RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
by ray c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2016 20:10:20

First off; this is quality sci-fi writing served up in easily read chunks. It's a great read anytime, but I found it fit quite nicely into a morning commute.


It's a great look into the world of Eclipse Phase; and provides some view points that have been missing from the rule books.


It's also a nice bit of kit to have in your GM tool box, as it provides succinct explenations for for some of the more difficult to grasp elements of the setting. Such as the mesh, and ego & morph. All right at the front of the book.


Fully recommend picking it up, and lending it to your new players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
by Lonnie H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2016 08:56:17

A short story collection set in the Eclipse Phase universe. In keeping with the setting of the RPG, the stories tend towards horror and the grimdark. Fair warning up front - several of the stories have already appeared as flavor in the Eclipse Phase sourcebooks and corebook, but two thirds of the stories are new, and one of the older stories has been finished with the part appearing in a future sourcebook. The writing is generally excellent, but people new to the setting may have a bit of trouble with some of the slang, in-game terminology ported over to the fiction, and the fairly large amount of nonhuman protagonists and characters. The book contains a very helpful 'What is transhumanity?' primer for those unfamiliar with the ideas of the genre. Overall, some very solid reads, and recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 17:15:50

A collection of short stories that ring true to the Eclipse Phase RPG setting - I really liked it!


Favourite story is 'Prix Fixe', but really they're all pretty good (even re-reading the ones that were existing chapter-opening fiction was a nice reminder of why I love this setting).


Some of the stories include things for which there are no rules in the RPG; if you're going to get annoyed by that stuff I still say buy it and just skip those :P



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2015 16:36:41

This is an outstanding quick-start, and convinced me to purchase the hardback. As I've read in reviews, I knew the rules were "front-loaded", ie very difficult and complex to start with, and for character generation, but when running the game it's far less complicated. I really like the d100 system, as I'm a huge BRP/CoC fan. This is my first foray into transhuman sci-fi, and the possibilities are just stunning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Transhuman Sample Characters
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2015 22:37:13

As I said in the core sample characters and the firewall sample characters, same basic problem.


Five stars for a great free pdf supplement to print out at your leisure using all the toner out of your printer.


One star for $10 worth of cards that are printed back-to-back rather than one character per card, so you can never have one person play the Ultimate Gatecrasher and the person across the table easily play the Zonestalker. I will probably end up buying this again only because I'm a fool with money to blow on stupid stuff like extra copies for completeness' sake.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman Sample Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Firewall Sample Characters
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2015 22:34:53

Five stars for an excellent free PDF excerpt from the Firewall book.


One star for double-sided printing, so that you can never have one person use the Ultimate Purifier and a person across the table use the Titanian Science Police Inspector. Kind of defeats the purpose. I suspected this when I bought them. If I ever need to run some kind of Firewall-heavy non-sentinel campaign, I may have to buy a 2nd set of these, because I'm a a fool and like complete sets of things.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Firewall Sample Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Core Sample Characters
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2015 22:32:28

The cards wren't cut off improperly in my copy, as the other reviewer stated, but I do lament the fact that they are printed back to back. I wanted to run Continuity, using these cards, but the Anarchist Techie and the Argonaut Xenoarcheologist are back to back, so I can't really do that. I am a fool, and so I may also just order a second set of these. It'd be better if in the future, somehow drivethrurpg just had these printed single sided. Otherwise, this is a very useful PDF, and well worth zero dollars. If you want the cards, you may feel the need to buy 'em twice.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Core Sample Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2015 11:15:02

It's a solid enough adventure, but I can't help but feel that it wasn't balanced or playtested enough. It's definitely the SEED of a really fun little adventure; a good GM could turn the half-dozen or so NPCs into memorable, fun characters the PCs will enjoy interacting with, but there's just not that much substance. There are no guidelines on what kind of PC skillsets are appropriate for the adventure (as written the party can be thrown into combat with a quartet of Speed-3 dual-wielding assassins, which depending on party composition could be a tough but winnable fight, or a 50-minute slaughterfest that ends in a TPK) and it looks far too easy for a party of ego-torturing killbots to just buzzsaw their way through without any social skills at all. A good GM can salvage all of the good and fix the bad; but the fact that modules are supposed to come with all that work done already is holding me back from rating it any higher than 3 out of 5.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2015 05:44:06

Another excellent sourcebook from the guys at Posthuman, this time covering all things Firewall related from its origins to current operations & personnel and giving some great plot-hooks along they way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Firewall
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Colin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 14:58:31

An amazing and vital resource for anyone running Eclipse Phase with Firewall agents.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2015 14:10:53

Firewall answers the many many questions that come up about Firewall then promptly makes you ask many more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2015 21:58:39

This is one of the EP books I've been waiting for - an inside look at the conspiracies and operations of Firewall; that organization standing between mankind and annihilation by ETI, AI, and itself. Really enjoyed the deeper look into the times before the Fall, the Prometheans, new exoplanets, and a details of the various ongoing operations that Firewall juggles. This book is definitely one of the EP GM's (or fan's) "must-have" supplements!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2015 02:06:16

As a Pay What You Like, it's a great product. Nice artwork and a good spread of pre-gens you can hand out to first time players or for cons.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Core Sample Characters
by Hendrik N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2014 16:45:39

I bought the printed cards just to have some nice pre-made characters I can hand out to new players or at one-shot sessions. Here are my thoughts on them:


Positive:



  • The cards are not too thick, but still stable enough to stand some handling, and have a nice semi-gloss finish.


Neutral:



  • Contents and layout are exactly the same as in the core book. That could be either a positive or negative, depending on one's viewpoint...


Negative:




  • The cards are somewhat smaller than the pages in the core book and, more importantly, do not have the same format. In my case this has led to the title/character descriptor at the top being slightly cut off on most cards, which detracts from the otherwise good looks of the cards.




  • The sample characters are printed back-to-back, which could be problematic if two players wanted to play characters that are on the same card. In my opinion, this defeats the main purpose of the printed cards, namely having a wide selection of ready-to-play pregenerated characters.



  • High shipping costs from the US to Europe, though this is not DriveThruRPG's fault (shipping took two weeks).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Core Sample Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Lonnie H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2014 13:17:34

I really really REALLY wanted to run this so bad that I'm GMing for the first time in over 20 years. The background (and implications thereof for the players) just hooked me right in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG