RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Buccaneer: Through Hell and High Water
by Cornelius W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2018 13:00:55

Buccaneer: Through Hell and High Water is a pirate setting for Savage Worlds in the spirit of pirate adventure movies like Pirates of the Carribean rather than a realistic adaption of the age of piracy. So besides typical ships, weapons, maneuvers and places, it also adds mysterious Vodou powers, holy warriors, monsters and curses. For character creation, the setting delivers fully-statted archetypes for all relevant positions in a ship‘s crew with explanations what the job includes and where that position is in the chain of command. For miracle workers like Vodouisants and Priests, it also brings fully-statted archetypes and two new Arcane Backgrounds with their own different branches and organizations. It also includes rules for arcane crafting. The Edges and Hindrances are a big mix of new entries and ones that you might already know from other settings or companions. Not all of them might fit your style of play, some might not be detailed enough for novice gamemasters, but all in all it’s the best package I know for a pirate game in Savage Worlds, topped off with fitting setting rules. For ship battles, Buccaneer starts completely fresh and lets you design your ship and its crew like characters with new attributes and skills. It also brings a subsystem for ship battles – no need to keep track of single crewmen or all of the gunners anymore. This strays quite a bit from vehicle combat, mass battles and chases you might know from Savage Worlds which means that it doesn‘t bring stats for ships and weapons that you can use with the Savage Worlds core rules in case you don‘t like their new mechanics. I strongly suggest that you at least try it once – it plays smoother than it might look at the first glance. Another new set of mechanics is the Chaos Environment, which is like a supercharged Dramatic Task. Good for chaotic, dramatic scenes you might know from media of that genre. For Gamemasters, Buccaneer includes tips to run the game – with examples for the player‘s Buccaneer code and the workings of a Parlay –, a detailed summary of places, politics, organizations, relevant NPCs and an interesting bestiary. It also features a nice, atmospheric adventure generator, should you be looking for something like that. It does not include a plot point campaign, but there’s an extensive adventure in the book and, as far as I know, there are more adventure bundles to come. All in all, Buccaneer brings everything to the table you might need for a pirate game and makes a big effort to improve the rules where they would otherwise hinder or slow down the game. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buccaneer: Through Hell and High Water
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Buccaneer: Through Hell and High Water
by Tod H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 15:37:50

I played this game at Genghiscon in Denver. I had a blast. it did a great job of making me feel I was in a pirate movie (one of the good ones.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Olympus Inc.
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2018 06:22:03

Though an interesting setting, the book is rife with grammatical errors, typos and otherwise appears to have badly needed an editor. In my opinion, it is definitely a stretch to charge $20 for the PDF in this state.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Olympus Inc.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Floorplans: Diner
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2017 14:19:54

This diner is great, very well detailed and not hard to assemble the four pages you need to print for it. at 2,5 cents a pager in my lasre printer is took about 10 cents to print and maybe 15-30 cents of tape to put it togetaher (I use a lot of tape). Only 4/5 stars due to no hex overlay, I mainly play GUPRS and Savage Worlds; both defult to hexes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Diner
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Olympus Inc.
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2017 23:54:23

I do love Greek Myths and I love the Super Powers Companion power rules way more than I do the base Savage Worlds rules. I totally believe that was the right way to take this project, rather than shoehorning God level powers into pools of power points. The Nemesis Law also does a great job of explaining why the Demigods don't just run roughshod over everyone, as she can lay her punishment down at anytime and is apparently functionally untouchable, at least in that regard. The concept is certainly unique. The closest thing I can recall to it is Corporia, which is Arthurian legend in a corporate setting. Interestingly, while that one has an AI name M.E.R.L.I.N. - which is said to be THE Merlin - the current incarnation of the Oracle at Delphi in Olympus, Inc. is also a computer.

This is certainly one of the most unique Savage settings I've ever seen, in concept and implementation. I do look forward to seeing the remaining six (or however many) Bloodlines unveiled. My biggest complaint is the tightness of the setting material, namely which of the Gods are behind Olympus, Inc. and which Bloodlines are still being propagated as that material wasn't immediately obvious from reading the PDF or from searching it. While I don't know that Corporate Greek Gods would be an easy selling for my pool of players (such as it is), I applaud Fabled Environments for doing something new and compelling, both thematically and mechanically.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2017/04/tommys-take-on-olympus-inc.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Olympus Inc.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Floorplans: Arctic Research Station
by Jennifer N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2017 07:39:09

There is no tiled version in the PDF that was delieved to me.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Arctic Research Station
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Jennifer, I am very sorry for the confusion! I'm sorry if the map description wasn't clear. To print a tiled version of the floorplan, use this feature in Adobe. Since Adobe has the ability to print a tiled version of a large document, we stopped manually creating the tiles. If you email me, It would be my pleasure to get you another floorplan from our collection on the house for your trouble-charles@fabledenvironments.com Thanks! Charles White-Fabled Environments
Olympus Inc.
by Pete M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 20:23:19

I came looking for more interesting rules to use with my Savage Rifts game and came away with an amazing setting that I will be using for sure.

With a full history and understanding of different factions and their motivations there are many great stories to be told in this setting. Add on the cool adventure builder for when you need a fresh idea and it's a book that I'll be going back to a lot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Olympus Inc.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Olympus, Inc Character Sheet
by Ron R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2017 17:03:58

Great sheet! Is there anyway that we can get a form-fillable version of this? (That would bump it up to the 5 stars!)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Olympus, Inc Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Done! Thanks for the suggestion!!
Modern Floorplans: Arctic Research Station
by Aronne G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 04:23:07

What you can expect from Fabled Environments are good maps.

This one is particular, it's not a single map of a research station, it's made up of modules that you can combine how you desire, thanks to the provided hub module, to create even more then a research station: you could easily make some futuristic/cyberpunk residential complex, with or without recreation/communal place. You can create the biggest research station on multiple subterrain levels, or a small outpost.

There are not many modules, but place like these are repetitive anyway, at least in their structure.

You get a good description on what the modules actual contain and their purpose, if you need hooks for your building life. And of course, the PDF level selection is perfect to get a better view of the maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Arctic Research Station
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Floorplans: Streetscapes
by RunklePlaysGames S. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2016 09:52:18

If you already own any Fabled Environments maps I highly recommend picking this product up to add it to your collection. It is not their most creative or detailed map set to date. But it likely could prove to be one of the most often used maps in the line depending on how you use them.

With this set you can now just about lay out an entire FE Town.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Streetscapes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Throwdown at the North Pole-Savage Worlds
by Raymond D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2015 16:54:15

Ran this scenario last year during our gaming groups Christmas get together... everyone had a blast! I'm planning on upping the ante a bit and using some of the things that were included (but not used) this year.

The only thing that I really missed was having some scaled counters for the terrain and monsters, but those can be found pretty easy on the inter-webs.

Keep up the great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Throwdown at the North Pole-Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Throwdown at the North Pole-Savage Worlds
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2015 16:11:23

I purchased this product on the belief it was a Christmas themed scenario for the Savage Worlds role playing game - however, it turned out to be a a skirmish game using the mass combat rules. If that's all you're looking for, then great - but it was not what I needed or what the item description indicated I was buying.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Michael, I am so sorry that this didn\'t meet your needs or expectations. I\'d like to send you something else from our catalog to help make this right. Can you email me (charles@fabledenvironments.com) and I\'ll make it right! Charles White Fabled Environments
Michael, I am so sorry that this didn\'t meet your needs or expectations. I\'d like to send you something else from our catalog to help make this right. Can you email me (charles@fabledenvironments.com) and I\'ll make it right! Charles White Fabled Environments
Michael, I am so sorry that this didn\'t meet your needs or expectations. I\'d like to send you something else from our catalog to help make this right. Can you email me (charles@fabledenvironments.com) and I\'ll make it right! Charles White Fabled Environments
Modern Floorplans Volume 1: Office Spaces
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2015 07:49:21

I was feeling lazy and needed a warehouse floor plan, for $7 I got a series of maps that showed a split level warehouse with a few loading docks, and a couple of offices overlooking the warehouse floor. The series included maps in two different sizes, one is suitable for standard printing the larger version seems to be designed to be used as a battle mat for miniatures. The maps also came in different versions, for instance there is an overview map, a complete map, a map without labels, and another without labels and furniture. This particular pack also includes the same sort of maps for an average strip mall and a high rise building. These will prove equally as useful as the warehouse maps. Now, I know, I could just as easily have spent a little time and drawn my own maps, however as I stated earlier I was feeling lazy and for $7 this saved me some time and effort. If you don't want to or don't have time to draw your own, get this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans Volume 1: Office Spaces
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blueprint for Imagination: Family Affair
by Shane R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 14:14:06

I wrote my full review on my blog at RPGrunkleplaysgames, this is a great bank for your buck and another good map from Fabled Environments. They have gotten very good at giving players good maps with a great one shot, side quest style of adventure for the maps the produce.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blueprint for Imagination: Family Affair
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blueprint for Imagination: Family Affair
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 10:33:30

The Family Affair is a well-crafted and fun short adventure. For the price point, it's a fantastic value, including a well-crafted story and a set of four NPC stat blocks. The scenario presents a challenge that the PCs need to research and offers several different ways for them to resolve it, with violent as well as social approaches. The back story presented is brief, in keeping with the narrative's length, but it's compelling and could easily lead to follow on products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 92 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG