RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
T-Builder - Mansion
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/21/2012 10:14:47
A very easy method of creating quick maps for RPGs that use miniatures. One drawback is that the maps cannot be saved for future use (though anyone familiar with print-to-PDF utilities should be able to work around this).

Overall, this is a reasonably priced tool for making quick custom miniature maps.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Mansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T-Builder - Undead haunt
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/21/2012 10:13:44
A very easy method of creating quick maps for RPGs that use miniatures. One drawback is that the maps cannot be saved for future use (though anyone familiar with print-to-PDF utilities should be able to work around this).

Overall, this is a reasonably priced tool for making quick custom miniature maps.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Undead haunt
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ground Set #4
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/15/2012 20:23:45
Like all of LZW’s basic “Ground Sets,” this set features paths of one texture running through backgrounds of another, in fifteen standard patterns. For Set #4, the paths are light brown and pebbled or gravelly, and the surrounding texture is grassy. The artwork is great and the layouts are skillfully executed, if somewhat mundane and uninspiring. This set doesn’t inspire many story ideas, but could easily be used to lay out a scene in a park or perhaps—especially if combined with the related expansion set—a hedge maze.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ground Set #4
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient Worlds - Column Circle
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2012 23:00:30
Like most of LZW’s 3D models, the Column Circle is beautifully illustrated and looks great on the table. If you’re willing to put in the time to build the pieces carefully, you’ll have a really nice set of 3D terrain. You might find yourself building this set repeatedly as you turn the various layers on and off to get different texture effects. I wrote almost exactly the same words for my review of the Megalith Circle set as well; in my judgment, the Column Circle is more time-consuming to build than the Megalith Circle, because the shapes are more complex. If you’re interested in this set, you probably ought to take a look at the Ancient Worlds Bundle instead of buying this set individually.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Worlds - Column Circle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient Worlds - Megalith Circle
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2012 22:56:18
Like most of LZW’s 3D models, the Megalith Circle is beautifully illustrated and looks great on the table. If you’re willing to put in the time to build the pieces carefully, you’ll have a really nice set of 3D terrain. The only question you’ll need to ask yourself is whether the considerable time investment in building the pieces is worth the use you’ll get out of them. You might find yourself building this set repeatedly as you turn the various layers on and off to get different effects. If you’re interested in this set, you probably ought to take a look at the Ancient Worlds Bundle instead of buying this set individually.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Worlds - Megalith Circle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlemap - Crystal Cave
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2012 22:12:28
I use and review a lot of terrain products, both printable and pre-printed. Good terrain and map products give me attractive and interesting stages for the miniatures to play out combat scenes; the best ones also plant story ideas in my head. By those criteria, the Crystal Cave is one of the best 2D printable terrain products I’ve encountered recently—maybe even the very best one that I added to my collection in 2012. The map is beautifully illustrated and evocative. The gridded map is positively huge, measuring 37" x 31" when fully assembled (and requiring twenty sheets of paper)! The package also includes isometric views of the whole complex and individual “rooms,” plus full-sized files for poster printing and very large (3,700 x 3,700 pixels) JPEG files for use in online tabletop software. LZW has really given DMs the whole package here! I gave this product four stars instead of five for two reasons. First, the maps, especially the ones you’d print at home, contain altogether too much black around the edges of the caverns for my taste. I’d like to see a tighter trim there. Second, although the product is marketed in English to an Anglophone audience, the English grammar is terrible. “These stone pillars are dangerous. If you want go to the other side you need go away them.” “The aim of the game may be the defeat of the monster what live in the cave, or the crossing on the cave.” I care too much about words to give such a product all five stars. LZW needs a collaborator who speaks English (or American) well to really make their prose shine like their pictures.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Crystal Cave
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ground set #10 - Desert roads, ruins
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2012 12:10:44
Like most of the other ground sets from Lord Zsezse Works, the desert set features good-looking artwork in a set of extremely predictable (if you’ve seen other LZW ground sets) patterns. Quite frankly, the notion of a brick road through a desert (which constitutes about half of this set) is rather odd, especially when the bricks seem to have been made from a non-local rock or clay. The other half of the set focuses on ruins, and the results here are more consistent with the desert feel. Clearly, most of the ruins must be the mere tops of walls that run deep below the sand, since no foundations are in evidence. Nice touches include a mound of sand perhaps created by some burrowing creature, a very small oasis, some altars and pillars, and the skeleton of some enormous horned beast, perhaps a desert-dwelling dragon (though it has no wing bones, so I don’t know about that). This set is probably best used to stage scenes in an area that was not always a desert, but has been overtaken by the sands after centuries of neglect. If the set were limited to the roads, I’d probably give it only three stars, but the ruins half of the product and the excellent artwork lift it up to four. (This review pertains to updated version, February 2011.)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ground set #10 - Desert roads, ruins
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ground set #10 - Desert roads, ruins
by Larry J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2012 14:43:26
I have to agree with the other reviewer. The tiles themselves are great, amazing detail and good assortment, however, the inability to remove the grid lines are what brought down my rating of the product.

If this is going to be the norm from now on this will be the last purchase I make for this type of ground tile.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review! The grids are on a layer in the file. Use Adobe Acrobat Reader 7 or higher to open the PDF file. After you open the PDF you can find on the left side the layers, there you can hide the grids. I hope I could help you! (The other reviewer has written his review before we updated this product.) If you have more questions write to us, please!
Rectory House
by Douglas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2012 21:33:41
This is a fantastic looking model. The artwork is vibrant, the instructions clear. This was my first Lord Zsezse Works purchase, and I'm not disappointed. The fireplace prop is really a stove. There's a small square where the resident could cook up a pot of soup (or something). That's a great little detail. Plus, the well prop can be used as a separate piece. I plan on using it as an objective for a wargame scenario.

This kit is sharp. Although it is a little more expensive than others, the detail included makes it well worth the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rectory House
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ancient Worlds [BUNDLE]
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/18/2012 20:24:55
It’s nice to have these models bundled together with a bit of a price break. I haven’t had a chance yet to build the column circle or megalith circle, but I’ll be using the temple model in game just a few days from the time I write this. The models are complex, and not very forgiving of imprecise cuts or scores; putting the models together is quite time-consuming. However, they look great when assembled carefully.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Worlds [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Crypts - Chambers
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/13/2012 23:10:16
The four printable chambers in this product are, like all similar LZW products, richly illustrated and evocative. The “cover” image might be taken to imply that you can use the chambers inside to build a complete small dungeon, but you’d need to connect them with corridors (not included) or set the crypts in a graveyard or supply a central chamber of some sort. Chamber 4 features some minor customizability using PDF layers (you can turn a pentagram and fog layer on and off). The tiles are not modular; you can’t really mix and match. These maps would be great on your table once—and then you probably don’t want to revisit them anytime soon, as they are very distinctive and would get trite if overused (hence four instead of five stars), but the price is reasonable even for one-off use.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Crypts - Chambers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlemap - Crystal Cave
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/19/2011 08:49:57
I'm planning to run a modernized version of Beyond the Mountains of Madness as the conclusion to my Delta Green game and I just know there's going to be some fighting in freaky Elder Thing architecture. The Crystal Cave Battlemap seems like a perfect fit.

It's obvious Lord Zsezse Works thought through this supplement. The Battlemap is not merely a single map for printing, but a variety of views, including an isometric and overhead view. The overhead view has a layer to turn grids on and off. This isometric view is annotated to give some context to the weird things that are in this cave. There's poster-sized maps of the isometric and overhead views, a welcome addition for those with access to larger printers. There are also versions of the map for online play.

For general strangeness, these maps don't disappoint. Alien plants, glowing crystals, a deep hole, a stone dragon head, and a fountain are all detailed here. I'm not thrilled with the dragon head – it commits the map to a fantasy scenario – but the vaguely pebble-hide sculptures do lend an alien ambiance to the design that still make it generically useful.

Overall this is an excellent map of the weird and will do nicely for my Elder Things' Construct.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Crystal Cave
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlemap - Pirate & Ghost Ship
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2011 04:44:34
A truly awesome set of maps!
Probably the next year I'll start a 50 Fathoms campaign, and this map is very useful and very well crafted.
Recommended for every pirate based game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Pirate & Ghost Ship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T-Builder - Fireworld
by Tobias G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2011 14:05:13
The T-Builder is quite easy to use, it's just a matter of clicking on the options in the layered pdf menu. The graphics are pretty good, though somewhat in favour of a Diablo-style fantasy game (not too much scifi specific content). This doesn't matter much, as the vast majority of the graphics is universally useful and useable. All in all, the product is well worth the price, and I have no serious criticisms.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Fireworld
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlemap - Kryos family crypt
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2011 16:11:21
I like this set, it's quite evocative and quite beautiful. My biggest gripe with it though is the orthographic top view print outs. They're good and all, but since these are the ones that can be used with figures for gaming, it should be broken up in ways that make sense for encounters. The breaks in the pieces don't really make sense. There are parts of walls on one piece and sections that really go with other rooms. I guess it's just the way it broke out, but I've managed to reassemble it by cutting apart some pieces and it seems to still break into manageable sections. My main concern with this is that if you don't want to lay it all out immediately, but rather introduce rooms as the characters investigate, these breaks reveal too much. Otherwise though, I really like it and will be using it for my games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Kryos family crypt
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 158 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG