RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tweaks
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:54:10

Competent & functional. Contains just enough setting, plus a few vague story prompts; enough to go on but you can do whatever you want with it. One flaw: Characters start with an amount of money between $111 and $444, which is maybe enough to buy one upgrade. So it's either street-level teenage shenanigans, or you'll want to make some allowances for starting equipment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tweaks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Librarians of Doom
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2016 18:47:55

This seems like it would be hilarious, but 2/3 of this is devoted to the system (even though they advise you to buy another download containing the rules), and the explanations of setting are vague to the point of being useless. In essence, they're like, "Hey, wouldn't it be funny if librarians were evil and there was some quasi-religious order fighting them? You should do something with that." Thanks, guys, but that's what I paid you for.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Librarians of Doom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mysteries In The Dark - Rarr I'm A Pocket Game #3
by felbrigg h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2016 06:47:31

I like the PocketMod format for micro RPGs and so I was predisposed to like this before I read it. After the read through I can confirm I like what I've read.

The trick with pocketmod games is getting a rules system and a "feel" for the game all stuffed into 8 tiny pages. I believe the publisher has managed that.

The core die roll mechanisms in here are D6 based with actions generally being "save vs stat" with some modifiers. That's pretty standard affair, but your character can also have special mysterious abilities, or might even be cursed before the game starts. There's not a lot of crunch here, and that's the right way to go with such a small game.

Hard to believe, but the rules also cater for character skill progression and a creeping level of fear that could turn your hero into a quivering wreck.

As to the feel, I get the pulp-era horror magazine feel from the game. The "mummy" cover is very pulpy with a monster stealing a beautiful young woman, and this continues inside with the suggestions of mysteries to investigate.

In summary, a simple (and tiny) system to throw in your top pocket and take with you everywhere.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mysteries In The Dark - Rarr I'm A Pocket Game #3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Solo Hack
by Jojo B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2016 01:46:34

I wont go into a long diatribe about this. Instead, I will say that I played three adventures for about three hours. My guy went in ugly and stupid, came out dashing and smart.

It's an excellent addition to TBH, and Iwould love to see more in the future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Bikini Hack
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2016 00:02:56

I bought this mostly to see what it was. Basically it has some ideas and rules for running a 60s style beach party setting. There are some rules to do some stuff for that settting.. but nothing about the setting, no adventure ideas, no examples of what you should be expected to do. I would suggest 1- a price list or guide lines of what stuff cost in this setting, 2-a short generic description of a local beach and town, 3-a page of adventure ideas (10 or so one liners or a mad lib kind of thing), This could have been useful but as it is now it's like a rushed job just put out there to captialize on the Black Hack wave. I will update this if the product is improved. ;)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Bikini Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Whole Lotta RArr! [BUNDLE]
by Gerwazy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2015 01:58:13

A reasonable amount of games for a reasonable amount of cash. I am content with such a deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Whole Lotta RArr! [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Roll With Words
by Randal M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2015 18:14:37

Simple and nice. LARP, Kids Games, and more... Thanks for sharing this as a free download! Can I reference this in my kids game ( Stargazing ) as an alternative to my own rules?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roll With Words
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Roll With Words
by Ettrick R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 20:00:44

Brilliant solution.

I am always on a quest to find another method of generating results without depending on a roll of die or dice. I'm going to run a session this weekend simply to explore the mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roll With Words
by Don C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2015 17:02:59

This is a great idea and I can definitely see myself using this when caught without dice or phone-based rollers, say playing a solo dungeon or rolling up characters on a train. The included tables save a lot of effort, but it wouldn't take long to set up a couple of tables from scratch with just a pen and some plain paper if you had to. Well worth downloading for free to recognise a great idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2014 02:24:21

Loved it when it was QADD. Now it's even better (and faster!) as a TnT adventure.

Remind me to tell you how half the party killed itself before ever reaching the Sanctuary!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monster Menagerie
by Jerry T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2014 11:07:31

I have a very limited understanding of the Monsters! Monsters! game. In essence, it is very similar to Tunnels & Trolls, using the the similar modifiers to the base rolled stats to create a character for the monster's view of the world - kidnapping and eating dirty human villagers, moving into a dungeon and setting up its defenses against those trespassing delvers, or just simply trying to amass a horde of like minded monsters to rampage and pillage.

Monster Menagerie does a wonderful job of presenting some new monster types for use with either game. My first opinion of the work is that I want more! There are some wonderful ideas for new monsters that the creative T&T GM can use and expand for his own use. Many special abilities are mentioned that could be expanded to be included as special attacks as a result of Spite rolls by the monsters to make them a bit more unique. The artwork is very distinct and nice touch to the overall look and feel for the tome.

There is a very expansive and creative list of spells for the mysterious 'Eeek' monster that sadly does not seem to have an illustration (either internally or in the cover image), unless the Eeeks are the glowing eyes in the background of the cover? I believe some of the spells could use a bit more information or examples regarding how they would work in a game, but just my own personal and selfish opinion.

More creative and inspired monster lists are something that I feel are definitely needed to support growth for the T&T game. For those that may be new to T&T, and with the upcoming release of Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls by Flying Buffalo, keep in mind that the basics of the game are quite consistent. This and many works by companies that support the game system are compatible across all rules editions.

This is a very good and promising start to what will hopefully be a series of supplements from this author. Who knows, maybe I need to give Monsters! Monsters! a chance at my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Menagerie
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Cyber.net.ica Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Harry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2013 23:04:13

Just got this last night and really like the Tweaks and Souls of the Machine games. There are some really cool concepts here which can easily be ported over to your favorite game system...or you could use the simple system included. The Tekxorcist and Techmaturge in Souls of the Machine are highly recommended for anyone mixing magic and scifi. Well done!

Unfortunately I did not receive the download link for 'Monkeys On Juice nor did I receive credit for buying it as part of the advertised bundle for Cyber.net.ica. I cannot locate a contact the publisher link on the site here so I am waiting until they see this post.

Harry Smith



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Cyber.net.ica Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hobb Sized Adventures!
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/16/2013 05:48:17

Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/05/16/tabletop-review-hobb-sized-adventures-tunnels-trolls-7-5/

Being a big fan of solo adventures, I seized the opportunity to review this set of six adventures, all of them very short. Designed for use with Tunnels & Trolls 7.5, which I actually am not very familiar with, these adventures range from the slightly serious to the overtly silly. I’d say all of them could be played in less than twenty minutes (twenty minutes each, I mean). Did I enjoy them? Let’s go through each adventure and I’ll give my thoughts.

Tomb of the Toad

This is a very short adventure, probably doable in five minutes. You are chased into an old, slimy tomb, and you may or may not run into its primary inhabitant for a boss fight. You have a few rooms to explore, but you’re pretty much railroaded into either meeting the big guy or running away. The linear nature didn’t really bother me, it was kind of fun just to have an adventure that felt like a small slice of a larger adventure. What is also really nice is that the adventure is narratively bookended by the main character (you) being chased by a big, nasty monster, so there is this feeling of continuity that is intriguing (as opposed to the standard adventure ending of “You Win! The End”).

Duck Soup

This is one of the sillier ones. An old woman harasses you into going and getting a “duck” from the pond for dinner. This one I enjoyed the least, since it involved wandering around a pointless and unnecessary maze-like edge of some village, retreading the few entries again and again until I somehow hit the right road to the pond. There are a few humorous twists that I appreciated though, and the in-game humour written into the characters of the story was also really fun.

The Challenge of the King

Oh sweet Xenu, this one was pretty funny. Damn annoying, but funny. You have been randomly chosen to be wed to the King’s “daughter” (notice now two subjects of the story in quotes?), but first you must pass his test. This involves being pushed through a portal into a strange series of rooms entered and left by other portals. Inside each room is a nasty surprise like a monster or trap but also treasure. Fun for the whole family, really. Several endings are “happy,” and some are actually happy. This adventure is notable for its extensive use of tables and randomness.

Tower in the Marsh

This enigmatic adventure is a bit more sober, beginning with an adventurer finding a strange tower. Again, the adventurer is being chased by some nameless monster and must get inside. Inside, there are some creeps and scares, and some strange goings-on. One way or another, you’ll find your way out (possibly into another story). I liked this one, the tower had an air of mystery around it that I enjoyed and that made me want to explore more. The endings were funny and/or as wistful and mysterious as the rest of the adventure. Again, feeling like I had just played a few minutes in an adventurer’s shoes was cool.

The Harvest of Souls

This is a horror-themed adventure about being persuaded by a frightened farmer to go and confront an evil pumpkin-gourd-vine demon that lives in the pumpkin patch. Another of the more serious adventures, this one can take some time to read since a lot of the entries are quite long and full of dialogue and narrative. I found it to be less snappy and interesting than the others, essentially consisting of combat and another maze to stumble through. A bit like playing through a short young adult story a la Goosebumps or something.

Beware, the Viper!

This is perhaps the shortest adventure of the bunch, and probably the silliest. I won’t ruin the punchline for you, but in this context I thought it was pretty funny. I can just imagine Steve Jackson or Ian Livingstone turning the concept into a whole 400-entry book and at the last paragraph…the joke. Ah, I would die.

Overall, I found this to be a fun exercise in solo adventuring. The author has done a good job with different takes on short solo adventures, using different techniques in each one for various effects. The silliness and jokes are generally well-done, and in the end the stories feel like tales that villagers tell each other around a campfire or in the tavern. The adventures have recurring characters and places, and it starts to feel like a little world-building has gone on here. It’s nice.

I dunno, I feel like I should deride these adventures for being anti-grandiose but I really like them. They feel very “slice of life” to me and not stressful or overwhelming. The production value isn’t bad (it’s not great), and the propensity to substitute “to” for “two” is a bit unsettling, but there were no glaring errors that ruined the play of the adventures, and I think that’s what really matters here. For under four bucks, I think they are definitely worth a read and a laugh. Play through them when you have a few minutes, bring them on a plane or bus ride, whatever. I should also mention the artwork by a Jon Towers, which adorns the cover, but I think just clipart was used for the images in the adventures. If you like this book and want more adventures, check out the website at Hobb-Sized Adventures. I enjoy and endorse this style of adventure, and I hope to see more of them in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hobb Sized Adventures!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Half Sized Adventures
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2013 16:37:27

This is a pick-a-path adventure book. I have to say I am disappointed as this is not what I expected. This is not to say that the product is not good its just not what I expected it to be is all..

Pros: 5 adventures, nicely written, short with a dozen or so events each. Good for in the glovebox for those boring waiting times.

Cons: I would have prefered this to be in a dual column format, Also it would be nice if it took more then 10 minutes to read it all.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Half Sized Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

QADD: Quick and Dirty Dungeons
by Lora A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2013 23:42:55

One of my first thoughts concerning QADD was that it wouldn't be good to introduce new players to RPGs with. However, I can now see that it would be excellent for such a thing provided it's a game run by an experienced DM who doesn't mind making up things on the fly.

After a couple of runs through the solitaire adventures “Duck Soup” and “The Mad King's Challenge”, I decided to see just how “quick” QADD could be. After the usual pack of middle-aged ne'er-do-wells showed up I told them I was going to teach them a new system in five minutes and we were going to test-run it. I quickly handed out index cards and told them what to write down. I explained the abilities and how the dice pertained to them and taught them about combat. While I was doing this I came up with my story line about rats gnawing at the sewer supports under the street. Everything else just sort of flowed.

So, after a five-minute crash course on QADD, five minutes for character creation (and only slightly longer for spell selection), and a momentary pause to get the munchies on the table, we were off on a delve that took about 15-20 minutes with only short pauses to clarify/invent some rules. The adventure was a success not only in that everyone had a blast, but also that QADD did exactly what it said it would do. It delivered a quick and dirty dungeon.

There are many good points about this system, not the least of which is the ease with which it can be learned and memorized. One page, front and back, and no charts to keep track of. Quick character creation, quick combat resolution, and even my flimsy rat-fighting plot found a comfortable pace with the open-ended flavor. The equipment list is far from complete, but one quick glance and you can figure out where any typical pseudo-medieval weapon should fit. The list of races is minimal; elf, dwarf, and hobbit, as well as human (naturally). Again, the modifiers for the races are done so simply that any new races can easily be added to the list quite easily.

The only drawback I can see is that it will take an experienced DM to fill in the gaps left by this very rules-light system. The examples given for combat are for one-on-one encounters with only one variation, an example of rolling for mass combat. No example is given for a party ganging up on one target. This is problematic since combat is based on a “high roll wins” situation, when both sides roll simultaneously and the difference is the damage that goes to the loser (reduced for armor, etc). RAW, this means that a party of four attacks a single monster at one attack each while the monster gets four attacks. An experienced DM might rule that the monster attacks only one target, and any other “attack rolls” that the monster wins are simply misses on the party's part.

In summary, if you're an experienced DM you should grab this game. Easy to learn, easy to teach, it can introduce newbies and satisfy the itch of veteran gamers who just want a quick delve with emphasis on action. This is a product that lives up to its name; Quick and Dirty Dungeons!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QADD: Quick and Dirty Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG