RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
by Gregory M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 08:21:23
Back in the day I used to own this module and loaned it to a DM to run it, well I never got it back so finding this pearl now available as a PDF is great. The cover art of the PDF is different, it is not orange, it has multiple colours, same illustration though. You will have to look past the scans which contain somewhat distracting shadows from the back pages. If I remember correctly it was printed on newsprint which is very difficult to scan. If you look beyond this imperfection you will find an excellent five level dungeon. It has the background of the fortress, the Angallian Prophecies, Angall of the Perpetual Void, five mile hex area map, village of Badabaskor, two tenths of a mile map of the fortress (colour), my personal favourite pits and traps table which I use to this day, five level dungeon and descriptions (I love the old maps and the descriptions are priceless), and lastly alternate dungeon descriptions. Page 3 contains an index of acronyms commonly used by the Judges Guild authors, so if your wondering what "HO_%" means this is gold! The back cover art is great, an axe wielding barbarian! Page 30 has a fun illustration of an encounter with a black pudding typical of the sort of art you'd see in the LBBs. You will also find the JG treasure vault, which is a list of their products, very useful if your collecting. All in all you can't get more classic than this 1981 module. So I give this a big thumbs up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Huberic of Haghill Map (1977)
by Gregory M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 07:54:36
This is a very clean map of Haghill, which is a location found on Campaign Map 1. The City State of the Invincible Overlord is not far away. You will also need the additional product Initial Guidelines Book K to get the fullest enjoyment of this map which contains the key and details. Very nice!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Huberic of Haghill Map (1977)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Initial Guidelines Booklet K (1977)
by Gregory M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 07:50:21
Ok, most of you will wonder "What is the Initial Guidelines Booklet K?" Booklet K contains a Non Player Character Morale Table, Non Player Character Cutups, a Negotiation Table, Hirelings, Civilization and Technological Levels, Population, Baronies, Income, the Malevolent Character Module describing Count Kalderic, and most importantly, a key to the hexes of Campaign Map 1, the hex key to the Idyllic Isles on page K-4, Huberic of Haghill starting on page K-5, the map of Haghill split over two pages, and the key to the hexes of Campaign Map 1 starting on K-8. Now Campaign Map 1 contains the location of the City State of the Invincible Overlord, so this booklet provides very important campaign hex details, locations of citidels and lairs i.e. what monsters are found in hexes, trade guide and examples of geas (see page K-11), and limited wishes (see page K-12). Haghill is not far from the City State and is a site for a dungeon underneath the keep which is currently sealed by Huberic. There is enough detail in this booklet just on Haghill alone to allow a Dungeon Master to get started with that but to really enjoy this booklet and get the full value of it you should also have Campaign Map 1. Back in the day the initial guidelines were how we got started because there is enough information in the Judges Guild Guidelines to spark the imagination. In short, the content is very good, this booklet is decently scanned, the map is nice, and the information is well worth having in any campaign. As a model of how to do it right the JG works excel at giving Dungeon Master's the right amount of information, enough to get started and not so much that you can't personalize the campaign material to suit your tastes. So, I give this a big thumbs up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initial Guidelines Booklet K (1977)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 20:23:44
I was never a great fan of judges guild stuff, but I enjoy adventures set in Egyptian-like settings, so I'd thought I'd take a chance on this one. I remember judges guild being printed on very thin paper, so the first thing I noticed that the scans were pretty good given what they had to work with. It is your typical judges guild adventure with what seems like totally randomly placed encounters separated by a few lines for notes. There is little to no artwork within, the map is only 1 level, and the princess you're supposed to rescue isnt even beautiful (according to the module text). Well the module isnt beautiful either. I'm going to pass on this one unless I were a collector of Judges Guild material.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
by Matt E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2014 13:38:31
Man, this module brings back some memories. You can't get more old school than Badabaskor!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Duck Pond (1980)
by Gerardo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2014 11:31:47
And adventure of a duck and his fellows living in a town ruins and a dragonewt hoping to kill the duck. The adventure is quite nice and I hope that my players will play it soon. if you like old adventures, ducks and ducks, this is your adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Duck Pond (1980)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Duck Tower and Other Tales (1980 Runequest)
by Gerardo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2014 11:29:06
The adventure has a very nice old school taste. I love Gloranthan ducks and this adventure gives them a Little bit of more background.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Duck Tower and Other Tales (1980 Runequest)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pegasus - The Classic Twelve [BUNDLE]
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2014 13:48:02
I got the very reasonable priced bundle of 12 issues whic contain a mass of interesting scenarios, articles, fiction ofr all sorts of RPGs (primarily AD&D) but also Runequest and Traveller. I even noticed a Tunnels & Trolls adventure in one issue! Remember that?! Each issue is over 90 pages- theres a ton of reading here,and a bit of a trip down memory lane, as the early issues are during the golden age of AD&D (1981) when I first played in earnest.
Seriously- a great buy. The scans are fine and most issues contain a lengthy (30 page+) AD&D scenario set in JG's CIty State Campaign area.
highly recommended

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus - The Classic Twelve [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Portals of Torsh (1980)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2014 13:42:58
This looked interesting- I love the concept of portals opening into other worlds- it makes it very easy to adventure in a very digfferent world for a time before returning to the 'normal' world. And this is what Portals of Torsh is- another world where dinosaurs never were extinct. Quite good- but I've never like use dinosaurs in D&D- so may not run this. Some good ideas on portals though which I certainly will.
Scan is fine by the way.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Portals of Torsh (1980)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Village Book I (1978)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 18:26:52
Villages, towns, castles and places for my adventurers to visit. Its really just maps with a couple of tables that you may find useful. No scale is given and that is okay. I'm a smart enough guy to figure out my own scale. The maps are versatile and varied. I am a big fan of Judges Guild products. They invite you to think and create.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village Book I (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Temple Book I (1981)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 18:19:38
I like products that leave plenty of room for my ideas. This is book gives me the minimum that I desire in a useful and versatile way. There are many useful elements to these books. Judges Guild Products are classics for a reason. The interior is not very exciting to look at. The art is poor, but that is no reason to avoid this book. I am happy to add this to mu collection.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Temple Book I (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
by Pete K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 13:30:52
How can something so old be like a breath of fresh air?

This is exactly what my City State campaign needed. In fact it's so good that this, plus the Pegasus magazine content, are probably all I actually need in a Dungeon Masters Guide.

I've never seen rules the likes of which are in the Ready Ref Sheets before. I'd recommend this to any dungeon master that wants to capture the feel of the old school for her campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 14:23:03
(I bought the 12 issue bundle which is excellent value).

This is a great magazine, each issue is like 90 odd pages,and most have a massive (40+) page adventure based in JG fantasy worlds. I play AD&D first edition, so this is 100% usable material for me. There is a wealth of articles about character classes, equipment, spells and every aspect of dungeoneering you can think of.
Later issues have stuff on Traveller, Tunnels & Trolls and Runequest- all of which are fascinating. There is some fiction too which I look forward to reading.
This really is a trasure trove of ideas.
The presentation is a little basic compared to polished products of today- but I really love the retro look, and the basic illustrations which were the norm back then.
I never collected this back at the time (I was a White Dwarf fan)- and its fantastic to be able to have this now.
The bundle is excellent value- each mag works out at $1.50 or something!
Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine I (Apr-May 1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 14:14:35
Firstly- the product is great, wonderful, detailed city, I've wanted this for ages.

But I have to say that the scans are very difficult to read. I think this is because the font is small- much smaller than other modules like Dark Tower. This makes it very hard to read when printed . Its OK if you view as PDF and can zoom in.
It should be rescanned and the full use of the page, because currently there is aband of wasted space at the bottom of each page. The text should be zoomed (even if it means losing the page number). This way the text would be more legible.

I've never had a problem with any other RPG Now downloads- they have all been excellent. But CIty State was a bit disappointing- hampered by the sheer volume of info packed on each page.

Thanks,

DL

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Tower (1979)
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2014 16:02:36
This was one of the tantalising titles I remember seeing on the shelves at my local game shop back in 1981 or so- and I remember the cover etched in my mind- so 32 years later I bought it and really enjoyed reading it. I have to say that I haven't played this adventure- only read it. I plan to run it for my son when his party is higher level, the reason being that it is a TOUGH dungeon for very high level characters. The theme is two buried towers, and the party must fight down one,and up the other. Each tower is populated by either the Set or Mitra factions. Another thing to note is that there is little treasure really considering the incredible strength of the opponents. Still, when I run it I will certainly up the level of treasure and place additional major magic items for the players to find. Tough dungeons are great- but there must be big rewards if you consider how much experience a character must have to go up a level at high level.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Tower (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 145 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG