RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2015 11:15:02
It's a solid enough adventure, but I can't help but feel that it wasn't balanced or playtested enough. It's definitely the SEED of a really fun little adventure; a good GM could turn the half-dozen or so NPCs into memorable, fun characters the PCs will enjoy interacting with, but there's just not that much substance. There are no guidelines on what kind of PC skillsets are appropriate for the adventure (as written the party can be thrown into combat with a quartet of Speed-3 dual-wielding assassins, which depending on party composition could be a tough but winnable fight, or a 50-minute slaughterfest that ends in a TPK) and it looks far too easy for a party of ego-torturing killbots to just buzzsaw their way through without any social skills at all. A good GM can salvage all of the good and fix the bad; but the fact that modules are supposed to come with all that work done already is holding me back from rating it any higher than 3 out of 5.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Bump in the Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2015 05:44:06
Another excellent sourcebook from the guys at Posthuman, this time covering all things Firewall related from its origins to current operations & personnel and giving some great plot-hooks along they way.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Firewall
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Colin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 14:58:31
An amazing and vital resource for anyone running Eclipse Phase with Firewall agents.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2015 14:10:53
Firewall answers the many many questions that come up about Firewall then promptly makes you ask many more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Firewall
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2015 21:58:39
This is one of the EP books I've been waiting for - an inside look at the conspiracies and operations of Firewall; that organization standing between mankind and annihilation by ETI, AI, and itself. Really enjoyed the deeper look into the times before the Fall, the Prometheans, new exoplanets, and a details of the various ongoing operations that Firewall juggles. This book is definitely one of the EP GM's (or fan's) "must-have" supplements!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2015 02:06:16
As a Pay What You Like, it's a great product. Nice artwork and a good spread of pre-gens you can hand out to first time players or for cons.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Core Sample Characters
by Hendrik N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2014 16:45:39
I bought the printed cards just to have some nice pre-made characters I can hand out to new players or at one-shot sessions. Here are my thoughts on them:

Positive:

- The cards are not too thick, but still stable enough to stand some handling, and have a nice semi-gloss finish.

Neutral:

- Contents and layout are exactly the same as in the core book. That could be either a positive or negative, depending on one's viewpoint...

Negative:

- The cards are somewhat smaller than the pages in the core book and, more importantly, do not have the same format. In my case this has led to the title/character descriptor at the top being slightly cut off on most cards, which detracts from the otherwise good looks of the cards.

- The sample characters are printed back-to-back, which could be problematic if two players wanted to play characters that are on the same card. In my opinion, this defeats the main purpose of the printed cards, namely having a wide selection of ready-to-play pregenerated characters.

- High shipping costs from the US to Europe, though this is not DriveThruRPG's fault (shipping took two weeks).

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Core Sample Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Lonnie H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2014 13:17:34
I really really REALLY wanted to run this so bad that I'm GMing for the first time in over 20 years. The background (and implications thereof for the players) just hooked me right in.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2014 21:12:53
The following review was originally posted at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=45290.

Eclipse Phase, the gaming system and universe developed by PostHuman Studios is, essentially, “Transhumanism, the roleplaying game.” For those who are not familiar, transhumanism is the ideology that humans will soon use technology to evolve and become something more than what we currently are. Eclipse Phase has this in spades. It presents a world where your body is replaceable, skills can be purchased as software and death is regularly little more than an inconvenience. The result is something very different than your usual roleplaying experience: you can be an octopus uplifted to human-level intelligence in a robot body as part of an art exhibit on Mars, or you can be a former human engaged in a heady philosophical debate with a digitized version of yourself and be losing.

There has been an incredible level of detail, work, and vision put into the game system; which can be both a great opportunity and a heavy burden on gameplay. The sheer volume of detail and options makes it very easy for players and GM alike to be swamped. In an early play through of the game with my gaming group, players routinely found that they were unaware as to all the options that they had, resulting in gameplay screeching to a halt as someone reached for the book. Paying attention to all the moving parts, however, is extremely rewarding. The depth can be one of the most amazing parts of the game. In my experience, deciding which aspects of the game to set aside for your play sessions is rewarding.

The system works extremely well. It’s a d100 based system with some tweaks to it, like the capacity for players to critically succeed or critically fail. It also addresses one of the ongoing problems that I had experienced with Call of Cthulhu using the d100 system, namely how to determine who has succeeded in actions that are opposed. Eclipse Phase resolves this through a simple and easy to understand mechanic that keeps the speed of play going. There are also some interesting mechanics, in particular one called Moxie which allows players to either re-roll a dice, or switch the 10’s and 1’s digits on their d100, to assist players in ensuring that they have agency.

Ultimately, the system and the background materials present a wide swath of content and a flexible system that can serve whatever your gaming group wants; whether it is a space opera, exploring the universe in a Stargate-esque gatecrashing scenario, or even something relatively mundane like spying for hypercorporations in the future, Eclipse Phase has the mechanics and the tools for you to use. Where the game really shines, however, is wedding the mechanics and the mythos that is provided within the books. The Eclipse Phase canon blends Lovecraftian-esque mythos in the form of things that cannot be understood by mere humans with advanced, singularity level artificial intelligence. When memories can be hacked or altered, or weeks of your life can disappear with a computer glitch, Eclipse Phase shines. It also shines when it is handled in a mature manner, but it can definitely be used in any manner of different scenarios. Tackling major philosophical and existential horrors is where this game excels. To get a better idea of how this can be handled, I highly recommend picking up one of the free scenarios that have been posted online to see the cosmic horror that Eclipse Phase can realize.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Million Year Echo
by Andrea-Massimo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2014 10:54:05
Nice introductory tool or follow up diversive to any Martian scenario in the brilliantly detailed and innovative ECLIPSE PHASE universe.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Million Year Echo
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Million Year Echo
by Colin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2014 13:26:21
An absolutely amazing adventure! I love EP scenarios like Ego Hunter and Bump in the Dark, but the newer ones (The Devotees and Million Year Echo) are setting an incredible bar. The plot can get pretty awesome if you combine this with Zone Stalkers for some more TQZ action but even on its own this is enough for a great adventure. We'll see what the future holds, but right now this is the Tomb of Horrors of the Eclipse Phase scenarios out there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Continuity
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 21:54:48
This was the funnest adventure we played during our short stint in EP a couple years ago. My players absolutely loved the intro and I have used similar intros in new adventures (not going to spoil it). Needless to say, my only complaint is it was too short!

EP needs more material like this that has better legs to go on for more than two sessions. The follow on ideas did have enough meat for me to run so we tried other stuff. Unfortunately by that point the damage was done. I could not recreate that excitement with any follow up material and the players wanted to move on to something else.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Continuity
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 21:41:40
Probably the most provocative settings I've read to date. Beautiful art and background. Unfortunately my only negatives are that the system is not to my taste and there is not enough solid adventure material to help GMs run this complicated, yet interesting, setting.

When there are more 'stories' to use for adventures and the FATE version is available, I believe it will get a stronger following.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Zone Stalkers
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2014 08:26:19
Excellent sourcebook containing some great info on the TQZ (Titan Quarantine Zone) on Mars, how to get in & out of it and who you might bump into while there. Some great plot hooks as well to give your players a reason to go into this most dangerous area of Mars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Zone Stalkers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Zone Stalkers
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2014 19:52:26
An excellent overview of the TQZ and the hazards contained in it - making it clear what a cancerous growth there is on the face of Mars. Ranging from a view of zonestalker culture and the profits to be had from the Zone's terrible treasures to the denizens and threats of the zone, with a heavy enough seed of hooks and the usual 'intercepted communication' sidebars to provide solid flavor and meat.

I'd put this as a must for any EP GM planning to run a game on Mars, even if they never plan to have the group go near the TQZ.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 104 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG