RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Void Core PDF
by Jefferson L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2016 12:01:00

Muito bacana, dá a sensação de ser um sucessor espiritual do CthulhuTech. O que seria da Humanidade caso a Guerra do Eon não tivesse acontecido...


Com certeza será um dos jogos que vou jogar nesse ano de 2015!


Recomendo a todos que comprem/baixem a versão digital, e se possível, comprem a edição fisica. Vale a pena cada centavo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Void Core PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void Core – Character Sheet
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2016 17:14:15

Seems to look OK on the PDF reader, but printing it to such a quality that you can read EVERYTHING on the sheet is a totally different matter.
While the Summary Data box looks OK, the Bruised, Battered, Hurt, and Incapacitated text at the bottom half of the sheet is unreadable (and I've wasted many sheets trying different printer settings).
White text in black boxes for this sheet just doesn't seem to work.
So it gets 3 for looking nice, but nothing more for being a pain in the butt for printing clearly on some parts of it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Void Core – Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void – Explorers of the Mind: Psionics
by TiMar L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 23:06:23

I'm gonna be honest, I was biased to like this from the start. When I wrote my review for the core rulebook was to point out how awesome it would be to have psionics in this game. With that said.


This is a very fast read. Like super fast. You'll be able to finish it in an afternoon. But it's a good read. If you like psionic stuff then this book is for you. It's not over the top kind of psionic powers. And it's not the quasi magical powers that you see in other games (such as D&D or even another horror game like World of Darkness). Instead this comes off with a very X Files like feeling, with your powers being low key.


There are five powers; pre cog, telepathy, medium, clairvoyance, and psychokinesis. Nothing flashy, but lack of flash fits a horror setting. There are also rules considerations for how to integrate them into play and how they can complicate normal story progression and ideas on how to keep your story going. It also happens to list monsters that may be psionic.


So overall a good book. I hope they do a future book and if so I'd love to see a few more powers, development on Division 6 and Yuntai, and possible consideration with how these powers may interact with Madness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Void – Explorers of the Mind: Psionics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CthulhuTech V2: The Shadow War Open Beta
by Taryn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2015 01:49:43

The Horned Ones (animal-people who rape the player characters) are still around, the artwork of female characters is still skeezy, the use of the term "China Doll" to describe an albinistic person is REALLY insensitive, and there are some unfortunate racial attitudes in the descriptions of how the playable species see themselves.


Also, the rules are still basically those of a 90's style RPG, one that's on the upper end of the complexity scale. Character creation has fifteen steps, and the "optional disadvantages" make for some very silly min-maxing. It feels like it WANTS to be a miniatures game, but the fiddly rules place it closer to 80's BattleTech than a modern skirmish game like Malifaux or Warmachine (or even 7th edition Warhammer 40,000).


On the plus side, the experience point system is much less punishing than CTech v1's, Tenacity no longer seems to be the god stat, MOST of the creepy stuff CTech is known for seems to be absent, and it no longer assumes that the players and their characters are all guys with its pronoun use. The rules look like they've been cleaned up a lot in general, and even the fifteen-step character thing is spelled out pretty well.


Just ... don't expect anything significantly better or more playable than a 90's style RPG. And since this is basically just the character creation rules, it would be really hard to try to play this without other Cthulhutech books.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CthulhuTech V2: The Shadow War Open Beta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chthonian Stars Core Setting
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 14:55:29

I like the setting, the background was well done. I would have liked to see more of their materials converted over to Traveller but I understand their now supporting their system.


If you are a Traveller fan and want a fun and different background to use, you need to buy this book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chthonian Stars Core Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CthulhuTech V2: The Shadow War Open Beta
by Ronaldo F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2015 09:17:16

Feels more like an Alpha then a Beta, with all the missing mechanics. But also feels more customizable and the rules better structured then V1. Hope the mecha books follow the same road.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CthulhuTech V2: The Shadow War Open Beta
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void Core PDF
by Russell G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2015 07:22:00

I just got around to downloading and looking at this and I regret not doing so sooner.


This is was the "hard sci-fi meets the Cthulhu mythos" RPG I was looking for. The rules have found that oh-so-rare perfect mixture of crunch and ease-of-use, the setting isn't so fleshed out that it's a straight jacket and isn't so vague that it can just be ignored. When you add the expanded character creation rules (different book) there is literally no background a character can't come from... so if the idea of playing highly skilled space-cops doesn't appeal to you and you're looking for something where the characters don't necessarily have the best available backgrounds to meet the threat, that option is available too. Loved the setting, the mechanics, everything cover-to-cover and the fact that it's free on .pdf is perhaps the best advertising for a game I've ever heard of... all of my players can have a copy loaded onto their Kindles or e-readers, etc. (though I fully intended to buy the POD version too to support the product).


If I have a complaint it's only that there isn't enough support material for it. There's a technology and ship book that was advertised that I'd really like to get my hands on those (Cultist Pirates anyone?). I've been looking for an update but the latest has been from 2013.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Void Core PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void – Stygian Cycle V
by Stirling W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 15:39:50

I've been buying the Stygian Cycle of adventures to mine for ideas in my own space adventure game I'm running, rather than to play directly. As such, I have to say the idea of a colony suddenly appearing years after its mysterious disappearance, with no indication that time has elapsed, was a very interesting plot hook, and one I may well use in my own game.


That said, and without giving away any spoilers, I have to admit that I'm somewhat disappointed by the final explanation of what was going on. Given who and what was behind it, and the motivations and abilities of the various creatures involved, I would expect there to have been other more effective things they could have done to achieve their ends. Still, the basic story is sound, even if I have trouble with some of the motivations for it, and considering the price, I don't really have much to complain about.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Void – Stygian Cycle V
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void Core PDF
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2015 22:03:17

As it is by itself, The Void Core is a good RPG with a nice theme. Though my interest in getting The Void Core is to use it as a source of ideas to pick and choose from for use in other systems. I find the system is of great use in tricking out / modding the GunCrawl game system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Void Core PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void Core PDF
by Joachim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2015 04:46:40

For a rulesbook that costs nothing, "The Void" is a bargain. It is clear to me that the authors want to make money with the sourcesbook after giving away the core book for free; so I did not expect the core book to ceover each and every question in detail.


Nevertheless, "The Void" suffers from multiple flaws. The crucial question how much a Warden (player character) knows about the occult nature of the universe is never answered. It is the Warden's Job to fight monsters but it is never stated how much they know about creatures, cults etc. or which of the Monsters given in the rulesbook are already known and what is known about them.


The skills "Occult" or "Cryptozoology" may be useful but there are no clues how to actually use them.


The example characters have flamethrower and combat shotgun; both arms do not appear in the "weapons" section, however. Especially a flamethrower should have special abilities like hitting more thsn one target, follow-up damage by burning etc.


The rating for the Warden armor is 10/5 on sample characters and 10 in the "weapons" section.


The rules for madness are very superficial.


Over all, "The Void" is too superficial in many ways; unfortunately, even in the "Secrets of the Void", this continues. If you want to play "Monster of the week", fine. If you want more depth, "The Void" only scratches the surface.


"The Void" as a setting is promising but lacks substance. It's like peeling an onion shell by shell with the authors giving you only the outer shell.


I am also disappointed that the authors seem to reduce horror to monsters that eat you or kill you, i.e. blood and gore.


The the mood of a Lovecraftian background, however, is absent.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Void – Stygian Cycle I
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 21:36:02

The material is interesting so I'm using it as a basis for some stuff I'm running now. Not using the system or the 'Organized Play' stuff but interesting story and the art is GREAT!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Void – Stygian Cycle I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void Core PDF
by Sarah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2014 01:01:53

This has potential to be an excellent game, but has yet to achieve excellence. Some things that my group and I noticed when playing, that could use some work... THe Horror tests need greater clarification and fairness for the initial test. And the effects can be very extreme and frustrating for the players when their character is removed from combat/task with no chance to recover with a saving roll or something simular. Character Sheet needs some tweaking it is confusing, some of the notes are in the wrong spot. Also the Character sheet is difficult to read when printed out. To much packed onto a single sheet, as a result some parts were to small to read properly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Void Core PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Void Core PDF
by Jenette D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2014 21:07:13

It's hard to add anything to the already well done reviews already present, so I'll just add that for a free product the production quality is excellent and makes a solid addition to the survival horror in space genre.


Although it could have benefited from more artwork throughout the book, what artwork is present it of excellent quality, the setting is one sure to appeal to fans of sci-fi horror.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Void Core PDF
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 19:38:20

Artwork, fiction and premise is very interesting to me which is why I dove in on this and have bought both Stygian Cycle adventures. I thing I like is the blend of sci-fi and horror for a very Aliens feel. It is also more approachable than some of the newer 'Transhuman' sci-fi games that are interesting but very hard to get players to understand the setting. Once again, this is easier to understand.


So if they idea, fiction, approachability and artwork are 5 stars, I gave this a 4 because the system is a 3 in my opinion. I'd suggest simply provide the setting for a couple base systems like Savage Worlds and Fate Core. I'd rather the authors focus on what they are good at...story. Leave the RPG system to something that people will know quickly and has been tested out alot already.


Also the intro adventure at the end had an interesting premise and build up but the ending and monsters were meh for me. So it was a 3 also.


I'm going to use some of this material in another setting with different rules anyways so the story is what I want to steal ideas from...solid start guys!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chthonian Stars Core Setting
by andrew g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2014 22:47:06

I love this product. Even over the void. It feels more complete. It has more creatures than the void plus as it's traveller there is already plenty of support out as in central supply catalogue etc. I prefer to use 2300ad tools for frontier living as they are more hard scifi equipment. I know there is no support for chthonian stars however the void system is d6 while traveller is 2d6 so converting over creatures is a doddle despite the change in attribute names. Hopefully the world books will be just as easily converted. Beautiful product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chthonian Stars Core Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 51 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG