RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
The City of Faymouth
The City of Faymouth
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Life and Death
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2014 11:58:58
Great little campaign. Cool background ideas to go with one of the simplest, most fun systems out there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Life and Death
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

River of Heaven
by roy h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 15:26:11
Great game i have been with it from the start i am one of the play testers and i love the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
River of Heaven
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monkey RPG
by Luke D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2014 01:43:58
I'm not made of money (unfortunate) so I was drawn to this because of the pay what you want. I have also bought other D101 Games title, so that was another point of intersection. I also liked monkey on the TV, and this game draws inspiration from the same source used by that. I also have friends who like monkey.

This game uses a deck of playing cards instead of dice, meaning it could be played in a caravan or dark pub without fear of losing dice every where.

I have to admit that I haven't had much chance to play just yet, but I am finding the book easy to read and follow, even from a smartphone. I am about to get into the character creation that I know my friends love doing more than playing itself!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monkey RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OpenQuest 2 Deluxe
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2014 13:51:58
OpenQuest 2 (OQ2) seems rather familiar to me.
It reminds me of the Age of Shadow (AoS) RPG.

They both use the OpenQuest system, so OP2 shouldn't be too difficult to get into (for me anyway).

Charts in OQ2 are the same as AoS (combat modifiers, etc).

ArtworK: ok; not too bad.
Seems ok for the price since it's now below the £10 price.

Worth a try. Give it a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OpenQuest 2 Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crypts and Things
by Dylan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2013 20:33:59
Crypts & Things Review from Digitalorc.blogspot.com

The Good: Coherent rules and complete material for a Howard-inspired world.
The Bad: Poor grammar and occasionally poor artwork.
The Bottom Line: If you like old school Dungeons & Dragons and Conan, buy it.

Introduction
Crypts & Things is a stand-alone roleplaying game with a Robert Howard-like flair. The system is a highly modified Swords and Wizardry variant based on the Open Gaming License. I suppose some would call this a retro clone variant and others would call it a Heartbreaker. Crypts & Things is written by Newt Newport and published through D101 games. I bought the PDF from RPGNow for $10.99 and printed out a hard copy for annotations for the purpose of this review. However, a softcover via Lulu is $23.50 and the hardcover will run you $40. Crypts & Things is copyright 2011. It is 151 pages in length and features interior illustrations by Steve Austin, Eric Lofgen, Scott Neil, John Ossoway, and Scott Purdy. This review focuses on the following elements: layout, grammar, completeness, artwork, character creation, combat mechanics, non-combat mechanics, monsters, and spells.

Crypts & Things is an excellent game with everything you need to start roleplaying a game of Conan after a single reading. For those of you already familiar with Swords & Wizardry or early editions of Dungeons and Dragons, you will certainly recognize terms and rules, but will also want to read Crypts & Things in its entirety. Readers of Dragon magazine and OSR blogs (such as Digital Orc) will find many familiar rule changes and ideas. The value of Crypts & Things is not that the ideas and rules are particularly original or the writing elegant and precise (because it is not), but in how the entire package is effectively aligned towards a specific genre. If you like old school Dungeons and Dragons and Conan, you will like this game.

Layout
The layout is typical of a retroclone such as Swords & Wizardry or Labyrinth Lord. The entire text is bifurcated into a players section called “Scrolls of Wonderous [sic] Revelation” (yes, I’ll address the grammar in another paragraph) and the Game Master’s (called the Crypt Keeper) half called “The Book of Doom.” The text begins with a brief introduction to roleplaying, then quickly marches a reader through the twenty-some pages of character creation. Next are twenty pages of spells and fifty-some pages for monsters. The Crypt Keeper’s section includes general advice, rule clarification, tables, and a sample adventure.

There are a few walls of text, but most pages are pleasantly broken up with artwork and clear tables. Frequent quotes in large fonts add character, develop mood, and also break the pages nicely. Examples are italicized and a variety of shape outlines (rectangular, ovid, etc) help differentiate content. Pagination is consistent, and the table of contents and index make quick location of content in print versions relatively simple.

Grammar
The Grammar in Crypts & Things is atrocious. At times it is confusing and others nonsensical. For a product in which nearly all aspects show a degree of polish, the grammar sticks out like a turd in a punchbowl. British spellings and rampant misspellings aside, the syntax itself is often so poor as to confuse rather than clarify. Hyphen are missing, spaces are added, and profuse commas abound where no two clauses exist.

For example, “This is the Countess, would be bride of the Nizur-Thun slain in her sleep before her wedding night day the attack and returned from the grave as a Ghoul.” (p.129) The stat blocks (see combat mechanics paragraph) are also strangely inconsistent. Movement, Specials, and Saving Throw includes a colon, but not Armor Class, Hit Dice, or Experience Points; it splits based on abbreviations. In some cases entire lines are either missing or indentation is misused (e.g., Appendix B, p.134).

The writing oscillates from the typically informal to the formal with frequent and unnecessary passivity. Terms are needlessly repeated; “... which are gained as the character gains…” (p.9). Even the text formatting fluctuates. The fighter stronghold paragraph, for example, has inconsistent line spacing (p.12).

Completeness
Crypts & Things is wonderfully complete. It includes everything a Crypt Keeper needs to run years of campaigns. Set in a specific world called Zarth, the text contains plenty of unique locations, magical equipment, monsters, NPCs, spell, and campaign ideas to keep gameplay exciting.

Artwork
Conan has a long and intertwined history with comics. Many famous artists such as Frazetta frequently used Conan as source material. Therefore, anyone going into an RPG emulating Robert Howard’s world of the Hyborian Age likely expects spectacular art. Crypts & Things at times offers effective illustrations, but fails to deliver high quality art that channels Howard and supports reading and gameplay. Some of the pieces are appropriately dark and macabre with thick lines and lots of black space. These pieces certainly align with the themes of the text and develop a sombre mood. However, other art is composed of light sketches and falls flat. Some of the illustrations are also reused through the text.

Character Creation
Character creation in Crypts & Things is fantastic because players have the opportunity to delve deeper into a smaller selection of classes. The system has eliminated all demi-humans and clerics and added one class. This provides a total choice of four classes: hardy barbarians, strong fighters, smart magicians, and dextrous thieves. Crypts & Things also removes alignment (and thus alignment languages) and collapses the traditional numerous saving throw values into one. All characters can backstab and the traditional thief’s skills of climbing, moving silently, etc are distributed amongst the player classes.

Character creation also includes a “Generate Life Events” table which not only fleshes out a character’s backstory, but also involves mechanical applications (p.19). Rolling a five, for example, results in “”I was a slave at a royal court.” +2 CHA.” Not only do beginning characters roll on this table, but developing characters continue to roll on this table every three levels or at the Crypt Keeper’s discretion.

Despite these simplifications, Crypts & Things players have more choices with their characters rather than less. The character creation pool is less wide, but far deeper. There are fighting styles, spell types (more on that later), and an expanded modifier table. Characters have class skills to tweak and sanity to protect. Even though the first step choices are narrowed compared to comparable retroclones, the overall character creation process is enriched. Such an alignment-free human-centric world not only aligns with those of Conan and Red Sonja, but with the way many people already play Dungeons & Dragons.

Combat Mechanics
Combat is very similar to Swords & Wizardry: determine surprise, declare spells, determine initiative, take turns acting, repeat. There are, however, a smattering of differences. The rules permit “holding” an action until the end of a round, for example (p.27). Holding two weapons also provides a +1 to hit, but the off-hand weapon must be a dagger and the damage is the average of the two weapons. Also, character classes, themselves, include several modifiers to hit and damage that players must take into account.

In many places categories of combat rules are entirely sidestepped by an ambiguous deference to the Crypt Keeper. Critical hits and fumbles, for examples, begins “There is no official system for handling critical hits…” (p.30). The rules for retreating are confined to two sentences: “It is up to the Crypt Keeper to decide if there will be any special rules for retreating away from a melee combat. Most Crypt Keepers allow the enemy a free attack if the character or monsters) moves away by more than its “combat” movement of base movement rate in feet.” (p.30)

Monster stat blocks are concise. Skeletons, for example, are included in the provided four page adventure, “The Halls of Nizar-Thun.”
"Skeleton: AC 7 [11] HD 1 HP 4 Attacks: Short Sword (1d6) Saving Throw: 17 Special: None Move: 12 XP 15" (p.129)
The Crypt Keeper is frequently reminded that combat and, indeed, all rules are malleable or even optional. The author employs such an approach both in keeping with the old school spirit of house-ruling and to prevent the setting from changing the rules significantly. “Remember none of this is written in stone.” (p.131) “I don’t want to get in your way by making the rules heavily setting-dependant [sic].” (p.132) The Crypt Keeper is also admonished to “Not overdo the rules” (p.135).

In Crypts & Things Hit Points “represent only ‘superficial” damage.” (p.32) This includes exhaustion, bruises, minor damage, etc. They are easily and quickly recovered. However, once a character’s Hit Points are reduced to zero, they take damage directly from their constitution. This state requires checks to remain conscious and is far more difficult from which to recover.

Non Combat Mechanics
Characters have a collection of non combat skills determined by class and life events. These skills include abilities such as climbing, opening locks, perception, tracking, sense danger, and others. Any character can attempt any skill; they simply do not receive a class or event-induced bonus to their roll.

Speaking of rolls, all characters have a solitary numerical saving throw. It is the basis for a universal task resolution system. Characters attempting any non combat task simply rolls a 1d20, applies modifiers, and compares the result to their saving throw. If the total results is equal to or greater than the saving throw, the task is completed successfully. Not only is this system wonderfully simple, it encourages players to increasingly interact with their world. It also provides a generalized and consistent framework for the Crypt Keeper.

The sanity rules also employ the simple task resolution system. A character’s Wisdom attribute determines their sanity. Any time a character encounters black magic or witnesses “unspeakable supernatural horrors”, they must roll against their saving throw or lose 1d6 Wisdom (p.26). Once, or if, a character reaches zero, they are irreparably insane and unplayable. The remaining rule framework is Swords & Wizardry. Gaining experiences, passage of time, encumberence and hiring henchmen basically follow the same mechanics.

Monsters
Many of the monsters of Zarth are ported directly from Swords & Wizardry. The fire beetles and cockitrice, for example, are near-identical transfers. Many, however, are both unique and effectively channel the feel of Conan. Serpent Men, for example, are a dangerous species of lizard-men. Nemon are an interesting amphibious humanoid variant. Overall, there are over one hundred monsters.

Spells
Spells are somewhat different in Crypts & Things compared to Swords & Wizardry. While some of the terms and effects are similar, the way in which they are organized and cast is significantly different. Spells are organized into three basic categories; white, grey, and black. White magic heals and protects, gray is illusionistic, and black is harmful. Grey magic can physically injure (or even kill) the caster and dark magic can drive them insane (at which point their character is unplayable and handed over to the Crypt Keeper). Casting is Vancian and organized into both tables and pages of clarifying text. There are a total of 142 spells; forty-four while, forty-four grey, and fifty-four black.

Conclusion
Crypts & Things is awesome; I love it. It still makes me want to run players in the dark world of Zarth, even though it needs another edit job and better artwork. While the rules are not particularly original or groundbreaking, they align very well with the world of Conan. At first glance, Crypts & Things may appear to over simplify Swords & Wizardry. However, it actually offers greater complexity in a human-centric world where magic is dangerous, enchantments are rare, and every encounter could be your last moment of sanity. Won’t join me in a visit?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crypts and Things
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tomb of the Necromancers
by Joshua D. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2013 09:15:12
Full review here: http://geniuslocigames.blogspot.com/2013/10/short-review-d10-
1-games-tomb-of.html

Using the five star system used by Onebookshelf I would give “Tomb of the Necromancers” a 4 out of 5. The nature of the adventure (typical explore, loot, kill) is nicely offset by the number of roleplaying opportunities present within the main dungeon. At the same time the “open world” situation and the implications and politics being played out are interesting, engaging and really set things up for a good short campaign or a long running behind the scenes villain. Paul Mitchener does a good job of painting the Ice Coast/Death Wind Steppe in broad enough strokes that an average Crypt Keeper can come away with enough ideas to fill his or her game for quite some time.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Necromancers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crypts and Things
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2013 12:55:10
Crypts & Things is one of those games that has been sitting in my "to be read" pile forever. It is an Old School game built off of Swords & Wizardry. Some of the material is familiar to anyone that has played S&W or any of the various D&D/Retro-clone games. Where C&T differs is in scope (what the characters can eventually do vs what the creatures can already do) and tone. C&T is very much "Conan vs. The Horrors". It tries to go after the same ethos as say Dungeon Crawl Classics or Lamentations of the Flame Princess. I think though it succeeds where those two games fail with me because it still assumes that the characters, rough cut as they are, are still something of a hero.

The game begins with the same basic info on Abilities found in all old-school games. We get to classes. Here there are some changes. The Barbarian is a core class for example. The Magic-User and Cleric are now rolled into a Magician, which is not a bad change really. They are stronger than their OSR counterparts (d6 HD vs the more common d4). The Magician also can channel White, Grey or black magic; so effectively 3 classes. The other classes are Fighter and Thief. If you don't like Clerics (as a seperate class), well this is your game.

Hit points are also handled differently in C&T. It is less health and more a measure of health, will, and determination to live. Honestly it is the same as a house rule I used to use back in the day.

There is a completely old-school Random Life Events table (which, like most everything in this book, can be used with other games).There are a few pages on equipment, on styles of play and about 20 pages of spells.
Additionally there is a minimalist Sanity mechanic that I thinks works rather well. I am a huge critic of sanity mechanics in RPGs and I feel that most never get it right, especially in a heroics-based rpg. While there is a lot of room for interpretation in these rules, the gist of the rules are good. I can certainly say I don't hate this mechanic.

The rest of the book (about 3/5 ths) is devoted to the game master or Crypt Keeper. This includes a little bit about the assumed game world, a pastiche of Howard, Lovecraft, Smith, Moorcock and other Appendix N luminaries. Normally I scoff at this, but here it works rather well. More to point it can also be ignored or added as needed since it doesn't take up a lot of space.
Next we have Treasure. Like many games of this sort there is not a lot of magic items. Indeed there are only 20 total; designed to be rare and special.
After that is the monster listings. This is what really sets this game above and beyond it's peers. There are plenty of monsters here both new and old. There is also a monster creation section.
We end the main book with a sample adventure.
13 Appendices follow that would work for any game and finally a great looking character sheet.

What is Crypts & Things good for?
It is a great addition to any S&W game for starters. Get it for the monsters alone, or the revised Magician or Barbarian. There is something here new for you.
It is a great addition to any OSR game for a grittier, "us against the darkness" sort of game.
In terms of horror, it is the subtle creeping horror. It is somewhere between Ravenloft (minus the camp and cliches) and Call of Cthulhu. Though unlike those games which has the implication of "looking for trouble" in C&T trouble comes for you.

Honestly almost everything you need to know about C&T is on that cover. A magician and barbarian fighting snake-like lizard men.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crypts and Things
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Company
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2012 19:49:21
The system, based on OpenQuest, is well polished in this supplement although the 'professional' level characters may feel a little underpowered to some. It's not a particularly crunchy set of rules either, if people are expecting this sort of thing from a RuneQuest derived ruleset, with the skill lists being relatively short and no magical abilities or the equivalent.

The game premise is pretty tight too, with 'The Company' being a (largely UK-military-style) international mercenary outfit that feels suitably 'modern' in it's plausibility. The illustrations are all taken from stock photos, which largely captures the right feel. You could run a lot of modern military missions within the scope of this game.

As a small print game, therefore it's pretty successful, although it lacks a 'hook' (supernatural or otherwise) to attract a bigger RPG audience I'd argue. You could add in supernatural elements taken from any other number of compatible BRP games, but of course this would detract from the 'real world' aspect of the original premise.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Company
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Company
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2012 03:05:49
The Company is a rather good game of modern combat, but (there's always a but), there are some 'niggles'.
Under the attributes section, it just lists Strength, informing the reader of damage modifiers, but not throw range or lift capacity (encumbrance).
It should have listed/described the other attributes, like DEX, etc.
Also, are the weapon ranges in feet, yards or metres? (It doesn't say).
What skill do I use for throwing a grenade, and how far can I throw it? Page 82 does state (after much reading), that the throw range is based on STR.

Other RPG's I've read in the past few decades, usually inform you (clearly), things like what range type it uses (yards, feet, etc), lift capacity (encumbrance), throw range, etc.

GOOD: very good data on the Company and other organisations, weapons, equipment.
Some rather good pictures, etc.
PRICE: A bit too pricey at £9.48, perhaps somewhere around £5-£8 would have been better.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crypts and Things
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 05:36:39
In five words or less: I LOVE IT!

C&T captures the flavor it intends to – the feel of weird fantasy sword and sandal pulp stories. A S&W variant, it’s more Howard, Leiber, Moorcock and Lovecraft than Tolkien, but you knew that already.

So the flavor of the game is fun and well executed, and it affects the rules in a few significant ways. There are four classes, the Barbarian, Fighter, Magician, and thief. Every PC! Yes, since “everyone is a rogue” in these stories, all the PCs can backstab if they get the drop on a target. I like this, and it doesn’t take away from the thief class.

This thief is more Gray Mouser than Bilbo Baggins, maybe a slightly better fighter than the original thief, but other than that is basically the thief we know and love.

The fighter has some neat options to customize their abilities and make sure they’re not all cookie cutter fighters. This design strikes a nice balance between feats and kits or fighter subclasses. They can be monk-like brawlers or pursue weapon mastery, for example, but can’t do it all. I find this to be an elegant way to add options without too many rules and power bloat.

The barbarian is well designed to honor the tropes of Barbarian while being distinct from the fighter class. Again, since everyone can backstab this feels very Conan to me (admittedly, I haven’t read all of Howard’s Conan stories and only a few Fafhrd and Gray Mouser stories, but C&T gives me this impression).

The Magician can learn magic that in regular S&W (or any OSR or D&D game) would be Wizard and Cleric magic; now it’s just Magic: organized into White, Grey, and Black magic. Naturally white magic is good and kind and helpful, Black is evil and harmful, and Grey is the other spells that transform, hypnotize, charm, or create. Here the rules changes get interesting.

The most significant rule change IMO is that hit points are not representing one’s physical health and well being; hit points represent their endurance, willpower and stamina; their Grit if you will. So PCs are not killed at 0 hp, they start taking Constitution damage. Naturally your character is killed at 0 CON.

I really like this change! Because of it,healing is different; healing spells only heal CON damage, not HP. Also, your HP refresh every night of full rest (since they’re more about mental and physical stamina than physical healing) and you can even ‘heal’ some HP with a good stiff drink. This too, totally works for me: The heroes gird their loins, take a swing of bravery, and leap once more into the fray. Perfect. I’d argue a good rousing speech would heal some HP following this paradigm. There are magical healing potions as well, but they’re far less common than normal S&W.

This really gets interesting with magic, as White magic can be cast as often as you can memorize it (the familiar Vancian system) with no negative effects (except one 6th level White spell that pisses off the evil entities). Casting Gray Magic costs your Magician Hit Points. It’s the classic trope of suffering physical strain to use magic forces that Man Was Not Meant To Tamper With. It SO WORKS! Black magic is even better: You have to kill a sentient being to or risk Sanity Loss to cast Black magic spells. LOVE IT. And Wisdom equals Sanity Points in C&T, similar to Call of Chuthulu, but simpler.

There are most of the spells you’d expect, a few that are new (to my knowledge) and most are tweaked to better fit the setting. The "skill system" if there is one is to use the character's Saving Throw (modified by attribute bonus or penalty) to resolve any roll not covered by class abilities or defined some other way. I first encountered this method in X-plorers, and find it to be elegant - simple yet effective, and it keeps the game fast-paced.

The setting included in the book, the world of Zarth, reinforces the entire milieu perfectly. I’ll leave it at that, because it’s a good read, but I'm excited about the Shroud, which surrounds and permeates the world of Zarth and is a source of power for Magicians daring to use it. The Shroud, sort of like the Mists of Ravenloft, is the thin veil that encases and separates the world from the Outer Chaos (or whatever it’s called). Some Black Magic spells function because the caster interacts directly with the Shroud. For example, slipping into it other-worldly ethereal non-space to disappear from one location and reappear in another (teleport). Another example is to use the Shroud to become invisible, just like when Frodo puts on the One Ring and enters the Nazgul phantom zone (so there’s your Tolkien, if you must have it, LOL). Naturally, travelling in the Shroud is a sanity-bending experience for the uninitiated and it attracts all sorts of attention from the Others (C&T’s name for Outsiders/Demons/Elder Chaos beings, etc). Good stuff!

The magic items and creatures all follow this sort of design and enhance the flavor of the setting and game swimmingly, and I think the whole of C&T totally rocks, if that wasn’t clear already. The book itself is well illustrated and laid out well. I bought the pdf to save money, but even printed on three hole punched paper and put in a binder it looks great. I also like the art; it is it effective, evocative and kinetic. Just take a gander at that great cover!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crypts and Things
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Company
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 17:08:11
Amazing game!! Five Stars all the way!! If you are looking for a game about modern war where you only control 1 player instead of an entire squad, then this IS the game!! The rules are simple and easy, but yet still have the depth to make the game flow smoothly while making it completely accurate. It also gives you a great background and idea of the company, who you are working for, and the world around it so that the Game's Master can easily and thoroughly create a campaign. However, there are a few places where you might have to re-read the section because the wording is confusing or spelled wrong. Overall though that won't matter because it's easy to figure out what they mean. All in all, THIS IS A MUST BUY!!!!!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Company
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crypts and Things
by Idle R. H. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/07/2012 23:29:09
While not entirely to my tastes, Crypts & Things is definitely still one of the better Old School Renaissance games that I've read through recently. It's a darker toned game, drawing inspiration from the works of Clark Ashton Smith, Fritz Leiber, Robert E. Howard, and even a little H.P. Lovecraft. As a result, it's closer to the Weird Fantasy Swords & Sorcery genre rather than the "classic" fantasy of J.R.R. Tolkein and the more recent fantasy role-playing games.

I'll get the few little things I dislike about the system out of the way first and then move on. At the top of this list is the "to hit" tables. Yes, back in the day lots of role-playing game systems used tables to determine the results of certain actions, especially combat. Currently though, tables are seen as being rather clunky and outdated as they tend to take time to read and can slow down the flow of the game. I get the feeling that the author included the "to hit" tables to make the game feel a bit more "old school" but I could have done without them. Thankfully the author included a formula for determining hits without using the tables, but it's tucked away at the end of the Combat section and easy to miss.

The other little nit-picky thing I dislike about the system is the two Armor Class systems presented. One is the classic descending system (with AC9 being unarmored and AC3 being platemail) and the other the more recent ascending system (with AC10 being unarmored and AC16 being platemail). Both systems work well and effects that modify Armor Class (such as stat bonuses, armor, and spell effects) have rules for both systems. But Just like the "to hit" tables vs. the "to hit" formula, I wish that there was just a single mechanic rather than two options for the players and GM to choose from. This is really just personal choice though, and other people may love the fact that two combat systems are included in the book.

On to things I like about the system and setting. The "saving throw as skill resolution" rubbed my the wrong way at first, but now I actually like it. It's a nice simple way to resolve skill checks without having to keep track of skill points or remembering what skills the PCs are trained in. As a character's saving throw increases as they advance in levels, players will feel as if their characters are getting better without having to spend resources to improve a specific skill. The Crypt Keeper (DM/GM) also has the freedom to apply subjective bonuses/penalties based on the situation, instead of having to pour through a list of specific modifiers for specific skills in specific situations.

Magic seemed rather unbalanced when I first read the Magician class entry. Magic is divided into three schools; White, Grey, and Black. Mechanically, White magicians are at a big advantage over Grey and Black magicians. White magicians have no penalty when casting spells, while Grey magicians suffer exhaustion, and Black magicians risk sanity point loss and permanent mental damage. I thought it was odd to have one type of magic so clearly superior to other types, yet list all three as options for players to choose for their characters. Only after reading the Appendix did I discover why this is. As mentioned in the introduction, Crypts & Things takes it's cues from the darker, Weird Fantasy Sword & Sorcery genre. Magic is intended to be dark and mysterious, used primarily by corrupt and insane wizards for nefarious and unspeakable purposes. It's not really meant to be heavily used by the player characters, as in the more "standard" fantasy games. Magicians are clearly the "bad guys" and the mechanics of magic use reflect this. The hefty penalties imposed on Grey and Black magicians are there to be reminders of that fact. Characters who follow these paths are meddling with the forces that man was not meant to know, and are walking the razor's edge with a dangerous drop into insanity on either side. Once you accept this fact, the magic rules make sense.

The Appendix is also quite useful, even if you don't plan on running a Crypts & Things game. There is a nice section on the role of the Crypt Keeper and the do's and don'ts of running the game that can be applied when GMing just about any system. There's a few sections that allow you to generate random objects, areas, elements, and even the Big Bad that can be used when the players head off in an unexpected direction or to jump start the Crypt Keeper's creativity when planning a session. Crypts & Things is worth the price tag, whether you plan on running an "old school" game or are just looking for ideas on a darker Swords & Sorcery variant.

You can find other reviews on the Idle Red Hands homepage at http://www.idleredhands.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crypts and Things
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crypts and Things
by Dominique C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2012 04:18:03
I bought this game out of curiosity. Basically, Crypt & Things is a variant of Swords & Wizardry that aims at running adventures in grim and gritty sword and sorcery settings. In fact, it provides such a setting, but I personally find it a little simplistic and bare-bone.

The main differences of rules C&T provides compared to S&W, is to get rid of clerics, and replace the usual generic magic-user by a mage that must either opt for White, Black, or Gray magic. The hindrance for playing a Gray mage seems ludicrous (it costs 2 hit-points per spell level to cast a spell, where White mages cast without hp cost), but it can be easily discarded. Same remark for black mages. C&T also provide a thief and a barbarian class, and the fighter can be customized.

Apart from this, I also appreciate the magical items that have some dark and detrimental aspects. The art and layout on the over hand, are often mediocre (though there is a couple of nice illustrations).

Overall this is a decent game. I give it three stars, as I find it neither bad nor great.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gloranthan Adventures 1: New Begininings
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/07/2012 21:51:18
An excellent first issue for this RuneQuest fanzine, which captures the essence of classic RPG fanzines very well. The four-part story arc contained within would be an excellent introduction to RuneQuest for new players and gamemasters alike.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gloranthan Adventures 1: New Begininings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OpenQuest
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/25/2011 14:47:02
OpenQuest is a game that readily admits to standing on the shoulders of giants. Much of the foundation of it, as a game, were laid by the multitude of designers from Chaosium and Mongoose working on Basic Roleplaying and the games that it inspired. That does not, however, make this a knock off by any stretch of the imagination. Like many games being put out today, particularly those among the retro-gaming and Old School Renaissance movements, OpenQuest is first and foremost a labor of love by its creator Newt Newport.

As a gamer, I am not as young as I used to be and I do not have the free time that I used to have. That means that, in recent years, I have been looking around for simpler games once again. The pendulum of game design for me has swung back and forth between simpler, self-contained and easy to use/understand game systems, and those with more complexity and requiring more work and number of books. When I started as a gamer, games were simpler and easier to work...and then as I grew older and more experienced with role-playing in general, I wanted more complexity and more options; thinking that was the way that I wanted to go with my gaming. Eventually, though, all of this added detail started to bog me down, and slow down my gaming. I'm not knocking games with a higher level of complexity, or the people who play them. I am just realizing that as I get older, that style is not for me. In the last year or so I have been drawn towards games like Swords & Wizardry, Evil Hat's Fate-powered games (as well as some produced by 3PP under the OGL like the Fate games from Cubicle 7 or, now, Arc Dream), and older games getting new life, like Shatterzone from Precis Intermedia. Added now to that stack of games is OpenQuest from D101 Games.

Yes, OpenQuest has its genesis in Chaosium's older editions of the phenominal fantasy RPG RuneQuest, not to mention the newer version of the game put out by Mongoose (first under the licensed RuneQuest name, and in a few months to be released under the new name of Legend!), but that does not make it a copy of either of those games. OpenQuest is a good, solid game. I am drawn to those games using some variant of the Basic Roleplaying system or another because I like the intuitive nature of how skills work in a percentile-based system. Eye balling chances and difficulties is easy in these games because you intuitively understand concepts like "You have a 50% chance of success at that task." OpenQuest greatly streamlines the character creation process from either Chaosium's or Mongoose's versions of the RuneQuest rules, while at the same time showing his influences. The section on character creation, and the working of skills, does owe more to the Mongoose versions of the game than it does to the Chaosium, but in a number of ways, this might make the game more approachable to a newer or more contemporary gamer.

Hero Points are a very contemporary addition to the OpenQuest rules, coming by way of Mongoose's rules but showing a few other inspirations besides the Mongoose rules. I personally have no problem with using a Hero Point mechanic, so their inclusion in OpenQuest does not bother me. For me, they enforce a heroic fiction mentality that mechanically supports a player's choice to do things in a heroic manner. Nothing is as frustrating for a player as outlining some heroic, larger than life action for your character, only to have it snatched away from you by the nature of dice. While I like a good probability curve as much as the next gamer, more and more I am also interested in a game that enforces letting me have my character do heroic things.

Yes, overall there are some direct influences from Mongoose's version of the Runequest rules. However, I think dismissing OpenQuest out of hand because of that is throwing the baby out with the bathwater. The simplicity and the streamlining of these rules owe much more to the earlier editions of which the designer is obviously a fan. This is not just a copy and paste of the Mongoose SRD trying to pass itself off as a different game.

There is a lot of magic in OpenQuest, and it is plentiful. Probably more than many other fantasy games, magic is more available to characters in OpenQuest. There are three types of magic available in the rules: Battle Magic, Sorcery, and Divine Magic. One of my dislikes of OpenQuest is of the name of the Battle Magic type of magic. This is the common magic that is openly available to anyone who wants to learn and practice magic...and much of it doesn't deal with battle. Personally, I would rather see this "school" of magic be given a different name, like Common Magic, or even Hedge Magic. Something that fits better, and has a broader application than Battle Magic does. I understand why it is called Battle Magic, it is just not the design choice that I would have made. Sorcery is a good school of magic to cover those fantasy wizards that people are fond of in role-playing games. My only real disappointment with Divine Magic is that I would like to see more nature/weather magic available to characters (probably because my favorite fantasy spellcaster in RPGs has always been the Druid). Despite this, the available Divine Magic is well developed enough to allow for a variety of divine spell casters (particularly in conjunction with some of the Battle Magic spells available) and ties in well with OpenQuest's rules dealing with Cults (or religious organizations). Some may be bothered by all religious organizations being called Cults under these rules, but again it is something with a historical precedence in the games that OpenQuest is emulating, so that can be given a gimme.

I would like to see some sort of grimoire or spell compendium for OpenQuest developed, perhaps one that adapts many of the multitude of spells available under the OGL into these rules.

I do think that magic items do get short shift in OpenQuest, particularly when compared to so many other fantasy game systems out there. This is a portion of the game that the people at D101 should look to expanding in future supplements, as I can see this being the one feature where OpenQuest lacks in comparison to other fantasy RPGs.

I also think that some form of Professions or Occupations would make OpenQuest a much stronger game as well. Yes, they are easy enough to add back in (for those who want them) but I think that the creation hooks that professions can supply help a lot of gamers who may need it when creating their characters. Not all of us, after all, are able to spring full-blown concepts out of our imaginations as well as others can. This flaw, and the others that I have mentioned, are fairly minimal to me. They do not impact playability in the least, and they are all things that the DIY-minded can easily do on their own, if they do not get addressed by D101 Games in further supplements.

All in all, OpenQuest is a very solid fantasy gaming system that deserves a lot more attention than it receives. In 183 pages it manages to cover the basics of what any group would need out of a game system, and do it in a way that is simple and yet still manages to remain robust. If you are a fan of fantasy games, and do not yet have OpenQuest on your bookshelf (virtual or otherwise) then you need to fix this as soon as you can.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OpenQuest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG