RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Citadel of Fire (1980)
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2015 20:30:32
This isn't the best Judges Guild product. Although for relatively high level parties, this adventure has an entire level of low (1-1 Hit Die) creatures for some reason that I can't fathom. Other areas contain creatures that would make high level parties shudder.

This adventure isn't near as imaginative as other Judges Guild products (i.e. Caverns of Thracia and the Dark Tower) and lacks, in my mind at least, any clear cohesiveness other than the obvious (connecting passageways and rooms, etc).

I think that with some work on the DM's part, this adventure could be very good.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Citadel of Fire (1980)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Initial Guidelines Booklet J - Thunderhold (1976)
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 21:31:45
This product includes all the maps for Thunderhold and the caverns. Scan quality is good. Brings back memories!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initial Guidelines Booklet J - Thunderhold (1976)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Initial Guidelines Booklet M (1977)
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 21:27:08
Important: This product does NOT include the maps. Compare J, which does include maps. This is an incomplete product. Scan quality is good.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Initial Guidelines Booklet M (1977)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tarantis (1983)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2015 00:18:18
Every party needs a home place of safety and comfort, a rich city state to call their own home where they may have to watch their step. Tarantis has been my go to corner of the Wilderlands. This was a product where not every square inch of the map has been coloured in and there's still a chance for fortune in glory for adventurers if their willing to watch their step and take some risks in the blood soaked streets of Bledsawian adventure!
Tarantis from Judge's Guild stirs up so many memories from the depths of my mind. I came upon this gem way back in the mists of time around 1990 something in a small side corner book shop in Boston. It was laying in the bottom of a box of comic books from the 1980's and there were some newspapers inside. Tarantis was not well received when it came out by Dragon or many of the folks who were used to the regular output of Judge's Guild products. That being said I loved it. And I've been searching for a copy of it ever since I cracked open the spine of the product. See Tarantis different from most of the JG Wilderlands campaigns. This place be came my piece of the Wilderlands in Boston where I ran it back to back for years. There are a few reasons why Tarantis is a perfect campaign city for adventurers. Its located on the Eastern subcontinent in the Wilderlands; Tarantis is a port city and home to a people reminiscent of the Turks,with bits of Pakistan, and India thrown into the background. Like many of the Wilderland governments Tarantis has a Lawful Evil or Neutral evil back beat for its political structure. The place has to with its location as a marine and trade status as a port city. The place has a strange Mongol feel about it and its a perfect sword and sorcery location because of its lack of the high fantasy feel of the other City State products. One of my all time favorite pieces of setting flavor is d100 rumor table that evokes the rest of the setting. The maps are very well done as always but there's also a sense that this was a product that was looking for a much more DYI flavor then some of the other Judge's Guild products. Sure there are plenty of details about the military forces, the army, the history, etc. and all of the details but this is a city state with blank spots that you as the DM could fill in and make this a customized setting right out of the gate and that's exactly what I did. If your looking for a good solid sword and sorcery or low fantasy setting then Tarantis might be a good fit for you. This was one of the latter pieces of Judge's Guild material and its after JG lost the AD&D licences. This means that its built along a far more generic feel then other products in the line but this also means that it has a far more system neutral appeal. Many have thought it inferior to other products that came out earlier. Maybe its partially nostalgia or perhaps its that I spent many a weekend mapping out encounter after encounter in this sword and sorcery city but I'm very fond of the Tarantis. To make up for the lack of fantasy elements I combined it with the Bloody,bloody, Arduin and given its feel it made a very nice adventurer friendly location for my home campaigns. The PC's had many a deadly time dealing with the locations that were detailed in this product. They also cover the shops and courts of Tarantis, The Tarantine Palace, Bard or Fighter Citadel, Ho Chi's Castle, The Azurerain Pirates and their stronghold. This scanned 1983 product includes the large Tarantis Area map, but does not contain the maps for Judges or Players.
There is a strong sense of location, history, and strength of adventure just waiting around the corner that Tarantis has always been one of my orderly and incredible home bases for my PC's while pirates and the scum of the Wilderland's seas were just around the corner waiting with blood soaked cutlasses for my PC's to screw up and they'd have their heads on a lance or worse as part of a slave auction just down the coast somewhere. Personally I've always felt that Tarantis doesn't get its due at all. And it just might be worth your attention. A place where adventure is just around the corner.
I ran Tarantis as if it was someplace that had jumped out of the imagination of HP Lovecraft and had tumbled out of the Arabian Knights via Ray Harryhausen's Sinbad pictures. This was a city that would have been visited by Sinbad and crew. A place where Conan and his crew of blood thirsty pirates would have fit right at home. And here Elves were an exotic sight sure to stir bewildered glances from the city guard and more then a bit of concern from the rest of the citizens. This was the city state where pillage and plunder from a thousand adventures was unloaded and traded for.
Every stripe of race and humanity came through the ports of Tarantis in my campaigns and this was my Tarantis. Very few folks had heard of it but every DM seemed to know the Wilderlands. This was also my perfect excuse to expose PC's too all kinds of exotic and interesting peoples from across history and given analogues in the Wilderlands. History is full of various peoples and races from across the world that never get used. With the spicing of various peoples throughout history Tarantis was the perfect Lawful evil ruled melting pot.
All in all Tarantis remains one of my favorite go to places for exotic adventure in the Wilderlands and one of the most unsung places of intrigue and adventure to put into action. If you haven't got it then wait till it goes on sale and grab it. I'm still looking into getting a physical copy of one of my favorite under appreciated sets from Judge's Guild.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tarantis (1983)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2015 12:02:11
Do you need a one shot adventure with a solid Egyptian style flavor? A place of mystery and challenge where your adventurers might be challenged by a pool of mystery, horror, and pulp adventure in the old school tradition?
Welcome to the Temple of Set Accursed By Ra and welcome to a new oasis of adventure. Bring extra character sheets.
The Temple of Ra Accursed By Set was one of those old school adventure romps that I've been trying to put into a blog post for the last day or so. This is a sixteen page adventure that can easily be inserted into any fantasy campaign that has an Egyptian style desert location. This module makes an excellent addition to any old school sword and sorcery campaign. Seriously this sucker can easily be dropped in and it will challenge the hell out of the players.
The blurb according to Drivethrurpg:
Temple of Ra Accursed by Set By Thomas and Edward McCloud
A grand adventure through an Egyptian-style temple, desecrated long ago by evil forces. Adventuring parties now wander it, searching for loot, and the forces of good have also entered to protect the ancient relics and restore the balance. Several new monsters are prominently featured in this 16-page booklet. The temple was originally set up for play in three-dimensional form for use with 25mm lead miniatures; instructions are provided to the Judge so that it can be set up that way. This is a nice quick adventure for a single evening, but is capable of being worked into a larger campaign as the Judge desires.
And that's exactly what it is, a single evening sixteen page dungeon set within a framework that can easily work as a touch stone or campaign set piece for the PC's to wander through. Everything about this screams drop this one right into the background of your campaigns. There are enough challenges to take the grins off of some of your high level PC's as well. There are some really nice bits and pieces in this adventure that can be easily adapted into any sword and sorcery campaign that uses a pseudo Egyptian flavor.
Do I think that that the Temple of Ra Accursed By Set is worth the download? If your into Judge's Guild products like me? Then yes but there's more to this one then simply a quick sixteen page old school adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
by Kirt D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2015 21:04:23
If you want to hear the good about this supplement, skip the next five paragaphs, as I need to get something off my chest.

Just because something comes from the dawn of the hobby, doesn't automatically make it awesome. However, while a more modern supplement might be more subtle about it unless they're deliberately trying to be shocking, a newer supplement is just as likely to have to have the biggest problem of this one: *Crazy sexism.*

Pages 5-6 of this supplement, with the simple heading "WOMEN," is possibly the most sexist thing I've read in a gaming supplement lately, particularly one as mainstream as this one was back in the day.

Here's a *small* example: "...[T]he player may obtain a relationship [with a given woman] by paying the Gift Cost. This relationship will last the number of weeks under the Duration column; to extend the relationship requires another Gift..."

Yup, keeping a woman happy is a matter of a bribing her on a regular basis!

Someone is going to want to mansplain this under the heading of "realism," and I'll just say if get a chance, look at pages 5-6 for yourself and decide.

There *is* a lot of awesome here. Like any supplement of this era, it's terribly disorganized and mixed with a lot of "meh," but there are some real gems here.

My favorites, in no particular order:

* Rules for putting up advertising in the City State of the Invincible Overlord

* A city encounter chart that includes results like "expectorated upon"

* An adorable single-page treasure table

* Rules for using beggars as an information network

* An overly harsh but interesting attribute check system

* A surprisingly effective "Buffoon" sub-class of fighter

* Construction costs for castles and elven treehouses

* A crazy-mad and highly creative table for generating magical statues

* A "so bad it's good" alignment system

* An excellent and HUGE set of sandbox generation tables

The sandbox tables *alone* are worth the price of entry. I'd say they compete well with the d30 Sandbox Companion tables, and let you have a few or as many details as you like, including a table of trees based on climate and altitude.

I'd say you get two pages of awful material, 33 pages of decent material, and 17 pages of top drawer material I plan to use in future campaigns. Totally worth the price, even with that initial burst of crazy, which is why I still give this four out of five stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Druids of Doom (1982)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2015 01:03:46
Druids of Doom from 1982 is one of those classic Judge's Guild adventures that hits all of the old school sweet spots. This one clocks in at only forty eight pages but it does exactly what it sets out to do, entertain and add that classic old school flare to the mix.
he plot goes something like this:
The House of Euklidies, a temple to Astokph the Diety of Travel and Transporter of the Dead, is asking for a group of adventurers to recover three lost magical items of the temple. Adventures must pass through the portal and enter the Druid's Keep to recover them. Contains 6 maps, 5 new monsters, and over 60 NPCs. A Judges Guild Universal Fantasy Supplement by Bill Pixley and Diane Mortimer. Cover by Wes Crumb.
Druids of Doom is pure Judge's Guild over the top old school goodness. This is only a forty eight page module with an over arch adventure that goes right into the heart of a mini campaign and it dove tails in quite nicely into other adventures that they had put out over the years.Judge's Guild like so many of the smaller press old school companies broke the conventions and rules of the time. They mixed in elements of science fantasy, weird monsters, and lots of other stuff that I have since learned was really the norm for OD&D style products. But Judge's Guild did it with style and panache all their own.
Pass through the portal? Well yes, one of the JG conventions is the idea of gates allowing adventurers to pass from world to world of the DM's design years before Star Gate was even a movie, let alone a television show. The other thing about JG products was the inclusion of all kinds of fun concepts like minor gods and goddesses who governed over many different types of aspects of life. This was like a freaking revelation to me? Wait AD&D 1st edition and OD&D had another company that was producing concepts way,way, ahead of its time? Yes they were and they were very,very, good at it in my humble opinion.
Druids of Doom features old school play with well balanced encounters, action, and a quick night's adventure in a solid package.
Druids of Doom rounds itself out with nice maps and links up with the Portals of Tosh series as well in a clever dove tail way. It makes a really nice complement to that series of modules as well. Do I think that Druids of Doom is worth your money? Yes and in my humble opinion this makes an excellent jump off point for an entire campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Druids of Doom (1982)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pegasus - The Classic Twelve [BUNDLE]
by Claudio A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2015 07:42:13
I don't know which product have watched my fellow reviewer(s) but unfortunately I have to say that we are facing yet another messin' up of a classic of role-playing gaming, I don't even want to consider the idea that the culrpit behind this crime was the mythical Judges Guild.

I mean, I understand that we are talking about magazines - maybe should be better say fanzines ante litteram - dating back more than 30 years ago, I understand that maybe to find copies in pristine condition is quite difficult nowadays but it certainly should not be impossible for the publisher who printed them so long ago.

Instead what we have here?
A series of scans (strictly black and white, so that you can - words of the website, not mine - download them best) made literally with hog's feet, especially some volumes are virtually unreadable, a sign that not only the originals were not good (they seem almost scans of photocopies, to be honest) but that has been used a really poor scanner for the job!

This is a real shame, because despite the years and all the “evolution” (but are we so sure of that?) that this hobby has known over the decades, there is something in these magazines that has been certainly lost in time and that personally miss a lot.

Here you can find ideas, adventures, reviews, opinions and everything that made role-playing worthy of playing; what you'll not find here, instead, are the atrocious mental handjobs, such all those “angst-ridden " characters and all that nonsense that – thanks to the Wizards of the Coast and the White Wolf - have literally plagued the role playing game arena in the past one and half decade.

Not only that, but unlike the "magazines" of the present day (especially whose in electronic format that are all the rage today) in these old Pegasus magazines ALL RPG that were the most popular in the early 80s are treated with the same importance and dignity; there is none, in this magazine, of the subtle slandering of "the other's games", nor are covered just the “house's” games or whose of this or that publisher, as I have unfortunately seen it happen too often in recent years.

Definitely a must have for any fan of classic RPG but, by God, ask 12 euro plus spares for such low-quality scans is a real rip-off!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus - The Classic Twelve [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
by Gregory M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 08:21:23
Back in the day I used to own this module and loaned it to a DM to run it, well I never got it back so finding this pearl now available as a PDF is great. The cover art of the PDF is different, it is not orange, it has multiple colours, same illustration though. You will have to look past the scans which contain somewhat distracting shadows from the back pages. If I remember correctly it was printed on newsprint which is very difficult to scan. If you look beyond this imperfection you will find an excellent five level dungeon. It has the background of the fortress, the Angallian Prophecies, Angall of the Perpetual Void, five mile hex area map, village of Badabaskor, two tenths of a mile map of the fortress (colour), my personal favourite pits and traps table which I use to this day, five level dungeon and descriptions (I love the old maps and the descriptions are priceless), and lastly alternate dungeon descriptions. Page 3 contains an index of acronyms commonly used by the Judges Guild authors, so if your wondering what "HO_%" means this is gold! The back cover art is great, an axe wielding barbarian! Page 30 has a fun illustration of an encounter with a black pudding typical of the sort of art you'd see in the LBBs. You will also find the JG treasure vault, which is a list of their products, very useful if your collecting. All in all you can't get more classic than this 1981 module. So I give this a big thumbs up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Huberic of Haghill Map (1977)
by Gregory M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 07:54:36
This is a very clean map of Haghill, which is a location found on Campaign Map 1. The City State of the Invincible Overlord is not far away. You will also need the additional product Initial Guidelines Book K to get the fullest enjoyment of this map which contains the key and details. Very nice!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Huberic of Haghill Map (1977)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Initial Guidelines Booklet K (1977)
by Gregory M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2014 07:50:21
Ok, most of you will wonder "What is the Initial Guidelines Booklet K?" Booklet K contains a Non Player Character Morale Table, Non Player Character Cutups, a Negotiation Table, Hirelings, Civilization and Technological Levels, Population, Baronies, Income, the Malevolent Character Module describing Count Kalderic, and most importantly, a key to the hexes of Campaign Map 1, the hex key to the Idyllic Isles on page K-4, Huberic of Haghill starting on page K-5, the map of Haghill split over two pages, and the key to the hexes of Campaign Map 1 starting on K-8. Now Campaign Map 1 contains the location of the City State of the Invincible Overlord, so this booklet provides very important campaign hex details, locations of citidels and lairs i.e. what monsters are found in hexes, trade guide and examples of geas (see page K-11), and limited wishes (see page K-12). Haghill is not far from the City State and is a site for a dungeon underneath the keep which is currently sealed by Huberic. There is enough detail in this booklet just on Haghill alone to allow a Dungeon Master to get started with that but to really enjoy this booklet and get the full value of it you should also have Campaign Map 1. Back in the day the initial guidelines were how we got started because there is enough information in the Judges Guild Guidelines to spark the imagination. In short, the content is very good, this booklet is decently scanned, the map is nice, and the information is well worth having in any campaign. As a model of how to do it right the JG works excel at giving Dungeon Master's the right amount of information, enough to get started and not so much that you can't personalize the campaign material to suit your tastes. So, I give this a big thumbs up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initial Guidelines Booklet K (1977)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 20:23:44
I was never a great fan of judges guild stuff, but I enjoy adventures set in Egyptian-like settings, so I'd thought I'd take a chance on this one. I remember judges guild being printed on very thin paper, so the first thing I noticed that the scans were pretty good given what they had to work with. It is your typical judges guild adventure with what seems like totally randomly placed encounters separated by a few lines for notes. There is little to no artwork within, the map is only 1 level, and the princess you're supposed to rescue isnt even beautiful (according to the module text). Well the module isnt beautiful either. I'm going to pass on this one unless I were a collector of Judges Guild material.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
by Matt E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2014 13:38:31
Man, this module brings back some memories. You can't get more old school than Badabaskor!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Duck Pond (1980)
by Gerardo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2014 11:31:47
And adventure of a duck and his fellows living in a town ruins and a dragonewt hoping to kill the duck. The adventure is quite nice and I hope that my players will play it soon. if you like old adventures, ducks and ducks, this is your adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Duck Pond (1980)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legendary Duck Tower and Other Tales (1980 Runequest)
by Gerardo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2014 11:29:06
The adventure has a very nice old school taste. I love Gloranthan ducks and this adventure gives them a Little bit of more background.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Duck Tower and Other Tales (1980 Runequest)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 153 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG