous entries, it could be that most JG fans would have recognized TARANTIS as a campaign region and perhaps thought that this detailed a wilderness map. It was also a time when the RPG publishing industry was getting more glossy, more professional, and there was no matching change in quality or quality control at Judges Guild.

However, there is a solid City State effort here, and it is more satisfying than CSotWE and perhaps a bit less inspired than CSotIO. If you need or collect RPG cities, this is a good one and well worth a look.

The scan quality is not that great, with a fair amount of grey-scale greys in the text. The text itself is readable, but if it is has an OCR element, it is locked from use - you cannot copy text. All in all, passable, but annoyingly limited.

The map is, well, functional. I recalled how these maps were printed - brown ink on tan paper - and the quality is what it is, which is usable, but not very pretty, with vast areas around the city being a blight.

Me, I am quite happy to have it and give it 4 of 5 stars. However, if I were not a Judges Guild fan, it would be at least 1 star lower.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tarantis (1983)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2016 14:11:28

A very respectful and detailed treatment of the City-State of the Invincible Overlord. The maps have been cleaned up while remaining faithful to the original. The writing is good, drawing upon the original (same locations, same shop owners) often expanding an idea into something a bit more coherent and readable. For instance, the menu at THE SILVER GOBLET remains the same, but the business is better described and the 9th level Fighter that owns the Inn now has some magic gear available (should you choose to use it).

The product also includes a remake of WRAITH OVERLORD, which details many of the regions beneath the city. I had not expected this and was very happy to discover the extra value added to an already loaded product.

This helps to explain the almost 300 pages of text and maps. The CSIO descriptive text of the town is still fairly brief, but adding a large expansion did, of course, increase the page count by a great deal.

The only downside that I can see is that the maps are all inside a PDF. You will have to have a tool to extract them if you wish to use the maps with VTT software, but once extracted and assembled, they range from large to massive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Map 2: Barbarian Altanis
by Julian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 12:01:39

Poor scans, scanned in black and white mode so they lost a lot of the detail. Whoever did the scans had no idea what they were doing. There are considerable sections of this that are barely readable. The hex numbers are completely unreadable in several spots.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Map 2: Barbarian Altanis
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wilderlands of High Fantasy
by Julian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 11:46:13

This has some extremely poor scans. The pages were not touched up to remove the dark spots left by the reflection of the paper type by the scanner, nor were the black spots removed from scanning the product in book form. This isn't exactly a rare title, and for $4 a copy they could have afforded to unstaple a copy and run it through a sheet feeder so that the pages are straight.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Map 6: City State of the World Emperor (Viridistan)
by Annette T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2015 23:07:30

I need the city map, not the area map. I would not have purchased this if there were at least a little bit of a preview!!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Map 6: City State of the World Emperor (Viridistan)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 167 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG